Cheney or Otten?

Cheney or Otten preference.

Cheney does nothing poorly in defense, is strongly built, retained his mobility and still has a pretty quick 20-30m sprint. In an era where big bodied mids are starting to spend longer and longer as dangerous forwards having someone like Cheney on the list is hugely beneficial.

Otten, well speed and mobility are against him. He makes up for it with gamecraft which should be commended. But unfortunately for him he's always 1 mismatch away from getting horribly exposed.

This is not even a question in my book. Sorry Andy, I like you, but if its one or the other, then its not you!

I’d prefer to get some value at the draft (or a ruck) and trade Hartigan and Kelly. Keath looks fine in place of Hartigan. I’d consider putting Von Bertouch or best state league KPD on the rookie list as that back up in case of emergency (behind Talia, Keath, Doedee and Otten). Try and get Lukosius with a stockpile of draft picks/players. He could start his career at CHB.
I don't know about trading Hartigan. Not sure we would get the value

Do you like the way Cheney goes about it or Andrew Otten? It seems to be either one or the other.
Neither but if i have to choose one cheney. We will recontract otten though as we would rather keep an old cooked player than lose a cameron or mcgovern.

cheney absolutely for mine and i have no idea why he has a) been dropped and b) not got a contract for next season.
Hopefully it's to drive up Jake Kelly's trade value. "We'd hate to lose Jake, he's absolutely in our best 22, but if the offer is right, he's gettable." Take whatever we can, and run. And play Cheney. Far and away a better player. Just need him fit.

Does anyone think that Cheney didn't play the last game because of the reported pay dispute with the club ?
He had been doing well when we bought him back into the team.
Does he stay or does he go ?
Looks like anyone rocking the boat at West Lakes is quickly out the door

Does anyone think that Cheney didn't play the last game because of the reported pay dispute with the club ?

Sounds like a disaster down there atm. Club saying he hasnt met his KPI 's and hes saying its cos injuries which are due to their program. Which could well be right.

Not sure how true that is but thats what I've heard.

Sounds like a disaster down there atm. Club saying he hasnt met his KPI 's and hes saying its cos injuries which are due to their program. Which could well be right.

Not sure how true that is but thats what I've heard.
Wasn't it last year he was out due to injury and suspension though...or is he implying that the programme was causing these injuries last year as well

Ottens body is shot.

But he is still one of the best readers of play in the side, which enables him to still keep going.

I think he will make a fine coach one day so would like to keep him in our system wth a transition to coaching. He could do a better job than Hart coaching the backlines today.

I reckon his body is only shot if he's having to play on opponents that aren't key position in size. Talia would look shot if he was playing a 3rd tall role as well. I'll continue to back Otto in as an undersized KPD or break glass KPF if there's literally nothing else left. To defend a KPF you need a certain amount of size. But a decent coaching group should be able to work out a way to win with a small forward line of fit and in form players. You don't need to send someone out there just because they're tall.

Can't help but believe it's true given didn't we apparently do something similar to Henderson and drop him so he wasn't awarded another year on his contract with us? Cheney had been playing some solid footy, didn't make much sense for him to be dropped in the final round I thought - not like we were resting heaps of experienced players to blood young players.

Cheney or Otten?