Preview Carlton v Brisbane Lions Round 8 (Friday 5 May 7:50PM @Marvel)

One would be safe to assume that with comments like these from Fages today Answerth will be one of the inclusions tonight. I wonder if they play him through the middle again. Could he play the Zorko pressure role perhaps?

“I thought Noah did well (against the Dockers),” Fagan said.

“He came on, played a quarter, had seven possessions, made three or four tackles, had a few score involvements … it was very good.

“He did his chances (of being selected this week) no harm.

“He played with a lot of energy, he’s a good tackler, he not frightened of anything – he’s a good young player.

“He’s played a fair bit of senior footy already. It has really only been injury that’s hurt him in the last few years in terms of playing a few more games.”
I think Noah will be selected to take Zorko‘s spot, based on what he was produced in the VFL. I think he is the player most likely to provide run and defensive pressure.

I don’t think he will replace Zorko.

Watching the game live at the Gabba last week and Answerth was really packing the pressure.
Was it because he came in for a quarter and a half? Can he sustain that pressure for a whole game?

Wouldn't mind seeing him play in Zork's spot, but he will probably replace Rich's spot if selected.
I've watched a reasonable amount of Answerth in the ressies and that is the type of game he has been playing. I reckon he is a monty to replace Zorks.

One would be safe to assume that with comments like these from Fages today Answerth will be one of the inclusions tonight. I wonder if they play him through the middle again. Could he play the Zorko pressure role perhaps?

“I thought Noah did well (against the Dockers),” Fagan said.

“He came on, played a quarter, had seven possessions, made three or four tackles, had a few score involvements … it was very good.

“He did his chances (of being selected this week) no harm.

“He played with a lot of energy, he’s a good tackler, he not frightened of anything – he’s a good young player.

“He’s played a fair bit of senior footy already. It has really only been injury that’s hurt him in the last few years in terms of playing a few more games.”
All those quotes could equally apply to Lyons when he came off the bench as sub against North Melbourne and GWS. Answerth is as much Fagan’s pet as Sam Sheldon was Vossie’s. We all get that he is hard at it, but he gets caught too often, has a low football IQ and worst of all, his disposal is terrible. Fagan will no doubt select him, but Prior and Robertson are a class above him.

I thought Cockatoo would be a chance if they want a forward that could do a few CBA's or someone else takes up the slack.
Zorko's midfield minutes were not big.
He slowly built his % up from O, 5, 16, 32, 42 then the injured game dropped back to 23%.

If they want a mid that can play as a pressure forward, then Answerth/Dev.
Not keen on eithers scoring ability though. Bailey could play more forward time.
If they decide on Lyons, then Bailey may not get much time in the midfield.

Going on Squizz89 comment it may be Ainsworth.

If Prior comes in i don't see the point in playing him wing over Wilmot.
Wilmot is starting to get the hang of that wing role so i would leave him there.

The rumor about Fletcher is a bit strange. The following two games v Bombers & Suns would be more suitable for someone's debut game.
Bailey is a born Half Forward Flanker. He is a not true midfielder but a Micky Conlan (Fitzroy) type of player whose has the flashy type of play who comes in and out of the play with speed, force, strength and explosiveness. Play him on the Forward Flank week after week and watch his performance improve.

Lyons must come in - he has the experience and the smarts. Neale to the Centre.

I see a lot of you don't want Lyons in the side but what he offers is still heaps better that others mentioned at present. He has performed extremely well for us and has been in the best players on many occasions. We need to manage players and with the circumstances we have he needs to be given the opportunity to play.

I've watched a reasonable amount of Answerth in the ressies and that is the type of game he has been playing. I reckon he is a monty to replace Zorks.
Unfortunately I agree, I like Noah and what he brings but it feels a bit rough for Dev as I don’t think he’s really been given a proper go at that genuine mid/fwd role and when he has been he’s played his best footy in the AFL. The game that comes to mind is the one he went head to head with Selwood a couple seasons ago and he was outstanding.

Young Sheldon Cbs GIF by CBS

Bailey is a born Half Forward Flanker. He is a not true midfielder but a Micky Conlan (Fitzroy) type of player whose has the flashy type of play who comes in and out of the play with speed, force, strength and explosiveness. Play him on the Forward Flank week after week and watch his performance improve.

Lyons must come in - he has the experience and the smarts. Neale to the Centre.

I see a lot of you don't want Lyons in the side but what he offers is still heaps better that others mentioned at present. He has performed extremely well for us and has been in the best players on many occasions. We need to manage players and with the circumstances we have he needs to be given the opportunity to play.
Agree on Bailey, IMO at is best he is a 40 goal a season forward.

Disagree on Lyons though, he has been very good for us but I think with the additions of Dunkley and Ashcroft to our mid rotations he is not good re the balance of our midfield... first in though if one of Neale/Dunkley is out injured.