Official Team Thread | Coney Island Warriors - Season 29 Team Thread | Joint Frankston Rover Medallists... comewhatmay & pantskyle!!

qTYdzrI.png

Round Seven - Frankston Rover & Smoooothy 200th Warriors game
Gold City Royals vs Coney Island Warriors @ The Golden Throne

Gold City Royals 16.9 (105) defeated Coney Island Warriors 16.8 (104)
Write up by TiF

#FrankstonSmoooothy 200 games

The milestones continued to come at us fast in S29, with Frankston Rover and Smoooothy notching their 200th games together, having both missed just a single game since the inception of the club back in S18.

We would head to Gold City in Round 7, to tackle a Royals outfit on the up. After some of the shittest OPs seen this season, we kicked off Chivalry Round with some pleasantries.

Whoops didn't you get the memo? It's changed it again.

It's Chivalry Round now.

KugO1tx.png

It was the battle of the sophisticates throughout the week, as the ‘Warriors-lite’ Royals appeared to be enjoying a renaissance of their own, to go with our up and aboutness.

Morgs unexpectedly reported for duty a week late…

Reporting in Wazzas and w***ers

Put your votes in now flogs, Morgs is set to dominate again (I assume that happened last game hence why I got all those tags)

...as both sides spent the week trying to downplay their chances given our woeful form lines. Although Dinsdale had to go and blow it…

Its Wednesday and we know what that means, time to consult the oracle for a tip on this weeks game. Due to the issues of previous weeks, Red Jelly baby has been retired, other colours were "consulted" until an acceptable answer was achieved.

1583878973959-png.837328

Seems about as accurate as the sim is so...

Game wise, we overturned an early deficit to break even at three quarter time. We even edged in front in the last, but the Royals bounced back hanging on to a win by the slimmest of margins as an awful miss by one of the milestone men with the final shot of the day sealed it for Gold City.

Another rucking masterclass from comewhatmay, gave pantskyle and Tonga Bob silver service, while BEEG engaged in an old school shootout with the Royals skipper The Filth Wizard. It was a dirty day for the milestone men, with just 9 touches and 1 goal between them.

RD 7 VOTES

5 pantskyle
4 Tonga Bob
3 comewhatmay
2 BEEG

1 Dinsdale

qTYdzrI.png

Round Eight
Coney Island Warriors vs Gumbies FFC @ Van Cortlandt Park

Coney Island Warriors 9.11 (65) lost to Gumbies FFC 13.7 (85)
Write up by BEEG

The mighty Warriors return home after a rough streak to take on the leagues most respected team the Gumbies....

Elizabeth Banks GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Most in the Warriors camp believed the so-called #thestreak curse would continue but we all get a lucky break every now and then, just ask Jeffrey Epstein.

Warriors started strong, like a 16-year-old at a house party with young gun Tonga Bob leading the way early but like most games of late Warriors started to fall behind pretty quickly letting the Gumbies back in the game, Gumbies greats saintkildaman and The Victorian took over pretty quickly to not only keep our #thestreak going but get them back on track.

Always feels good giving to charity and that's what we did in this 20 point loss.

Raveneyes just like a fine wine, clearly best on ground Freofalcon (15 touches, 7 marks) and zackah (16 touches, 4 marks, 1 goal) were lively upfront, TheInjuryFactory and Wooshette controlled down back like the great old campaigners they are.

RD 8 VOTES

5 Raveneyes
4 harry000
3 Tonga Bob
2 Wooshette

1 Cadaver

Man we really did get ****ed over constantly this season.

S29 Frankston Rover Medal - Rd 8 Leaderboard
niAXceu.png

As we hit the halfway mark of the season, pants remains in front with daylight on 26 votes after another two best afield efforts, with rookie star Tonga Bob still hot on his heels, alongside S28 winner comewhatmay who has started to make her move, the pair on 18 votes apiece. 3rd place is pants' fellow vice captain harry000 just one vote adrift on 17 votes, having pulled away from Cadaver and BEEG on 12 & 11 votes respectively as the field look to make ground on pants' outstanding start to his Season 29 and his Frankston Rover Medal campaign as he seeks to win his second gong in 3 seasons.

S29 Frankston Rover Medal - Life Membership Induction
3nsXDtp.png

MreegAM.png

Life Membership

Congratulations candiehappy & Freofalcon

For the fourth season in a row, we are again inducting one of our ranks to life membership of the club.

Joining such club legends as Wooshette, Frankston Rover and zackah, as well as following in the footsteps of their great mate who joined the illustrious club in last season’s intake, Packedlunch.

Freofalcon played his 150th game for the club fittingly against his first Sweet FA club the Roys in an honourable loss against the Roys in Round 11. While candiehappy brought up the milestone in Round 14 alongside new recruit r2m celebrating his 200th SFA game. The two new inductees bring our tally to 8 inductees of Coney Island Warriors life membership.

Congratulations to our newly minted life members, enjoy your year round passes to the whore tree and your well worn butt groove in the couch in the player's lounge.

You've earned it.

yL1LNFi.png

qTYdzrI.png

Round Nine
Sin City Swamprats vs Coney Island Warriors @ Underground Stadium

Sin City Swamprats 21.11 (137) defeated Coney Island Warriors 12.13 (85)
Write up by BEEG

So not only did we have to go to the Underground stadium which I wish was Underground as the air quality would be better but we had to go and play the top 2 Swamprats which at this point were as impressive as a typical speech from the drunk best man...

Top 30 Steve Buscemi GIFs | Find the best GIF on Gfycat

Well #thestreak continued

This was a sh*t storm from the very start, and at no point did we look a chance. SarahSmiles kicked 7 but personally I felt the 7 combined from Morganashlee and myself were much better, we haven't combined that well together since New Year's Eve 2011, while Quadzilla (fu** that's a cool name) was also very good.

The defence was more under the pump than China during a COVID19 Q&A, as Wooshette (28 touches, 8 marks) was among our best repelling the Swampies on numerous occasions. Star rookie Dinsdale (29 touches, 7 marks) also dominated, Tonga Bob (26 touches, 5 marks), Cadaver (22 touches, 4 marks) and harry000 (21 touches, 4 tackles) collected plenty of the footy.

Defender and S29 recruit roo2macca (20 touches, 10 marks) enjoyed his best outing for the club, while the skipper leader and just overall great of the league TheInjuryFactory (17 touches, 6 marks) was another down back who tried to stop the Rats' overall domination.

RD 9 VOTES

5 Wooshette
4 Dinsdale
3 Tonga Bob
2 pantskyle

1 roo2macca

qTYdzrI.png

Round 10 – BEEG 100th SFA game/zackah 200th SFA game
Coney Island Warriors vs Baghdad Bombers @ Van Cortlandt Park

Coney Island Warriors 11.7 (73) defeated Baghdad Bombers 8.12 (60)
Write up by BEEG

5kSB0lz.png

Back home and it was time to have a good look in the mirror, we were seriously sh*t at this point. The Warriors, this strong powerful group, decided they would try anything to beat the Bombers, I mean anything...

That Shade Of Pink Really Brings Out Your Crazy GIF ...

Club legend zackah celebrating 200 games and club idiot BEEG celebrating 100 there was plenty on the line and guess what, the lipstick and pre-game pep talk from Dean Laidley worked, the Warriors were inspired and back on the winner's list.

Warriors started poorly, we managed to limit the damage to half time as we headed into the main break down 18 points. Warriors had one more look in the mirror, (geez we looked fabulous with lipstick, especially iGNITER) and went back out to break the Bombers' hearts. League legends Tony Lynn 15 and KohPhi were quiet after half time, but young gun Antonio BlueVein picked up the slack.

Led by vice captain harry000 (20 touches, 10 tackles, 2 goals) and S29 marquee recruit Cadaver (29 touches, 6 marks) dominated with hard work and a whole lot of fabulous grit

The skipper TheInjuryFactory (23 touches, 8 marks) held dangerous Bombers forward cammo6556 goalless in a powerful display, giving plenty of drive from half-back, supported by former skipper Wooshette (18 touches, 8 marks) who was also influential down back.

Milestone men BEEG (3 goals) and zackah (17 touches, 7 marks) were both a handful up forward as they celebrated in style with some Steve Buscemi gifs.

Airheads Steve GIF - Airheads Steve Buscemi - Discover & Share GIFs

#thestreak OVER.

RD 10 VOTES

5 harry000
4 TheInjuryFactory
3 Cadaver
2 Papa Juggs

1 Dinsdale

qTYdzrI.png

Round 10 – BEEG 100th SFA game/zackah 200th SFA game
Coney Island Warriors vs Baghdad Bombers @ Van Cortlandt Park

Coney Island Warriors 11.7 (73) defeated Baghdad Bombers 8.12 (60)
Write up by BEEG

5kSB0lz.png

Back home and it was time to have a good look in the mirror, we were seriously sh*t at this point, The Warriors this strong powerful group decided they would try anything to beat the Bombers, I mean anything...

That Shade Of Pink Really Brings Out Your Crazy GIF ...

Club legend zackah celebrating 200 games and club idiot BEEG celebrating 100 there was plenty on the line and guess what the lipstick and pre-game pep talk from Dean Laidley worked, the Warriors were inspired and back on the winner's list.

Warriors started poorly, we managed to limit the damage to half time as we headed into the main break down 18 points. Warriors had one more look in the mirror geez we looked fabulous with lipstick, especially iGNITER and went back out to break the Bombers hearts, League legends Tony Lynn 15 and KohPhi were quiet after half time but young gun Antonio BlueVein picked up the slack.

Led by vice captain harry000 (20 touches, 10 tackles, 2 goals) and S29 marquee recruit Cadaver (29 touches, 6 marks) dominated with hard work and a whole lot of fabulous grit

The skipper TheInjuryFactory (23 touches, 8 marks) held dangerous Bombers forward cammo6556 goalless in a powerful display, giving plenty of drive from half-back, supported by former skipper Wooshette (18 touches, 8 marks) who was also influential down back.

Milestone men BEEG (3 goals) and zackah (17 touches, 7 marks) were both a handful up forward as they celebrated in style with some Steve Buscemi Gifs

Airheads Steve GIF - Airheads Steve Buscemi - Discover & Share GIFs

#thestreak OVER.

RD 10 VOTES

5 harry000
4 TheInjuryFactory
3 Cadaver
2 Papa Juggs

1 Dinsdale

"Quiet". I probably only had 40 disposals after half time.

qTYdzrI.png

Round 11 – Freofalcon 150th Warriors game
Roys FFC vs Coney Island Warriors @ The BJO

Roys FFC 17.13 (115) defeated Coney Island Warriors 16.10 (106)
Write up by NaturalDisaster

xTjoAfq.png

This week we celebrated campaigner Freofalcon’s 150th game against the Brunswick Aged Care residents. It was your typical Roys snooze fest, TedDougChris whinged about the toilet paper shortage and we had to put up with I Dont Care ’s crap, JackNah_8 probably babbled about tennis, apart from that, it was a nothing thread.

Roys showed a bit more fight in the match however. After an equal first quarter, the Roys led us for the rest of the game. We fought hard and were in the contest until the end, but came up short, losing by 9 points.

zackah was best on ground for us with 23 disposals, taking 7 marks and booting 3 goals, closely followed by Raveneyes with 22 disposals, 6 tackles,2 goals. candiehappy destroyed JackNah_8 in the ruck with 17 hit outs, also contributing around the ground with 19 disposals and a goal. Full Forward BEEG also kicked 4 goals.

RD 11 VOTES

5 zackah
4 Cadaver & Raveneyes
3 BEEG
2 harry000

1 candiehappy

qTYdzrI.png

Round 12
Coney Island Warriors vs East Side Hawks @ Van Cortlandt Park

Coney Island Warriors 17.14 (116) defeated East Side Hawks 12.10 (82)

In R12 yours truly faced off against his old team, and what an interesting encounter it was. I was accused of being too much like BRAB, being too edgy, being too vanilla. I can’t remember what else, but man the Hawks seemed so vanilla from the other side.

On field, this was one of our better games for the year. Inaccuracy in front of the sticks hindered a smashing, however, we still led the sluggish Hawks throughout the game. After a big 8 goal final quarter, we came off winners by a comfortable 34 points.

BEEG kicked another small bag of 3 goals and harry000 dominated in the midfield with 20 disposals, 7 tackles and 2 goals. Rookie Tonga Bob and veteran Freofalcon also had strong games whilst NaturalDisaster performed well against his old club, taking 7 marks and kicking 2 goals.

RD 12 VOTES

5 harry000
4 Freofalcon
3 Tonga Bob
2 BEEG

1 NaturalDisaster

S29 Frankston Rover Medal - Rd 12 Leaderboard
HHd9mre.png

And so with just over a month of qooty left in our season, the Frankston Rover Medal count has been blown wide open. pants has been leapfrogged by fellow vice captain harry000 (now there's a visual for you), who now pushes into the lead on 29 votes, just a single vote ahead of the clubhouse leader to this stage of the count on 28 votes, with rookie Tonga Bob holding on to a top 3 spot after a magnificently consistent debut season on 24 votes, with daylight to a second pack including S29 marquee recruit Cadaver on 19 votes, S28 winner comewhatmay on 18 votes, and two time Wooshette Medallist BEEG on 16 votes.

qTYdzrI.png

Round 12
Coney Island Warriors vs East Side Hawks @ Van Cortlandt Park

Coney Island Warriors 17.14 (116) defeated East Side Hawks 12.10 (82)

In R12 yours truly faced off against his old team, and what an interesting encounter it was. I was accused of being too much like BRAB, being too edgy, being too vanilla. I can’t remember what else, but man the Hawks seemed so vanilla from the other side.

On field, this was one of our better games for the year. Inaccuracy in front of the sticks hindered a smashing, however, we still led the sluggish Hawks throughout the game. After a big 8 goal final quarter, we came off winners by a comfortable 34 points.

BEEG kicked another small bag of 3 goals and harry000 dominated in the midfield with 20 disposals, 7 tackles and 2 goals. Rookie Tonga Bob and veteran Freofalcon also had strong games whilst NaturalDisaster performed well against his old club, taking 7 marks and kicking 2 goals.

RD 12 VOTES

5 harry000
4 Freofalcon
3 Tonga Bob
2 BEEG

1 NaturalDisaster
**** I’m a gun sometimes

S29 Frankston Rover Medal - PWND Trophy Winner
GWI3T6A.png

ALKfynJ.png

PWND Trophy

Every season, we announce the PWND trophy to the player who makes the opposition melt the most and the rest of us laugh the hardest.

S29 was a particularly strong season for the club off the field, only adding to the prestige of the highly coveted PWND Trophy. However this season there was a clear standout, who stamped his authority on this award in a single round, as he effortlessly dominated an entire club with a single post, causing a complete meltdown that lasted throughout the remainder of the season, even spilling over into our team thread just to affirm the mortal damage done by our man.

The winner of the Season 29 PWND trophy is harry000!!

S28 winner RelaxMax had this to say about harry000 joining the PWND ranks at the club...

Congratulations harry000, a truly deserving winner and so worthy of walking in my esteemed footsteps (you'll get used to the chaffing). I couldn't be happier for you. Ok, well I could. I even offered to drop the trophy around for you (I kept the address, was that wrong?) but TiF said that would not be necessary and your neighbour has started to get suspicious. I think someone has a little crush on you to be honest...

Anyway, found myself musing long and hard regarding the essence of Warriorhood the other night and decided it came down to these four essential ingredients, all of which you posses in spades

1. You can have a dickhead, you can be a dickhead, you can get it milking a cow...but for fu**'s sake, be a clever dickhead!
2. Charm adds a nice touch and manages to conceal a ruthless and predatory nature
3. A nice arse (attention to detail)
4. chewy pretzels (in for the long haul)

$5 bucks??? get outta here

tenor.png

You're a Warrior now.

Displaying the kind of form that he has always promised since joining the club, his efforts this season sees him pick up his first PWND Trophy, an achievement that is likely to be the first of many. In a breakout season, this man has stamped himself as a future star of the competition in Season 29, and joins great company with fellow Bay pedigree posters like RelaxMax, Wooshette and
zackah who have previously taken out the award.

Congrats harry000!!

bzU1tt2.png

qTYdzrI.png

Round 13
Coney Island Warriors vs Mt Buller Demons @ Van Cortlandt Park

Coney Island Warriors 17.15 (117) lost to Mount Buller Demons 17.16 (118)

It’s almost impossible for me to remember anything significant about Demons match threads considering Proper Gander and Callums_Guns tag me in them every week, so I can’t really distinguish which ones I actually played in. If memory serves me correctly, this was the one where DemonJim melted about me posting in the thread, despite the fact he never said a word when I posted in games I wasn’t actually playing in :$

The first half of the game was a tight battle, but we reverted to sh*t Wazzas in the third quarter and let them get in front by 4 goals. We were on fire in the fourth quarter, booting 6 goals, but unfortunately, the Dees just held on and we lost by a point.

Yours truly had a ripper game with 20 disposals, 9 marks and kicking 3 goals. Doctor Colossus (26 disposals, 6 tackles, 1 goal) and Tonga Bob (29 disposals, 6 marks) had great games in the middle while comewhatmay played strongly in the ruck.

RD 13 VOTES

5 NaturalDisaster
4 comewhatmay
3 pantskyle
2 Tonga Bob

1 Dinsdale

qTYdzrI.png

Round 14 – candiehappy 150th SFA game/roo2macca 200th SFA game
West Coast Wonders vs Coney Island Warriors @ The Colosseum

West Coast Wonders 17.4 (106) defeated Coney Island Warriors 14.15 (99)
Write up by harry000

s1RALZm.png

After coming within an ND’s dick of the always formidable Demons we rocked up to the Colosseum full of swagger and fully expecting to wipe the floor with Bloodied52 and the rest of this silly mob. We celebrated club stalwart candiehappy's 150th as well as Warriors first season player roo2macca playing his 200th. In typical fashion of milestone games and season 29 in general, we came agonisingly close to victory going down by 7 points.

Cadaver (21 touches, 4 marks) led the way on the wing, with comewhatmay (14 hitouts, 20 touches), harry000 (16 touches, 10 tackles) and zackah (18 touches, 5 tackles, 2 goals) up forward contributing strongly in the middle. Milestone man roo2macca (18 touches) was handy as he gave us plenty of rebound off the back half, while down the other end, BEEG straightened us up with an accurate 4 goals from 5 scoring shots.

Off field ClarkeM went on a journey for 'browner pastures' which is not a homophobic joke but apparently a mission for alcohol and snacks. He made the odd decision of mixing chocolate with black label and attacked someone with an umbrella on his way home.

RD 14 VOTES

5 Cadaver
4 zackah
3 comewhatmay
2 harry000

1 iGNITER

qTYdzrI.png

Round 15 - International Round
Dragons FFC vs Coney Island Warriors @ The Float@Marina Bay, Singapore

Dragons FFC 18.12 (120) defeated Coney Island Warriors 8.10 (58)
Write up by harry000

The Mum Game

After getting completely owned in the thread to the point of embarrassment the Dragons let their qooty do the talking and gave us an absolute hiding to the tune of 62 points. It was international round and Tonga Bob recons it was the street food we ate prior to the game that did us in but really it was Hatchy1992 's delicious right slipper leading him to a perfect fantasy score of 69, oh and 6 goals.

Dominant comewhatmay (19 hitouts, 17 touches, 2 goals) destroyed the Dragons in the ruck, supported by inside mids Dinsdale (24 touches, 6 marks, 1 goal) and pantskyle (16 touches, 7 tackles). Freofalcon (9 touches, 2 goals) and zackah (10 touches, 1 goal) bobbed up to kick a couple from the flank, while defenders roo2macca (12 touches, 6 marks) and TheInjuryFactory (15 touches, 3 marks) can hold their heads high on what was a dirty day for the defence.

Off-field harry000 decided to give one to serial_thrilla 's mum before letting Maylandsman in on the fact that his mum’s services are free for all to enjoy. What followed was a historic melt down from the Dragons, while leader AceAndy was too busy catching fish on Animal Crossing to come to their aid.

RD 15 VOTES

5 comewhatmay
4 Dinsdale
3 pantskyle
2 Freofalcon

1 Frankston Rover

qTYdzrI.png

Round 16
Las Vegas Bears vs Coney Island Warriors @ The Stadium In The Sky

Las Vegas Bears 9.9 (63) lost to Coney Island Warriors 16.8 (104)
Write up by harry000

This odd season took another turn in round sixteen. The threat of a wooden spoon lit a fire under us and we came out and flogged the Bears on their own home turf. TheInjuryFactory got us revved up at 3 quarter time promising an open bar if we finish with a victory (he had stolen zackah 's credit card details and would follow through with his promise). This spurred us onto a frenzied final term booting 5 goals to nil and running out 41 point victors.

Former Bears skipper and S29 recruit Cadaver was best on ground, as he formed a strong 1-2 punch with ruck comewhatmay, as both turned midfield dominance into scoreboard pressure by pushing into attack regularly. Veteran goalsneaks Freofalcon and zackah were damaging all day, while rookie sensation Tonga Bob was a handful on the outside with plenty of uncontested ball.

Throughout the week we all drooled once again over Wooshette and MWPP 's gourmet creations. While the Bears, through Cap, let on that they enjoy scented candles a little too much.

RD 16 VOTES

5 Cadaver
4 comewhatmay
3 zackah
2 Freofalcon

1 Tonga Bob

Official Team Thread | Coney Island Warriors - Season 29 Team Thread | Joint Frankston Rover Medallists... comewhatmay & pantskyle!!