Preview Changes/Preview v Carlton @MCG – Semi Final

We are 18th in the comp for using the corridor and 14th in the comp for scores per inside 50.

Remember all the fluffing about how we'd changed everything after we played one game in round 1?

Yeah nah. Still the most bat s**t boring regimented side in the comp
Yep Carlton were playing boring footy until they turned it around.
Yeah im not sure how you'll go beyond this week but just very confident you'll handle Carlton.
You must take some heart that in both games against Bris youve given them a big headstart and clawed them back to win one.
That lights out game Gawn went down early.
So if youre within 3-4 goals at 3 quarter time youve got a chance.
Port were with them till those injuries hit, they can be beaten.
I have no confidence this week, usually there is a gap between top 4 and the rest, but Carlton are only 5th because they had such terrible form early in the season. I just think Carlton have more going for them, Mackay goes out bit Silvani comes in, we've got jvr coming out and already scraping the bottom of the barrel with McDonald in. That's not factoring in the abysmal forward entries and dogshit ball movement.

Sorry mate but this is just made up. They've showed countless highlights across the footy shows of us completely and utterly ignoring simple inside kicks to bomb it down the line. Kicks to players in space.

Joey showed 3 examples of blokes in acres of space in the corridor and the kicker doesn't even look inside such is the shitty mindset of our players

Apologies for not having watched a second of footage of the game. I'm relying on my memory from watching it at the ground filled with anxiety and a couple of beers.

I'm happy to be proven wrong (as you've done), but don't suggest that I'm 'making things up'. It suggests I'm lying to suit my argument and it's offensive.

Apologies for not having watched a second of footage of the game. I'm relying on my memory from watching it at the ground filled with anxiety and a couple of beers.

I'm happy to be proven wrong (as you've done), but don't suggest that I'm 'making things up'. It suggests I'm lying to suit my argument and it's offensive.
The mute button is your friend. Life will be better if you use it. Some people don't have to read my opinion and I don't have to read theirs.

My pie supporting mate was shitting his dacks when we were storming home in the last with Gawn, Trac and Clarry up and about.

He didn't think they would hold on but was super stoked with how their defense held up, especially some of the lesser lights.

I would rather they go backward a little to draw out the opposition defence rather than just eyes forward like they did in the last quarter they had all the time in the world.

Laurie(out), JVR (sus), Brayshaw(inj)
Grundy/Schache (forward only), Turner (Rivers full mid this game), Jordan

With Petracca full time forward

Surely this is bull$hit made up by carlton supporters? While it would obviously help carlton, id hate to see someone like gawn miss rest of finals especially since I still have hope you guys are the only threat to pies at the G
As far as I'm aware, Gawn was just completing a light session at training yesterday. If he'd fractured his foot, I doubt he would've been there at all.

Seems an odd fixation over on the Carlton board with 'injuries' to Gawn, Oliver and Petracca.

Maybe I'm just bitter about it but I don't even think the pies defended that well, we couldn't have made it any easier to defend it we tried

I like this forum as it is not a one eyed place, I feel.

This was just the Giants again (for me) a game that they blew. The team had so many out on the full shots at goal the scoring shots are misleading.

If Collingwood out played Melbourne for the game I would, and I think many others, would concede that.

First quarter saw Melbourne not switched on and Collingwood took full advantage of that. So kudos to them, after that Melbourne should have rolled back the lead and won it.

(And I think most of us feel that was the shot at a GF gone)

Surely this is bull$hit made up by carlton supporters? While it would obviously help carlton, id hate to see someone like gawn miss rest of finals especially since I still have hope you guys are the only threat to pies at the G

Why would he be training with three weeks to go if he has fractured his foot?

I can actually back the Oliver theory up with stats aswell.

Oliver has 742 metres gained against the Pies, he's only had over 560 in one game this year until then and it was the last time the board had a discussion about his dump kicking which was Brisbane in round 2 when he had 774 metres gained. Both games he got it and torped it forward without even trying to bring his teammates in. The next week against Sydney he had 475 metres gained and played his best game of the year.

His two highest kick to handball ratio games for the year.....
Brisbane and Collingwood losses.

His two highest I50 counts for the year
Brisbane and Collingwood losses

We've lost 4 of the 5 games he had the most clearances in

We lost his 3 highest metres gained games

Clayton needs to actually play like an elite player because way too much of the ball goes through him for him to be an uncomposed mess with it

Awesome to see I've won you over to using stats and data.

Welcome to the team!

Looks like Clarry is a good shot for the reverse metres gained Brownlow...

Like the idea of Disco coming in as the forward way more than any of the other options honestly.
Bleak outlook GIF

Like the idea of Disco coming in as the forward way more than any of the other options honestly.

Yep, we’ve reached the point of anyone who has absolutely no experience up forward being by default ahead of the tall forward options.

I also think that the way he plays his footy may suit a defensive role sitting on the back of Weitering. Obviously a bit of wishful thinking but it’s hard for him to be worse than most of what we’ve tried up there.

Yep, we’ve reached the point of anyone who has absolutely no experience up forward being by default ahead of the tall forward options.

I also think that the way he plays his footy may suit a defensive role sitting on the back of Weitering. Obviously a bit of wishful thinking but it’s hard for him to be worse than most of what we’ve tried up there.
He can move properly and did some nice things against Sydney. Give me a tall bloke up forward who can at least contest the ball over a Tmac/Grundy/Brown who can barely walk.

This is going to sound weird but even if we did manage to fluke the flag this year playing this boring style of footy, strangling out a few 65 - 58 style wins, it’d be hard to actually get excited about it. I’d be like “oh great but that fk that’s over.”

I’d actually prefer a side that plays footy the proper way to win it.
So you’d not be that excited about Melbourne winning?

Wow

We had Frost and Omac as our key defenders so had to kill teams with attack as we were always going to get exposed defensively. Having a fit Tmac and Hogan up forward made a big difference too.

Once Lever and May came in we changed the way we played and haven't had a decent key forward since. Vindicated as we won the flag in 2021 with our forwards doing just enough.

That month long patch this year where we played more attacking footy showed me Goodwin knows how to get the side kicking scores but probably has no trust in our current forwardline to get it done, so instead we go with the hyper-defensive attrition style footy. No coincidence it was after Petty got injured we went back to that super defensive style.

I do actually think if we got some proper forwards Goodwin would change the way we play to get the most out of them but it's a bit of an indictment we haven't invested in that area sooner.
Losing Petty and Melksham hasn’t helped. Petty out is very underrated.

we will get back to how were playing over the last 8 rounds of the year (bar, ironically, the carlton game). weather forecast is sublime, no slippery footy this week, im expecting a lot better, i think we will towel them up

He can move properly and did some nice things against Sydney. Give me a tall bloke up forward who can at least contest the ball over a Tmac/Grundy/Brown who can barely walk.
I am literally staggered that the guy we recruited to play forward isn’t even best 22 in a year we are trying to win a premiership.

This Grundy deal is going down as one of the worst ever.