List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade and FA

In that Melbourne game he looked good on the outside as well.

But 1 game is a poor sample to judge a player on. I agree he could still go either way.
Yeah, it's a really nice highlights package. Runs so well - he was turning congested situations into open uncontested play.

When it comes to middling list cloggers, there's two main schools of thought:

Middling list cloggers from other clubs have heaps of untapped potential and we need them.
Our middling list cloggers are going to be stars and we'd be mad to move them on, until we eventually brand them as spuds and want them gone yesterday.
Why not a third school?

All list cloggers are just that for a reason and the numbers game says you’ll need to kiss way too many toads to find one prince so don’t bother with them?

Did you watch the video highlights, or just look at stats? If you watched it, I cannot see how you could reach that assessment.

You do understand that stats are likely far more indicative of his game than a highlights package that’s literally been designed to make him look good, yeah?

I can't believe some people are frothing over a middling list clogger.
This board is hopeless. They’ll jump on a new and shiny player no matter how bad they are sometimes.

Good point. It just takes them playing one AFL game where they weren't hopeless for the angst to fully kick in about our list management.
James Stewart. Never heard such a fuss about us looking over such a flipping average player. It’s a miracle his career lasted as long as it did.

It feels like it’s the exact same cohort of posters that call you arrogant and a know it all 🤔

jimmy stewart oscars GIF by The Academy Awards

Why not a third school?

All list cloggers are just that for a reason and the numbers game says you’ll need to kiss way too many toads to find one prince so don’t bother with them?
Im a teacher. I'm trained to pretend that inside every waste of space is a future star. Parent/teacher night 101.

But seriously, the way I see it is that list cloggers are part of your depth. I like the way we've done it. Post trade week you should look at your uncontracted depth and decide whether you want to replace them with better short term depth, depth in different positions or depth more likely to become more than just depth. Someone like Carrol might be depth in different positions and be more likely to become more than depth. But I've never watched him to have an opinion.

Collingwood​

Arrivals: Dan Houston (trade), Harry Perryman (free agency)
Departures: Aiden Begg (delisted), Jack Bytel (delisted), Josh Carmichael (retired), Josh Eyre (delisted), Nathan Kreuger (delisted), Nathan Murphy (retired), John Noble (trade), Joe Richards (trade)
Draft picks: 52, 55, 58
Uncontracted: Charlie Dean, Ned Long, Oleg Markov, Reef McInnes, Lachie Sullivan
Contracted: 35 (including one category B rookie)
The Pies made two strong additions in the player movement period, and have also expressed interest in out-of-contract Saints pair Tim Membrey and Jack Hayes, plus discarded Demons defender Adam Tomlinson, as they look to ascend the ladder. Markov, Sullivan and Dean are all set to continue, while Long and McInnes face a nervous wait. New Collingwood list boss Justin Leppitsch will hope this draft is even deeper than touted, given they will not enter it until the 50s, although their first pick could move into the 40s once opposition father-son and academy bids are matched. Either way, the Magpies will have to wait and see who slips through to them.

Ethan Phillips has been training with IQ doing specialised sprint training. Don't really know much about him but been delisted.

I can remember him being written up for a great debut for the Hawks........interceptor. Maybe we have him pegged for a SSP trial as a Murph like role ?
Very good VFL-level intercepter-style KPD, but basically untested at AFL level.

Very much the opposite of what we're looking for, but if we picked him up and he was better than Frampton or Dean I wouldn't be particularly surprised.

Absolutely not the type to play a Murphy-type role.

Very good VFL-level intercepter-style KPD, but basically untested at AFL level.

Very much the opposite of what we're looking for, but if we picked him up and he was better than Frampton or Dean I wouldn't be particularly surprised.

Absolutely not the type to play a Murphy-type role.
Who is the type who can play the Murphy role

I'm guessing Houston. I could be wrong.
I'm assuming he will be playing the noble role, except with less pace but in that rebounding defender role.
Which I think they basically said would be the case.

Oleg will be like a new recruit next season. Expecting him to play well.
In my opinion Edward is going to star.
Surprised many here can't see this. He's fast and gets the ball in congestion. Absolute pin point delivery to our forwards.

Perryman will prove a revelation.
Houston the 💯 gun.
I reckon everyone can see the talent in Allan, it's time to show it consistently in the AFL. I'm not seeing star factor until he actually produces it and is keeping other players out. He'll be into his third year next year so time is running out. I'm not saying he won't be a star but it's up to him

Still very young though. His growth spurt wasn't normal at all.

Highlights have never been deceiving, you're right. I watched the video, and it was mediocre.

Clearly Carroll is no superstar but his highlights are far better than those of a certain first round pick of ours who’s about to enter his fifth season. As midfield depth I would pick Carroll over Fin every day of the week.

True mate. Fin has showed nothing

List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade and FA