List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade and FA

We just won a flag.
IMO the club has a few years grace to get us heading in the correct direction.
All clubs go through down periods, the times of continually staying at the top have ended mostly. (E.g. Carlton brown paper bags, cap rorts, COLA, Hawthorn zoned drafting. Accadamies and AFL gifted draft hands to expansion clubs and North Melbourne are still around however.)
I'm not gready 1 flag every 10-15 years will good enough for me.

Its a good point but there's no harm in keeping in practice. I dont want us to cheat ....unless it gets desperate like essendon and carlton...

Actually, i dont want us to use future picks and use everything available to pick up players. I think we should save draft picks for the years that they should be used. But that doesnt mean not trying to find a better way to find players.

I think Joe Richards showed that there were players out there in the sticks that can play the game...I dont see a problem in trying to find them.

Recruiting only who is 30 is no different to keeping one who is 30
It depends on their relative form, injury record, & I would suggest positional needs. I actually think that most players peak somewhere between 25 or 26 to 29 & possibly 30. That is why the noise about Lukosius being a possible target - who would be 24 or 25 - makes him in my opinion a more attractive proposition than Stringer. Plus he can play at both ends. Moreover he could be the type of player who would benefit by playing at such a big club as Collingwood. Regardless, time will tell as usual.

Tigers say hello 👋
A rarity
They produced something that very rarely happens. Thats 4 years ago, reckon the game is much closer now and they prob had a younger list.
Probably gets harder the more older players you have year on year. If you manage to get 1 flag while those older players are then, that's a bonus.

Cats pick is getting later and later for the dogs and if they don’t want to give up a future first surely our picks would be better for the dogs over the cats. Any chance we could jump in front for smith?
Been thinking the same. Our future 1st and a 2nd rounder might be better than Geelongs current 1st and future 1st.

Edit: Personally I think our future 1st might be enough for Smith now.

Been thinking the same. Our future 1st and a 2nd rounder might be better than Geelongs current 1st and future 1st.

Edit: Personally I think our future 1st might be enough for Smith now.
Dogs want a 1st rounder in this draft. Cats will offer their current 1st and maybe their F1. It'll get done. Maybe their current 1st and two seconds.
He is locked into Geelong.

The latest rumour going around was that Baz was happy to look at long term deals from any club. Not sure he is locked into Geelong 100%.
Been offered 6 years by Geelong.
Can't see any other club offering more.
This is prob just sparked by his manager to get more money from Geelong.

The 4 were rejects from other teams. It's not a bad strategy if a player has travelled from home and there is news of discontent and he's delisted....so have a look at the GWS boys or gold coast ones that are ex-vic and get delisted. They might be worth a shot.

but bytel had been given a good go at st. kilda....

i think joe richards is a better template. Someone who missed the draft initially and then went on to play at a lower level.

I think the recruiting people can be a bit arrogant and think they and their mates at other teams know how to judge talent but they fail to realise that kids are sometimes better at 19 or 20 or 21 or after they have moved out of home.

The bottom line for me is that when the over 30s retire next year, we are stuffed if we have to rely on 18yo from the draft and a couple of discards from other teams.
Sullivan was new to the AFL system.

We've got a yank on our list. Had a crack at Ireland. Recruited from state leagues. Richards fro a country league. We've recruited basketballers, cricketers, soccer players. We've recruited a deaf bloke. A bloke with a heart defect and a brain defect. The nephew of the postcard bandit. We're even looking at Stringer.

To suggest we're not looking broadly enough is clearly wrong.

Cats are currently the best in the league at finding and/or developing players. Whether it's that their talent spotters have a better eye than Hine like many view it or whether it's their system of evaluating talent or their development pathway - **** knows. But it's not because we're looking too narrowly or are only looking at the under 18s or not trying to find hidden gems.

He is so unapologetically biased. I love his half time appearances when a richmond player is up on a reported charge on field. Then the difference if its another team.

"Yeah look Vlaustin may have suplexed and snapped the opposition players neck , but thats probably a couple of weeks redduced down to a fine in my books"

"Taylor Adams may have done his ACL but he has a duty of care to not cause distress to the opposition player by breaking his leg , probably looking at 2-3 weeks for mine"
At first glance, this might seem to be a bit over the top, but with Ralphy...

A rarity
They produced something that very rarely happens. Thats 4 years ago, reckon the game is much closer now and they prob had a younger list.
Probably gets harder the more older players you have year on year. If you manage to get 1 flag while those older players are then, that's a bonus.
I'll guess we'll find out soon enough.

Hawks supporters seem to think they're on their way to a dynasty starting tonight .. 🥴

Yup, as likely as Pendles leaving.
There was word he was considering his options earlier in the year when the Dogs were going poorly, but as always, winning papers over the cracks that were showing in their FD, so I couldn’t see him moving on now unless they regress hard again next year.

We've got a yank on our list. Had a crack at Ireland. Recruited from state leagues. Richards fro a country league. We've recruited basketballers, cricketers, soccer players. We've recruited a deaf bloke. A bloke with a heart defect and a brain defect. The nephew of the postcard bandit. We're even looking at Stringer.

Cats are currently the best in the league at finding and/or developing players. Whether it's that their talent spotters have a better eye than Hine like many view it or whether it's their system of evaluating talent or their development pathway - **** knows. But it's not because we're looking too narrowly or are only looking at the under 18s or not trying to find hidden gems.

Cats have got their own "Academy" down here. The Falcons, Private schools and local leagues all funnel their best to Geelong and the player managers and recruiters involved down here are well versed in getting their boys home even when they're picked up by other teams. Its a production line but Wellsy's spotters also do their job with the VFL and local leagues really well punctuated amongst their list. They've got the country boys covered, the "high Maintenence looking for a low key" and the young family men wanting to settle down amongst country surroundings and excellent schools.

Its a pretty easy sell.

He is so unapologetically biased. I love his half time appearances when a richmond player is up on a reported charge on field. Then the difference if its another team.

"Yeah look Vlaustin may have suplexed and snapped the opposition players neck , but thats probably a couple of weeks redduced down to a fine in my books"

"Taylor Adams may have done his ACL but he has a duty of care to not cause distress to the opposition player by breaking his leg , probably looking at 2-3 weeks for mine"
I haven't seen enough Rich games to notice. But in non-Richmond games Ralph's usually very accurate on suspensions. Bucks, Lewis and Brown carry on trying to come up with reasons to get the bloke off. Then Ralph says what will happen, Bucks shakes his head and looks confused. Lewis joins him. Brown acknowledges it with a "yeah, but" trying to keep up the blokes persona but knowing the player is stuffed. And then a couple of days later what Ralph says will happen happens.

Been offered 6 years by Geelong.
Can't see any other club offering more.
This is prob just sparked by his manager to get more money from Geelong.
I reckon we would offer 6 too….
And I’ve always thought we are in this mix—-no knowledge just the way things have played out.

We will find out in due course.

Cats have got their own "Academy" down here. The Falcons, Private schools and local leagues all funnel their best to Geelong and the player managers and recruiters involved down here are well versed in getting their boys home even when they're picked up by other teams. Its a production line but Wellsy's spotters also do their job with the VFL and local leagues really well punctuated amongst their list. They've got the country boys covered, the "high Maintenence looking for a low key" and the young family men wanting to settle down amongst country surroundings and excellent schools.

Its a pretty easy sell.
I get that they have advantages in terms of the falcons network and recruiting blokes back to country Vic, but its the continual plucking of underrated gems from elsewhere on top of it. Dempsey from Carey Grammar, Holmes from a Melbourne club. Being willing to pay up for Stewart and Egan as mature age state league guys. SDK from wherever. Mannagh from heaven. They just get gems from everywhere. Then also turn guys like Bowes and Kolodnashji into solid players. They just seem to be ahead of the game in recruitment and developing and then Scott and their coaches are ****ing good as well.

****ers.

excellent rant....but I wasnt talking about looking at handicapped people...

i was talking about footballers who werent ready to play AFL footy when their fellow 18yo's were being drafted...

List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade and FA