List Mgmt. Christmas comes early (Nov 28 - 19 sleeps) - Draftee discussion

If we rate him on our draft board as the highest WA talent, but we would be happy to let him go to an earlier pick bc there's "plenty of other talent".....that we didnt rate as high. Just stop. You havent a clue
Angry Work GIF

Duffield linking us to Jhye Clark a few weeks back certainly makes a lot of sense. Pencil in Ginbey for 8 but reckon Vic Country players are certainly still in the mix. Mackenzie had an interesting upbringing, lived in France for a few years but I wonder if we’ve written him off too.

" After 1 year at WC MacKenzie has requested a trade the Paris Cockerels and hopes to head back to France asap"

If we rate him on our draft board as the highest WA talent, but we would be happy to let him go to an earlier pick bc there's "plenty of other talent".....that we didnt rate as high. Just stop. You havent a clue
Just so you can calm the Farm 😬

O’Brien yesterday on Trade Radio on trading down to pick 8 & 12

“ We don’t think there is a big difference to be truthful, there’s a big group of guys in the top 12-15 that are pretty even and more importantly bring something really good to the table”

“ to get two of them rather than one was a really good opportunity”

“ you don’t make a move like this unless your comfortable with a group of players and we think there’s enough talent there”

Asked on the go home factor

“Been asked this quite a bit and for us it hasn’t really been a consideration”

“ we are happy to draft the best talent and back our club to retain them”

Hopefully that clears things up champ….

* keep going and we probably make the dump thread 😬

Cadman is only 194cm according to most footy sources. However, some 18 years old are still growing.

He's been listed at 196cm multiple times by Cal Twomey.

“ we are happy to draft the best talent and back our club to retain them”
When was the last time we had a first (or second) rounder play the 'trade me' card?

IIRC it was Matt Rosa in 2015. Which was not bad after 150+ games. Before that was probably Koby Stevens.

Yeah, I'd back us to keep our draftees for as long as they're useful to us.

Duffield linking us to Jhye Clark a few weeks back certainly makes a lot of sense. Pencil in Ginbey for 8 but reckon Vic Country players are certainly still in the mix. Mackenzie had an interesting upbringing, lived in France for a few years but I wonder if we’ve written him off too.
Clark has shown his love of Corio Bay and I feel nervous Geelong will come knocking for Jhye and we will have to deal with the BODE.

The like of Vic Country players is more the ones that live well out of Melbourne and Geelong. Cadman fits that mold as does George, Humphrey, Hollands Burgiel.

Henry is from Vic Country (Geelong Falcons) and he found 75 km from Geelong too far. He could have been living at home with his parents or brother and commuted to Collingwood a few times a week. But no, he is sooking it up.

I like Yaya MacKenzie and hoping the SASA community in Perth would welcome him big time.

That's a chance too. I think Carlton are very keen on a player or players (but they might be gone before our pick). They have noted their desire to trade up.

Removing Ashcroft - it can be assumed that Cadman, Sheezel and Wardlaw are gone. Tsatsas almost certainly too. Clark to Geelong at 7.

That is where it gets interesting - who do Gold Coast take at 5, and what does the other of Hawthorn/Essendon do (unless North do something crazy I think it can safely be assumed they take Wardlaw and likely Sheezel - if not then Tsatsas. Bombers probably take the other one. So who do the Hawks target?)

There’s rumors that Sheezel has been decided at 2 and that’s who we were trying to ensure we secured through the big trade.

We are undecided on Wardlaw/Tsatas at 3. I think the thought is we rate Cadman outside of the top 4. GWS deem all of Sheezel, Tsatas and Wardlaw as flight risks, they wanted 1 so they could ensure Cadman wasn’t taken, as he has passed the vetting process and is a Vic Country kid.

A number of clubs don’t have Cadman in the top 4

Carlton really want Sheezel also and there were rumors they were trying to trade up, but the current understanding is North will take him at 2

There’s rumors that Sheezel has been decided at 2 and that’s who we were trying to ensure we secured through the big trade.

We are undecided on Wardlaw/Tsatas at 3. I think the thought is we rate Cadman outside of the top 4. GWS deem all of Sheezel, Tsatas and Wardlaw as flight risks, they wanted 1 so they could ensure Cadman wasn’t taken, as he has passed the vetting process and is a Vic Country kid.

A number of clubs don’t have Cadman in the top 4

Carlton really want Sheezel also and there were rumors they were trying to trade up, but the current understanding is North will take him at 2
Blues wanting Sheezle makes sense would be a good fit in there forward half. Don’t see them having the draft hand to get to pick 2
Tsatas interview the other day sounded like he was quite comfortable moving interstate.

There may be more proven midfield talent than Ginbey but our team is crying out for harder players who relish the contest and beating their opponent so I'd have a hard time begrudging the club for taking him at 8.

I get a Chad Warner vibe from Ginbey but added height and more explosive speed ..

When was the last time we had a first (or second) rounder play the 'trade me' card?

IIRC it was Matt Rosa in 2015. Which was not bad after 150+ games. Before that was probably Koby Stevens.

Yeah, I'd back us to keep our draftees for as long as they're useful to us.

I would back us to do the research and ask the right questions so we don't end up wasting our time and valuable draft picks.

Past performance is not an indicator of future performance.

So a hard nose Ginbey, a balanced MacKenzie an explosive Hewett - I am sure the team will get a strong balance of mids that complement and address how we plan to play
If a few things went right and we managed this with Hewett at 20 it would be a full on Randy Marsh moment. I'm also fully expecting a few clubs to strategically tank next year in the pursuit of Reid so would allow us comfort in taking Curtin early on after prioritising mids this year.