Opinion Commentary & Media VII

Funny story about Pratt and Laids

Dad and I used to refer to Pratt as Crazy. After listening to this, he seems like a pretty reasonable bloke. I really enjoyed this. Thanks for posting.

no worries. and yes I didn't know what to expect going into that one with Pratty but quite enjoyed it.

For me Backchat is the best footy podcast out there, never miss it every week.

The one with Corey was also good.

no worries. and yes I didn't know what to expect going into that one with Pratty but quite enjoyed it.

For me Backchat is the best footy podcast out there, never miss it every week.

The one with Corey was also good.

Corey was a favourite player of mine so I gave that ep a listen previously and really enjoyed it. I am going pay more attention to Backchat from now on :)

He had a cheap shot at NMFC over the Harley Reid situation but, putting that to one side, Will Schofield is pretty good value in the media most of the time.

It was worse than a cheap shot big e - major put down actually.

He was an average player at best - below average really and I reckon you need a real rep to get away with smashing a Club.

He ain't got it.

Corey was a favourite player of mine so I gave that ep a listen previously and really enjoyed it. I am going pay more attention to Backchat from now on :)
For me the best one is Shaun McManus. I always thought he was a mimbo and didn't rate him much, but this ep completely changed my opinion of him

I sat next to Pratty at a breakfast. Chatting to him, he was very knowledgeable about all players on our list at the time. Really breaking down strengths and otherwise...top footy brain. Grew up alot from his initial tenure at North.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Seems we're a likeable, unoffensive team.

View attachment 1869008View attachment 1869009
Fine line between irrelevance and likeability. You'd expect the North data in this survey to have been inverted at the end of the 90s, and I certainly hope that some semblance of that rage returns when we salute again. It'd mean others care, and prove once and for all that all the irrelevance insults that they like to hurl at us right now are just a facade

Fine like between irrelevance and likeability.
I have to say without a shadow of a doubt you've nailed it in one go! When {notice I said when, not if} we start winning games I can assure you, our likeability will go down quicker than the "Titanic". At the moment, teams don't rate us, we're not a threat, we're like a sparring person in the boxing ring: sure we're okay but there not too worried, we'll throw a few jabs, dance around, look good, might even catch them off Guard a few times but they know one quick uppercut and its all over, rover, or so they think!

I've got a strong feeling that this is going to play out next year but things aren't going to quite happen the way they think. I can see us getting in front early, then increasing our lead only for our opposition to panic when we fight like hell to maintain our lead and kick away only for the media to say "upset of the year", remember, this nearly happened a few times this year, but for reasons I've already posted, it didn't eventuate.

When this does happen, a lot of our supporters are going to be thinking, god we can't be playing like this, ok their comeback is going to happen any moment now, only for us to knock them completely out and for a few seconds we're going to be stunned at the result, not only for the fact that we won, but that there was no comeback and we didn't wilt under the pressure, rather embraced it.
you got it yes GIF by True and the Rainbow Kingdom

north-melbourne.jpg

All-Australians: 1 (Nick Larkey)
Rising Star winners: 2 (Harry Sheezel, Jaidyn Stephenson)
Top-10 draft picks: 11 (Luke Davies-Uniacke, Zane Duursma, Griffin Logue, Luke McDonald, Colby McKercher, Will Phillips, Harry Sheezel, Dylan Stephens, Jaidyn Stephenson, Tarryn Thomas, George Wardlaw

Yeah nah that's just all kinds of factually incorrect, I don't know where to start.
Yeh ok. Blues would pocket all the revenue from that game. Not ticket sales but everything else. The AFLW would pocket more having the game at an AFL owned stadium like Etihad than a Private owned stadium. If you don’t understand that, then I am sorry.

north-melbourne.jpg

All-Australians: 1 (Nick Larkey)
Rising Star winners: 2 (Harry Sheezel, Jaidyn Stephenson)
Top-10 draft picks: 11 (Luke Davies-Uniacke, Zane Duursma, Griffin Logue, Luke McDonald, Colby McKercher, Will Phillips, Harry Sheezel, Dylan Stephens, Jaidyn Stephenson, Tarryn Thomas, George Wardlaw
Dylan stephens a top 10 pick?

Yeh ok. Blues would pocket all the revenue from that game. Not ticket sales but everything else. The AFLW would pocket more having the game at an AFL owned stadium like Etihad than a Private owned stadium. If you don’t understand that, then I am sorry.
In a discussion about North Melbourne's annual profit announced this week, you blamed the location of the AFLW grand final from just a few days ago for the club's profit not being higher. Are you standing by that statement?

Dylan stephens a top 10 pick?

blackadder-baldrick.gif

The way I see it is that he WAS a Top 10 pick. To get into the system, Sydney used #5. But, in his four years at the Swans his value dropped so we didn't have to use a Top 10 pick to get him to us. His initial draft position is totally irrelevant to us, and therefore makes lists like these irrelevant for all teams.

If someone bought a $100k car twenty years back and runs it into the ground and sells it to me for $10k, I'm not driving a $100k car.

blackadder-baldrick.gif

The way I see it is that he WAS a Top 10 pick. To get into the system, Sydney used #5. But, in his four years at the Swans his value dropped so we didn't have to use a Top 10 pick to get him to us. His initial draft position is totally irrelevant to us, and therefore makes lists like these irrelevant for all teams.

If someone bought a $100k car twenty years back and runs it into the ground and sells it to me for $10k, I'm not driving a $100k car.
To you, the renaissance was something that happened to other people.

In a discussion about North Melbourne's annual profit announced this week, you blamed the location of the AFLW grand final from just a few days ago for the club's profit not being higher. Are you standing by that statement?
WTF are you on about? I never mentioned North. I mentioned that Carlton FC will be reaping in massive revenue from having the GF at Pigs Arse park. It should be at an AFL owned venue to distribute ALL proceeds. From tickets, food, drinks etc.

blackadder-baldrick.gif

Or are you? 🧐

WTF are you on about? I never mentioned North. I mentioned that Carlton FC will be reaping in massive revenue from having the GF at Pigs Arse park. It should be at an AFL owned venue to distribute ALL proceeds. From tickets, food, drinks etc.
Oh that's even more ridiculous.

on the other hand this bloke appreciated while spudding it up,