Podcast Cat Attack Podcast 2024 - Kingy and Benny are back in 24 for K ROCK Football.

Lets keep this thread to questions for the boys rather than discussion posts please

GO Catters

Hi all!

Fire away for a Thursday recording (this will be our last podcast until before the Round 15 clash with Carlton).

Cheers

Kingy
Been trying to work out how to get a question to you so hopefully this finds you! Kola got close to kicking a goal the other night and I started to panic. Have Geelong won a game when he's kicked a goal? I remember we lost when he kicked his first goal and I think he kicked one the other week, which we all got excited about and then we lost.

Gday boys, wondering where to go with our midfelid. It’s a glaringly obvious deficiency in our makeup.
Do we wait for the young blokes to develop together whilst adding from the draft and F/A? Or do we pay up and pinch a star mid from somewhere?

Some young bucks and some aging old bulls but nothing in between.

I’d love the Cats to have a crack a few mids in the off-season. Here’s a few, in no particular order, Ive thought could add something to the team.

LDU
Clayton Oliver
Archie Perkins
Jarrod Berry
Rhylee West

Also, with a variety of really well educated and knowledgeable Cats fans on big footy, would you consider having a guest on the Pod every couple of weeks?
Howler41 would be a great start if available.

I’d be available any time!

Hi all!

Fire away for a Thursday recording (this will be our last podcast until before the Round 15 clash with Carlton).

Cheers

Kingy

Gents, going on from bennys list last week, I wanted to Highlight how well we’ve done from rookie list.
Zac Guthrie, Ollie Dempsey, Jack Henry all began on the rookie list, Tom Stewart made his way as a vfl player first, touhy o Connor and mullin all from the mull of kintyre. Tyson stengle was a gamble that’s paid off, mark Blicavs was originally a steeplechaser, Olympic style not grand annual. This has been superb work by the recruiters.
But in my opinion, it’s nailing the early picks that gets teams into premiership contention.

From last weeks game, reg Touhy had 3 possessions after qtr time, and surely it’s time for younger players to play before him.
Jack Bowes must have heard twitter lighting up at half time cos he emerged from the rooms like a man possessed, more clearances that a carpet shag rug closing down sale. The key now is to back it up next week
Stil lthoight we were too tall, with blitz available I think Neale would likely drop out. Hopefully we can get back to the pressure talking from rounds 1-7 and at least push the swans
From last weeks pod, no I am not mark neeld, happy to do special comments, only payment required is some red cans and a $50 sexyland voucher.

Chris Scott’s name seems to come up for any rumoured coaching jobs, brisbane and Tassie both mentioned in the media this week.

He has an amazing record at Geelong over the last 13 years now. If the cats, with champions retiring, need a multi year rebuild (I.e. a couple of years outside the top eight to accumulate top 10 draft picks) do you think he’d stay on to 2025, or extend further… or does he follow Dimma’s footsteps looking for a new challenge or a more ready list elsewhere?

My boy Neale is building slowly but nicely. Speed of the game not too much for him. Just has to settle in the certain moments a bit more.

Looking outside the GFC fishbowl for a second...

How likely you blokes reckon we are to getting:

LDU

Bailey Smith

Clayton Oliver.

All 3 fill a need but at what cost and risk vs reward.

For mine its LDU only.... risk of the other rest too great (risk being assessed as on and off field details)

Do you agree and thus explain.

#2 - Ted Clohesy is really having a solid VFL year... reckon he's gotta make it to AFL level again soon.

GO Catters

Gents, going on from bennys list last week, I wanted to Highlight how well we’ve done from rookie list.
Zac Guthrie, Ollie Dempsey, Jack Henry all began on the rookie list, Tom Stewart made his way as a vfl player first, touhy o Connor and mullin all from the mull of kintyre. Tyson stengle was a gamble that’s paid off, mark Blicavs was originally a steeplechaser, Olympic style not grand annual. This has been superb work by the recruiters...
The Mull of Kintyre's in Scotland. Them players you mentioned are all Irish!:p

Kingy... this is a question for you...

What the heck is Sam DeKonning problem? Honestly his only played 1 good games this year against Aaron Naughton... But all other games this year has been averaged or poor..
His 23, played 54 games now... I know Benny Cas on K Rock been saying, his only young etc... But honestly, if he didn't have the year in 2022, he would of been dropped matches ago..
In 2022 he was alot of the reason why we won the Grand Final... But now his form is a major concern...
Even when the team won 7 in a row and most of the team was playing well, he unfortunately wasn't 😕

Benny. Is Toby Conway new nick name Tampon? In for 1 out for 3 😏

Blitz. He isn't a midfielder anymore. 9 disposals against Sydney and is averaged 14 disposals a game this season.. If Conway not fit enough to ruck, Blitz plays as our no 1 ruck. Or move out of the midfield, and go back down to be a key defender, as our main defenders ( in Henry and SDK aren't playing well )

Cheers FoxDog50 🍻

Hi all,

Benny and I have decided to put the show on hiatus for the bye.

Recording Thursday, June 20.

Send your questions through.

Kingy

Well once again the cats showed the 4 qtr consistency of my pancakes, which I cooked the lovely this morning, albeit the move didn’t pay off.
Certainly played better v swans and it’s no crime to be beaten by them, but it seems to be a common theme that in every game the opposition puts in a 20-30 min patch where they destroy us from centre clearance and it costs us the game. From the cats swans vfl game prior to the afl game, all 193cm of Mitch knevitt dominated, 27 touches, 13 marks with 3 contested, as Benny said early he’s a point of difference in our midfield. Another point of difference is Lawson humphries. I get he’s raw but he’s a bit older than average draftees, a good user on both feet and runs frightened farmer style but with David wojinski pace, with the same flair and attack that wojo dazzled us with.
Rhys Stanley cannot run out 4 qtrs anymore and if Conway isn’t fit I’d rather see Neale ruck . Also, I’m not saying he’d be ‘the difference, but Mitch Hardie currently second in coaches votes for vfl season.

Boys do you feel like the drop off in output from the more senior players has come on quicker than anticipated, many games this year it feels our younger players have been the better players with the older crew battling, Blitz and Mitch Duncan the 2 biggest worries, Mitch is still incredibly smart and has had some great quarters but also his kicking has dropped off and his lack of leg speed is being shown up, Blitz i am certain is carrying something as he refuses to kick with his right foot of late.
Is it best to give them a few weeks break, give Knev/Humphries etc a taste or will the MC be resistant to do so given the precarious situation we could find ourselves in ladder wise

What compensation will we get if Stengel leaves, and what draft pick do you both think he is actually worth?

Is Geelong still paying the full salary cap, and will be they next year given recent and expected retirements. It seems like there should be a lot of cap room set aside for someone

Gents - hope you enjoyed the week of General Soreness.

Started well V the Swannies and trailed off nicely into the weeds much like all my long irons do... but cest la vie.

That aside, it seems Mr Stengle has become quite the centre of attention with much conjecture about his future.
He certainly kicks more than he misses so purely on that he should be offered a decent number to stay.
There seems to be some conjecture as to compensation should he go? Can you clarify what you understanding is?

The Baz chatter has also heated up.
Do we think with the turnover in mature veterans and more kids coming thru, that Baz would be the right "character" to come into the playing group.
Seems he's good a training but is the previous off field issues ( ACL and other indiscretions) too big to overcome if he lands amongst an impressionable younger core of players?

Can the Selwood/Hawkins code of Geelong be upheld?

GO Catters

Gents - hope you enjoyed the week of General Soreness.

Started well V the Swannies and trailed off nicely into the weeds much like all my long irons do... but cest la vie.

That aside, it seems Mr Stengle has become quite the centre of attention with much conjecture about his future.
He certainly kicks more than he misses so purely on that he should be offered a decent number to stay.
There seems to be some conjecture as to compensation should he go? Can you clarify what you understanding is?

The Baz chatter has also heated up.
Do we think with the turnover in mature veterans and more kids coming thru, that Baz would be the right "character" to come into the playing group.
Seems he's good a training but is the previous off field issues ( ACL and other indiscretions) too big to overcome if he lands amongst an impressionable younger core of players?

Can the Selwood/Hawkins code of Geelong be upheld?

GO Catters
Good post and thoughtworthy.

Maybe if Hawk is looking for something to do he could be a paid culture guru within the club. He is hugely respected by all in the clubs and other clubs.

My main concern with Smiff is the ACL. We could go big and end up with a dud.

Just listened to podcast this week. One of your better ones….except (!) it is a shame you don’t know the basics of the trade rules. You spent a bunch of time talking about Stengle and compensation…. Obviously you don’t know the fact that because he has been an unrestricted free agent before (delisted) he stays that way for the rest of his career. So we lose him for nothing.

Might want to edit your podcast to not sound ignorant as professional footy media people?

Also I hope Benny you have your placard ready as you promised to wave it down the club if Knevitt isn’t picked and 2E is. I 100% agree with you but don’t think the club will. So I hope you do go down as promised and protest on behalf of your listeners!

Just listened to podcast this week. One of your better ones….except (!) it is a shame you don’t know the basics of the trade rules. You spent a bunch of time talking about Stengle and compensation…. Obviously you don’t know the fact that because he has been an unrestricted free agent before (delisted) he stays that way for the rest of his career. So we lose him for nothing.

Might want to edit your podcast to not sound ignorant as professional footy media people?

Also I hope Benny you have your placard ready as you promised to wave it down the club if Knevitt isn’t picked and 2E is. I 100% agree with you but don’t think the club will. So I hope you do go down as promised and protest on behalf of your listeners!

Hey Chawkts

This is from the AFL website - I read that as saying if a Stengle and a Parfitt left and only a Smith comes in, it would entitle the Cats to compensation.

Something we didn't properly verbalise, admittedly.

Thoughts?

Kingy

Compensation​

A club that has a net loss of players transferring to/from other clubs as free agents in one transfer period is entitled to compensation via National Draft picks allocated by the AFL.

Hey mate, reckon that's not correct. If you offer them a contract they aren't delisted and are not a delisted free agent. He retains only the unrestricted rights that come with it but he is in fact a normal unrestricted free agent.

For example Chol got Richmond a compo pick (band 4) despite the fact that they had delisted him previously and re-rookied him. They offered him a contract but he went to the Suns as an unrestricted free agent.

dazbroncos can't wait to see Benny Cas K rock Football with his big cardboard Protest about Knevitt not getting picked over Tuhoy
( don't worry Benny , I would say 90% of us would agree with you )
Protest Picketing GIF

K rock Football Hey Kingy, let me know what Benny wants on his placard and I'll whip something up for him at work, I've got a particular set of skills in this area...

Hey Chawkts

This is from the AFL website - I read that as saying if a Stengle and a Parfitt left and only a Smith comes in, it would entitle the Cats to compensation.

Something we didn't properly verbalise, admittedly.

Thoughts?

Kingy

Compensation​

A club that has a net loss of players transferring to/from other clubs as free agents in one transfer period is entitled to compensation via National Draft picks allocated by the AFL.
I hope you are right and I read it wrong. The full bit from same AFL page (below)…maybe I am reading too much into editors getting paragraph structure training (!!) as the compensation was only mentioned in the para relating to restricted free agents (which Stengle is not) - so therefore unrestricted means no compensation. But maybe I read too much into that.

If we do as you say get compensation based on the “herbs and spices” formula, then I am all of a sudden feeling much better about the possible loss of Stengle. Don’t get me wrong I would love to keep him but with Mannagh in the wings and if we get a decent compensation we can use to get Smith then it won’t be so much a net loss…

Under the AFL Player Rules, an Unrestricted Free Agent may automatically move to the Club of their choice.

An offer to a Restricted Free Agent may be matched by their Club. Should their original Club match the offer, and the Restricted Free Agent Player does not wish to remain with their original Club, they must enter the National Draft or seek a trade. Compensation in the form of AFL allocated draft picks will apply to clubs with a net loss of Free Agents, based on the formula determined by the AFL.

Hey mate, reckon that's not correct. If you offer them a contract they aren't delisted and are not a delisted free agent. He retains only the unrestricted rights that come with it but he is in fact a normal unrestricted free agent.

For example Chol got Richmond a compo pick (band 4) despite the fact that they had delisted him previously and re-rookied him. They offered him a contract but he went to the Suns as an unrestricted free agent.
Thanks. I am glad to be wrong in the situation!

Kingy, I think you need to explain the context of what Chris Scott says to Benny more clearly.
Chris Scott was responding to the journalist’s question ‘does Stengle owe Geelong’
Which completely changes the way you read his response. Not saying he stays but it leaves it a lot more grey.

The second point is, he and Andrew Mackie have said we have a deep midfield, but it’s all the same level or similar players and lacks the higher end, which is true and basically what Benny has been saying. They’re 100% aware of what they lack, not much you can do mid season though and last year there weren’t any free agents available to fill that void, they would’ve been hopeful Danger and Guthrie could be 1 & 2 to help the younger guys develop. But as Benny said, they’ve got Atkins playing the main role and he’s not the man.

Can you also try not to say players are ‘shit’ or been ‘shithouse’, there are less dismissive adjectives to use.

I get you’re frustrated but Touhy is in his last year and has been awesome for our club and he always gives Krock great interviews post game, a little respect would be nice.

Podcast Cat Attack Podcast 2024 - Kingy and Benny are back in 24 for K ROCK Football.