Unofficial Preview Changes v Brisbane (out: Moore, Brown, Daicos; in: JDG, Aish, Ox)

Having a PhD in sports analytics here re.. you need to understand this..

If you're gonna play Madgen then you have to play Murray. Not bashing Appleby here re.. but Scharenberg was avg 20 odd possessions a game. So released the pressure of Howe and Crisp and these types re.

You wouldnt think Madgen would avg 20 possessions a game so you need to offset that with playing Murray as a headless chook attacking type.. rather than playing Apples in a shut down role next to Magden re. Had Schaz been out there.. you might consider playing the Apple re.

Play Magden next to Apples.. the pressure to go forward by crisp howe Maynard and these types will be far too great re..

Capish?

Glad to help.

God it makes me laugh when a player gets selected and people start saying we'll lose straight away.

Oxley really is rubbish though, dunno what he offers, but we need hands on deck.

It’s not the player per se (though he is as soft as a stick of melted butter).. it’s the fact you are adding him to a backline missing Goldy, Schaz, Moore, Howe and Dunn and including a CatB first year rook in his second game as a KPD.

It’s a “sum of parts” conversation.

Then add to that Brions have a very potent dynamic forward line.

We’ve really just run out of options. Tho I’d have McFarty in over Ox in a heartbeat.

Oxley ain't that bad a player, played some really nice games a while back and had some poor ones in a terrible side, most players look average in a team that struggles and he's no exception. I reckon he will go really well and shut a few people's mouths for them.

Don't mind him either.. for the same reasons. Not I have seen him play in the VFL this yr.. the camera angles on tv when I do watch the VFL.. f nauseating re. Can't see shit re.

It’s not the player per se (though he is as soft as a stick of melted butter).. it’s the fact you are adding him to a backline missing Goldy, Schaz, Moore, Howe and Dunn and including a CatB first year rook in his second game as a KPD.

We’ve really just run out of options. Tho I’d have McFarty in over Ox in a heartbeat.
Serious question because I haven’t watched them. But why haven’t the Bears won more games?

Then it’s a good test...if we can’t win this, we don’t deserve to play finals (& we won’t).

Oxley in. Are we tanking for the top ten?

Been pretty consistent at VFL level so he's likely earned his opportunity. Not overly endowed in alternate tall defenders. Note with interest McLarty's been named at CHB. Be interesting to see if he lines up there.

It doesn't matter how well Oxley plays. We have one KPD and he is playing his 2nd game.
What happened to 'we will give Howe as long as possible?' He mustn't even be close. 2 week corky and still not close.

Happy with the changes, on the proviso that I'm not happy Howe misses again.

Oxley has been pretty good in the VFL and deserves a shot. In the absence of our first second third fourth and fifth choice key defenders, Langdon and Madgen will have to do the job with Mihocek as a backup.

Daicos a bit unlucky but Brown being dropped was a no brainer.

Serious question because I haven’t watched them. But why haven’t the Bears won more games?

They have been playing amazing footy. They have lost a big handful of games by less than 3 goals mainly as that youth hasn’t learned how to win the clinch games yet. Arguably the form team outside the top 10 though W/L might not show it.

I made a bet with a dude mid season for $100 they wouldn’t make the 8 next year but I ain’t laughing so much now. As such I’ve watched a lot of Brions games.

Anyone expecting a walkover this weekend is in for a shock.

They have been playing amazing footy. They have lost a big handful of games by less than 3 goals mainly as that youth hasn’t learned how to win the clinch games yet. Arguably the form team outside the top 10 though W/L might not show it.

I made a bet with a dude mid season for $100 they wouldn’t make the 8 next year but I ain’t laughing so much now. As such I’ve watched a lot of Brions games.

Anyone expecting a walkover this weekend is in for a shock.

They are 3rd last on the ladder with 4 wins after 20 rounds for good reason.

You're kidding if you think they are an amazing side, it's actually laughable.

Oxley ain't that bad a player, played some really nice games a while back and had some poor ones in a terrible side, most players look average in a team that struggles and he's no exception. I reckon he will go really well and shut a few people's mouths for them.
Thanks, about time someone gave him some credit.

Guy might be playing for his career, he isn’t that bad

I thought so.

McClarty should be playing.....he is the future.........that pea heart isn’t.

We're going to see, at some point in this game, why Adam Oxley is not an AFL standard defender.

Forward flanker? That might be a different story. But he is not a defender.

McLarty, meanwhile, is stuck in the no man's land of being Mason Cox's understudy...