Carlton want Spangher

You've named a player we drafted from bendigo (Adelaide got rid of hm long ago), 3 over the hill Carlton players, and McPhee whom Freo traded to us so they could get Headland.
The only one whose previous team really wanted him was Prismall.

Judd, Warnock, a little different?

Is it that hard to comprehend?

Yes Judd and Warnock are a little different. They were returning to Victoria as their first motivation.

Camporeale was a fairly decent player for Carlton you might recall. We were fairly dirty on him for leaving. He was declining in a crap side but he was not over the hill in terms of his spot on Carlton's list.

Yes Judd and Warnock are a little different. They were returning to Victoria as their first motivation.

Camporeale was a fairly decent player for Carlton you might recall. We were fairly dirty on him for leaving. He was declining in a crap side but he was not over the hill in terms of his spot on Carlton's list.

Did I say he wasn't?

Yes, on the decline, just like most of the guys we apparently "poached".

Judd, Warnock - Guys you build a side around
Murphy, Campo, Allan - Guys you recruit because the "martians" are taking control.

I don't have a problem with what Carlton have done, they've gone after players they wanted using the means they had at their disposal (Thanks VISY :p). I'd be more than happy if Essendon managed to do the same (Without giving up too much, gee Kennedy looks a player)
I'm was merely pointing out a difference.

Did I say he wasn't?

Yes, on the decline, just like most of the guys we apparently "poached".

Judd, Warnock - Guys you build a side around
Murphy, Campo, Allan - Guys you recruit because the "martians" are taking control.

I don't have a problem with what Carlton have done, they've gone after players they wanted using the means they had at their disposal (Thanks VISY :p). I'd be more than happy if Essendon managed to do the same (Without giving up too much, gee Kennedy looks a player)
I'm was merely pointing out a difference.

Yes but you responded to a post pointing out that Essendon have taken players from other clubs as well which was responding to a post about us stealing players instead of developing our own.

Where those players were at in their careers is neither here nor there as some were still required, but the Bombers had a role for them to play and thought they would add value. We just happened to get a couple of players that add a lot of value after a string of genuine washouts.

Carlton are doing nothing different to what others club do. We just pulled off a couple of well publicised trades in consecutive years.

I give you the tip .
He is woth much more to the WCE than pick 27.
Keep it, he is a required player.
And keep your thieving mits off our players and develop your own.
Clown.

Geez what a drama queen you are wiggles.

You're clearly mistaking players WANTING to come to Carlton for something else. Anyhow we don't actually know Spangher's going anywhere yet so just flick the switch back off 'hysterical'.

Muppet. :rolleyes:

You've named a player we drafted from bendigo (Adelaide got rid of him long ago), 3 over the hill Carlton players, and McPhee whom Freo traded to us so they could get Headland.
The only one whose previous team really wanted him was Prismall.

Judd, Warnock, a little different?

Is it that hard to comprehend?
I think you missed the point rather badly. Blue Dawn's comment was in response to a statement by an Essendon supporter (stantonLEGEND) about Carlton's inability (in their opinion) to develop their own talent. Blue Dawn pointed out the hypocrisy of stantonLEGEND's claim - by providing a lengthy list of Essendon players who all did their AFL footy development at other clubs, prior to joining the Bombers.

McPhee - developed by Freo
Skipworth - Adelaide
Camporeale, Murphy, Allan - Carlton
Prismall - Geelong

I like the way you try to pass that off as fact......
If he was happy saying no to Melbourne, why not do the same with St. Kilda?

Why go to the effort of saying he wanted more money than he did?
I seriously had to look at this three times to see if you were serious or not, because surely no body can be this stupid.

Alas .. I've come to the conclusion that you are - and here is my response made easy for you:

12065738771352376078Arnoud999_Right_or_wrong_5.svg.med.png

... because of bad facilities, bad management coupled with a wooden spoon winning list, wanted him via the PSD, had room to move in the cap.

12065738771352376078Arnoud999_Right_or_wrong_5.svg.med.png

... because they couldn't offer him the number 1 ruck position, but they were still keen to get him by offering up a better trade option - good list, however had little room to move in the cap.

correct_tick.jpg

... because we could offer him the number 1 ruck position, developing list, had room to move in the cap.

Geez what a drama queen you are wiggles.

You're clearly mistaking players WANTING to come to Carlton for something else. Anyhow we don't actually know Spangher's going anywhere yet so just flick the switch back off 'hysterical'.

Muppet. :rolleyes:

WCE nursed Spanger through 2 years of injuries.
He has been slowly developed a defensive tall and is just starting show his talent.
I don't take kindly to the fact that Carlton posters are calling him a hack and not worthy of a decent draft pick in a trade.
The bottom line is the club would much prefer to retain him on the list.
Line breaking defensive talls don't grow on trees. Even if his idiot manager convinces Spanger to leave the club, don't expect him to come cheaply.
So rather than insult the club come up with some decent trade options or keep your hands off him. Simple as that.

I seriously had to look at this three times to see if you were serious or not, because surely no body can be this stupid.

Alas .. I've come to the conclusion that you are - and here is my response made easy for you:

... because of bad facilities, bad management coupled with a wooden spoon winning list, wanted him via the PSD, had room to move in the cap.

... because they couldn't offer him the number 1 ruck position, but they were still keen to get him by offering up a better trade option - good list, however had little room to move in the cap.

... because we could offer him the number 1 ruck position, developing list, had room to move in the cap.

You call me stupid yet you clearly missed my point.
I acknowledge he only wanted to go to Carlton, which i'm sure he told the powers at Freo, thus, no need to make up wage figures.

I'll try to dumb it down for you next time, you seem to like big pictures, I'll make an effort for you next time, promise.

Whatever happens with Spangher he has very good potential, missed full season of football in first/second year with Eagles ( Shoulder Operations).

Playing with East Fremantle early 2009 season, switched forward in second half , kicked four goals East Freo win.He is brilliant kick and very quick .If he dosen't play 15-20 games for WCE next year I would be very surprised.Those sitting around us @ games reckon he is our next Superstar I reckon a bit too much alcohol consumed ,he is a good footballer worthy of a second round pick ,

Whatever happens with Spangher he has very good potential, missed full season of football in first/second year with Eagles ( Shoulder Operations).

Playing with East Fremantle early 2009 season, switched forward in second half , kicked four goals East Freo win.He is brilliant kick and very quick .If he dosen't play 15-20 games for WCE next year I would be very surprised.Those sitting around us @ games reckon he is our next Superstar I reckon a bit too much alcohol consumed ,he is a good footballer worthy of a second round pick ,

He did not kick any goals for East Fremantle seniors this year in the WAFL. :confused:

I haven't got Statistical information on Spangher total goals but has moved forward for EFFC seniors and kicked goals and has kicked running goals for WCE as well this season.

ABC radio covered this early season WAFL game so Spangher has strings to his bow .

I haven't got Statistical information on Spangher total goals but has moved forward for EFFC seniors and kicked goals and has kicked running goals for WCE as well this season.

ABC radio covered this early season WAFL game so Spangher has strings to his bow .

The WAFL site says no goals this year. What game did you watch or listen to?

Not that important is it , go through every one and find out.

I did go through it and it has a grand total of 0 goals. It is important when you are trying to pump him up as a versatile swingman capable of going forward and being dangerous. Plenty of misinformation going on in some of these threads.

Yeh you might be right he must have setup four goals that day.Anyway ring up Shane Wowoedin at EFFC and ask about Spangher and his versatility.

Mate I'm just sticking up for him not trying to sell him off.

Lol you still believe that? :eek:

How sad for you. It's common knowledge Warnock only put that figure out to scare other clubs off as he had eyes only for the biggest and best club in town. He's on considerably less money.

He obviously needs glasses ... but that happens when you're constantly cummin. :eek:

You call me stupid yet you clearly missed my point.
I acknowledge he only wanted to go to Carlton, which i'm sure he told the powers at Freo, thus, no need to make up wage figures.

I'll try to dumb it down for you next time, you seem to like big pictures, I'll make an effort for you next time, promise.

I won't claim to know what happened one way or the other, but we all know that adding a sizeable price tag will go some way to limiting, and perhaps eliminating, potential suitors.

In this case it may have delivered the Blues a sole seat at the trading table had Melbourne not been prepared to meet the demands. When it came down to it however, despite the price tag sifting out some other clubs, it didn't sift out all and so the player was forced to choose the only remaining, and probably least favoured, option... outright rejection of all but one club.

I mean, it's not that hard to piece together what other posters have been trying to exlpain to you.

I won't claim to know what happened one way or the other, but we all know that adding a sizeable price tag will go some way to limiting, and perhaps eliminating, potential suitors.

In this case it may have delivered the Blues a sole seat at the trading table had Melbourne not been prepared to meet the demands. When it came down to it however, despite the price tag sifting out some other clubs, it didn't sift out all and so the player was forced to choose the only remaining, and probably least favoured, option... outright rejection of all but one club.

I mean, it's not that hard to piece together what other posters have been trying to exlpain to you.

The only thing I have disagreed with was posters claiming, as fact, that Warnock raised his price tag (to ward off other clubs), then reduced it considerably to get to Carlton.
Nothing that has been "explained" to me, has proven otherwise.

Try reading/understanding an entire conversation before attempting to join in.

I suggest you keep such condescension up your sleeve for a more suitable exchange. I have read the entire conversation - unfortunately - and indeed it would appear that I understand it better than you do.

The only thing I have disagreed with was posters claiming, as fact, that Warnock raised his price tag (to ward off other clubs), then reduced it considerably to get to Carlton.

Not quite. You have, at times, questioned the actual logic in theory. Such posing the question - If he was happy saying no to Melbourne, why not do the same with St. Kilda?

The scenario painted in my last post would very much explain the mechanism by which Warnock could have inflated his price tag to ward off attracting genuine interest from other clubs, thereby paving the way for him to go to the club of his choice for a lower, yet entirely acceptable salary. In this situation the initial salary demand cleared the deck of all suitors bar Melbourne, which ultimately forced his hand into rejecting them outright and nominating Carlton as a preferred destination.

Having multiple interested parties - irrespective of nominated preferrence - obviously decreases the player's leverage in getting to a single preferred destination. What this demonstrates is that both the means and motivation for initial salary demands to be inflated are clearly present.

If you're looking for definitive proof in fact, the only way to find it would be from the player himself or his manager, which is not a very realistic for an internet forum. However what has been suggested is entirely plausible and in fact, it makes a lot of sense.

Is this suggested Warnock scenario legal?, It seems an easy way to manipulate trade week/ the preseason draft: just make up an implausible figure for your required salary, and then reduce it when you actually sign a contract with your club of choice.
What is to stop every player doing this every time, to get to their club of choice? Surely your stated price must be adhered to?

I think you missed the point rather badly. Blue Dawn's comment was in response to a statement by an Essendon supporter (stantonLEGEND) about Carlton's inability (in their opinion) to develop their own talent. Blue Dawn pointed out the hypocrisy of stantonLEGEND's claim - by providing a lengthy list of Essendon players who all did their AFL footy development at other clubs, prior to joining the Bombers.

McPhee - developed by Freo
Skipworth - Adelaide
Camporeale, Murphy, Allan - Carlton
Prismall - Geelong

Couldn't have said it better myself V. ;)

The blues already have enough middle of the road defenders...why another one?

How do you rate Duffield? he is a pretty decent player for you these days but Spanghers age he had shown less promise and delivered no more.

Nothing that has been "explained" to me, has proven otherwise.

Essendon Pride take a hike.

You are hijacking this thread after some Carlton posters made you look like an idiot.

This thread is about Spangher, if you cant write about that go away.:mad:

As for Spangher I just hope we keep him, as he will only get better with more game time.

West Coast would be mad to let him go for pick 27 imo. This draft is very thin and the talent past the first round is quite shallow.

While Spangher has taken a while to develop he has certainly shown some signs of being an alright player, and the Eagles would be better off keeping him.

Carlton want Spangher