Chris Scott's legacy if he gags in another finals series?

why do people keep saying it was Geelong making the excuse? It was Tom Morris and the AFL. Clearly even if we had a fully fit best 22 including Stewart etc we still would have lost easily. Also rich that Richmond supporters are the ones bringing it up after the "gastro outbreak" of 2018. Sometimes teams sh*t the bed on the field, it doesn't mean they also sh*t the bed in the hotel as well.
So what was he alluding to in his presser? Stale croissants ?

IF it was a virus, does anyone think it strange than in the middle of a pandemic, they were given the allclear to play? Even gastro itself is linked to that frickin cvirus.

Anyway, they were never going to beat the Dees. Dees had them covered across every line and played out that way. And then some.

Just for those at the back that couldn’t hear it:

the story about players being ill was produced by Tom Morris and his quoted source was not Chris Scott, or Joel Selwood, or Paul Koulouriotis, or David Mensch, or Bruce Lindner, or any other Geelong figure.

he was given that information by someone within the AFL and then wrote a story about it. Crazy but that’s how media works.
Its BS. It's the usual Geelong excuses and BS.
has always pissed me off how the media 'buy' all their excuses and BS - he's a great coach, elite players on every line, Stephen Wells the guru. Utter rubbish how much they get away with. And all b.c the media really is afraid to take on Scott who's comebacks and bullying language is as good as it gets. His the same bully who played on the field.

No longer pisses me off b/c I finally realised on Friday night that there is no way this list will win a flag - there's just too many young, up and coming teams with better young players; and a better culture than Geelong under Scott will ever have. Physically this Geelong team is cooked. But I also reckon emotionally many of those players are done.
And I now love the excuses Scott makes. Because it means that apart from getting rid of a few of the 10-15 geriatrics (Dalhouse, Jenkins), maybe the odd trade, they are gonna go with this list again. Prob even the same chip chip boring gameplan. Love it. They believe their own lies. The cliff in 2023 will be even better to look at.

Its BS. It's the usual Geelong excuses and BS.
has always pissed me off how the media 'buy' all their excuses and BS - he's a great coach, elite players on every line, Stephen Wells the guru. Utter rubbish how much they get away with. And all b.c the media really is afraid to take on Scott who's comebacks and bullying language is as good as it gets. His the same bully who played on the field.

No longer pisses me off b/c I finally realised on Friday night that there is no way this list will win a flag - there's just too many young, up and coming teams with better young players; and a better culture than Geelong under Scott will ever have. Physically this Geelong team is cooked. But I also reckon emotionally many of those players are done.
And I now love the excuses Scott makes. Because it means that apart from getting rid of a few of the 10-15 geriatrics (Dalhouse, Jenkins), maybe the odd trade, they are gonna go with this list again. Prob even the same chip chip boring gameplan. Love it. They believe their own lies. The cliff in 2023 will be even better to look at.

It’s BS that a journalist just made up this story, got access to the specific names in question, then directly attributed the information to a particular organisation. Interesting.

Totally true to form for Scott and Geelong to release this "information" after a game.
Classic attempt to keep the Kool aid drinkers at the trough.

Scott is always going on about how the "external narrative" is wrong and only folk with the "internal narrative" inside the club knows the full story.

Massive smoke screen. Classic sect leader behaviour.

Scott is so entrenched in the blinkered siege mentality that he has become delusional like a cult leader. Only his own "internal" truth is real.

Mate. We can see with our own eyes your side is too old and too slow and not good enough anymore.

To keep denying this and scoffing it away as "external narrative" is delusional.

Sometimes the bleeding obvious really is bleeding obvious and the truth.

So Tom Morris just decided to re-word ‘sources from within Geelong’ and changed it to ‘sources within the AFL’

I think so. Geelong want to distance themselves from the leak while also having the information out there. Morris protects his source.

I reckon there's a genuine need to save face from within the club and the virus thing is likely true, so it seems like an easy move.

I think so. Geelong want to distance themselves from the leak while also having the information out there. Morris protects his source.

I reckon there's a genuine need to save face from within the club and the virus thing is likely true, so it seems like an easy move.

How do we save face mate. I’m as dumb as f***ing dog shit and couldn’t kick a ball out of sight on a black night.

how in blazes do you think a few dozen staff members at a football club, who’s career is solely dependent on their knowledge and awareness of the ins and outs of the sport, would sit around in the aftermath of a game like that and go ‘I know - if we anonymously plant a leak about 6 specific players being crook before the game and get Tom Morris to write a story about it, everyone will forget we’ve just been flogged mercilessly in the biggest game of the season to date.’

Totally true to form for Scott and Geelong to release this "information" after a game.
Classic attempt to keep the Kool aid drinkers at the trough.

Scott is always going on about how the "external narrative" is wrong and only the "internal narrative" inside the club knows the full story.

Massive smoke screen. Classic sect leader behaviour.

Scott is so entrenched in the blinkered siege mentality that he has become delusional like a cult leader. Only his own "internal" truth is real.

Mate. We call see with our own eyes your side is too old and too slow and not good enough anymore.

To keep denying this and scoffing it away as "external narrative" is delusional.

Sometimes the bleeding obvious really is bleeding obvious and the truth.
Spot on post. True to form and smoke screen. Year in, year out. Its the way Scott and geelong try and manipulate the narrative.
So glad many of us footy supporters can see through this/

I can see that, but I also wouldn’t be surprised if he wasn’t at least short term involved in some sort of rebuild.
When are you expecting Geelong to start this rebuild and what is your definition of short term?
Scott only has one year left on his contract, so are you expecting this rebuild to start in this coming preseason? If so, you have traded out of this years draft, so are you expecting to be trading out some players to get access to the early part of the draft?
Or do you believe Scott will stick around after the end of next year to start a rebuild, which he's never done before in his career? Do you think he'll actually start player the kids more in 2021 rather than going all out for one last push for a flag?

Even in this response he's ducking. There is one premier each year and 17 teams that aren't. If you want to look at win loss ratios it's only finals ratios that matter and 8 and 15 as skipper says fail. Shame no one's had the conversation with him. Everyone's always been busy pissing in his pocket.

If looking at finals records, you need to look a little deeper than just wins/losses and look at the context of them too.

For a start, 2 losses, 1 win is about par for the teams 3rd or 4th place. Exactly what Geelong did this year. They lost to 1st and 2nd place, and beat 6th. What was mathematically expected, is what actually happened.

They were around 3rd most of the year, entered finals in 3rd place, finished finals in 3rd place. They were the 3rd best team this year. Sure it's disappointing they weren't able to increase that ranking to 1st place, but what's real is that two other teams were better most of the year.

That means Geelong had a 33% winning percentage in 3rd place. GWS on the other hand had a better winning percentage at 50% (with 1 win, 1 loss), but finished lower and were eliminated by Geelong.

Clearly Geelong were better than GWS, and the results show that, but just listing the win/loss numbers doesn't show the whole story there.

When are you expecting Geelong to start this rebuild and what is your definition of short term?
Scott only has one year left on his contract, so are you expecting this rebuild to start in this coming preseason? If so, you have traded out of this years draft, so are you expecting to be trading out some players to get access to the early part of the draft?
Or do you believe Scott will stick around after the end of next year to start a rebuild, which he's never done before in his career? Do you think he'll actually start player the kids more in 2021 rather than going all out for one last push for a flag?

It will be almost exactly what the other Scott did at North. Left their list in a mess whilst trying to 'claim' and take credit for the fact that he had to warn the board they could no longer compete! Just utterly hilarious how back then, the media were reporting that Scott went against his own self-interest to let the North board understand they had to re-build. After he took them to that place.
Just amazing what those in the media let the Scotts get away with b/c of their fear of being admonished by the Scott lethal tongue.

And watch Chris do the same. Whether its Carlton, Gold Coast or a WA based club in 2023, he will have left that Geelong list in a mess. Cant wait.
The age profile will need 3 years to get right even with savvy drafting and trading. As I said in another post, I just hope that the idiots within the list management depts at Freo or GC dont over-rate the Geelong youth - b/c Clarke, Esava, Close, Narkle arent much chop either and arent worth the 1st round picks that Geesook will ask for.

I am not sure that means what you think it means

Richmond have played Geelong in twelve finals in the last 100 years and lead 10-2

For it be a "rivalry" it needs to be close .

No, you see Richmond supporters can't stop thinking and posting about Geelong. Decades of dominance over them has meant they just can't help themselves, even after a very successful period.

We couldn't give 2 shits about Richmond.

Hope that helps.

It’s BS that a journalist just made up this story, got access to the specific names in question, then directly attributed the information to a particular organisation. Interesting.
So why are people on your board saying the game should have been postponed because of the virus if it didn’t come from the club? You guys are almost at Essendon levels of delusion

You think Geelong supporters that have access to the same news websites as everyone else are the spokespeople for the football club?

No, you see Richmond supporters can't stop thinking and posting about Geelong. Decades of dominance over them has meant they just can't help themselves, even after a very successful period.

dominance in what, home and away games?

You must be the bloke that still thinks Danger > Dusty lol

What does that even mean?
The story was broken independently of Geelong so how the hell is that some sign of it being used as an excuse?

for US to use it as an excuse wouldn’t WE be the ones circulating the story

How do we save face mate. I’m as dumb as f***ing dog sh*t and couldn’t kick a ball out of sight on a black night.

how in blazes do you think a few dozen staff members at a football club, who’s career is solely dependent on their knowledge and awareness of the ins and outs of the sport, would sit around in the aftermath of a game like that and go ‘I know - if we anonymously plant a leak about 6 specific players being crook before the game and get Tom Morris to write a story about it, everyone will forget we’ve just been flogged mercilessly in the biggest game of the season to date.’

We can't save face, but we're clearly going to try. There is no way a few dozen people need nor want to discuss it, or sign it off. One text from one person inside the club, Morris follows the lead through with AFL. Job done.

My point is this.
Who are the coaches from this apparent stockpile of them that are just sitting around in a warehouse who are waiting to be called upon to rebuild a club because they’ve done it SOOOO successfully that they’re currently unemployed?
Who is this person that is going to build things from the ground up? Even the guys currently coaching ‘rebuilt’ squads to the deep end of the season - Beveridge and Goodwin - they had most of their squad there beforehand.

My point is this.
Who are the coaches from this apparent stockpile of them that are just sitting around in a warehouse who are waiting to be called upon to rebuild a club because they’ve done it SOOOO successfully that they’re currently unemployed?
Who is this person that is going to build things from the ground up? Even the guys currently coaching ‘rebuilt’ squads to the deep end of the season - Beveridge and Goodwin - they had most of their squad there beforehand.
I'm not sure how I could have got all that from your comment saying you think Chris Scott would remain around in the short term to rebuild.
You just avoided every single question I asked about what that rebuild looks like

I'm not sure how I could have got all that from your comment saying you think Chris Scott would remain around in the short term to rebuild.
You just avoided every single question I asked about what that rebuild looks like

I can’t answer them. I’m not a club staffer and have no experience in it my point is merely that I don’t see any benefit in just immediately sending Scott on his way at the end of his contract because he hasn’t rebuilt a list from the bottom before. Few if any coaches have ever done it successfully and stayed in the job or coached regularly again or put their hand up to look for another job. So it isn’t as simple as saying goodbye to Scott and getting a specialist rebuilder in. He’s as well qualified as anyone really.

We couldn't give 2 shits about Richmond.

Hope that helps.
This is how we think of Geelong. 06F4EA78-59F1-49A6-AF87-693F777F7465.jpeg

He made absolutely no mention of it. The story about the virus or whatever it was came from a journo who quoted a source at the AFL

He said : “There will be more news come out in the next few weeks” to help explain their poor performance… watch the presser again, it was an excuse without needing to explicitly say it - in other words … journo’s, go off and find out what I’m alluding to ASAP ! He’s not silly. Planted the seed for the journo’s and got the story out within 24-hours.

Chris Scott's legacy if he gags in another finals series?