List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2022-->

Key dates attached so we know what’s going on when.

• Friday 30 September at 9.00am
  • AFL Restricted Free Agency and Unrestricted Free Agency Period commences
Monday 03 October at 9.00am
  • AFL Trade Period commences – Players & Selections
Friday 07 October at 5.00pm
  • Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.
Monday 10 October
  • AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
  • AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)
Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
  • AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections
Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences
Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes
Friday 11 November at 9.00am
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences
Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
  • AFL Trade Period closes – selections only
Monday 21 November by 3.00pm
  • AFL Draft Nominations close
Monday 28 November at 7.10pm
  • 2022 AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)
  • Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.
Tuesday 29 November
  • AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)
  • 2022 AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)
  • Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)
  • Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)
  • AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)
Wednesday 30 November
  • AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
  • AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)
Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm
  • Final AFL Club List Lodgement

We've already got a bunch of young, developing mids - Nick Daicos, Macrae, McInnes, Carmichael, Draper, Harrison.
We needed a mature inside mid to tide us over until these guys are ready to step up.
He does more than that - his intense drive both on the training track and on game day will be an inspiration and strong role model for our young mids.

It’s been a while since he has plucked a quality player in the 20s
The last 2 of note were Beams at 29 and Maynard at 30.
That would be nice if he can do something similar

We need to smash 16 out of the park, I really like Hayes the young defender.

I think that's the type of pick you land elite defenders around, let's face it where not getting an elite forward with that pick majority go top 5 over the years.

Mids all of a sudden look stacked and Adams has shown he can go forward at times.

I reckon will be a good player for Geelong. Let's face it, after the sledging he was given in this and his own thread, if ever he was to view the comments and memes, he would have difficulty remaining at our club anyway. Now that he is gone, any guilt we may have felt had he remained is now swept aside. I really enjoyed the memes produced by Chrispiesssss today.

Mate, he was going to Geelong in two years the night he was drafted.....

Mitchell is cleaner than Adams especially by foot and a better clearance player but Adams is more aggressive and bash and crash. The only thing is if I am being picky I worry if both play against taller inside mids they could get hurt when those mids like Cripps and the like drift forward.
I can see the Adams/Mitchell partnerships working well - Adams as the impact mid who spends short periods of time on the field as a burst player and get's to manage his body through the game - Mitchell as the work horse who grinds out the game and provides a contest. I'm excited - when does pre-season training start?

We entered trade period holding pretty shitty cards. I think GW played them about as well as possible, under duress.

We’ve finally managed to unwind the last of previous horrible deals and bring in some much needed wage structure. We’re poised to be very big players in 2023 trade/draft to add some star power and push for Premierships in 2024 & 2025.

This is the best we’ve looked on and off the field since 2009-2011. It’s very exciting!

Go Pies!

For now I didn’t include Adams in my best 22 but I did consider moving Crisp back to his old role and kicking out Noble who has flopped in the biggest games which allows a center trio of Adams-Mitchell-DeGoey
I can see Crisp reverting to a half back role to replace NDaicos who I assume will move into the guts - recruiting Mitchell brings a lot of structure to our side.

They can co-exist IMO
I reckon that’ll be the prevailing view on here, but I think it’ll unfortunately rob us of an opportunity for a genuine point of difference in the middle. The better teams look to run an in/in-out/out midfield unit which we won’t be able to do if these two are coexisting. Sure if one was a Steele sized extractor it’s a different story, but they’re both on the small side…

thi
Most Disposals in a Game:
1. TM against Pies 2018, (20 kicks, 34 Handballs) Grundy 28 Hit Outs
9. TM against Pies 2017, (22 kicks, 28 Handballs) Grundy 44 Hit Outs.

Both years that Grundy was AA and 2018 TM wins Charlie.

I guess I can see why he should be a valuable addition and also why Grundy is a decent player but his contract was overvalued.
s is exactly why we needed them both playing together! 🤣

We will cheer Grundy like we do Treloar but Henry he will need his mummy to cry to.
Everything you said was spot on. Then you shit on it with this garbage at the end. Grundy is a demon now. We all looked like complete fools when those few woke morons cheered Treloar that first game against the dogs. It set so much bad energy into motion for 2021. QB Grundy gets cheers OMG ill spew up on the person in front of me. Don't cheer Grundy, don't boo, give him nothing. OMG we got delivered one of most memorable seasons with so much good will and positive energy. We not cheering on opposition players, digging up old bones, that's for sure.

Looking at the overall picture of our trade period, and I’m happy.

Out: Grundy & Henry, future 2nd & 3rd

In: McStay, Hill, Frampton, Mitchell, picks 25 & 27

We‘ve recruited to fix weak spots in the list - our 2023 best 22 looks way better and our depth has been shored up.

Just don't look at the ruck division and you'll stay in your happy place... ;)

Matt Rendell just said “Salary C**t” instead of “Salary dump” live of Sen lmao.

Also said McStay isn't in our best 22 or 23 next year, so surely he's on the turps....
Also pointed out Geelong easily won the trade period. I think people think Geelong won the trade period because they got pick 7....
Otherwise, Bowes can't get a game at the Suns, Henry has flaws in his game that need serious work, plus he's a sook and needs his mum to change his shorts, and Bruhn isn't much chop and l don't think the GWS are to concerned he's gone. Are these guys going to make them better?

Mr Park just tried to high five me.

Told him to f*k off.

He was with me at the Dogs game when Henry was just horrible. He was very critical of him that night.

Now he’s beaming like the Cheshire Cat.

Does anyone know a good divorce lawyer?

A swift punch the beanbag will fix that grin right up!

Who arrived: Tom Mitchell, Dan McStay, Bobby Hill, Billy Frampton

Who left: Brodie Grundy, Ollie Henry

2022 NAB AFL Draft picks: 16, 25, 27, 51

Future picks: Traded out a future second-round (Greater Western Sydney for Hill) and third-round pick (Adelaide for Frampton).

We say: Collingwood had three priorities at the start of the trade period -a key defender, a small forward and a key forward. They landed all three in Billy Frampton, Bobby Hill and Dan McStay. They then added a Brownlow medallist in Tom Mitchell to improve a midfield that struggled around the ball this year. Brodie Grundy departs the club in a deal that didn't net a pick reflective of a two-time All-Australian ruckman, but it does mean his contract is off the books, even if there is a contribution component to come. – Josh Gabelich