C'mon Dockers Time To Stand Up, the Hawks are counting on you.

Hawker08

Jun 16, 2008
Sunshine Coast
One team man!!! Hawks
After Riewoldt ruined my Sunday night I'm now torn between the Hawks folding like a deck of cards and getting a possible pick in the top half dozen or do I bring myself to barrack for that rabble known as the Dockettes to keep our slim finals hopes alive?

I've had enough of this 'we can still make finals' shit.

you can shove your negative crap. If essendon didnt pull of one of the upsets of the season we'd be the favourite of the teams competing for an eighth spot. And even as things are the dons need to go to WA carrying heaps of injuries and beat freo, who despite being freo are good at home.

That said, freo never stand up when you need them to. And we probably wont make it.

Would probably prefer to get the best draft pick given we are unlikely to be a force in the finals.

BUT, if Saints had gotten up, it would have been fairly likely that we would have made the finals as long as we won our last two games.

You would have expected Lions to beat Port @ Gabba Rd 21, and Sydney to lose to either Pies Rd 21 or Lions Rd 22.

If we tank, we could end up below Eagles!

Would probably prefer to get the best draft pick given we are unlikely to be a force in the finals.

BUT, if Saints had gotten up, it would have been fairly likely that we would have made the finals as long as we won our last two games.

You would have expected Lions to beat Port @ Gabba Rd 21, and Sydney to lose to either Pies Rd 21 or Lions Rd 22.

Haven't we learnt that the draft is a lottery. Dowler/Ryder, Thorp/Selwood.
So, doesn't matter the number pick you have.
My theory is play hard and a winning metality produces success. A positive attitude sweeps through a group and a negative attitude can become a real problem.
Remember pick 16 last year? We struck gold with Shoe.

Best draft pick is what you make of it, ie Cyril #12 pick.

Pathetic reason to lose matches.

After last night I'm not so sure about anything any more. What a horrible year for tipping too!

Still, finals is a bonus from here. Would love to make em this year, but if not it will just make me more excited about the prospect of bouncing back strong next year.

you can shove your negative crap. If essendon didnt pull of one of the upsets of the season we'd be the favourite of the teams competing for an eighth spot. And even as things are the dons need to go to WA carrying heaps of injuries and beat freo, who despite being freo are good at home.

That said, freo never stand up when you need them to. And we probably wont make it.
Hawthorn won't make it mate. We are in 11th position and Essendon are 6 points ahead of us. We won't make it.
You would have to be deluded to think that we still can make it..... Season's over dude.

Hawthorn won't make it mate. We are in 11th position and Essendon are 6 points ahead of us. We won't make it.
You would have to be deluded to think that we still can make it..... Season's over dude.

Oh great, you're back. I'll put this as simply as I can so you understand that we CAN still make it, if the cards fall right.

Ladder:

Essendon - 38 pts
Port - 36 pts
Sydney - 32 pts
Hawks - 32 pts

Cards need to fall as follows:

Round 21

Fre V Essendon - If a miracle happens and Freo win!!
Hawks V Rich - Hawks win
Brisbane V Port - Brisbane win
Coll V Sydney - Collingwood win

Round 22

Hawks V Ess - Hawks will have to win for any chance
Syd V Bris - Say Sydney win at home
Port V NM - Port win

That will leave ladder as follows:

Essendon - 38 pts
Port - 40 pts
Sydney - 36 pts
Hawks - 40 pts

So, it will come down to percentage.

Of course if Essendon beat Dockers, all else will not matter as they will be on 42pts.

Haven't given up, but alot needs to go our way now.

Haven't we learnt that the draft is a lottery. Dowler/Ryder, Thorp/Selwood.
So, doesn't matter the number pick you have.
My theory is play hard and a winning metality produces success. A positive attitude sweeps through a group and a negative attitude can become a real problem.
Remember pick 16 last year? We struck gold with Shoe.

I agree it's a lottery, but i thnk the difference this year might be that the pick we have will be traded for a mature player to slot right in to fill a hole...key backman, ruckman whatever...

At pick 16 shoe was rolled Gold but let's hope if we do have a top ten pick and trade it there is some certainty (in the near term) with the player we get.

If we had of stood up ourselves once or twice during this season, we wouldn't need to worry about what the Dockers do. God knows, we've had enough chances.

At this stage I am simply hoping we don't embarrass ourselves against Richmond. Will worry about Round 22 when Round 21 is done and dusted.

I've got plenty of faith and reasons to believe Freo will knock off the Bombers....no probs there.....

Where the real problem lies is believing WE can win again this season....

As I understand it, we play on Sat night against the Tiges and Freo/Bombers play Sun.....

With that in mind, how about we look at it, on the basis we beat Richmond....(Gawd, can you believe it....its down to this???:eek: arrrgh)

If the Hawks had have stood up a couple of weeks ago, we wouldn't be relying on Freo at all. Me thinks the coaching staff just want this finals talk to end so that they can concentrate on 2010.

You are wrong mate, we have a real chance. I don't think we deserve to be there with the way we've played but we're likely to do more damage in the 8 than port or bummers.

How?

We have lost the last four games. Form is everything and we don't have any. We are getting well beaten by any one that matters.

It is fanciful to suggest that we could limp into the eight and then all of a sudden be a threat?

Yeah look I've been saying to people some of the standard lines, "I wish someone would put us out of our misery", and "The season can't end soon enough", but deep down, I still hope we can make 8th spot. Even if we get bundled straight out, the experience it would give the youngsters going into next year would be huge.

I thought we were finally gone after we lost to Adelaide, and I had accepted it, but I couldn't help keeping an eye on the scores in the Saints v Ess game.

And you bet I will be hoping Freo win this week, and deep down I reckon all of you that are trotting out the above lines do too.

How exciting is it to see Cyril get the ball and do what he does with it? How good was he in the Grand Final? I can't see footage of what he did without the hairs on the back of my neck standing up, and to be given another chance to see him in a final, any final?

And we all know what Buddy is capable of. He hasn't shown us this season, but imagine if he had a final like the Bulldogs game last year? Who wouldn't get excited at that?

We haven't had much to get excited over this year. Let's win the last two and see what happens!

Yeah And you bet I will be hoping Freo win this week, and deep down I reckon all of you that are trotting out the above lines do too.

Don't get me wrong - I will be hoping like hell we win the last 2 games and that Essendon lose to Freo. It would be of some amusement to reply to all the nay sayers...'We didn't have one f****** thing go right all season, and we still made the finals'. Imagine if everything goes right next season. You never know once you are there either - might just sneak a win. I reckon that would be the best possible outcome to the season from hell.

Having said all that - I can't believe we are still in with a chance and it annoys me no end that this is the scenario we find ourselves in. As I said, even with the woes we have endured this season, we have had ample opportunities to stand up this season and nail a spot already. Therefore, I will hardly be pissed off with Freo if they don't stand up in order to keep us alive. It isn't their responsibility to gift us a spot. We could have done that ourselves many times over already.

I agree with Market too...

Where the real problem lies is believing WE can win again this season....

For the time being, we seem to have forgotten how.

C'mon Hawks - belt those Tigers.

How?

We have lost the last four games. Form is everything and we don't have any. We are getting well beaten by any one that matters.

It is fanciful to suggest that we could limp into the eight and then all of a sudden be a threat?

My thoughts too.
We are a shadow of what we were 12 months ago and are a threat to nobody in the 8.

Saturday will be a challenge getting over the Tiges.

C'mon Dockers Time To Stand Up, the Hawks are counting on you.