Opinion Commentary & Media VII

They're like magpies taking to shiny things in their analysis.

North concede the most points per game = backline must be bad, end of.

No consideration for the factors up-field, for the woeful levels of defensive effort provided by 5/6 forwards (and sometimes 6/6), by Powell, Stephens, Fisher, Ford, by lacklustre LDU efforts as a result of the enormous burden he bears in trying to hold the midfield together both ways, by our lack of speed, by opposition scoring chains arising from stupid turnovers that an all-time backline would be helpless to stop.

I reckon, pound for pound, we praised defenders on here more than anyone else. Corr got a few nods, Archer and Chom got unanimous nods, LMac's thread was quiet for about seven or eight weeks (meaning he was doing a decent job), ditto for Tucker (for most of the year, in fairness). What other position had that many winners/good contributors?

Literally nothing stopping your average Bigfooty nuffie from providing more insightful analysis than these cretins. It's enough to make you laugh bitterly

No consideration for the factors up-field, for the woeful levels of defensive effort provided by 5/6 forwards (and sometimes 6/6), by Powell, Stephens, Fisher, Ford, by lacklustre LDU efforts as a result of the enormous burden he bears in trying to hold the midfield together both ways, by our lack of speed, by opposition scoring chains arising from stupid turnovers that an all-time backline would be helpless to stop.

I reckon, pound for pound, we praised defenders on here more than anyone else. Corr got a few nods, Archer and Chom got unanimous nods, LMac's thread was quiet for about seven or eight weeks (meaning he was doing a decent job), ditto for Tucker (for most of the year, in fairness). What other position had that many winners/good contributors?

Literally nothing stopping your average Bigfooty nuffie from providing more insightful analysis than these cretins. It's enough to make you laugh bitterly

Bang on. Would be a pretty damn functional backline if the forwards and mids didn't let the ball waltz through every other part of the ground with ease. No coincidence that when our pressure was way up in the sacred 'post-bye' period, the defence wasn't being belted constantly and could actually do its job. Looked quite good.

We have to have one of the most lopsided teams out there, the backline is under that much stress. No wonder things fall apart for them. Please God, address the forward line.

Sad that our skippers ceiling is literally "doing his job".

Thats pretty much the opposite of inspiration.

Iam sure you would never of heard of the likes of sir john monash if all he was known for was doing his job.

Sad that our skippers ceiling is literally "doing his job".

Thats pretty much the opposite of inspiration.
If rumours and innuendo are anything to go by, he loses the job this off-season. There's no world in which anyone at the club outside of the playing group could feasibly see his position as safe

I think the opposite.
I think it’s def a combo. Zero forward line pressure means lace out kicks into our defence…….but, not many of our defenders can actually defend either.
Archer? He’s still learning and gets lost at times.
Corr? Gives away stupid frees often.
LMac? He get the ball and gives it back too often.
Chom? Luv him, but has been murdered in one on ones.

At it again. Heath, give it a rest. Ben Brown was offered a deal, he played funny buggars and was told to ship off.

Someone on here is surely Heath…his posts are up there with some of the trends being posted here lately

Heath loves Big Footy(edit) . He may not participate but I’d lay money he’s lurking.

Ben Brown’s knee was stuffed when he was with us. He was never going to see out a four year contract. What we offered was good list management.

Melbourne was in the window and he got the Premiership (good on him), but for a team that desperately lacks a key forward he has been languishing in the VFL a lot.

Heath loves this place. He may not participate but I’d lay money he’s lurking.

Ben Brown’s knee was stuffed when he was with us. He was never going to see out a four year contract. What we offered was good list management.

Melbourne was in the window and he got the Premiership (good on him), but for a team that desperately lacks a key forward he has been languishing in the VFL a lot.

Heath loves this place?

He's changed his tune since he left the club then. 🤣

Health does not love the place. Heath went on a podcast and talked absolute bollocks with Dean Vasic, making absurd comments such as suggesting North could have picked Sheezel and Cadman in the same draft. That was impossible. He banged on about that on multiple platforms. He’s just a click baiting flog.
Pretty sure that was a “journalist” and not Heath that was on the podcast saying that

I think it’s def a combo. Zero forward line pressure means lace out kicks into our defence…….but, not many of our defenders can actually defend either.
Archer? He’s still learning and gets lost at times.
Corr? Gives away stupid frees often.
LMac? He get the ball and gives it back too often.
Chom? Luv him, but has been murdered in one on ones.
I think they can improve, but every team - even the best - give up goals, including stupid ones. IMO if we had parity of inside 50's every game we'd be largely competitive.

Health does not love the place. Heath went on a podcast and talked absolute bollocks with Dean Vasic, making absurd comments such as suggesting North could have picked Sheezel and Cadman in the same draft. That was impossible. He banged on about that on multiple platforms. He’s just a click baiting flog.

That was McGowan, also a flog.

Confirmed that Heath must have been the brains behind the Simpkin and LMAC deals.

Brown on 5 x 900k or whatever he was originally chasing would have been the worst contract in the league based on what has unfolded.

Not to mention blocked Larkey turning into an AA FF

I’m fascinated by the conversation around North having the highest spend on AFL W and paying well below the Soft Cap.

Could someone share these numbers please?

Could care less. Meaningless media-indulging award. Silverware is all that matters.
Couldn't have said it better. The only issue is the meaningless media-indulging awards is basically all that's keeping them in a job and keeping some of the hangers on getting their 15 minutes.

So he has gone full media?

walter white GIF