Player Watch Chayce Jones - Re-Signed to End of 2026

5 year contract?

Well, 4 and a half by the point he signed that deal. Though it's read like he kicks over to his new deal after the current one expires (seeing the first article I read had it as a 3-year contract extension, so both of us are probably wrong).

So if he’s a bust we have him for 3 more years, ouch

That's the risk of long term contracts. Still, if you reckon the kid is a key part of your future, you give it to him.

Keep reading how we are playing him out of position and the HFF being the graveyard position.

That thinking was probably ten years ago. He is not in a fixed position where the ball needs to enter "his " are to win a disposal.

He would cover as much ground as any mid or any other small back/forward. Watch the way MacAdam and Stengle push up the ground. Or eve broader how other small.forwards and backs push up and down and be a tertiary option at stoppages.

That is what Jones needs to do. Work his way into the game, win his own ball, to be a good mid. Hence he is playing these roles.

He played a couple of games across HB. The easiest spot to get cheap ball and read play. That is where you put a kid you think could be a good mid to learn the play and build some touch. Yet he struggled to win his own or hunt the ball in that position.

Hunting the ball is a inate trait. You can't teach it. Schoenberg, Scholl, Hamill and McPherson all have it. Jones doesn't.

I am sure his stats were nice as a kid as a prime being fed the ball. But at AFL level you have to hunt the ball as a mid. There is no easy ball in that position.

When he gets the ball he is useful with it. That may be his saving grace.

If we draft well this year, the mids we puck up, plus Schoenberg and Sholl will push Jones out of the 22. He needed to make the most of his time in 2020.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
If the HFF is just one of a number of ball hunting positions then there should be no problem having Crouch, Crouch, Sloane run through there at times. Jones and Schoenberg can spend more time in the guts.

Probably. Watching some of the highlights of this season, a part of me is left wondering if this is just a kid who got ahead of himself and got smacked down to earth this season for it.

Chayce ticked every box last year, and got a 4 year contract for his troubles. I do wonder if he did slack off a bit this year with his work rate (seeing he was jogging in a few of those highlights where he should have been busting his gut to get into space), and just thought it would all happen for him due to him checking every box last season.
When he actually burst run forward to receive the overlap play, his team mate doesn't give him the ball as well.

I did the same and watched him in isolation a number of times live. Did the same on the replay. He reminds me of the small child at school who can't get into the game because being small and timid he lacks the confidence to put his body in there where he may get hurt. Might be between the ears for young Jones. Headless chook syndrome at stoppages.
100% it’s between the ears. We piled on heaps of pressure on him during the preseason to take the next step in the midfield. He then doesn’t perform and gets shafted to the fwd line, where a first year player (as good as Schoenberg is) has overtaken you in the midfield pecking order. That would absolutely destroy his confidence. Further evidence that he doesn’t back himself to kick forward /clearance, but chooses to pass it off instead.

I’m hoping that the new draftees / trade in takes away all the attention from him. Spending the entire preseason to let him focus on himself will do him a world of wonders.

I’m happy we’re going in the right direction for the rebuild, but not featuring any of the kids in the midfield is quite disgraceful (2nd half of the year). Chayce definitely has the potential to be elite. And when it clicks, it will be very sudden.

I think a number of factors played into Jones having a really poor year. One thing I noticed a lot was how mindful he was of his opponent. Not sure if it was a specific instruction but often he was more preoccupied with stopping his man at a stoppage than hunting the ball. Seemed to be in his own head. A couple of times he wasn’t even looking at the ruck contest but rather looking away from it, not sure how he’s gonna win much ball doing that. It was as if he took Nicks instruction to be more defensively minded to the nth degree and forgot completely about the offensive side of his game.

I think it’s 100% a confidence issue this year. Building his body up over the pre season and coming back with an attacking mindset should hopefully see a very different jones for 2021

I've got every confidence Jones is just developing slowly. He should become a good player after another preseason and having some games under his belt. Reckon he'll surprise.

When he actually burst run forward to receive the overlap play, his team mate doesn't give him the ball as well.

The thing is with burst runs is its a numbers game. You're going to be ignored more times than you're going to get the ball in most cases, especially the wider you're setting up. After all, a hard run would draw a defender, and potentially open up space for someone else to exploit, or you're exploiting that effort from others.

Is Chayce dropping his head when he's getting ignored?

The thing is with burst runs is its a numbers game. You're going to be ignored more times than you're going to get the ball in most cases, especially the wider you're setting up. After all, a hard run would draw a defender, and potentially open up space for someone else to exploit.

Is Chayce dropping his head when he's getting ignored?
It does look like it.

As I said, he drops his head when misses a kick, or doesn't stick a tackle. It's a bad trait to have, your opponents know they can work you over.

I think he needs to get more vocal around the stoppages. Hard when youre 19 and just starting but hes had enough games now to settle.

Theres a reason Matt and Brad get a lot of footy and thats wanting (demanding) the footy, even when theyre not in the right position.

Needs to find a way to get involved in some easy link up footy. Has weapons. Big year for him next season.

Hopefully our SANFL side is up and running again next year. Let these guys develop in the positions we want them to be playing in the firsts at that level, hopefully get a solid 4 week block of strong performances and if they can, bring them into the firsts in the same position - not thrown into the forward pocket or some other role they haven't been developing in.

Been a tough year for guys like Jones to develop as I doubt the practice games would have been anywhere near as beneficial.

Hard to get excited about his game yet but lots say he was a ball winning midfielder in the juniors so I think he's got to show us that at SANFL level now and if he can, give him another crack.

Jones completely out of his depth as a midfielder. The club talked him up as the next big thing and he is miles off it. He looks like he doesn’t want to be involved in the game.

I think we just let him get comfortable at SANFL level, have a few influential games, enjoy his footy, and go from there.

I don't remember them talking him up lately. Certainly around the time he was drafted for sure.

You are right, let the pressure come off him in the SANFL. Play him in the role we like him doing in the AFL. None of this mid in the SANFL, half forward at AFL rubbish. If we see him as a mid, make room or only bring him in for a mid. If its half forward let him learn his craft at the lower league.

He needs to start the year in the SANFL unless he tears up the preseason games.
Jones completely out of his depth as a midfielder. The club talked him up as the next big thing and he is miles off it. He looks like he doesn’t want to be involved in the game.

I think we just let him get comfortable at SANFL level, have a few influential games, enjoy his footy, and go from there.

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

I've heard he's been lauded all season by Nicks. Even through the 4/6 possession games.
if I was players like Seed or others i'd be pretty confused as to what constitutes a good game... seems to be your draft pick only in Chayce's case.
I can believe. Nicks ditched Gibbs and Atkins soon after speaking positively about them. He will say the thing he thinks will help him, which might not be the thing he knows to be true. It doesn’t mean he is actually thrilled with Jones this year, how could he be.

But it is a tough situation for Nicks. We want to be playing kids, knowing some of them won’t work out. This is why I wanted at least 3 more senior players off our list last off season.

Hopefully our SANFL side is up and running again next year. Let these guys develop in the positions we want them to be playing in the firsts at that level, hopefully get a solid 4 week block of strong performances and if they can, bring them into the firsts in the same position - not thrown into the forward pocket or some other role they haven't been developing in.

Been a tough year for guys like Jones to develop as I doubt the practice games would have been anywhere near as beneficial.

Hard to get excited about his game yet but lots say he was a ball winning midfielder in the juniors so I think he's got to show us that at SANFL level now and if he can, give him another crack.
Not only in the Juniors, he tore up TSL senior League after the National Championships

Chayce Jones (Launceston)

Draft prospect and emerging star Chayce Jones continued his hot streak of form with another best on ground display for the Blues.

Jones found plenty of the football and used it well to provide silver service to the Launceston forward line, while also using his sublime skills to kick a goal of the year contender.

Described by coach Sam Lonergan and teammate Mitch Thorp as a ‘special’ player, Chayce Jones could be an X-Factor for the Blues heading into this year’s finals series.

RACT Insurance Player of the Year:

Remarkably, Launceston young gun and exciting draft prospect Chayce Jones proved to be the leading RACT Insurance Player of the Year vote-getter in 2018, polling 12 votes from just five regular season games. Jones’ final five games saw him pick up one, two, three, three and three votes respectively. Finishing second on the final leaderboard, who knows how many votes he would’ve polled if he had lined up for a whole season in navy blue.

Rulla Kelly-Mansell’s move to half back saw him pick up nine votes, the next best out of Windsor Park, while Brodie Palfreyman and Mitch Thorp polled seven each.

The Rising Star:

Chayce Jones is the obvious answer here, with the Tasmanian U18 captain and Allies representative taking the competition by storm in the final stretch of the season.

Emerging ruckman Tim Auckland also looks to be a player to keep your eyes on, with the tall gaining experience with Adelaide in the SANFL before returning to Windsor Park and helping the side’s flexibility, with Leedham spending more time forward of centre.

Goalsneak Jack Rushton also looks like an exciting prospect, having kicked 13 goals from 15 games and impressing with his defensive pressure.

If the HFF is just one of a number of ball hunting positions then there should be no problem having Crouch, Crouch, Sloane run through there at times. Jones and Schoenberg can spend more time in the guts.
Perfect spot for Sloane I reckon.

Pure mid days are over.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

He was pick 9 and not a top 4 and the club talked him up???? Why.

Seems to have the raw ingredients but struggles to display them regularly when all the structures and roles stuff is added in top. Overloaded.

Penny will drop at some point you'd think, especially if there's some coaching stability in terms of game plan

Seems to have the raw ingredients but struggles to display them regularly when all the structures and roles stuff is added in top. Overloaded.

Penny will drop at some point you'd think, especially if there's some coaching stability in terms of game plan

Agreed ... big year for him in 2021 !

Was burning up the track pre-season and but looked lost often during post CV-19 restart ... think it will click at some stage next year .

Has plenty of talent and shown some rare glimpses of wow ... so pretty relaxed in judgement of him at this stage of his career .

Will not be so lenient in 12 months though .

Player Watch Chayce Jones - Re-Signed to End of 2026