News Chad Wingard traded to Hawthorn for ... dammit who is peeling onions?

Will Chad stay or go?

• He will stay farken!

Votes: 43 21.4%
  • He will go farken!

Votes: 112 55.7%
  • He will stay, he will go, he will stay and go farken!

Votes: 46 22.9%

I was wrong. I now remember reading that. It is different. It doesn’t reveal any of the feedback Chad got from the club. It’s fair enough IMO.

For the record, I think both the club and Chad are at fault in all this. The difference is that we can hope the systemic problems with the club will change. But spin putting all the blame on Chad will not do that.

Agree both parties are at fault.

https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/spor...e/news-story/2ab79f51bd7b91db72717737fecd5237
DUAL All-Australian Chad Wingard has revealed he was on the verge of being dropped for Port Adelaide’s blockbuster round 12 clash with premier Richmond.

Heavily criticised by Power premiership players Warren Tredrea and Kane Cornes for “looking disinterested’’, “not working hard enough’’ or taking his football more seriously, Wingard said coach Ken Hinkley gave him one final chance to prove himself or be sent to the SANFL for the first time in his 141-game AFL career.

“Kenny came to me before the Richmond game and basically said he was giving me an opportunity to put my fate in my own hands,’’ Wingard said.

“I reckon I was on the edge of being dropped, definitely missing a game, so he said he would give me a chance to play in the midfield to take control of my own destiny rather than rely on people to give me the ball.

“If you are in a team that’s not playing that well then as a forward you can cop it and you don’t get much of an opportunity to show what you can do.

“I had been playing okay, getting the ball and having score involvements and goal assists, but I wasn’t kicking straight for goal, which made my form look bad.

“And I copped a lot of criticism because of it.’’

Lol - Tredrea says the players ranked each other on their adherence to club standards.

The two lowest?

Polec and Wingard.

I sincerely hope Tredders has been misquoted, or has at least misunderstood the process that went on.

The group ranking *each other* would be an idiotic piece of HR, the very worst of “Bleeding Teams” methods, distilled.

Management and players giving 360 reviews up and down “the line” is more typical. The B&F numbers are basically “the management” ranking the players.

I don’t doubt Wingard has professionalism issues.

I’ll still be pissed off if he “works hardery” in a new environment because we couldn’t find a way to get through to him... even if the glow of a new game to play only lasts a couple of years, “because Wingard”.

What in the world?

We've have multiple people in and out of the media at separate times from separate sources say almost identical things.

****, even what Tredders said mirrors almost exactly what Feel had in his write up. And Tredrea has enough old friends and contacts in the club to verify it by multiple people within the club.

Even I've heard from people in the club that Wingard spent all year essentially talking about moving to Victoria to play.
Bought a house over there mid year apparently

Wingard on 9 sport said he was told he had an attitude problem but was not given a chance to work on it.

He could have signed a contract extension (i.e. made a commitment). By "chance" I'm guessing he means remain unsigned for 2019 then piss off to Hawthorn. No thanks.

Same with Polec, it's not coincidence that his career best year is in a contract year. I wouldn't expect that level of form to continue over the next 5 years.

What in the world?

We've have multiple people in and out of the media at separate times from separate sources say almost identical things.

****, even what Tredders said mirrors almost exactly what Feel had in his write up. And Tredrea has enough old friends and contacts in the club to verify it by multiple people within the club.

Even I've heard from people in the club that Wingard spent all year essentially talking about moving to Victoria to play.
I think it's clear that there are lots of people here with differing, yet strong points of view and opinions, and it seems with different sources of information too. We are never all going to be on the same page so maybe it's just time to agree to disagree. But ;) I do still wonder why he would have posted that Instagram pic about not getting traded if he was leaving all along. Only Chad knows.

to put it simply Chad threw a sook after his exit interview and told his manager to maybe start having a look around for when his contract ends next year, the club got wind of it and bet him to the punch, good on them and they got a lot better deal than they would next year, i bet Chad's not to happy with his manager's discreetness in shopping him around. His exit just highlights the attitude some of the players have towards the club, im sure he's not the only one. What ever happens next year Chad wont be the difference if we make finals, dont make finals or anything inbetween, im glad he's gone because he got soft the last 2 years

I think it's clear that there are lots of people here with differing, yet strong points of view and opinions, and it seems with different sources of information too. We are never all going to be on the same page so maybe it's just time to agree to disagree. But ;) I do still wonder why he would have posted that Instagram pic about not getting traded if he was leaving all along. Only Chad knows.
He didn't want to get traded, he wanted to walk freely.

Would people have been happier if Wingard walked at the end of 2019 and all we got in return was a compensation pick? I agree that the club is selective about who it applies minimum standards to, however I also agree with getting as much value as possible for Chad now if it looked like he was gone anyway at the end of 2019.

Weird that he managed to drop "I always thought I'd be a one club player" in his Melbourne unveiling.

Bit difficult to play footy in SA when you live in Victoria, dick head.
Who knows. Maybe it was just a really good investment and now by pure coincidence and workout any warning to him he can live in it

He could have signed a contract extension (i.e. made a commitment). By "chance" I'm guessing he means remain unsigned for 2019 then piss off to Hawthorn. No thanks.

Same with Polec, it's not coincidence that his career best year is in a contract year. I wouldn't expect that level of form to continue over the next 5 years.
It's starting to look that way with Chad, maybe the clubs not so dumb.