List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion

Shane Crawford. Eddie Betts. More currently Baker at the Tigers, Tippa at the Bombers, Spargo and Pickett wearing premiership medallions at the Dees. Gulden at the Swans looks promising.

I've acknowledge Ive missed quite a few in an earlier post. At the end of the day the club clearly does not think he is worth committing to prior to the draft which I for one like. I like the fact that they are not committing to players simply because they are part of our academies when they think there might be better options for us.

He’ll be sacked within weeks. The facts of who did what will all come to light by then... his culpability established... and the club will be compelled to act

Whether it affects the clubs plan s for draft night remains to be seen

Again an overreaction, we don't even know what he did and there are even some whispers that the alleged groping might have been his mate and then Jordy got caught up in the ensuing fisticuffs. He's likely not an innocent party in all of this by any means, but you're going *way* too early on the sacking thing, given how the AFL has previously shown itself to be a notoriously soft touch when it comes to stuff like this at other clubs (and even our own).

As an aside, innocent until proven guilty is still a thing you know. The disappointment, frustration, even anger is palpable for most supporters right now I'd reckon, but that can't cloud the fact that we don't really have much information to go on and there is a process which needs to play out here which will almost certainly take much longer than three weeks.

where-are-you-where-you-been.gif

Ah. I didn't know there'd been another incident. Mark that down as my annual mistake.

Makes me wonder if it was the same "friend" this time who was caught up in the incident last time?

100% agree on the last bit - a lot of kids have a bit of dickhead in them coming in, but we need to do a better job of working that our of their system better than we have been.
That's where the player development people are important.

Again an overreaction, we don't even know what he did and there are even some whispers that the alleged groping might have been his mate and then Jordy got caught up in the ensuing fisticuffs. He's likely not an innocent party in all of this by any means, but you're going *way* too early on the sacking thing, given how the AFL has previously shown itself to be a notoriously soft touch when it comes to stuff like this at other clubs (and even our own).

As an aside, innocent until proven guilty is still a thing you know. The disappointment, frustration, even anger is palpable for most supporters right now I'd reckon, but that can't cloud the fact that we don't really have much information to go on and there is a process which needs to play out here which will almost certainly take much longer than three weeks.

1. highly likely he’s in violation of AFL drug policy
2. Touched a woman in an inappropriate way leading to the confrontation
3. May have struck someone during the confrontation

This is after just being cleared of historical allegations regarding women

You seriously can’t see a problem here? 😂

AFL... after the dismissing of the Swans player Elijah Taylor because of his incident with a woman... after Patton being sacked... they are just gonna let Collingwood let this De Goey incident fly?

Makes me wonder if it was the same "friend" this time who was caught up in the incident last time?

100% agree on the last bit - a lot of kids have a bit of dickhead in them coming in, but we need to do a better job of working that our of their system better than we have been.
The name Luke Dyson rings a bell. Can anyone confirm whether or not his name came up in relation to the last allegation levelled at JDG?

AFL... after the dismissing of the Swans player Elijah Taylor because of his incident with a woman... after Patton being sacked... they are just gonna let Collingwood let this De Goey incident fly?

1. You're attesting that he's in violation, with zero proof.

2. We don't have the specifics of that, yet.

3. This is pretty much confirmed and what they were taken away to the lockup for initially.

Now for your parallels:

Elijah Taylor - domestic violence.

Patton - allegedly sexually deviant behaviour on social media for an extended period

---------------

Moving on from those, as it stands right now Jordy is potentially facing a charge on misdemanour assault and "forcible touching", which is essentially unwanted groping and can be anything on a scale from a pat or grab on the backside to something more forceful / invasive elsewhere on the body.

One fact that cannot be contested is that the previous incident Jordy was caught up in was dismissed (twice), so as much as you might want it to be it has no relevance or bearing on this particular legal issue, either with the US courts, or with the AFL integrity commission.

Overall you're taking an emotional and rather defensive position here in response so, just to be perfectly clear, I'd like to say that I am immeasurably disappointed that Jordy has got himself mixed up in something like this again and I am in no way making any excuses or trying to look for "a way out" for him, as you seem to be insinuating in your fit of moral outrage.

Having said that I am also mindful of the fact that details are very sketchy and there is a (potentially somewhat lengthy) process both in the courts over in the US and with the AFL Integrity branch locally which has to play out here, including the basic tenet of one being innocent until proven guilty, which is a tent afforded to any person who charged with any offence.

TL;DR - You want an immediate sacking. I'm just trying to point out that it's too early to make that call and, even if he is to be sacked, it will take a while for the legal processes around that to happen, on both sides of the Pacific.

Eddie Betts was a prolific goal scorer as a junior, Shai Bolton has elite skills and speed and I suspect won alot more of the footy at junior level and Prestia has always been an elite winner of the ball.

Nothing against Dib but in his stats I can't see anything that suggests he is going to be a high ball winner or someone who would regularly kick multiple goals per games.
I’m not suggesting the Dib decision is an incorrect one just pointing out there have been plenty of successful 175cm players and under.

1. You're attesting that he's in violation, with zero proof.

2. We don't have the specifics of that, yet.

3. This is pretty much confirmed and what they were taken away to the lockup for initially.

Now for your parallels:

Elijah Taylor - domestic violence.

Patton - allegedly sexually deviant behaviour on social media for an extended period

---------------

Moving on from those, as it stands right now Jordy is potentially facing a charge on misdemanour assault and "forcible touching", which is essentially unwanted groping and can be anything on a scale from a pat or grab on the backside to something more forceful / invasive elsewhere on the body.

One fact that cannot be contested is that the previous incident Jordy was caught up in was dismissed (twice), so as much as you might want it to be it has no relevance or bearing on this particular legal issue, either with the US courts, or with the AFL integrity commission.

Overall you're taking an emotional and rather defensive position here in response so, just to be perfectly clear, I'd like to say that I am immeasurably disappointed that Jordy has got himself mixed up in something like this again and I am in no way making any excuses or trying to look for "a way out" for him, as you seem to be insinuating in your fit of moral outrage.

Having said that I am also mindful of the fact that details are very sketchy and there is a (potentially somewhat lengthy) process both in the courts over in the US and with the AFL Integrity branch locally which has to play out here, including the basic tenet of one being innocent until proven guilty, which is a tent afforded to any person who charged with any offence.

TL;DR - You want an immediate sacking. I'm just trying to point out that it's too early to make that call and, even if he is to be sacked, it will take a while for the legal processes around that to happen, on both sides of the Pacific.

You’re gonna have egg on your face. Hope you and the others here in various stages of denial will admit to that later on

Need to get used to the idea that he won’t be on our list in 2022

You’re gonna have egg on your face. Hope you and the others here in various stages of denial will admit to that later on

Again an overly aggressive response and nobody is in denial here. There will be no "egg" on anyone's faces if this ends up being the worst possible outcome, only disappointment and frustration.

As for whether he will be on the list in 2022, well let's wait and see shall we? It's clear that you in your capacity as card carrying kangaroo court judge have his papers stamped already, but personally I'd rather wait for those who actually have the power to make a decision either way to work through their process(es) and then go with whatever they decide, once all of the facts are actually revealed.

That doesn't seem like an overtly unreasonable position to be taking, does it?

List lodgments will occur before any court case - if there is one. Extremely unlikely that he won't be on our list in 2022.

Yeah, but if JDG tells the club he's going to plead guilty the club could give him the flick before the court case.

We haven’t done anything, there is still no evidence that the two players we brought in are anything more than quality vfl players. If they aren’t premiership calibre material then we’ve wasted valuable draft picks.
Valuaedraft picks which assumedly we've also wasted until the kid drafted shows he's good enough to play in a premiership?

I don't think the public nor the media nor AFLW players are going to allow him to suit up. He'll be stood down. The sexual harassment and assault message is too big in this day and age for him not to. Reading the comments on social media, people do not want him playing. I'm expecting a full and proper investigation by the AFL and Collingwood before being stood down not long after.

Eddie went after one more slip of the tongue that would have been forgiven with an apology.

Yeah, but if JDG tells the club he's going to plead guilty the club could give him the flick before the court case.
Why can't he be like Mason Cox? Mason went to the States in his off-season but hasn't been arrested. To my knowledge, in all his time at the club, Mason has made 0 controversial off-field headlines which is why he is good for culture around the club.

I doubt under player association rules that it would void his contract. Thus I doubt we'd delist him. If you were getting rid of him, you'd still keep him on the list in the hope of getting compensation at the end of the year, as its unlikely to be a cap saving.

de Goey is on $700k at least. Some saving there. Enough to lure a well-behaved player to the club, anyway.

To anyone saying he's going to get out of this alive, here is the pub test.

I've acknowledge Ive missed quite a few in an earlier post. At the end of the day the club clearly does not think he is worth committing to prior to the draft which I for one like. I like the fact that they are not committing to players simply because they are part of our academies when they think there might be better options for us.

Not too sure what it all means. For mine, better to nominate then make a call on matching a bid or taking him at all when the time comes is the smart play. No longer have that flexibility.

Did the people who said to wait and let things play out this year over his court case have egg on their face, or was it the ones going off half cocked like you are now, saying he was going to be sacked before his hearing had even been scheduled?

These are assumptions and speculation presented as facts.

1. That hasn't been reported anywhere I've seen (could be mistaken) just speculated here.
2. Allegedly.
3. Allegedly.

It could be true but it may not.