Opinion Commentary & Media VI

Damage done. Lost his radio gig and tv gig.
Not sure about his age column.

Wonder what’s next for Duck?
His manager should be asking for those jobs to be reinstated. By the time the next footy season rolls around, it's seven months down the track and the whole thing is a non-event anyway.

Damage done. Lost his radio gig and tv gig.
Not sure about his age column.

Wonder what’s next for Duck?

The bar for losing your job is much lower than the bar to get legally convicted. If nobody got to run tests on the powder (which is my understanding), what on earth could he be convicted of? On the other hand, private businesses can cut you loose for “bad optics”. It’s much the same really as the Bombers new ex-CEO, in a way.

Barrett just confirmed live on air he's "great mates" with Kane Cornes.

So much sense.

With no media gigs, and he had a lot, you wonder what he's going to do with all that spare time, no place of work to be, no schedules to work towards, no games to prepare for...
This could send him off the rails. It's known that he likes Clarko's 4 P's.

Grammar announcement:

It’s must HAVE not must OF
It’s should HAVE not should OF
It’s could HAVE not could OF

Please.

(Sorry. I just had to HAVE my say!!)
Let’s not just correct; let’s educate. That being said, it is very hard to explain because we don’t actually learn grammar in a pure sense in the Aussie school system. We are often told the answer but not the reason.

Let’s use the verb drink. Excluding the continuous form ‘drinking’, there are three forms of the verb: drink, drank and drunk.
These are the present, past and past participle respectively.

Eg. Present simple tense - I drink on Saturdays (habit).
Eg. Past simple tense - I drank too much last Saturday (finished past action).
Eg. Present perfect tense - I have drunk enough thanks (past events connected to now).

The above phrases CK wrote are actually abbreviations of longer sentences.

Eg. I must have drunk too much last night. (Present perfect tense with modal verb ‘must’ for deductive certainty).

Eg. I should have drunk less last night. (Present perfect tense with ‘should’ for regret).

Eg. I could have drunk more if I had brought more beer (Third conditional with ‘could’ for regret but with options)

Kind Regards,
DDH

Let’s not just correct; let’s educate. That being said, it is very hard to explain because we don’t actually learn grammar in a pure sense in the Aussie school system. We are often told the answer but not the reason.

Let’s use the verb drink. Excluding the continuous form ‘drinking’, there are three forms of the verb: drink, drank and drunk.

Eg. Present perfect tense - I have drunk enough thanks (past events connected to now).

Eg. I must have drunk too much last night. (Present perfect tense with modal verb ‘must’ for deductive certainty).

Eg. I should have drunk less last night. (Present perfect tense with ‘should’ for regret).

Eg. I could have drunk more if I had brought more beer (Third conditional with ‘could’ for regret but with options)

Kind Regards,
DDH

Which brings us to bought vs brought.

Bought is the past tense of buy and brought is the past tense of bring.

I bought some beer from the bottle shop.

I brought some beer to my mate’s barbecue.

There
Their
They’re

Angry Jon Bernthal GIF by NETFLIX

Kind Regards,
DDH
Well done, after 20 years of reading Bigfooty, I think I've actually learnt something. Had to happen one day.

Kind Regards,
DDH
You didn't mean "bought" perchance? You could have done either, just depends on where you were. Just though I'd arks :cool: If you'd have done either, you could have drunk until you were drunk and had drunk all your drinks, unless, you didn't need to drink all your drinks to get drunk. If you have no drinks left, then either you, or someone else drank all your drinks. I think. Thanks :)

Which brings us to bought vs brought.

Bought is the past tense of buy and brought is the past tense of bring.

I bought some beer from the bottle shop.

I brought some beer to my mate’s barbecue.

Yeh, but did you drink it or someone else drank it and they became quite drunk drinking it ?

Maybe you should not have brought it after you bought it ?