Certified Legendary Thread China History in the Making

Sounds like a cop out to me, when you aren't prepared to put people on the ground in China and try a fly in fly out approach.

Sure the game is bloody tough and challenges us resource wise, but the commercial opportunities are there of finding a large sponsor and proper commercial partners, not just community partners, has been stuffed up because they dont listen to China experts and put a GM Commercial China on the ground in China.

Agreed and brings to mind a saying from the owner of at the time, SA's largest industrial wholesale company where I was a sales rep.

His words, "You don't have dogs and then bark yourself"

He was strong on employing the right people for particular positions.

Maybe Port management should try to not do all the barking themselves.

What do you make of George Fiacci’s comments on PortFan Radio ?
He says that the political climate in China plus China Australia relations has changed since we started our China initiative a few years back, meaning we are finding it harder to get what we had hoped for out of the strategy.
That the China thing is just too big for the club to handlle structurally and expertise/ contacts wise .
That the. AFL is better equipped to manage it going forwards, dealing with the political aspects etc ( as compared to little old suburban club Port Adelaide I guess ) Also that the China stuff need to be seperated out of the footy stuff and PAFC needs to get back to focusing on footy on field success instead.
At least that is my take on his comments.
Sounds ominous.
What do you make of his comments?
Do you reckon just his opinion or the opinion of the board?

https://podcasts.apple.com/au/podca...robin-to-the-rock/id987439695?i=1000437048392

I LIKE GEORGE VERY MUCH. HE’S HONEST, NO YES MAN, BEST OF THE BUNCH WHEN HE SAT IN THE BOARD ROOM. HIS OPINION OF THE REST OF THE BOARD AT THE TIME HE SAT WITH THEM IS NOT COMPLIMENTARY, ESPECIALLY OF KOCH (READ MY SIGNATURE). YES CHINA HAS CHANGED SINCE 2013, THE CANBERRA-BEIJING RELATIONSHIP HAS CHANGED WITH IT (READ RECENT EPISODES OF ‘UP THE CHINA RABBIT-HOLE). PAFC HAS CHANGED WITH IT - IN THE WRONG DIRECTION ... IN THE “OH WELL, THIS IS JUST TOO HARD FOR US NOW” DIRECTION, “WHY DON’T WE JUST GIVE UP ON OUR BIG PLANS AND LEAVE THE SPORTS DIPLOMACY STUFF AND SCHOOL STUFF TO ANDREW, AND I’LL TAKE OVER ALL THE COMMERCIAL OPPORTUNITIES AND KEEP THEM TO MYSELF AND TOTALLY RELY ON MR. GUI AND DON’T BOTHER TO FIND ANYONE ELSE ...” “YES, KT, BUT MR. GUI FOUND US, WE DIDN’T FIND HIM. MR. GUI WAS INTRODUCED TO US BY A VOLUNTEER. WHY DON’T WE DO MORE WITH VOLUNTEERS, OUR VOLUNTEERS, THEY COST NOTHING, KT, THEY KNOW MORE THAN US, WHY DON’T WE TAKE MORE NOTICE OF THEM?” “WAIT UP ... VOLUNTEERS? VOLUNTEERS ARE TROUBLE. THEY HAVE TOO MANY GOOD IDEAS. THEY CREATE TOO MUCH WORK FOR US, THEY PUT TOO MUCH PRESSURE ON US, THEY EXPECT US TO LISTEN TO THEM. THEM. THEY’RE BLOODY VOLUNTEERS FOR GOD SAKE. NEXT QUESTION? HURRY, PLEASE, ANDREW AND I HAVE TO CATCH A FLIGHT TO ULAN BATOR TO MAKE A LONG SPEECH TO FIFTY CHILDREN FROM SOME MINORITY OR OTHER.” “HEY, KT, WHERE’S ULAN BATOR?” “DON’T YOU KNOW? YOU MADE THE APPOINTMENT, ANDREW. WILL I NEED AN OVERCOAT? LOUISE!!!???”

OH YES. THE CHINA SITUATION HAS CHANGED A LOT.

‘Help’ of an employment agency ... in Adelaide? ... in Australia? They knew less about what they were doing than the Club, under the direction of the CEO, Keith Too Casual Thomas. What they knew how to do was submit their fee note.

It was not a case of just finding someone for the job. The CEO found Damien McDowell and was bloody proud of himself for doing so ... for a while. It was a case of the environment the new recruit found himself in at postcode 5014 / 5015. It was a case of being kept off the turf of others like Hunter and Kelly, disallowed for god sake to set foot in China itself on his own, a place he had experience in, for fear he would show up those he reported to.

This sounds horrendous. It is nevertheless true. And it’s the fault of the CEO who for too long has guarded his China turf, hugged it so close, so jealously, it has inevitably become the AFL’s China turf.
Well that's pathetic but I see it all the time at work

I follow this thread and am always interested to read the new posts that appear (particularly from LR and REH).
I think the sad thing is the fact the club doesn’t highlight what they are doing enough.
Like it or not people need/want to see some sort of results whether it is additional sponsors or a line in the financials saying China has made us x amount of dollars.
I’m not expecting to see a mountain of cash straight away but I would love to see real evidence of progress.
Unfortunately it seems the Club either can’t or won’t do this.
Like a lot of things recently it seems as though they are happy to keep Members in the dark.

They don't hightlight it because it isn't good news. They don't want to inflame the negativity around China strategy.

Feeling that this will one day be something we look back on wondering what could have been. Or the old, well, we gave it a crack and it didnt pay off type thing. But I guess when you are a little working class club from Alberton you should probably just stick to raffles and sausage sizzles.

W
He says that the political climate in China plus China Australia relations has changed since we started our China initiative a few years back, meaning we are finding it harder to get what we had hoped for out of the strategy.
That the China thing is just too big for the club to handlle structurally and expertise/ contacts wise .
That the. AFL is better equipped to manage it going forwards, dealing with the political aspects etc ( as compared to little old suburban club Port Adelaide I guess ) Also that the China stuff need to be seperated out of the footy stuff and PAFC needs to get back to focusing on footy on field success instead.
At least that is my take on his comments.
Sounds ominous.
What do you make of his comments?
Do you reckon just his opinion or the opinion of the board?

https://podcasts.apple.com/au/podca...robin-to-the-rock/id987439695?i=1000437048392
New rules in China make it ridiculously difficult to transfer money out internationally. Rules changed I think 2 years ago. I have lots of Chinese customers who all tell me the same problem

Btw the bloody forecast 14 days out is for rain gawd damn it lol
Screenshot_20190520-145431_Chrome.jpg

Well after the start of our season we should be pretty used to playing in the rain at least.
Will be hard to improve our percentage much

Not true. If we go into the game with 870 for and 800 ( ie win 104-89 in Tassie) against ie 108.75% currently 107.74 and win 60 pts to 30 pts in the wet our percentage goes to 112.05%. If we kicked 120 pts we would have to limit them to 83 pts or less to have a better percentage.

New rules in China make it ridiculously difficult to transfer money out internationally. Rules changed I think 2 years ago. I have lots of Chinese customers who all tell me the same problem
That's because in 2015 or 2016 an estimated $600 billion USD left mainland China, most of it in unrecorded cash but some in untraceable electronic transfers.

Beijing decided to crack down because people were getting money out of China, to buy real estate around the world, Oz saw its fair share, billionaires spending $300m on soccer players, and other things that had no benefit to China.

Port can still get sponsorship $$$ out of Chinese enterprises who have operations in Australia or outside mainland China without any of the tough restrictions applying. Mr Gui is helping us fund the game in China game, so no monies have to be transferred out. He did get his money out to buy properties in WA and 1/3rd share of S. Kidman and Co before the tougher restrictions.

That's because in 2015 or 2016 an estimated $600 billion USD left mainland China, most of it in unrecorded cash but some in untraceable electronic transfers.

Beijing decided to crack down because people were getting money out of China, to buy real estate around the world, Oz saw its fair share, billionaires spending $300m on soccer players, and other things that had no benefit to China.

Port can still get sponsorship $$$ out of Chinese enterprises who have operations in Australia or outside mainland China without any of the tough restrictions applying. Mr Gui is helping us fund the game in China game, so no monies have to be transferred out. He did get his money out to buy properties in WA and 1/3rd share of S. Kidman and Co before the tougher restrictions.
Read Episode 7 of Up The China Rabbit-Hole, first part already posted, conclusion due mid week.

AFL set to open office in China

THE AFL is set to open an office in China as it seeks to establish itself in the country's market.
The expansion of the game into a largely untapped market comes as St Kilda and Port Adelaide prepare to face off in Shanghai on Sunday, June 2.
The AFL's new office based in Shanghai will open in the next few weeks, according to the League's general manager of China David Stevenson, and be staffed by two full-time employees.
"They'll be primarily focused on driving commercial outcomes and building long-term partnerships with either Australian companies trying to grow into China or Chinese companies trying to grow into Australia," Stevenson told AFL.com.au.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-05-21/afl-set-to-open-office-in-china

No mention of Port Adelaide there.

THE AFL is set to open an office in China as it seeks to establish itself in the country's market.
The expansion of the game into a largely untapped market comes as St Kilda and Port Adelaide prepare to face off in Shanghai on Sunday, June 2.
The AFL's new office based in Shanghai will open in the next few weeks, according to the League's general manager of China David Stevenson, and be staffed by two full-time employees.
"They'll be primarily focused on driving commercial outcomes and building long-term partnerships with either Australian companies trying to grow into China or Chinese companies trying to grow into Australia," Stevenson told AFL.com.au.

Without knowing a lot about it, how long until we start getting shuffled off by the AFL and we see 2 other teams playing over there?

From the Advertiser
"As Port Adelaide prepares to add another $6 million from its 'China Strategy' to its financial books at Alberton, the AFL also wants to find new revenue offshore to fund its programs in Australia."

That's what i was thinking. AFL makes it sound like they're the driving force behind the idea.

Without knowing a lot about it, how long until we start getting shuffled off by the AFL and we see 2 other teams playing over there?
No Mr Gui, No AFL in China.

He is backing us to play in Shanghai until 2023. After that he can stay with us or back the AFL if they want to bring 2 other teams.

I'm skeptical of the 12% of revenue in The Oz story and $6m Rucci put up. Will put up some figures to question this
https://www.theaustralian.com.au/sp...m/news-story/937479b97df94f0ba90d10f1a4ddfd1a
The AFL will open a commercial office in Shanghai to try to sign more Chinese sponsors and help Australian companies break into the Chinese market, headlining a strategy of devoting more resources to one of the world’s fast-growing economies. The move will follow Port Adelaide’s upcoming match against St Kilda in Shanghai on June 2, which is set to be the South Australian side’s most profitable venture overseas yet. Port Adelaide will make $300-500,000 from the match, having clinched new sponsorship deals and sold corporate packages around the game, which will account for about 12 per cent of the club’s annual revenue this year.

The Shanghai game also marks the AFL’s most serious move into China, where Auskick junior coaching programs are being expanded and a general manager for China has already been hired by the AFL, as well as the latest push by Port Adelaide in carving out a corporate identity there.
https://www.theaustralian.com.au/sp...m/news-story/937479b97df94f0ba90d10f1a4ddfd1a

Koch for the first time I am aware of, publicly reveals Mr Gui underwrites the game to ensure it breaks even.
Port Adelaide chairman David Koch told The Australian his club would make its first profit in the third edition of the China game after two previous matches against Gold Coast. “The game is very expensive. It costs $4.5 million to put on but that is fully underwritten by our Chinese partner (Gui Guojie’s Shanghai CRED), who we have for another five years including this year,” Mr Koch said. “We’ve broken even for the first two years, but we will make money from the venture this year.

St Kilda's take on it. They will be announcing a new sponsors before the game.
St Kilda have committed to the match for the next three seasons and the club will announce new sponsors in time for the match. The Saints are also hosting a business forum in Shanghai before the match and taking part in a sports technology forum. “We know creating relationships with Chinese companies and engaging Chinese Australians living in Melbourne will take time but we have already had some success with engagement programs involving Chinese students studying in Victoria and will expand these activities over coming years,” said St Kilda president Andrew Bassat, who, as managing director of Seek, has business experience in China via its subsidiary Zhaopin.

Port supposedly will have a full time staff member in this new AFL Shanghai office. Implys a commercial GM.
Port would also have a staff member based permanently in the new AFL Shanghai office in the hope of attracting more corporate deals. “This is a big sign of our commitment long term to China,” Dave Stevenson, the AFL’s general manager (China and India) said about the new office.

So this game has resulted in St Kilda getting new sponsors, plural, within 6 months but has yet to get us one legitimate one in 3 years?

What the **** is going on down there?

From the Advertiser
"As Port Adelaide prepares to add another $6 million from its 'China Strategy' to its financial books at Alberton, the AFL also wants to find new revenue offshore to fund its programs in Australia."
The club have got to Rucci. The game costs $4.5m and I doubt we aren't going to see another new $2m. Sure guys like Nicho Teng might renew their sponsorship and that comes from China strategy but revenue wont increase by $6m over last year. Today's Australian article talks about the China strategy being 12% of total revenue. I don't believe it based on the numbers I have seen.

The other thing is that a Joint Venture got set up with the AFL to run the game, so then only Port's share of revenue and expenses goes thru Port's books. From Port's limited info revealed in its financial statements you can see that the numbers quoted in the media are overstated, probably gross figures and not net JV share.

In 2017 I know the AFL distribution increased by $2.07m to cover the increase in salary cap for the new 2017-22 TV deal and in total went up by $2.4m. Footy Ops revenues went up by $2.6m which suggests to me only the JV share of China went in because if the reputed $4.5m we had to raise to pay for the game, then other footy ops revenues went down $1.9m. That didn't happen. 2018 those footy ops revenues went up $1.3m so some of that would have been China some other revenue streams. Although we did lose Renault's JMS fee, so maybe China directly and indirectly contributed a fair whack.

1558404251730.png