Speculation Chad Warner

He recons what Bolton was owed by Richmond 1.2mil x 4 years was smoothed to 5 years after traded to freo .

I said he was dreaming

He said a friend of a friend on the freo board has a connection to Fremantle list management told them .

Honestly it sounds funnier every time it is bought up

A friend of mine who us also other Freo board. We have been mates for almost 20 years is mates with a guy who works for Freo.

I don't care what you believe but it's a fact. You can carry on in disbelief if you want

Has brayshaw signed on again ?

Thought he was going to reveal it on Christmas day or some shit .

I feel the difference with what freo want to sign him for and what other teams are offering him is a huge gap .

His manager wouldn't be doing his job unless he gets maximum market value .

It will be his last big contract

You're deflecting

Has brayshaw signed on again ?

Thought he was going to reveal it on Christmas day or some shit .

I feel the difference with what freo want to sign him for and what other teams are offering him is a huge gap .

His manager wouldn't be doing his job unless he gets maximum market value .

It will be his last big contract
All this is information Freo would've known BEFORE approaching Gulden, McDonald, Baker, Cumming, Warner and Pickett. It's not like Brayshaw is a secret commodity.

Again, we're not acting like a team that's counting pennies. Teams that are counting pennies and are worried about future spend would be desperate to offload mid-20s state league mids with 2 years left like Will Brodie. They'd probably do what Carlton did and offload 4 best 25 players in the same off-season rather than re-signing them while they're exploring options elsewhere. And they definitely wouldn't be linked by Twomey to pretty much every Gettable player (and some not-so-gettable players).

His mate's mate got to see the contract ;)

No player takes a $200k paycut specially when they have 3 teams wanting him and 2 are in the state he wants to get to
I think the 4 year contract is honored and an additional year added at as you mentioned 20% less

But cant believe Freo couldnt get Blair to pay some of that , Brilliant from Blair
It’s not a $200k pay cut.

It’s effectively a $1m+ pay cut.

Clubs will be offering brayshaw more than we offer warner for the pure fact he is a free agent and won't have to use draft picks

Wouldn't surprise me if teams like essendon norf and saints offer brayshaw 1.5-1.8mil a season if they get him as a free agent
Don’t care that he’s a free agent, but he’s not worth that type of money.

Don't think this is true. Freo chased Gulden, McDonald, Cumming, and Baker, and will more than likely continue their pre-existing chases of Warner and Pickett. For a team to be chasing that many players, I doubt they're in a position where Shai alone caps them out, regardless of what people debate his contract to be (side note: bit of a pointless debate you'd think - surely the lowest vs highest estimates can't differ by more than the average draftee's salary).

Collingwood just added 2 mil worth of players, have no 2025 1sts, are still paying blokes at other clubs, and Twomey's still talking about Matt Rowell to Collingwood. When it comes to the stars, you figure it out.

For the record I do think more likely we miss out on Chad. But much like how we threw the kitchen sink at Baker and nothing came of it, if we miss out on Chad it won't be because "we didn't really want him" (you'll probably find some Freo fans use that as copium if we miss on Chad, which is silly: every team misses more players than they snag). I just think Chad will want to be a superstar for the next decade, and the path to that is way easier at clubs that didn't have 3 inside mids 25 or younger make AA squad.
Of course they cast a broad net, but now you’ve caught something. Bolton. You have also re-signed Young and JT, both of which would be expensive. AB will be expensive. Your 2 x rucks are expensive. Through player retention (a nice change) and enticing other players you now won’t have the cap to compete financially for an offer to Warner, short of your top 10 players all taking a bit pay cut each year for 6 years.

Freo needs a goal kicking mid, but Kozzie will be cheaper and fill the true major hole in your list.

Of course they cast a broad net, but now you’ve caught something. Bolton. You have also re-signed Young and JT, both of which would be expensive. AB will be expensive. Your 2 x rucks are expensive. Through player retention (a nice change) and enticing other players you now won’t have the cap to compete financially for an offer to Warner, short of your top 10 players all taking a bit pay cut each year for 6 years.

Freo needs a goal kicking mid, but Kozzie will be cheaper and fill the true major hole in your list.

Instead of guessing how about you wait until trade week after the season to find out which big fish Freo snare or don't snare for 2026.

You don't know who we can and can't afford

I think that's a fairer argument, but I would still say based on what we know Freo won't be uncompetitive with Sydney, who have a star-studded team of their own. West Coast can blow both teams out the water. I don't think they'd go too mad because you gotta have some sort of structure, but you'd imagine they offer the most financially. The way I see it is:
  • If money is important, advantage West Coast.
  • If loyalty is important, advantage Sydney.
  • If being at home is important, disadvantage Sydney.
  • If short/medium-term potential flag prospects is important, disadvantage West Coast or just advantage Sydney (depending on if we show we're real or not in 2025).
  • If the individual accolades is important, disadvantage Freo.
  • If some sort of team connection to who you supported or something like that (insert stuff about the East Freo boys) matters...no idea.
  • I guess if being "early to the party" matters then out of the 2 WA clubs advantage Freo based on what Twomey said about Freo gunning for him a few years ago.
  • If post-footy career matters, advantage West Coast.
There's probably other factors I missed, but on balance I'd say more likely West Coast.
Definitely agree. But I think if we get Kozzie and miss Chad there will be fans who go "hah, we never really wanted Chad anyways", which is just bs. Most likely we once again cast the net wide and let the natural happenings choose a player for us. Or maybe we miss out on everyone.

Would be funny to see what we do if both Kozzie and Chad prefer Freo. It'd make for spicy derbies if Freo told 1 of them "we prefer the other and can't afford both, and if that means you go West Coast I'm not arsed".

Instead of guessing how about you wait until trade week after the season to find out which big fish Freo snare or don't snare for 2026.

You don't know who we can and can't afford
Righto mate. A bit ignorant of me to be speculating about a trade on a trade board. Plus if I really wanted to know the status of a Freo contract I can just ask you, right?

You could just ask me as I'd most likely be more accurate than yourself regarding Freo but I'm only privy to what I've been told and it's just a small slice of the pie.

Ok thanks I have heaps of questions but I’ll start with some of the more pertinent ones:

1. Why would Bolton agree to work for a year free of charge?

2. I heard a rumour Nat Fyfe was seen getting out of the back of a dog grooming van with a new hair cut and a tea cozy in Scarborough. Is that true?

3. When Ed Langdon left all those years ago was it because of the behaviour of a team mate?

4. Which personal trainer do David Walls and Sean Darcy use?

I agree but that is the climate we are in .

People are saying Harley reid will be offered 2mil a season
Just because people are throwing numbers around don't make it real in the business of AFL clubs.
No player is worth $2M a season, clubs cant operate on a system where 2-5 players take most of the salary cap.
Reid has played 1 year, contracted for 3, next contract will be based on performance and overall club need at WC.
At best his contract in year 4 will be $1M.
The absolute top 20 best players contracted in the AFL are paid $1-1.2M a season, long time before he is top 10 in AFL and even in 4 years if he is the best player in the comp his contract would not exceed $1.2-1.5M. CBA agreement means average salary will increase around 15% between 2024 and 2027, so 15% to top end contracts is still only around $180-200K a season.

It’s not a $200k pay cut.

It’s effectively a $1m+ pay cut.
If they believe any player with a limited career to earn money is going to take a $1 mil + pay cut they are delusional

Players take pay cuts of $50k-$60k to either get to the clubs of choice or to make room in the clubs cap for potential stars to come to the club but no player hands over $1 mil plus

Bolton actually could have got more to go to the eagles than what he was on at Richmond

Clubs will be offering brayshaw more than we offer warner for the pure fact he is a free agent and won't have to use draft picks

Wouldn't surprise me if teams like essendon norf and saints offer brayshaw 1.5-1.8mil a season if they get him as a free agent
If Warner chose Freo id be offering Brayshaw 1.8 mill a year from the Eagles. We probably cant afford it if Warner comes but if not we gotta spend that money somehow.

Brayshaw will have extended by then or already accepted an offer from the Saints.

You'll just have to go to the draft

thinking someone would move across the country to work the same job for significantly less money is one of the most insane copes ive read on this forum.

freo probably do have cap space considering the fyfe and walters long term deals came off the books recently, but how much of that gets absorbed by the recent signings who knows.

thinking someone would move across the country to work the same job for significantly less money is one of the most insane copes ive read on this forum.

freo probably do have cap space considering the fyfe and walters long term deals came off the books recently, but how much of that gets absorbed by the recent signings who knows.
"Daddy what did you get me for Christmas"
"This blow up toy from Kmart. Its a tight Christmas this year. We need to cut down on spending so we can make sure Hayden Young gets a new contract son"

Just because people are throwing numbers around don't make it real in the business of AFL clubs.
No player is worth $2M a season, clubs cant operate on a system where 2-5 players take most of the salary cap.
M
Ask the Richmond posters here what their salary cap situation looked liked during their flag run.

I reckon Dusty, Cotchin, Reiwoldt and Lynch took a fair chunk of Richmond’s salary cap.

Ask the Richmond posters here what their salary cap situation looked liked during their flag run.

I reckon Dusty, Cotchin, Reiwoldt and Lynch took a fair chunk of Richmond’s salary cap.
Flag run not building sides, whole different scenario.
WC and almost all other clubs that have had recent success had very high paid players in their premiership wins/window.
Again though no player is taking $2M per year, media speculation and hopeful outcomes to find a story.
Clubs don't pay 1 player 2 top 5 players salary in a premiership contending side.

You didn’t stipulate any specifics in your previous post, you just threw out a blanket statement.
WC and almost all other clubs that have had recent success had very high paid players in their premiership wins/window.
Again though no player is taking $2M per year, media speculation and hopeful outcomes to find a story.
Clubs don't pay 1 player 2 top 5 players salary in a premiership contending side.
That’s exactly what Richmond did with Dusty’s last contract in 2017. Reportedly $1.3m per over 7 years, when the 2018 salary cap was $12.4m.

So Dusty took up 10% of Richmond’s salary cap.

Pretty sure Buddy’s contract at Sydney would have been around 10%+ of Sydney’s salary cap when he moved there.

In 2027 the salary cap will be $18.4m. Even if the Eagles get Warner from Sydney, they should easily be able to pay Harley $2m in 2028.

You will need to pony up 2 million for wonder boy Harley Reid otherwise another club will.

If they are moving home and will be compensated in other ways.
it’s not fanciful look at Geelong.

living around your family is a lot cheaper especially if you have kids

family will get help finding better employment if required.

Property prices could be less so you don’t need as much

There’s lots of reasons to not be naive to think a salary that is only ever speculated on is the final dollar and cent in the game of life.

Speculation Chad Warner