List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2023

just watched Show me the money on stan, it’s not bad, couple of things stood out. Geelong getting bowes, again, not good the comp. Ess and hawks list managers were gutted.
Jeez GC are poorly run. If clubs were gutted that they missed this great deal, pretty obvious that the deal was way better than it needed to be.

just watched Show me the money on stan, it’s not bad, couple of things stood out. Geelong getting bowes, again, not good the comp. Ess and hawks list managers were gutted.

Of note Grundys manager when the deal got done said to Grundy that he’s spoken to petracca in Paris and he was looking forward to getting service from Grundy. He obviously hasn’t watched grundys tap work 😂

The Hawks manager was understandably shattered.

They'd essentially said to a kid you'll be our second best mid behind Newcombe, so the opportunity is there, and they had the most money on the table of the 3 choices he had in front of him. They even upped their offer late.

Didn't see him look through Essendon/Hawthorn's HQ but it does look like Geelong were impressive with their presentation... which would've come easy after just winning the flag.

And they really hung on Dangerfield's message to Mackie, and it would've been appealing to his missus to be close to the surf.

Good on them for being able to afford him/re-negotiate his contract I guess!

They'd essentially said to a kid you'll be our second best mid behind Newcombe, so the opportunity is there, and they had the most money on the table of the 3 choices he had in front of him. They even upped their offer late.

Didn't see him look through Essendon/Hawthorn's HQ but it does look like Geelong were impressive with their presentation... which would've come easy after just winning the flag.

And they really hung on Dangerfield's message to Mackie, and it would've been appealing to his missus to be close to the surf.

Got a free lunch from the Hawks and a ride to the airport from the Dons. They really laid out the red carpet for pick 7.

I forgot geel were also into hopper, so his decision was either them or rich. It really highlights how poor FA is for the little clubs. GWS and goldy. They have cap issues, but they also are in that position because they have to pay more to attract people

Got a free lunch from the Hawks and a ride to the airport from the Dons. They really laid out the red carpet for pick 7.

Hawks had money to burn so it is hard to know whether they were just trying to buy the pick but he probably would've walked into the midfield.

Bowes to Geelong made about as much sense as Preuss to Melbourne when he went there.

When we beat the Bloos in the Granny this year their future 2nd pick we acquired could be in the late 30's after academy & F/S's.
I rated both Cowan & Van Es & they went 30 & 31 in the draft
I was surprised there wasn't more interest from other clubs with Cowan still on the board.
I can only assume we may have someone in mind and need the future 2nd or just want it to provide options in the 2023 trade period.
Clubs farked up not taking Cowan earlier because of the Tas go home factor.

You watch Carlton get a tremendous deal for him, the AFL will want him home.

Pretty similar hands
In the air, not at ground level yet. Hirdy was also a bit Pendles like, in that noone could tackle him, but more subtle in his moves, because it was bloody hard to see what he did which sent his opponent in the wrong direction. Hird is a ridiculous high bar, but that's who Ollie should model himself on.

Clubs farked up not taking Cowan earlier because of the Tas go home factor.

You watch Carlton get a tremendous deal for him, the AFL will want him home.
giphy.gif

Of note Grundys manager when the deal got done said to Grundy that he’s spoken to petracca in Paris and he was looking forward to getting service from Grundy. He obviously hasn’t watched grundys tap work 😂

I just watched it as well. Very surprised Colin Young put his hand up for a second year of the show after looking completely incompetent in the previous version, but I don't think he could resist the limelight. Some almost David Brent-like vibes from him, particularily on deadline day where he didn't seem to know what the hell was going on.

He's definitely a flog but I almost felt for him on the deadline day scenes. Only because no matter what he did, WBD were always going to wait until the deadline to ensure that Brisbane ponied up for Dunkley, which had nothing to do with Young or his client (Lobb). And yet there he was running around like a headless chook for a few hours 😂😂😂

Young gives me the vibes that he doesn't really give a shit about his clients. He barely seemed interested in the wellbeing of Lobb in that phone call at the end (not that Lobb is too sympathetic of a bloke), he just seemed glad he didn't fail in a consecutive trade period.

He's definitely one of those "psychopaths in business" types.

I took full advantage of a Stan Free Trial and watched both seasons in two days. It was better than what I was supposed to be doing.

Few key takeaways:
  • Agents spend half of their time at cafes, restaurants and executive functions. The rest is spent on the phone, working at a whiteboard or filming documentaries.
  • Agents are eerily similar to guidance counsellors and mentors. If Ollie struggled living 40 mins away from home with an agent on standby all day and the full of support of the club and all its resources, he needs to enter the real world and see what the majority of uni students who move away live on.
  • Some of the players really have no clue what's going on.
  • They need to update their systems for predicting trades and movements (whiteboards are fine but it looked clunky. Talk to a local primary school about a good whiteboard).
  • Every young kid is overhyped. Sonsie's reaction was a good indicator of this. He went at Pick 28 but was crying as if he wouldn't be picked up at all. Good reminder to be nice to all but especially those boys who don't hear their name read out
  • Agents don't seem to like clubs.
  • Wright is popular in agent circles
  • Not sure what went on with Grundy to lose Fly's support but he did.
It's a career I've considered before and one I'd still do but cracking the industry is difficult given I have few footballing connections. If any player agent reads this, more than happy to intern/take the exam/work for you. Just DM.

I reckon some days agents would just cringe at the dumb actions of players, knowing that it will affect contract size and promotion deals (which they receive a cut of).

Grundy's contract was our fault in the end, we offered it to him, he took it so I can't blame him for that. I know they were trying to avoid the Cloke contract situation but they capitulated way too quickly.

He signed before the pre season of 2020 had even begun, they should have done taken their time with it over the course of the season. With the salary cap as bloated as it was, they needed to do better than they did. I'm just glad that those involved with that deal aren't around the club anymore.

From the outside, it looks like Moore and Degoey are the only "large" contracts we have at the moment, and possibly the last few years of Adams and Steele's contracts as they extended them to backdate payments.

Nick Daicos will command a huge deal once he's out of contract so that will be an interesting one, and I reckon we'll likely go after a free agent or a high profile trade soon.

This may be a bit controversial but I'm not a big fan of trading for elite midfielders, I think the cost is usually too high and you they're easier to get through the draft. They're also easier to pick with a hail Mary later in the draft than a KPP. Free agents are the way to go for mids from other clubs IMO.

I would love for us to try to get Ben King from GC (I'd be ok with us giving away two top 10 picks for him, that's how highly I rate him.). I don't see anyone having a chance at getting him until the end of next year once he's out of contract though.

Out of the few 2023 free agents I rate, I can't see Ben McKay leaving now that they have Clarko, as well as a shitload of space in their cap. I don't see Parish leaving either and I'm not sure I really want him too much anyway. Tom Doedee could be one but I reckon he'll stay as well, despite the rumours of the captaincy call annoying him.

I would love Harry Himmelberg as a KPD, I don't rate him as a forward but he was fantastic down back last season. I think this is probably the year where GWS would let him go due to the compo if they finish at the bottom end, as well as their list refresh and salary cap clearing. Then again GWS have a history of being a pain in the ass so they might try to force a trade.

I reckon it's gonna be an interesting next few years for the Bulldogs, I don't see how they keep all of Darcy, JUH and Naughton, especially with their acquisition of Lobb. Darcy will definitely stay but the other two could be getable.

Tend to agree with you there, he wasn’t a bad person. Just over paid. I reckon he’ll dominate at Melbourne. Doesn’t like the limelight.
Agree - decent human. Deserved a decent contract after his stellar form but we should have stuck to our guns. I would never have my top player being a ruckman.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

Agree - decent human. Deserved a decent contract after his stellar form but we should have stuck to our guns. I would never have my top player being a ruckman.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk
Could have got us two first round picks if we traded him to Adelaide. I blame Eddie, the club was going through a tough time…the best player leaving would have been another nail in the coffin

He said that ? Wowee
Yes we will see you on the kings birthday.
The big American is looking forward to this.
McRae is spot on for getting rid of him. Not a good tap ruckman

Rated "elite" in his HTA in 2021, and "above average" in his "HTA%". Of those in the top 10, Grundy was only below only Nic Nat, Darcy, and Pittonet for his HTA%. Maybe there was more at play than just Grundy's tap work.

Collingwood typed up several other far more reasonable contracts which he flat out rejected before they caved in to his demands and offered him that one. If he really loved the club that much, he wouldn’t have held out for the ludicrous terms he wanted.

I don't think the $$$'s/year varied too much from offer to offer, just the tenure. Was he wrong to seek to lock in his future? Was the club wrong for not seeking a greater trade-off for each additional year?

People seem quick to judge Grundy but the club seemed way too keen to ensure he stayed IMHO. Extending to 7 years I think should have dropped his annual renumeration below $800k. Not on him that it didn't.

IIRC Grundy played the "return to Adelaide" card & Collingwood caved in.
If GW had been there at the time and was doing the negotiations, he would have said "there's 5 years, take it or leave it" & on more manageable coin.

No he didn't. He was asked a specific question and responded that he could see himself returning to Adelaide one day because his mum lives there. It was a politically savvy response. Didn't quash the rumoured Crows interest outright, didn't fuel it either.

It is quite funny.
I'm a fan of his talent, but geez, saying he could be better than de goey haha. Until he fixes up defensive and contest stuff, he aint gonna play midfield. big call indeed.

Time will tell but I thought Henry definitely has midfield potential. Question is more about whether you can justify giving him those opportunities away from F50.

I haven't seen a thing from him to suggest midfielder.
Sticky hands although most good forwards have them.
Played a few good games and loads of nothing games.

Rated "elite" in his HTA in 2021, and "above average" in his "HTA%". Of those in the top 10, Grundy was only below only Nic Nat, Darcy, and Pittonet for his HTA%. Maybe there was more at play than just Grundy's tap work.

I often thought it was stoppage structures under Buckley. It's interesting a second coach took a look and moved on. Though I think it ultimately was decided by his salary and our cap structure.