List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2022-->

Key dates attached so we know what’s going on when.

• Friday 30 September at 9.00am
  • AFL Restricted Free Agency and Unrestricted Free Agency Period commences
Monday 03 October at 9.00am
  • AFL Trade Period commences – Players & Selections
Friday 07 October at 5.00pm
  • Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.
Monday 10 October
  • AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
  • AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)
Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
  • AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections
Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences
Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes
Friday 11 November at 9.00am
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences
Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
  • AFL Trade Period closes – selections only
Monday 21 November by 3.00pm
  • AFL Draft Nominations close
Monday 28 November at 7.10pm
  • 2022 AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)
  • Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.
Tuesday 29 November
  • AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)
  • 2022 AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)
  • Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)
  • Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)
Wednesday 30 November
  • AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
  • AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)
Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm
  • Final AFL Club List Lodgement

Expect Jordy to sign later this week. Copeland on Friday and will be out of the country by Monday he will want it done by then

So we won't Sign Mcstay on Friday as not before the Copeland

I hoped the boats would sink and all aboard would drown on parade day, but unfortunately the boats apparently didn't stay out long enough to reach the eyes of the waiting fans.

I would hate nothing more than to further strengthen the Cat's list by giving them our only truly x factorish 3rd year player while we collect mutton dressed up as lamb players from other clubs. I am with you in that I'd rather send him to North and get nothing than further enrich a premiership winning team for anything less than a first round pick of value.
Spot on. You don't make an already powerful side even more powerful because a 20yo sook wants to go home and live with mummy. Henry is worth a pick in the top 15, if they can't supply it then let him go to Norf. This will be a defining moment for our club if they really want to start a precedent of not over paying for anyone anymore

2022 AFL trade week will begin on Monday, 3 October and ends on Wednesday, 12 October

Friday 30 September at 9.00am

• AFL Restricted Free Agency and Unrestricted Free Agency Period commences

Monday 03 October at 9.00am

• AFL Trade Period commences

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

• Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October

• NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
  • AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm

• Continental Tyres AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am

• AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences
Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

• AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes
Friday 11 November at 9.00am

• AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences
Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

• AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
  • Continental Tyres AFL Trade Period closes – selections only
Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

• NAB AFL Draft Nominations close
Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

• 2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)
  • Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.
Tuesday 29 November

• Continental Tyres AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)
  • 2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)
  • Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)
  • Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)
Wednesday 30 November

• NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
  • NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)
Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

• Final AFL Club List Lodgement

I love footy, I live for it, but why is everything so complicated? I lost track of that at about the third date/deadline. It’s not called the silly season for nothing.

Both the copeland and the Lions BnF is on friday when FA opens. I wonder if they'll wait til monday to lodge the papers instead?
I don’t see why they’d bother waiting. He’s already announced he’s leaving to the pies, it’s not like lodging the paperwork changes anything now.

I thought JDG was already in vegas because his mate is fighting in some UFC s**t or something, are you sure he's still in Melbourne?
He is. Was at the breakup lunch on wed. That thing he put on his insta, I imagine just shared it from someone else's post

I love footy, I live for it, but why is everything so complicated? I lost track of that at about the third date/deadline. It’s not called the silly season for nothing.
Even worse, we have to wait till the end of November for the draft, which is the most compromised draft in the world, I hate the AFL

The fact that he's even going tells me ain't going to change anything he does away from the club. 5 years is a long time without behavioral clauses
We dont know where he is going in the off season. And his contract wont be without a clause. That much you can take to the bank.

Not even a close comparison!

It’s not living “in” Geelong. It’s the peninsula.
It’s any kid who comes from country Vic and don’t want to live in the city.
GC still have competition from Bris.

They have zero competition for them. So they never have to pay overs to retain them. They are “home”.
800k down the coast goes a lot further than 1.1 in the city!!
I know that. But these conditions have all existed for 100 years, during which time Geelong were far from dominant. I think we're looking for reasons other than the most obvious one - they're currently a really well run club with a great culture.

I also think more liberal player movement helps their cause. Able to sell people on the upsides (winning, culture, living conditions, etc.) and have a reasonable chance at getting them too

Spot on. You don't make an already powerful side even more powerful because a 20yo sook wants to go home and live with mummy. Henry is worth a pick in the top 15, if they can't supply it then let him go to Norf. This will be a defining moment for our club if they really want to start a precedent of not over paying for anyone anymore
I don’t see that Ollie has performed well enough to warrant a top 15 pick. That said, we all seem to agree we must obtain a top 15 pick for him based on his ‘potential’.

The reality is his trade currency almost certainly doesn’t match his potential and this is the problem. Therefore, this is why the club needs to make a stand and oppose the trade. Ollie, with full understanding of the clubs position, then has a choice of remaining a Pie or going to the PSD.

If he elects to stay and develop at Collingwood for 2 more years and then still wants to leave, his performances by that stage may make him worth a top 10 pick, and this would enable the club to entertain a trade.

were you saying again I love footy, I live for it, but why is everything so complicated? I lost track of that at about the third date/deadline. It’s not called the silly season for nothing.
It's complicated because it's run by the AFL. Two way thing - they complicate it - then employ "strategic advisers" to advise on stuff - then employ another floor of people to implement the stuff - then get feedback that it needs fixing - then do a review - what were you saying again?

I don’t see that Ollie has performed well enough to warrant a top 15 pick. That said, we all seem to agree we must obtain a top 15 pick for him based on his ‘potential’.

The reality is his trade currency almost certainly doesn’t match his potential and this is the problem. Therefore, this is why the club needs to make a stand and oppose the trade. Ollie, with full understanding of the clubs position, then has a choice of remaining a Pie or going to the PSD.

If he elects to stay and develop at Collingwood for 2 more years and then still wants to leave, his performances by that stage may make him worth a top 10 pick, and this would enable the club to entertain a trade.
Wright has a history of letting players much bigger than Henry walk. Henry and his management will be aware of this, take your minimum chips contract and start performing.

Last edited by a moderator:
Both the copeland and the Lions BnF is on friday when FA opens. I wonder if they'll wait til monday to lodge the papers instead?

Very Good Chance and Club say Season is not over until the B&F and be akward for McStay to go to Lions one as a Collingwood Player

There’s no way Geelong will give up a 1st round pick for Ollie a player they are not overly keen on anyway

Henry was taken at pick 17. Bruhn was taken at pick 12 in the same draft. They have had 2 years of development in him.

Now here is the part that’s extremely interesting.

Henry 25(28) D212 M88 T22 and Bruhn 30(11) D303 M54 T92. Bruhn has played 5 more games. Yet the overall look of the two is that Henry is every bit as good as Tanner. What are GWS demanding for Bruhn? We should be asking for same.

They both played in the same NAB team and I can tell you that Henry was every bit as damaging as Tanner was and the one area we haven’t played Henry in and that is the midfield. Henry was a star. He would rack up the possessions in the NAB and also kick goals.

The kid is going to be a high end player and we would be remiss in not trying to keep him or get his worth. Their pick 18 is the least they can give. His real with is pick 8-12 range.

How many former first round picks perform well enough in their first two years to justify the pick they were taken with? At this point clubs are still paying on potential, and Ollie has that in spades. The fact he’s played the third most games of any of the first rounders in his draft should speak volumes at this point.

Except it likely does. It’s not like clubs feel any differently to supporters in this. Even the vast majority of Cats supporters on the trade board will concede that they’ll cough up this and next years firsts for Bruhn and Ollie. We just have to hope that it’s next years for Ollie.