I just don’t see the point in them. It’s basically our home jumper, with larger white areas , with a cartoon on the front…..get rid of the cartoon and its bearable….heaps more white….job done.
That role is very important in modern footy.A leader shouldnt need to be hidden in the back pocket or be instructed to collect cheap uncontested possessions chipping the ball around the backline off its the intangibles that's keeping him as a leader, he can do it on the training track if his form and ability doesn't warrant selection. Hiding the captain in a back pocket with 0 responsibility isn't exactly on field leadership in my eyes. LMac (in his proper rebounding role) offers much more and is probably the stop gap until JHF is ready
Come on big_e, it’s plain for everyone to see that the backline is so unbalanced and our Captain is providing nothing.That role is very important in modern footy.
Ziebell was third in the B & F last year playing that exact same role.
He's started poorly, but to say he's being hidden is just not correct.
Can't believe l'm listening to Bucks make sense on the SEN wireless with Ger-hard about coaches under the pump. Done Simmo, Hinkley, next Rutten.
Could it be that clubs have learned to play through his man.That role is very important in modern footy.
Ziebell was third in the B & F last year playing that exact same role.
He's started poorly, but to say he's being hidden is just not correct.
Not an easy bloke to like, but great to listen to I reckon. Gets footy and communicates well.Can't believe l'm listening to Bucks make sense on the SEN wireless with Ger-hard about coaches under the pump. Done Simmo, Hinkley, next Rutten.
Not an easy bloke to like, but great to listen to I reckon. Gets footy and communicates well.
I don't want to hear it - I've got those emails before.
His role is to float around the backline, intercept the ball coming in and launch the ball upfield. It's the same role he did with aplomb last year, finishing third in the Syd Barker and fifth in the votes here on BF.Come on big_e, it’s plain for everyone to see that the backline is so unbalanced and our Captain is providing nothing.
In fact he is just getting in everyone’s way.
He doesn’t intercept, he can’t lockdown on smalls, he isn’t big enough to take on the talls and he isn’t an elite ball user. Can you actually tell me what his role is?
The only role he is performing at the moment is a wrecking ball on his own teammates.
He didn’t lay one tackle on the weekend, so he isn’t even doing that.
That current structure in the back 6 is taking us nowhere. If we are going to be flogged, we may as well do it by trying to structure up what the future back 6 will look like, not this abomination that seems to be in place to find spots on the field for players.
The biggest problem is that it seems he’s been targeted as the weak link in all three games, sure vs haw McKay going down meant he had more responsibility to play 1v1 but again he needs to be able to defend in that situation. I doubt he will be afforded the luxury of being that floating defender. It certainly appears he’s been figured out. If he is playing as a loose man, considering our spluttering fwd line I can see opp coaches playing an extra fwd to negate him and force him to be accountable which based on the first three weeks is a problem. I just don’t like him as a defender. Play him in the FPHis role is to float around the backline, intercept the ball coming in and launch the ball upfield. It's the same role he did with aplomb last year, finishing third in the Syd Barker and fifth in the votes here on BF.
He's averaging 7.7 intercept possessions for the season (second for us, behind McDonald), 5.3 rebound 50s (3rd behind Hall and McDonald) and 386 metres gained (again 3rd behind Hall and McDonald).
No intercept marks vs Brisbane but took three against Hawthorn (2nd behind McDonald) and two vs West Coast (third behind McDonald and Corr).
Nobody is denying we had an absolute stinker on the weekend, and Jack is certainly down on last year's performance. But the whole club is down and it honestly feels like people want a head on a stake.
I said in a different thread that in April and May, we play six of last year's top eight. So to take out experienced players and replace them with youngsters - the back six as named in the VFL on the weekend were aged 21, 21, 18, 19, 23 and 18 - is just going to lead to even worse results.
the best defence in the league will fold when there are a record 27 inside 50's in one quarter. from F50 to D50 we apply absolutely no pressure, the back 6 are always going to look shite.
yep. It's now evident that the players either don't know what the plan is or the plan is too difficult to understand and they're just going into their shells and bombing it down the line.The positioning of the HB-C-HF lines makes rebounding against us a certainty.
Guarding space, allowing 2/3 20-25m kicks to open players who can play on because no one is close enough to apply any pressure.
Then when we have the footy, it's slow, no movement across the three lines with a long bomb to a pack of players 50m out from goal.
It's a ******* circus out there.
He was averaging 9 intercepts a week before this game and was leading the comp. Very early days but not bad.His role is to float around the backline, intercept the ball coming in and launch the ball upfield. It's the same role he did with aplomb last year, finishing third in the Syd Barker and fifth in the votes here on BF.
He's averaging 7.7 intercept possessions for the season (second for us, behind McDonald), 5.3 rebound 50s (3rd behind Hall and McDonald) and 386 metres gained (again 3rd behind Hall and McDonald).
No intercept marks vs Brisbane but took three against Hawthorn (2nd behind McDonald) and two vs West Coast (third behind McDonald and Corr).
Nobody is denying we had an absolute stinker on the weekend, and Jack is certainly down on last year's performance. But the whole club is down and it honestly feels like people want a head on a stake.
I said in a different thread that in April and May, we play six of last year's top eight. So to take out experienced players and replace them with youngsters - the back six as named in the VFL on the weekend were aged 21, 21, 18, 19, 23 and 18 - is just going to lead to even worse results.
Of course, but even then it is so out-dated.
The King has spoken and he doesn't like what he's seen from the Roos.
“Let’s be honest, they beat a WAFL team by 15 points last week, they sung the song like it was a Grand Final,” Carey told Triple M.
“Don’t get me wrong in the position they are in, it was the first win for a long time and they wanted to sing the song but they sung it like they had won a grand final.
“Under the circumstances and what West Coast had been put through that was over the top and it carried through to the weekend. They are that far off it, it’s not funny.
“I said last year they wouldn’t win a game and they finished off last year fairly strongly.
“I thought they were competitive, they never got flogged in the last 10 games apart from one game.
“Where have they gone? A whole summer, number one draft pick, other kids into the club, strength and fitness that’s built over five or six years. You should be on the improve and unfortunately that’s an absolute shellacking.”
You've got around eight minutes from when a fire in a house starts until the tipping point - before that 90% of houses are saved, afterward 90% are lost, so when fire brigades actually save that first house its a bit of a miracle.
But if people don't roll hoses up properly after an incident we make them do it again. You can lose over 30 seconds (half of one of those precious 8 minutes,) sometimes a whole minute if the hoses aren't rolled properly and can't be bowled out properly.
Strongly doubt we are relying on outside heat to set standards.
Thrashings happen and I have seen much better North teams lose by big margins, even in finals.
Clubs know they JZ is one of the weakest links in the back line and are actively targeting his direct opponent. Any club that isn't doing this isn't giving themselves they best opportunity to win a gameCould it be that clubs have learned to play through his man.
The bloke has been a great player for the club for a long time but as I’ve said before when you are a defender at some point you will need to defend, he has simply not been able to do that so far, so in that sense he should be under pressure. Sure he might get a bit of the ball but when the opponent gets goals, it’s not a trade off that helps at all.
Again forward pocket or not at all. I do think we need mature players to compliment these youngsters but there has to be some level of meaningful contribution
You may be right but I would suggest that with the volume of ball into the def 50 and the speed at which it has entered it is a bit hard to judgeCould it be that clubs have learned to play through his man.
The bloke has been a great player for the club for a long time but as I’ve said before when you are a defender at some point you will need to defend, he has simply not been able to do that so far, so in that sense he should be under pressure. Sure he might get a bit of the ball but when the opponent gets goals, it’s not a trade off that helps at all.
Again forward pocket or not at all. I do think we need mature players to compliment these youngsters but there has to be some level of meaningful contribution