Strategy Changes & Pre-match Discussion - GRAND FINAL vs. Brisbane MCG, 2:30pm Sat 30/09

Would much rather Frampton breaking the glass, if Krueger tries he would snap in half leaving the glass intact.
I still can't believe people are advocating for Krueger. He hasn't even been named as an emergency all year. He wasn't used when we were running out of talls during the year. He can't get through a VFL game without being injured. He's had a total of 7 disposals & no goals for the 2 games played this year.

No chance Fly brings him in for the biggest game of the year.

I like Option a) - think I suggested it earlier and had a Like. Wouldn't consider Moore as a permanent forward, possibly look to rotate Moore and Howe through KPF depending on game situation. Would love to see Moore take a big contested mark and slot the first goal through - that would set the "G" alight.

I don't like Begg as a forward - his one wood is his in-side game, I don't anticipate that there'll be as much in-side game this week, more that the ball will ping between half forward lines - Beggy will get lost with the ball pinging around - Krueger is a better defensive forward than Begg - he's quicker, more agile and has better game sense.
Begg? Krueger? 😆

For the GF?

David King writing off Collingwood for the third week in a row warms my heart.

It's actually insane at this point

"Melbourne are the in form team of the competition. Not sure how Collingwood can beat them the way they're playing. The stats say Collingwood sucks"

Collingwood beats Melbourne

"GWS are the in form team of the competition. Not sure how Collingwood can stop them the way they're playing. The stats say Collingwood sucks"

Collingwood beats GWS

"Brisbane have so many weapons. The only question mark is the MCG. But they're in as good a position as they've ever been to win it. I'm not sure how Collingwood kicks a big enough score to beat them"

Like bro...stop. At some point just admit up front you don't want Collingwood to win so we understand the logic behind your train of thought.

We didn’t win that game though Spinny.

We’ll need both Moore and Howe back to beat them in the big dance, I think.

Hence Freddy coming into the discussion as a straight swap at CHF - he may not be really totally fully ready but we are low on options - our trusted coaches will have to make an informed decision on it. Earning their big bucks
Frampton has been break glass in case of emergency all year ...weve lost a tall and its going to be dry and warm day...he should come in

I still can't believe people are advocating for Krueger. He hasn't even been named as an emergency all year. He wasn't used when we were running out of talls during the year. He can't get through a VFL game without being injured. He's had a total of 7 disposals & no goals for the 2 games played this year.

No chance Fly brings him in for the biggest game of the year.
And most importantly he just isn't very good.

I'd probably bring Noble in if Adams doesn't get up and start Ginnivan with Noble as sub. Frampton, Cox and Cameron in the same team just isn't going to work. And I'm reluctant to move Howe forward to accommodate Frampton playing back. We finally have the backline settled and see no reason to switch it up again.

Frampton has been break glass in case of emergency all year ...weve lost a tall and its going to be dry and warm day...he should come in

I don't get why people act like Frampton has never played football before.

He's performed multiple times more than capably at full back, full forward or in the ruck.

Like, I'm pretty confident that if Fly keeps his role super simple with a focus on not being out marked and bringing the ball to ground, then he'll execute on that.

He's simply too versatile not to come in

Guys, need some sort of reassurance? Are we any chance to beat the Lions?

Reading some of the posts on their board, they are already going the early crow, pretty much saying they have the cup in the cabinet already.
They're confident because they beat us not long ago.

But rewatch the late season game against Brissy. All those soft front of the pack goals conceded. The time and space they had all over the park. Them continually outnumbering us around the contest.

Then consider if the Granny is going to look anything like that. Then consider the stars that we had out that game. Anyone taking anything from that game is foolish.

It's going to be a ripper and we are definitely a massive chance of get our hands on the cup.

He's performed multiple times more than capably at full back, full forward or in the ruck.

Like, I'm pretty confident that if Fly keeps his role super simple with a focus on not being out marked and bringing the ball to ground, then he'll execute on that.

exactly and he can go back or even ruck..hes not Wayne Carey or glen jakovich but he came in during the year and did his job and looked ok at AFL level...

To be perfectly honest I reckon our 2 finals wins have been awful games. We’ve played good attacking footy for a quarter in each game.

But I guess that’s finals footy where it’s just a dogfight. So I am hoping that means the personnel are not as important as just the hunger and desire. I wish for once we would come out firing and blow a team off the park but it’s not our way, so if we win I fear it will be a narrow one.

For me Adams in if fit, or Noble if not.

Cmon the pies.

Jesus he was linking up handball chains through he middle and drilling goals from 50 in the GC game. Hes not the worst

I think you need to re-watch the games where we tried him as a forward. Just wasn't competitive.

What's he done 'so capably' up forward for us that is going to make him such a success in a GF against a class player? This is not some two-bit H&A game. It's a GF against a team that beat us all too convincingly last time.

And most importantly he just isn't very good.

I'd probably bring Noble in if Adams doesn't get up and start Ginnivan with Noble as sub. Frampton, Cox and Cameron in the same team just isn't going to work. And I'm reluctant to move Howe forward to accommodate Frampton playing back. We finally have the backline settled and see no reason to switch it up again.
Agree. I doubt they would be touching our defence. They are reading each others minds down there.

We've been able to score goals from multiple players when playing our fast, chaotic football. And that's just what we'll have to do.

If they opted for another tall, Frampton is the only option they'd go for. But not to play forward, so not sure he's required if Howe isn't moved forward. And I really don't think our defence will be meddled with.

Just a couple of thoughts on redemption and hunger. I know Brisbane are as professional as anyone, and will no doubt be talking about the GF as an incredible opportunity. They’ve fallen at the second last hurdle a few times so have some heartache to drive them.

In saying that, there is a difference in getting there and falling short. We’ve got a few players from 2018 who I’m hoping have chips on their shoulders and are steadfast in their determination to leave it all out on the ground Saturday arvo. I’ve probably missed a few, but these are the ones for me who I hope can get some redemption and will fight like hell to get it.

Bruz: Seared into my brain for you know what. If I’ve had countless horrid flashbacks over the years, I shudder to think what has been going on in his head. He won’t be letting anyone out body him, and might just wreck a few Brizzie players on the way through.

Steele: had an exceptional 2018 but was completely tagged out of the Granny. 2010 showed he can do it on the biggest of stages, hopefully flying under the radar and can dominate his wing end to end, snag us a goal of two, or save a couple with marks on the goal line.

Pendles: also had a very good 2018 but was pretty ineffective in the Granny. Had 20 odd but there was just no hurt factor. He will never be under the radar, and will have thought about that game a lot, will have himself ready to go.

Moore: we will never know if he could’ve got through the 2018 granny, wouldn’t have guaranteed us anything if he did of course play, but will no doubt have thought about it a lot since. His head is screwed on enough to understand the opportunity. Let’s just hope pendles has had a word about the possibility that “the best” can still have bad days on the biggest stage, but they need to fight their way back.

Elliot: missed that crazy run through all of 2018. Might’ve thought he’d missed his last chance to get to a granny after the team started to decline in 2019/20/21.

Tich: Played in the famous loss to the bulldogs in 2016. Played a big game himself but obviously a loss is crushing, particularly when you’ve done all you can andddddd maybe there’s some conjecture about some officiating at critical moments. Again, a player who might’ve thought he’d missed his last chance given where the Hawks were going while he was there.

Tay: (providing he can get up) was very good in 2018 but will have had the fright of his life over the past couple of weeks in potentially missing the Granny. I’d never doubt his application but his hunger will be through the roof.

They're confident because they beat us not long ago.

But rewatch the late season game against Brissy. All those soft front of the pack goals conceded. The time and space they had all over the park. Them continually outnumbering us around the contest.

Then consider if the Granny is going to look anything like that. Then consider the stars that we had out that game. Anyone taking anything from that game is foolish.

It's going to be a ripper and we are definitely a massive chance of get our hands on the cup.
They've beaten us the last 7 games in a row.

Each time, Cameron, Daniher, and even Hipwood have gotten a hold of us, and even Raynor smashed us this year. We have shown to be generally vulnerable against teams with big forwards, and Brisbane have a couple of rippers.

Not only that, but Neale, Zorko, Dunkley is a great inside midfield, and McCluggage and Berry are good wings. And their half backs showed a lot last week in Colemen and the Irishman. And we all know about Andrews...

On paper they have us. The x factor for us is the MCG and the potential crowd-factor if we can get significant outnumber of vocal support on the day

Having re-watched lions v Carlton, I've started to lean on Frampton coming in with an eye of targeting Harris Andrews. Bloke is a genuine gun and in the absence of Big Dan I worry about him becoming a brick wall for us.

Frampton playing as a "tag" on Andrews, with Mihocek and the rotation of a DC/Cox between ruck and forward would stretch the Brisbane backline (especially if Payne doesn't get up). Also leaves our backline as is with Howe back there - something I would love the club to do, it's back to it's stingy best and the chemistry is rock solid between the group.

I'd get Ginni in for Lipinski, we need someone that can hit the scoreboard and we know Jack can provide that in spades. Lippa as the sub possibly? Maybe in a tussle with Noble or Tay (if fit) for that role come Saturday?

I'm hoping for Howe forward.

But I'm betting on the coaches going small and playing WHE forward. Our entries will be a combination of really quick when the defence isn't set and really slow when the defence is to allow us to get the rucks to the pack and bring the ball to ground for the smalls to attack. With chaos balls when the defence is set but we can't go slow.
This is our mo, fast footy when we have it and close space and turnover when we don't.

I know that's rather simplistic, but that's what it comes down to.

And the prelim and the QF for large chunks were not on those terms, none the less Fly got his wish 'pressure'. This is how he's gonna win this game.

Yeah we've been 'fast and manic' for most of the year, but this is finals, pressure city, and we just defeated one of the best close space teams in the comp and won, they were on top of their game too.

Bris don't have the same ability to bring that same level of pressure, not for as long at least.

What's he done 'so capably' up forward for us that is going to make him such a success in a GF against a class player? This is not some two-bit H&A game. It's a GF against a team that beat us all too convincingly last time.
Last time we were with them for most of the game with four quality players absent and nothing to play for whereas they needed to win to ensure a top two finish and home final.

Each time, Cameron, Daniher, and even Hipwood have gotten a hold of us, and even Raynor smashed us this year. We have shown to be generally vulnerable against teams with big forwards, and Brisbane have a couple of rippers.
None of those have been at the MCG

Their two wins this year are the only relevant ones. Last year's one was early in the season before we'd clicked and the others were under a different coach with a different game plan, when they were clearly a better side than us.

P.S. I wouldn't go with "even Raynor". He's fast becoming an untackleable beast with a massive impact.

I think you need to re-watch the games where we tried him as a forward. Just wasn't competitive.
he on occasions did more than hold his own forward ..he played well against the suns as a forward and started the rampage against Essendon on Anzac Day by clunking contested marks..hes only had limited time this year forward and yes its not ideal ..but to me he's best option seeing mcstay AJ are unavailable and Kruger is too risky and we need another tall

I can't see us playing Kreuger who has not played at the level in a long time.

Frampton is the only tall option, but a real possibility is to go small and back in the runners on a hot day.
And then use one of the rucks down forward to pose as the 2nd tall with checkers. Add the smalls around them

If you bring in frampton. It'll be to play back, not forward. And if you play him back, would mean Howe forward, and I can't see them making that big change to the defence... So not sure that happens either.
WHE could also play forward, and possibly play Noble in his place in the backline.
Feel it should be Frampton if we want to play tall.