Discussion COMPLETED eBay Auctions of AFL Guernseys - NO LIVE AUCTIONS

Hmmm, I'm not so sure it is dodgy. I know at Collingwood there were players that preferred the older style cotton/acrylic jumpers rather than newer polyester/sportswool types. It was not uncommon for players to use jumpers from previous seasons and have the logos replaced. Pretty sure Damien Monkhorst was one of these players.

The badge on this jumper does not appear to be the standard sew on centenary patch which appeared on all jumpers where a sewn on patch was used (and that has appeared on eBay from time to time), i.e. Collingwood, Carlton, Fremantle, etc. But rather it has been produced to replicate the logo on the jumpers that had the logo sublimated onto the jumpers, i.e. WCE, Brisbane, Hawthorn. (Puma Clubs)

AwexgHiCEAANM06.jpg
Awexc8TCEAAAowu.jpg

This is all just an assumption, but the slight difference in logos leads me to think that this jumper may have been produced for WCE in the instance a player preferred an older style jumper and so that logo matched the rest of the team.

Yeah I remember seeing on the eagles flying high site a while back someone had a centenary PI that was woolen and he said you could see where the afl logo was taken off and the centenary one put in its place, that eagles one shown is obviously a retail version so maybe sekem did the same, said it was heat pressed on too so I spose they are not trying to be dodgy just explaining it as is. The logo itself is the same as the sublimated ones as said before so looks legit in that sense.

That guernsey on eBay is a retail. The Sekem player centenarys had the eagle head stitched on, not iron on felt.

ShaneSikoraMatchWornPreSeason1996.jpg

Nice jumper!!!

But it wouldn't be the first time, especially back in those days where a retail would have been grabbed from the club shop and been prepped up for game use. I'm not saying this is the case of the eBay jumper, but it did happen back then.

Nice jumper!!!

But it wouldn't be the first time, especially back in those days where a retail would have been grabbed from the club shop and been prepped up for game use. I'm not saying this is the case of the eBay jumper, but it did happen back then.

In the eagles case I highly doubt it. Sekem never sold jumpers with centenary Badges. I know this as a fact

The pictured centenary above is the jumper the eagles wore for the preseason of 1996. The Puma's wernt ready at that stage so they threw a centenary badge on the 1995 PI's.

In the eagles case I highly doubt it. Sekem never sold jumpers with centenary Badges. I know this as a fact

The pictured centenary above is the jumper the eagles wore for the preseason of 1996. The Puma's wernt ready at that stage so they threw a centenary badge on the 1995 PI's.

You could get some of the clubs with the centenary badge as well as being made from sportswool, off the top of my head you could get Collingwood, Carlton, Melbourne, Fitzroy and Richmond (with the fully embroidered TAC sponsor logo). These jumpers were readily available to the public through some of the major sporting goods stores. You could also get replica centenary re-enactment jumpers. These replicas, also made by Sekem, were made from polyester rather than sportswool, these jumpers also carried the centenary badge. I remember Myer Melbourne carrying these jumpers briefly.

Back to the eBay jumper, I have never seen the other type of centenary logo as a patch anywhere, maybe it's come of some promotional gear, although any promotional stuff also generally carried the coca-cola logo as well.

Sorry Makri. I meant to say Eagles. At the end of the day it doesnt matter I guess. Either the badge was swapped at Sekem. Or at home ?

Same Diff

Ps FXD I think I will have to block you from my Photobucket

Did anyone here pick up the essendon anzac?

That davis jumper was pretty cool a great item for a south/sydney fan.

Also

Did anyone get the saints heritage pi that sold for $65 last week

& then a chadwick cornes one pops up. Same thing go to footy wire to confirm it was chadwicks, come back into the page & its sold. Congrats to whoever got chadwick i must say it was the best $30 i would have spent.

From one big footy member to another. Whoever sold them im sure was a big footy member as they knew everything about the jumper. Massive offloads to whoever it was.

Congrats on getting the bars jumper.

Dont mean to be rude mc but they were huge offloads! Ya line somthing else up or just over it haha ?

There's a couple of Geelong options that I've got my eye on (and I would probably appreciate more than the ones I've sold), but basically my main interest as a collector, is just getting one PI of each AFL team and I can still do that, without any of those guernseys. The Port one was the toughest to part with, but I've got a SANFL prison bar and while I understand how special the prison bar with the AFL logo is, the SANFL one is good enough for my collection. It probably deserves to be framed up on a wall somewhere and I wasn't going to do that.

I bought the Eagles prototype by accident; didn't realise it was a kid's size until I'd already committed to buy (pretty sure it was my mistake by not reading carefully enough). Still a very nice and rare guernsey, but it probably doesn't count as a PI (or equivalent) in my books, if it's not an adult's size.

The Hawthorn heritage was another tough one to part with, as I love that guernsey. It's just that (as a Geelong man) I hate Hawthorn, so two of their guernseys in my house is a bit much! I've got a few Chargers guernseys, as well as multiple Adelaides and while I really like the design on that North Melbourne clash, I was never going to wear it with the signature on it and I've got plenty of other Norths (including PIs), so could do without it. Similarly, plenty of people love the Collingwood barcode, but give me a current/recent PI for roughly the same price as the barcode sold for any day of the week.

To get out of it with just under a grand is a great result for me and I reckon everything went for a pretty fair price.

Yes you did well, that is a great idea to try & get a pi of each side. Would be tough but. Imo the giants crows blues & swans being less available for sale. Cats would be the hardest but i imagine u have heaps of those

Already got three of those clubs, as well as Port, another 'difficult' club. To me, West Coast is one of the most difficult, as it pretty much seems that the bidding for a PI of any H&A guernsey of theirs starts at about $200. No shortage of supply, but that's a lot to cough up. Essendon hasn't been easy either, probably just as pricey and a less plentiful supply than the Eagles, from my experience on eBay.

Yeah, I've got plenty of Geelong, though I'm still waiting to see PIs of the current clash guernsey, don't think they ever auctioned the ones from 2011. Demand is high for anything Geelong at the moment, but that will drop as we fall back to the pack over the next 2-3 years.

Discussion COMPLETED eBay Auctions of AFL Guernseys - NO LIVE AUCTIONS