Club Ratings for 2011 Draft

Leuy is a good forward target if Longer develops, he spent a lot of time forward in his draft year. It will be the topic we'll be all be discussing in 2-3 years, was SOS an idiot or a genius?

Not true. Our development since Wallace was sacked has been excellent. Rance and Vickery good examples of big guys having rapid development under the new coaching team.

When I say recent times basically in the case of Richmond this could mean the past 20 years.

I wouldn't describe Richmond's development as excellent yet.
Haven't even made the top 8 yet and until they do I wouldn't describe anything at Richmond to even be above average yet.

An example of rapid development would be Geelong going from bottom 8 in 2006 up to the dominant power in 2007.

Richmond's current direction is clearly better than it was 10 years ago but more progression needs to be made if you are ever to become an elite club.

When I say recent times basically in the case of Richmond this could mean the past 20 years.

I wouldn't describe Richmond's development as excellent yet.
Haven't even made the top 8 yet and until they do I wouldn't describe anything at Richmond to even be above average yet.

An example of rapid development would be Geelong going from bottom 8 in 2006 up to the dominant power in 2007.

Richmond's current direction is clearly better than it was 10 years ago but more progression needs to be made if you are ever to become an elite club.

to be fair geelong before the 06 season made top 4/finals i think 3 years in a row. then had a speed hump in 06 then ramped right to the top in 07. alot of their development was before 06/07.

I feel we did good not great but good.

We got:

Longer(Best ruckman is the draft with the ability to go forward)

Docherty(Rebounding defender who also had the best kick in the draft)

Yeo( A HBF/wingman who like to run and carry and has a good skill set)

Wearden( He is one I rated but others did not. Certainly has talent and could become a very good Wingman/HFF with his long kicking and athletic ability)

Also Jordan Lisle and Zorko from trades

I know im just referring to those critics out there who have a limited perception of him, from what I have seen (small footage) he seems a good developing ruckman to me. With Leunberger and Hudson they can afford to let him develop for a year.

Cox and Nic Nat anyone? good combo's can be a strength to the midfield brigade.

Longer is more of a Jolly type than a Cox.

Naitanui and Lycett are both being developed to spend large minutes up forward, especially Lycett who is very natural in attack. It could work but id be looking for Longer to be the one doing 70% of the ruck work and that's exactly what Leuy need's at the same time.

According to the aggregated phantom draft that 100action has done (sourced from Knightmare, Chris 25, Quigley, Snoop Dog, Bulldogsman, Foj1 2011), the post-analysis of the actual draft ranks which team was the most successful with regards to their available selections:

Code:
1.	Collingwood		1.74
2. 	Essendon		1.42
3. 	North Melbourne 	1.11
4.  	West Coast		1.04
5.  	Sydney			1.00
6.  	Port Adelaide		0.94
7.  	Richmond		0.69
8.  	Gold Coast		0.56
9.  	Adelaide		0.48
10. 	Hawthorn		0.37
11. 	Melbourne		0.33
12. 	St. Kilda		0.32
13. 	Geelong			0.30
14. 	W Bulldogs		0.29
15. 	Brisbane		0.22
16. 	GWS			0.20
17.   	Fremantle		0.17
18.	Carlton			0.15
The table illustrates that Collingwood got excellent value for their selections compared to Carlton. Does not take into account experienced players redrafted, father-son or rookie selections.

Take it as you will.

Who cares, Port got Wingard, won the last game which proves they are not tanking, and Wingard is going to be 1 of their best players to ever play for them. WIN WIN WIN to Port.

You're talking to a crow, according to them Port can do no right

NSW boy actually. Moved to SA later on.

Played his junior footy in SA, that's what is important

Peter Bell was born in South Korea, came to & grew up in WA

Is he regarded as a WA player, sure is.

Witts, Clarke, Yagimoor and Paine..

4 players who will boost the team for the next 10 years.

In Hine We Trust.

According to the aggregated phantom draft that 100action has done (sourced from Knightmare, Chris 25, Quigley, Snoop Dog, Bulldogsman, Foj1 2011), the post-analysis of the actual draft ranks which team was the most successful with regards to their available selections:

Code:
1.	Collingwood		1.74
2. 	Essendon		1.42
3. 	North Melbourne 	1.11
4.  	West Coast		1.04
5.  	Sydney			1.00
6.  	Port Adelaide		0.94
7.  	Richmond		0.69
8.  	Gold Coast		0.56
9.  	Adelaide		0.48
10. 	Hawthorn		0.37
11. 	Melbourne		0.33
12. 	St. Kilda		0.32
13. 	Geelong			0.30
14. 	W Bulldogs		0.29
15. 	Brisbane		0.22
16. 	GWS			0.20
17.   	Fremantle		0.17
18.	Carlton			0.15
The table illustrates that Collingwood got excellent value for their selections compared to Carlton. Does not take into account experienced players redrafted, father-son or rookie selections.

Take it as you will.

Sorry but this is officially useless. Does that mean a team should have drafted Mason or Nelson late so they could have been higher on the bigfooty rankings?

The loser is Essendon - Kavanagh massive injury cloud (elastic band hamstrings never good) and heaps better optiosn than Merrett.

You could say that about most players, who were the heaps better options who were available that filled a need for essendon. Considering the saints and eagles considered him strongly in the first round, he could be said to be a slider. Although i will say he went in the range.

I thought Essendon would have taken Markworth but i dont rate. Murdoch i would have prefferred but he must of slid for a reason.

Merrett is fast and lovely kick exaclty what essendon need in the midfield on a wing.

I am led to believe a couple of other clubs were been to snag him later in the draft and Carlton pulled the trigger, it was a pretty swallow draft and our list is building nicely and the club has massive hopes for Luke Mitchell as well.

"led to believe" argh yes we can all say that cant we. Any evidence behind it.

Im led to believe Stkilda were very keen on Merrett at 25 and West coast at 23 or 28.

I wonder if Brisbane's taking Longer is a view to alternating the lead ruck for games to ensure they've got their best ruckman for the finals. Leurenberger takes the number one spot, but for periods throughout the season they reduce his time for Longer to ensure he's not struggling through the season.

As for the table its a bit flawed in that clubs like Collingwood are going to have a high value because its picks are so late that theres more possibility for picking up sliders. Brisbane's picks were all done before Collingwoods first and had two in the top 12 so theres less potential sliders to select. A nice idea by the creator though and sort of adds to the whole "winners and losers of the draft" type discussions.

GWS 16th ^ says it all

Collingwood rated so highly because everyone rated Paine so highly top 20-30 pick, some top 15. I had him at 40 to North i think and even supporters were stocked with that. Than you have J.Witts who would have been a mid to late second round pick according to Emma Q and they got him a lot later due to NSW scholarship so they sort of are a bit of an outlier.

So what i can take from it, is really essendon did the best ;) jokes, but pretty happy.

I think the rookie list is worth alot more to how well a club does now though, almost 30-40% its become a major part, mature aged players can help in immediate success and you can get some bargains, still som very good players that got overlooked as youngsters that will be taken in the rookie draft. If clubs like carlton pick Nelson, Bolger, Boseley and Manson than they probably would sky rocket to number 1. I like everyone else like Adelaides picks, very geelong type picks (big bodied, strong, win hard footy)

I reckon Port, Essendon did well. No one did better than the swans top 2 picks a gun mid and a versatile/utility who may both will have an impact and play next year at some time if fit. GWS did well however i would have rated them even higher if they took Longer instead of Haynes and Collingwood/Geelong got great value with their later picks.

As for Carlton i didnt think they needed 3rd tall types and needed a midfield type to add to the depth and inside/grunt work. They obviously thought differently though. I also dont like Richmond and Melbournes picks that much. I also with Quigley question Ellis foot skills when the heat/pressure is really on which it will be all the time in AFL. He gets branded with elite kicking but he only had 57% kicking efficiency over the TAC cup season. His 75% in the national champs was good but from a more backline role where he had more time and less pressure and some zone kicks to make and of course comes from less sample size.

GWS 16th ^ says it all

Collingwood rated so highly because everyone rated Paine so highly top 20-30 pick, some top 15. I had him at 40 to North i think and even supporters were stocked with that. Than you have J.Witts who would have been a mid to late second round pick according to Emma Q and they got him a lot later due to NSW scholarship so they sort of are a bit of an outlier.

So what i can take from it, is really essendon did the best ;) jokes, but pretty happy.

I think the rookie list is worth alot more to how well a club does now though, almost 30-40% its become a major part, mature aged players can help in immediate success and you can get some bargains, still som very good players that got overlooked as youngsters that will be taken in the rookie draft. If clubs like carlton pick Nelson, Bolger, Boseley and Manson than they probably would sky rocket to number 1. I like everyone else like Adelaides picks, very geelong type picks (big bodied, strong, win hard footy)

I reckon Port, Essendon did well. No one did better than the swans top 2 picks a gun mid and a versatile/utility who may both will have an impact and play next year at some time if fit. GWS did well however i would have rated them even higher if they took Longer instead of Haynes and Collingwood/Geelong got great value with their later picks.

As for Carlton i didnt think they needed 3rd tall types and needed a midfield type to add to the depth and inside/grunt work. They obviously thought differently though. I also dont like Richmond and Melbournes picks that much. I also with Quigley question Ellis foot skills when the heat/pressure is really on which it will be all the time in AFL. He gets branded with elite kicking but he only had 57% kicking efficiency over the TAC cup season. His 75% in the national champs was good but from a more backline role where he had more time and less pressure and some zone kicks to make and of course comes from less sample size.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but yours is very one eyed. You talk down ours and Melbournes picks yet in reality it is your first round pick that has the biggest question marks hanging over it. You can teach a kid to kick better under pressure, you cannot teach a kid to keep his hammys from tearing off the bone better.:thumbsu:

are you trolling about injuries here?

As for Carlton i didnt think they needed 3rd tall types and needed a midfield type to add to the depth and inside/grunt work. They obviously thought differently though.
Unless we can get an animal like Robinson in Clay Smith, there's been a recent focus in recent years on bringing in good kicks. Kerridge might be a tall mid who has pace and size, but there's also a faint echo of Grigg in his profile. Crows were interested in Grigg in 2006. Kerridge doesn't sound like he's a great kick.

I also with Quigley question Ellis foot skills when the heat/pressure is really on which it will be all the time in AFL. He gets branded with elite kicking but he only had 57% kicking efficiency over the TAC cup season. His 75% in the national champs was good but from a more backline role where he had more time and less pressure and some zone kicks to make and of course comes from less sample size.

Would you be saying this about Ellis if he was coming to Essendon?
probably not, Ellis is a real tough nut with lots of determination and will win most of his 1 on 1s, so just keep the rubbish aside.

I won't claim to be a draft expert, however these clubs spring to mind when I consider who did the best.

1. GWS - people claim that more picks means more pressure to get it right...they got it right. I think losing Longer will hurt them in the ruck division, but they picked the cream of the crop, especially Dyson, Patton, Coniglio & Adams.

2. Brisbane Lions - The days of crazy Voss are over, Longer + Docherty will play round one, and should play more than 200 games, I like the selection of Yeo, he's more of an athlete than a player, but with great development, could become a massive steal.

3. St. Kilda - Sebastian Ross looks a winner, couldn't believe Markworth dropped to pick 34, and Jack Newnes has played a solid role this year in the TAC Cup.

4. Geelong - Kersten somehow slipped right in their laps, Murdoch will be the steal of this draft and they've provided a father of three the opportunity to live his dream. I really like Geelong's draft.

5. Essendon - I think they could've done better than Merrett at 31, but they addressed a need, and I don't know how they managed to get Kavanagh to slip (actually I do know ;) ) barring injury, he could actually be the best of the lot.

6. Richmond - Highly rated Ellis + highly rated forward/ruck option Elton, two solid players to work with. Considering they received Maric and Morris with some clever trading, they've strengthened their list considerably.

7. Port Adelaide - Got their man, Wingard looks the goods, but their other picks came a bit late in the draft, and considering its a compromised draft thanks to GWS, it will be hard to find another player that deep in the draft.

8. Adelaide - Kerridge & Grigg were slated top 25 picks, to get them at 27 and 41 is a decent effort.

It's really hard to assess how well these clubs have done, we have no idea until these kids start playing. All we can go by, is their previous form and ratings. AFL is another ball game.

are you trolling about injuries here?

Exactly going to be my response, apparently you can improve kicking more so than helping to prevent injury, i could only LOL :confused::rolleyes:. Kicking is probably one of the toughest skill sets to change as it is performed by the player more than any other skill (done alot at training and in games and kicking around with mates). Harder to change a skill that has become a habit.

Would you be saying this about Ellis if he was coming to Essendon?
probably not, Ellis is a real tough nut with lots of determination and will win most of his 1 on 1s, so just keep the rubbish aside.

I said it multiple times before the draft, in my mock and had him as a player i didnt want Essendon to pick.

Im very non one eyed, i just put my opinions on the line. Pretty easy for everyone to jump on the back of top 15 picks with the likelyhood they will become good,very good player. Im not one of those sheep followers and i dont rate him or Docherty and have clearly said why multiple times before the draft and said multiple times i didnt want to draft them.

I would be saying the exact same thing had dons drafted him.

Considering Quigley has question marks over decision making and he is a follower of the young players than id prefer to go by his thought than yours.

Is that why everyone rates him as one of the best talents of this draft crop. Is that why north supporters wernt happy they didnt pick him. Was that why everyone said he was a slider.

He has question marks, but so does every recruit just about from this draft except Coniglio i reckon.

Its called Risk vs Reward (In this case with Kavanagh the Risk outways the reward)

Club Ratings for 2011 Draft