Unofficial Preview Changes & Pre-match Discussion - Round 12 vs. Hawthorn, Sun 05/06, 2:10pm MCG

I see everyone calling for Brown, but to be frank, you need as much consistency in a starting 22 as you can get in this business and we've just beaten two top 4 sides with this 22.

McReery and McInnes haven't done anything in their last couple of senior appearances to justify just immediately replacing Tyler just like that. I'm not suggesting Tyler played well or anything, but I still feel like Tyler has something in him that is just bubbling under the surface. I feel like every time he plays could be that game where it clicks for him.

I'd stick with the same 22 for one more personally. If Tyler has another quiet/ineffective game against a lower opponent, then I'd probably be dropping him for Melbourne.

But for now, consistency needs to be the key and it's not often Collingwood has been in a position to go with the same 22 3 weeks in a row. I think we should take that opportunity.

You reckon? Playing so many games in a debut year off no preperation concerns me.

Mate, the kid has been preparing his whole life to become an AFL player.

He can freshen up over the bye round and maybe have a spell in the latter part of the season. The coaches are doing a great job playing him off half back to protect his body.

Look I just want to let everyone know I haven't started drinking early but... Tyler Brown stays for mine.

Yep he always feels like he's about 5% off - just not the right kick, handball misdirected, chooses the wrong target etc... But I have a feeling in my bones it's going to click for him and he is going to be one of our better, stronger midfielders.

We get pilloried for never giving kids the right opportunities. But it could have been just as likely that Cox had a quiet game and Tyler had to step up as a ruckman. I feel like he is a player who is really going to benefit from these game minutes, and ultimately we will be a better team for it.

It's really hard to make any unforced changes, tbh, and with Frost taking a week off I think we already have a strong enough team to take on the Hawks.

I would like to have another look at Reef but Tyler keeps doing one or two important actions each game which have you thinking it's all just about to fall into place. Then the following game he is unsighted before doing a match winning smother or tackle and once again he stays in. I wish it would click for him and very soon.

I feel like Tyler and Murphy are at a similar point in their career. Still not entirely sure if they belong. We've seen it click for Murph in the past 2 weeks. if the coaches back Tyler in then let's hope he can start producing some of his better footy.

A lot of people backing Tyler B.

I'm fine with our current (not our previous though) coaches backing young players but I'll also contradict it with:
Callum Brown - He has basically been gifted with lots of opportunity and now is 24 years old with 68 games to his name. He is highly unlikely to be a top 22 player from here on so. If this is true then he has basically stopped other young guys from getting games under their belt.

So with Tyler Brown being 22 years old and with 23 games to his name I would say that by the time he hits say 30 games if it hasn't clicked then he should make way for other younger players to have their opportunity.

Macrae, McInnes, McCreery, Bianco, Ruscoe and last years draftees all deserve opportunity if they perform in the VFL

I see everyone calling for Brown, but to be frank, you need as much consistency in a starting 22 as you can get in this business and we've just beaten two top 4 sides with this 22.

McReery and McInnes haven't done anything in their last couple of senior appearances to justify just immediately replacing Tyler just like that. I'm not suggesting Tyler played well or anything, but I still feel like Tyler has something in him that is just bubbling under the surface. I feel like every time he plays could be that game where it clicks for him.

I'd stick with the same 22 for one more personally. If Tyler has another quiet/ineffective game against a lower opponent, then I'd probably be dropping him for Melbourne.

But for now, consistency needs to be the key and it's not often Collingwood has been in a position to go with the same 22 3 weeks in a row. I think we should take that opportunity.
Tyler basically replaced Mcreery this week in the defensive forward role, once it was clear that Saad was going to tear Ginnivan apart on the rebound. It's not really a change to our team to swap them, considering Beau has played that role much more often during the year.

I understand that logic.

My only query is ultimately why? Beau hasn't been the same at all since injuring his hip and at least Tyler can play other roles Beau can't.

If Beau's form actually warranted it, then I'd agree 100%. Right now we're calling for Beau to replace Tyler based on pre-injury form.

Look I just want to let everyone know I haven't started drinking early but... Tyler Brown stays for mine.

Yep he always feels like he's about 5% off - just not the right kick, handball misdirected, chooses the wrong target etc... But I have a feeling in my bones it's going to click for him and he is going to be one of our better, stronger midfielders.

We get pilloried for never giving kids the right opportunities. But it could have been just as likely that Cox had a quiet game and Tyler had to step up as a ruckman. I feel like he is a player who is really going to benefit from these game minutes, and ultimately we will be a better team for it.

It's really hard to make any unforced changes, tbh, and with Frost taking a week off I think we already have a strong enough team to take on the Hawks.

A lot of people backing Tyler B.

I'm fine with our current (not our previous though) coaches backing young players but I'll also contradict it with:
Callum Brown - He has basically been gifted with lots of opportunity and now is 24 years old with 68 games to his name. He is highly unlikely to be a top 22 player from here on so. If this is true then he has basically stopped other young guys from getting games under their belt.

So with Tyler Brown being 22 years old and with 23 games to his name I would say that by the time he hits say 30 games if it hasn't clicked then he should make way for other younger players to have their opportunity.

Macrae, McInnes, McCreery, Bianco, Ruscoe and last years draftees all deserve opportunity if they perform in the VFL
The more i think about this, the more i think there must be something else at play with T Brown.
Week in week out he gets sub 10 possessions.....he deserved a spot from his VFL form (just looked too good for VFL), but he just can't seem to make the step to date.

We've all been seduced by "his break out game will come"....but after 20+ games....will it?

Having said that....

He's super flexible and has shown that he can go and play in just about any role bar KP. So from an in-game flexibility perspective, he ticks more boxes than most of (actually, all) the other players not playing (maybe Wilson is the closest with similar traits?).

We don't know the role he's playing and whether the team are happy with his output?!?! so its very hard to judge.
but i suspect a bit of why he's playing is to provide us with options should a Plan B be required.

I wouldn't be surprised or upset if he stays.
Also would understand if they bring McC back in and he makes way.

I understand that logic.

My only query is ultimately why? Beau hasn't been the same at all since injuring his hip and at least Tyler can play other roles Beau can't.

If Beau's form actually warranted it, then I'd agree 100%. Right now we're calling for Beau to replace Tyler based on pre-injury form.
Tyler gives more flexibility, but if we view that role as required, which I think it is with our other forwards, Beau plays it better defensively, wins more contested ball and is much more effective with the footy. It's not a role where anyone is going to get much of it, but Beau's touches impact more and I think his intensity, pace and strength cause more rushed hacks.

Another Sunday game, who would've thought.
The Freo game was Sunday evening followed by a red-eye flight back to Melbourne, so yesterday's game gave our boys a full 7 days.
Then the Hawthorn game is another 7 day break, followed by 8 days until the QB match, then the bye.
In terms of recovery, that's probably a good thing.

The more i think about this, the more i think there must be something else at play with T Brown.
Week in week out he gets sub 10 possessions.....he deserved a spot from his VFL form (just looked too good for VFL), but he just can't seem to make the step to date.

We've all been seduced by "his break out game will come"....but after 20+ games....will it?

Having said that....

He's super flexible and has shown that he can go and play in just about any role bar KP. So from an in-game flexibility perspective, he ticks more boxes than most of (actually, all) the other players not playing (maybe Wilson is the closest with similar traits?).

We don't know the role he's playing and whether the team are happy with his output?!?! so its very hard to judge.
but i suspect a bit of why he's playing is to provide us with options should a Plan B be required.

I wouldn't be surprised or upset if he stays.
Also would understand if they bring McC back in and he makes way.
Ideal medical sub.

What is Tyler Browns role? He had 3 touches to 3 quarter time. A handball to the opposite and a 5 metre kick out of congestion were 2 of them…
Kicked a handy goal in the last.

Everyone played their role. We beat a top 4 side.

Very hard to make changes.

So no change.
Finally some sense. No change for me as well unless we want some tactical change against the Hawks.

Does everyone have to have 20+ possessions, 10 tackles and 15 marks? I think as long as they play their role they shouldn't be dropped.

The tackle/block on Saad was like two goals at a crucial time, and then he scored a goal as well. Tyler showed spirit and doesn't deserve to be dropped.