News Coaching Thread: The Hardwick Era

I didn’t think I could love Blighty any more than when I stood next to him and heard his expletive laden rant on that all time crab Aaron Hall
How many champions do we have who go in to bat for us?
And laying out nice and clear the leg up GWS got on us too

Love Blighty. He was one of my favourite ever players to watch.

That said. It only took the Bears eight years to make the finals. We’re due.

Brodie was good last year, but has hardly played this year.
Bowes is barely playing at Geelong
Greenwood was no loss

Lyons and Wright have done well away from the Suns.

Plenty of sticks to beat him with but I'm not sure these really are the ones.
Those 5 playing a bit more often instead of some other spuds we had, could of been the difference for Dew's job security.

eg. Sam Day over Peter Wright whole of 2020.

Sam Day kicked 12.7 from 17 games, he's since played 39 games for 10.6.... yes 10 flipping goals in 39 games

Peter Wright after sitting in the ressies and sold for a used condom that essendon used, has gone on to kick 60.38 and won a best and fairest.

i know you gave credit to Wright, but that example is just gross.

I didn’t think I could love Blighty any more than when I stood next to him and heard his expletive laden rant on that all time crab Aaron Hall
How many champions do we have who go in to bat for us?
And laying out nice and clear the leg up GWS got on us too

What did he say lol?

Those 5 playing a bit more often instead of some other spuds we had, could of been the difference for Dew's job security.

eg. Sam Day over Peter Wright whole of 2020.

Sam Day kicked 12.7 from 17 games, he's since played 39 games for 10.6.... yes 10 *ing goals in 39 games

Peter Wright after sitting in the ressies and sold for a used condom that essendon used, has gone on to kick 60.38 and won a best and fairest.

i know you gave credit to Wright, but that example is just gross.
And he loved the Club and The Coast and his best mate Touky

Christ time flies
It does.

Cochblocked, when I mentioned Hinkley at GC, it was about the 2018 season. It was six years ago. It was the right decision then, regardless of what is happening now.

Finally, it’s just what Supersuns has said. It even may be the right decision, but the timing and form of doing it were awfully wrong. It shows deeper issues than the coach.

he was good in what he said and cut through all the crap, although he did us a disservice when they were going to cut Bluey the first time and tailor made a $300,000 a year mentoring role for himself and it allowed Bluey to stay on. If they had of cut Bluey then we would have had Kenny Hinkley way back then and I am sure our fortunes would be forever different
They were going to cut Bluey at the end of 2012?

Why?

Buckley, Hinkley and Chris Scott would all be as good, if not better than Hardwick imo. However, being the whole Hardwick quitting and the timeline of everything looks fully orchestrated, you'd have to think the others won't even get a call.

To be honest I would actually prefer Hinkley by a bees dick. He has his flaws too but love his passion, motivation skills and leadership as well as loving the GC having lived here.

I could really be wrong on this take though cos despite Hinkley doing well now he was a pariah to Port fans until this year. I think Dimma is maybe a better overall coach but Hinkley with good assistants like Josh Carr is a great combo.

Buckley, Hinkley and Chris Scott would all be as good, if not better than Hardwick imo. However, being the whole Hardwick quitting and the timeline of everything looks fully orchestrated, you'd have to think the others won't even get a call.
Don't see it with Buckley sorry, never understood why he is spoken about so highly.

To be honest I would actually prefer Hinkley by a bees dick. He has his flaws too but love his passion, motivation skills and leadership as well as loving the GC having lived here.

I could really be wrong on this take though cos despite Hinkley doing well now he was a pariah to Port fans until this year. I think Dimma is maybe a better overall coach but Hinkley with good assistants like Josh Carr is a great combo.

Dimma loves the GC my mate lives on the esplanade and since COVID, during the off-season he walks past him daily. Obviously not since he quit, but makes sense for him to stay away right now…

I was 100% Ken over Bluey having seen both of them train the team
Bluey was chatty man , Ken was just intense focus calling out mistakes and effort on the field
He may be the personality the Club needs

Don't see it with Buckley sorry, never understood why he is spoken about so highly.

I just think he is very articulate and has great footy knowledge, plus his ego was knocked down a bit during his Collingwood coaching days. I also think he is in the perfect age bracket, high profile and would be better second time around.

I've grown to actually like Buckley since he finished at Collingwood. His game knowledge is incredible and his FIGJAMness has absolutely been taken down a few levels.
He will get another AFL coaching gig if he wants it I reckon.

we have a lot of young talent that has regressed or not reached its potential, Ken or Hardwick are the two best placed established coaches to address that, remember Buckley had issues with how some talent was exited and treated at Collingwood, Hardwick and Ken really focus on the development and relationship while performing and winning

Maybe.

Voss doesn't seem to have improved second time around though, and he went the assistant path, rather than getting his ego stroked on media street like Buckley.

Hollands in and Drummond to take on the mid field coaching role for King, we may see some fresh ideas, rotations and player selection surprises

If we see some huge changes it will be the surest sign that Dew didn't listen to his assistants.

Hollands in and Drummond to take on the mid field coaching role for King, we may see some fresh ideas, rotations and player selection surprises
I guess drummond will do that and the VFL role?

Double headers at the same ground for our VFL team for the rest of the season. Bye this week and also we have the bye the week of the Crows game in Adelaide.

News Coaching Thread: The Hardwick Era