Speculation Clayton Oliver [UFA 2030]

I love the idea that Geelong is going to take on the biggest problem child in the league, on a bigger and longer deal than they gave Cameron and then pay up draft picks for the privilege. Yeah that makes complete sense.
Nobody's forcing Geelong mate. They're the ones putting the feelers out.

Lol.

So Geelong has been legendary in their stinginess around paying players overs. They didn't break their pay structure for Ablett, Danger, Cameron, Hawkins, Selwood, etc.

But we've decided to give that all away for an overweight, coked up Clayton Oliver? Yeah sure😂😂😂

Do you honestly believe they'd give him up for free?

They have the cap space to fit his contract in. It's other issues that are leading him to explore his options.
Yes. Yeah i do.
Well actually,
It will cost them in the long run whether it's picking up a portion of that hefty contract or in draft capital.
Clayton Oliver holds all the cards to where this whole circus heads and ends.
Not the MFC, that is it in a nutshell.
They need to rid themselves of him. To appease the likes of BackTracka & few others.
He will choose where he goes.
Not the MFC.
Cheers

Lol.

So Geelong has been legendary in their stinginess around paying players overs. They didn't break their pay structure for Ablett, Danger, Cameron, Hawkins, Selwood, etc.

But we've decided to give that all away for an overweight, coked up Clayton Oliver? Yeah sure😂😂😂
Yes, we get it.

Geelong are the halfway house for all troubled footballers, so the AFL world needs to be compassionate and let them take A-graders for free/get give top 10 picks in return.

Pull the other one, Geelong are only sniffing around because he's available.

Yes. Yeah i do.
Well actually,
It will cost them in the long run whether it's picking up a portion of that hefty contract or in draft capital.
Clayton Oliver holds all the cards to where this whole circus heads and ends.
Not the MFC, that is it in a nutshell.
They need to rid themselves of him. To appease the likes of BackTracka & few others.
He will choose where he goes.
Not the MFC.
Cheers
Oh, now Oliver holds 'all the cards'.

Except he holds nothing, because Melbourne can simply hold him to his contract.

That GC Bowes trade really did a number on Geelong supporters, it seems.

ironic cause the times this trade get brought up are from non geelong supporters having a cry. case in point.

LOL. Yeah. They can.
Good luck 2 them then.
Considering they are pushing him out the door for NO real reason.
Except to save their playing list from walking out behind Chrissy BackTrackka.
Sounds like a real cool story Sparky.
FWIW I Don't really like yours.
I like mine a whole lot better hehe.
Cheers bud and let us all sit back and watch the circus that is trade week.
Love this time of year.
With Draft week a smidge in front of this week.

ironic cause the times this trade get brought up are from non geelong supporters having a cry. case in point.
Not really. Seems some Geelong supporters here think it's going to happen again.

It won't.

I've no doubt Melbourne will 'encourage' Oliver to go to a club with a suitable offer, or just hold onto him.

LOL. Yeah. They can.
Good luck 2 them then.
Considering they are pushing him out the door for NO real reason.
Except to save their playing list from walking out behind Chrissy BackTrackka.
Sounds like a real cool story Sparky.
FWIW I Don't really like yours.
I like mine a whole lot better hehe.
Cheers bud and let us all sit back and watch the circus that is trade week.
Love this time of year.
With Draft week a smidge in front of this week.
Wrong on all counts.

Geelong are in desperate need of a decent mid though and clearly they don't care if they're players are passing out at nightclubs and taking trips to the hospital straight after a game.

Perfect place for Oliver really.

It still to this day lives rent free in some folks heads it seems... lol.
Oh and don't let that Barrass bloke go for anything less than 2 first rounders.
FWIW i'd hang on to him.
Bolton and Baker even Graham will help a lot.
Cheers Bud.
From an old Mandurah/Halls Head resident.
All the best with ya trades this week.

Not really. Seems some Geelong supporters here think it's going to happen again.

It won't.

I've no doubt Melbourne will 'encourage' Oliver to go to a club with a suitable offer, or just hold onto him.

I think you find if you read this whole thread, supporters of most different clubs have the same opinion of only taking oliver and his contract if there are incentive for their clubs.

Yes, we get it.

Geelong are the halfway house for all troubled footballers, so the AFL world needs to be compassionate and let them take A-graders for free/get give top 10 picks in return.

Pull the other one, Geelong are only sniffing around because he's available.

You've really got your knickers in a knot here.

If Melbourne doesn't want to trade him they won't trade him. End of story.

If they want to trade him it's because he's toxic and they want him gone. There's no world where any club takes on his salary and pays for the privilege let alone the most notoriously tight club in the comp.

I think you find if you read this whole thread, supporters of most different clubs have the same opinion of only taking oliver and his contract if there are incentive for their clubs.
I think clubs will have a very different opinion to what supporters think, Melbourne especially.

Wrong on all counts.

Geelong are in desperate need of a decent mid though and clearly they don't care if they're players are passing out at nightclubs and taking trips to the hospital straight after a game.

Perfect place for Oliver really.
LOL. Like we/me/you/i haven't ever got shitfaced or passed out in nightclubs.
FFS Now i have heard it all.
C'mon man move into 2024... Coz 1972 has been and gone a long time ago.
Beer Liquor Weed Powder Pills it's all part of life.
Addictions of all sorts are everywhere. Such is Life. As you blokes should already know.
Cheers

crazy how Oliver has managed to turn his career into a soap opera.
he has got the talent, just not the smarts to put his head down and work..
Will stay at the Dee's, for no other club will eat that contract- far to risky

You've really got your knickers in a knot here.

If Melbourne doesn't want to trade him they won't trade him. End of story.

Yes, that's what I'm saying.

If they want to trade him it's because he's toxic and they want him gone. There's no world where any club takes on his salary and pays for the privilege let alone the most notoriously tight club in the comp.

So if he's so toxic, why are Geelong entertaining bringing him in?

You're 'paying' for the 'privilege' of getting one of the best midfielders in the comp, in his prime.

LOL. Like we/me/you/i haven't ever got shitfaced or passed out in nightclubs.
FFS Now i have heard it all.
C'mon man move into 2024... Coz 1972 has been and gone a long time ago.
Beer Liquor Weed Powder Pills it's all part of life.
Addictions of all sorts are everywhere. Such is Life. As you blokes should already know.
Cheers
None of those are acceptable for a professional athlete, unless they play for Geelong it seems.

so what is your point? your whole premise was somehow geelong supporters suggesting this is another bowes trade scenario when most supporters of different club have the same take regarding the oliver contract.
I've no doubt Melbourne would have to take on a big chunk of the salary. I have serious doubts they'll be chucking a pick in for the privilege.

They don't exactly have many other star players commanding huge money on their list, other than Petracca.

None of those are acceptable for a professional athlete, unless they play for Geelong it seems.
LOL... they were out in the wild wild west when i lived there... short memories.
Loved and adored for a decade they were.
Now shamed or is it ashamed... is that what u are u saying??
I am sensing an overwhelming feeling of jealousy/envy.
U should see someone about that bud.
Anyways this convo is headed to the scrap heap.
Off to work. Enjoy the rest of this fabulous day.
Cheers.

Speculation Clayton Oliver [UFA 2030]