Central Murray FL

Guus Hiddink said:
FROGDOG17 said:
Don't forget about where that joint is though. Not much around there. What is the brand of football like over there??
You ever been here? Plenty over here mate it's a town of 30,000 with five teams and they love their footy! Standards between G rivers and Central Murray i'd say.

RKO619 said:
Word had it swan hill tough man and one year recruit Cole Hedwards is off to play in Darwin for $1400 a game and possible to get drafted to and AFL Club in 2007 as a 21 year old??? Apparently taking tyntynders brenton rowe along with him??? Any Thoughts???
i can tell you right now that cole hedwards is not getting paid one cent to play footy up there. And brenton rowe is only going up there because he has a very good job lined up that pays well, and to have a good time while his young. Not even looking to play senior football up there and nor should cole hedwards

TOBY RAND said:
Football is a professional business now...some players getting group certificates etc for their payments. The football ground is a place of work now and you have to look at it now as players are employee's of the football club and coaches are the boss. in the real world how many people change jobs in their lifetime? Unfortunately this is how it is.

A professional business is it? u idiot TOBY.

gofootygo said:
i can tell you right now that cole hedwards is not getting paid one cent to play footy up there. And brenton rowe is only going up there because he has a very good job lined up that pays well, and to have a good time while his young. Not even looking to play senior football up there and nor should cole hedwards

Brenton Rowe will cut the mustard up north, and getting paid well is he?? good on him..... will be good to see him back one day..goroweygo :cool:

Deckchair said:
Brenton Rowe will cut the mustard up north, and getting paid well is he?? good on him..... will be good to see him back one day..goroweygo :cool:
brenton rowe is not getting paid for football but getting paid well for a job up north, just going up there for experience of a life time

Ed Deline said:
Sockit151 said:
Anyone wish to argue that money hasn't completely screwed country footy??[/quote]

Agree totally, in these parts anyway. Every cat wants to put his hand out for personal benefit. Team aspect and loyalty are a thing of the past for the majority sadly Sockage.

I haven't been on here for a while, but geez Ed you are talking some serious faeces, for a change:p .How many clubs have u played for ED? And don't try to tell me u have never been paid to pull the socks on???:thumbsdown:

ROOTA#6 said:
It is a massive blow for our club. To lose our star player to a club within the league really hurts. I could handle him going outside the league and chasing some big coin, because he deserves big dollars, he is a champion. I just can't believe he is going to play against his mates

I bet your not one of them Roota..:eek:

FOOZ said:
Wrong again. The format has affected the players most, they would miss a good one week break.
IT ISN'T ALWAYS ABOUT THE MONEY!

Gus, this forum is full of people's opinions, Right or Worng! id rather you not tell me what i think is Right or Wrong. So get the pole out of your know it all arse and stop Correcting peoples opinions on what you believe is right, please..[/quote]

Have u ever played Interleauge Fooz?? U sound like u know what your talking about..

My Name Is Earl said:
Agree with you 100% Sockitt. Those who think that by poaching players from clubs within their own league are improving this league are living in their own bull s h i t fantasy land. It is dissapointing that money now plays such a large part in country football, but, there are still loyal blokes out there. Just not many of them. It's not the players fault for getting large amounts of $$$ and ruining country footy, it's the clubs that offer it too them.

Who said country footy is ruined?? U talk to any bloke in their 40s or 50s and they will tell u the standard of footy is much stronger than in the old days. The crowds are much bigger and you can guarantee that every year at least half a dozen leagues in country vic break the gate record on Grand Final day. Country footy is thriving...

Players have been payed money to play for decades and its not going to change, so Earl u better get your head around it mate..

Who said country footy is ruined?? U talk to any bloke in their 40s or 50s and they will tell u the standard of footy is much stronger than in the old days. The crowds are much bigger and you can guarantee that every year at least half a dozen leagues in country vic break the gate record on Grand Final day. Country footy is thriving...

Players have been payed money to play for decades and its not going to change, so Earl u better get your head around it mate..

You're an absolute idiot Kelvin, country footy is thriving is it? Thats why clubs are folding left right and centre and are having to merge. Have a look outside your own club and get the complete picture/ Tooleytang is not the only club in Victoria.

Your comment on grand final crowds and gate takings is also bull********. The only reason leagues are breaking records for gate takings is because it costs you so much more each year to get in the bloody gate. Wake up

You're an absolute idiot Kelvin, country footy is thriving is it? Thats why clubs are folding left right and centre and are having to merge. Have a look outside your own club and get the complete picture/ Tooleytang is not the only club in Victoria.

Your comment on grand final crowds and gate takings is also bull********. The only reason leagues are breaking records for gate takings is because it costs you so much more each year to get in the bloody gate. Wake up

Roota the last 3 years in the cmfl have seen clubs catering on grand final day make some serious money so it would suggest crowds are up . Mallee league had record gates in their finals .I would only guess that possibly had somthing to do with one player Sonny Lindsay (gets payed to play) so well worth the investment.

haha this thread is an absolute joke. kelvin & roota you guys are both ********ers! i don't know whats bigger, roota's ego or kelvins arse

Another quality comment their from the gloved 1:thumbsu: :thumbsu: . Personally I would back in Kelvins arse. Could you care to enlighten us with your very valued and knowledgable opinion??

How (financially) did Lalbert go this year catering for the GF Roota?? Very well as documented in the papers, so that would suggest their was a huge crowd in attendance.. Gee u can certainly talk tough in front of a computer with no one around, pity for the Lalbert Footy Club that u cannot take that sort of aggression out onto the ground and actually contribute to the teams performance.

I understand u are angry with our footy club for aquiring the services of one of your favourite sons in Lance Brown as assistant coach, but hasn't he given u blokes an enoumous amount of loyalty ever since he started playing footy, through thick and thin? He has moved onto challenge himself as an assistant of another club, so don't go holding that against him.

how do we explain the drop from division one to division whatever in the interleague since the implementation of paying shi*t loads of money to players. Do you think its due to players not wanting to play because

1) They do not get paid to play
2) And if they do play the will get injured, not because they dont want to miss a game for there team mates or club, its because they will miss games and not get paid.
3) All of the above

Wrong again. The format has affected the players most, they would miss a good one week break.
IT ISN'T ALWAYS ABOUT THE MONEY![/QUOTE]

Guus, you may be right on one point, it isnt ALWAYS about the money but for probably 75% of players that recruiting committees target (ie players worth a bit of cash) unfortunately the almighty kanga and playing clubs off against each other is the bottom line. I think you need to get yourself on a recruiting committee and speak to 50-60 players over pre-season and see what makes country footy tick !! This isnt league footy, a 'good one week break', for god's sake it's country footy and blokes should be able to hold up week in week out for the season and still have the desire to represent the league they play in !! :D

I understand u are angry with our footy club for aquiring the services of one of your favourite sons in Lance Brown as assistant coach, but hasn't he given u blokes an enoumous amount of loyalty ever since he started playing footy, through thick and thin? He has moved onto challenge himself as an assistant of another club, so don't go holding that against him.[/quote]

Firstly kelvin, half a dozen leagues break the gate record at their grand finals coz they chuck the price up, not from a greater attendence. Secondly, players may have been getting payed for years, but not the amount of dough they get now. Never heard of a bloke getting payed $800 a game back 10 year ago. And kelvin, one of the reasons (i'm not saying there aren't other reasons) they get payed such a ridiculous amount is coz clubs like your own can't be stuffed going outside this league and recruiting players, so instead, they put a huge price on a decent players head from within their own league that their current club can't match and then off they go.

Thirdly, how is Lance Brown challenging himself as an assistant coach? If I'm not mistaken wasn't he a senior coach of Lalbert a couple of years ago! I would think it would be a lot more challenging being a senior coach at any club than an assistant.

The whole disscussion was revolved around clubs that pinch players from clubs from within the same league, and thus making the league no more stronger than it already is. You can't say Tooleytang have done that? All they have done is bring struggling clubs closer to it's knees and in the process, making the league weaker.

I understand u are angry with our footy club for aquiring the services of one of your favourite sons in Lance Brown as assistant coach, but hasn't he given u blokes an enoumous amount of loyalty ever since he started playing footy, through thick and thin? He has moved onto challenge himself as an assistant of another club, so don't go holding that against him.

Firstly kelvin, half a dozen leagues break the gate record at their grand finals coz they chuck the price up, not from a greater attendence. Secondly, players may have been getting payed for years, but not the amount of dough they get now. Never heard of a bloke getting payed $800 a game back 10 year ago. And kelvin, one of the reasons (i'm not saying there aren't other reasons) they get payed such a ridiculous amount is coz clubs like your own can't be stuffed going outside this league and recruiting players, so instead, they put a huge price on a decent players head from within their own league that their current club can't match and then off they go.

Thirdly, how is Lance Brown challenging himself as an assistant coach? If I'm not mistaken wasn't he a senior coach of Lalbert a couple of years ago! I would think it would be a lot more challenging being a senior coach at any club than an assistant.

The whole disscussion was revolved around clubs that pinch players from clubs from within the same league, and thus making the league no more stronger than it already is. You can't say Tooleytang have done that? All they have done is bring struggling clubs closer to it's knees and in the process, making the league weaker.[/quote]

Lets be honest Earl this discussion is about u sooking and whinging. Your saying that a player who has given his all to his home club for a number of years, and wants to get out of his comfort zone will be ridiculed for leaving to be assistant coach of another club in the league, therefore challenging himself with another group of players.

Another point, when you hear a player of his quality is on the move, u would rather him playing for u than against u, so of course your going to have a chat with him. We were not the only footy club talking to him within the league. He's not the first bloke to play for another club in the CMFL and won't be the last.

I think Lance is now finding out who his real mates are out at Lalbert.

haha this thread is an absolute joke. kelvin & roota you guys are both ********ers! i don't know whats bigger, roota's ego or kelvins arse
your the joke gloved one go some where else. Good healthy discussion some right some wrong which is the way of peoples opinions.

The whole disscussion was revolved around clubs that pinch players from clubs from within the same league, and thus making the league no more stronger than it already is. You can't say Tooleytang have done that? All they have done is bring struggling clubs closer to it's knees and in the process, making the league weaker.[/quote]

A ruckman was paid over a $1000 a game just to play for Tatura in 1996. That would be 10 years ago. That sort of money wasn't as common then but certainly still happened.

I don't think there is much argument about that, as you rightfully said UNFORTUNATELY.. And T/M is the all the talk at the moment, and good luck to them, players play clubs against each other and clubs steal players from other clubs, and usually the money wins the argument.. And, if you want the best you have to do what it takes to get them..
I only disagree with those who claim to be doing us all a favour and improving football in the area by poaching players and paying excessive amounts of money to do so!!

K69,
Did this quote make any sense??
Everyone has conceded that money is a part of the game, most wish the players leaving all the best despite them being dissapointed, and some blame your club and think they are out of line for approaching rival clubs players but not all..
But the contentious point remains that you still think you are doing us all a favour?? Just admit that the only one's who benefit from this is T/M while the others clubs involved will struggle more so, and we can all move on..

Hasn't footy always been survival of the fittest? All clubs at some point have paid a lot of money out. If a player is looking around, isn't it a duty of other clubs to suss them out? If their club is so great wouldn't they stay? get off you rears, raise some money, make your club a great place to be around and see how you go. For all you whingers- What are you doing to make your club successful? Are you just a complainer or are you doing something about it? I'm not taking the high ground either, I do fukc all but watch good footy all year.

Ed Deline said:
I haven't been on here for a while, but geez Ed you are talking some serious faeces, for a change:p .How many clubs have u played for ED? And don't try to tell me u have never been paid to pull the socks on???:thumbsdown:

Kelvin my crooked apendaged friend;), good to see you have created some controversy with your return.

To answer your question i've played at 4. 4 years at Ballarat for the massive amount of $30 a win, payed monthly, every dollar counts at uni.
Played up north for 5 years, for Zero. Payed our membership and entry fee to all games. Played at home for base, which was hammered by the tax man at the end of the year.

I have played for coin and am but it doesn't decide where i play, there are other factors as well. I don't have a problem with guys changing, to each his own, but it's funny how money can all of a sudden make relationships strained, and cause the colourful banter we have on this thread at the moment.

I don't think there is a right or a wrong answer or way to go about it but we all have our opinions and thats what makes this so interesting to find out what people think.

Keep expressing yourselves gentlemen.

Gee, all this talk of cash ruining football - why can't we all go back to the way it was during my time at the Bears in the 80's. Slab of XXXX and half a dozen hookers, that's all I asked for!:D

Anyway, with all this talk about cash, what about the blokes who will be getting most of it - coaches??

1. Where is Filo headed - Boga, Boort or Balranald?
2. Who is going to steady the ship at Lalbert? Or Nyah for that matter?
3. Parsons a chance at the Doggies?

Any thoughts gents??

Hasn't footy always been survival of the fittest? All clubs at some point have paid a lot of money out. If a player is looking around, isn't it a duty of other clubs to suss them out? If their club is so great wouldn't they stay? get off you rears, raise some money, make your club a great place to be around and see how you go. For all you whingers- What are you doing to make your club successful? Are you just a complainer or are you doing something about it? I'm not taking the high ground either, I do fukc all but watch good footy all year.

Russ, country footy is a lot more than that, to the town it is the life's blood and a place for the kids to grow and mature where they hopefully will become better players and people and a better group over 2-5 years. Country football clubs and those who run them need to realise it's not all about winning a flag, buying a flag to the detriment of the town, the locals and all else except their egos. For one night of the year the town will come together and the backslappers will get on board all the non-locals that got plenty of kanga out of it to win a flag for the town and put very little back in. Then it's back to reality and working out how to get the next 60-70-80 grand to pay for those players the following year. Towns that do that have very little future in country footy in relation to long term success and viability over a sustained period for the money will dry up eventually and the players will leave, leaving the heirarchy to find those locals again to put the jumper on ..... and funnily enough they won't be there coz the club s h i t on them to win the flag. Been there and done that and been on all sides of the fence as player, coach, recruiter and committee, it is a shame for country footy that we are where we are. Country footy is now all about egos and instant gratification, like a bit of nightclub love !!