News CONFIRMED: Suckling to Bulldogs on a 3 year deal

Suckling never got much security at Hawthorn with a lot of one year deals. To have the security of three years is something most players when they get to their late 20's would consider. I thank him for his time at Hawthorn and won't forget one of the first times I saw him play for Box Hill against Preston at Cramer Street where he kicked a goal from the centre circle. Probably the best long kick I have ever seen at the club.

A friend and I were practicing his kicking style. Geez I could kick it low and hard, but my god my knee hurt like hell afterwards. Really does get thrown about in a sideways direction that knees really arent designed for.

I will gladly cheer for him when we arent playing the Dogs. Anyone who goes through the injuries he did but remains confident in their ability deserves that much and more.

And 3 years for a 27 year old is fantastic. Plus he stays in Melbourne so he will be able to hang out with Breust and Smith (and even Chip apparently walks dogs with them if those photos werent staged).

thank gawd...anybody with doubts about him going...watch the first 10-15 minutes of the loss to Port when a win would have sewn up 2nd spot...he was woeful

Watch the first half of the qualifying final when a win would have stitched up a home prelim.

90% of the team was woeful.

Suckling played his role this year.

thank gawd...anybody with doubts about him going...watch the first 10-15 minutes of the loss to Port when a win would have sewn up 2nd spot...he was woeful
This is what shits me he was taking another younger players spot he was essentially clarko's love child had never got dropped but he sure could stuff up a lot of the time... Two medallions cya folks it makes me angry as there were guys at box hill better than him... So he takes two medals and walks... I hope he bombs out big time and gets exposed at shitiad.

Watch the first half of the qualifying final when a win would have stitched up a home prelim.

90% of the team was woeful.

Suckling played his role this year.
Woudn't have played a Q final in Perth if we had won against Port...and if 'playn your role means..soft pea hearted efforts..turning the ball over regularly trying to laser bullet pass the ball which he achieved 1 in every 3 kicks then you havn't been watchn enough games..WANT MORE...in the GF..after he came on and was gifted a goal by Mitch..he tried another 'bullet' pass near our HB line and it was pathetic..

This is what shits me he was taking another younger players spot he was essentially clarko's love child had never got dropped but he sure could stuff up a lot of the time... Two medallions cya folks it makes me angry as there were guys at box hill better than him... So he takes two medals and walks... I hope he bombs out big time and gets exposed at shitiad.
Oh FFS.

I agree with all your points BIGTON..especially the loyalty factor.. he was constantly injured early days and we stood by him and even when he made the list, he missed plenty through injury...I don't believe the Hawks would have moved heaven & earth to keep him..in fact I think they may have given him the subtle push out the door

Looking back at Sucklings career at Hawthorn he always did it the hard way, he took every knock in his stride and never stopped improving which is all we can ask, for a guy who was drafted twice as a rookie before making the senior list in 09 it took until 2011 before he cracked the side, he played every game in 2012, ACL in 2013 followed up by back to back premierships. Anyone that is glad to see the back of him need to take a look at themselves because you are making the rest of us look bad

Look..my biggest worry was after a wonderful 3 peat and the club at its absolute best in terms of long term future...I didn't want our supporters to be negative in any way...respecting the decisions of the club in terms of draft moves etc..etc.. People may believe Suckers left on his own accord but I don't. ....certain players needed to go to continue that ride...Suckling was one

May have missed something but didn't we withdraw our offer to him the moment Schoenmakers stepped up?

Can't blame him for leaving when we didn't try to keep him.

And sure there's the argument that he should've signed when the offer was there but the club is also pretty picky and choosey about when it offers contracts to players that aren't in a strong position. Can't have it both ways.

Just like with Cheney and Lowden, I wish him the best of luck, just not against Hawthorn.

Looking back at Sucklings career at Hawthorn he always did it the hard way, he took every knock in his stride and never stopped improving which is all we can ask, for a guy who was drafted twice as a rookie before making the senior list in 09 it took until 2011 before he cracked the side, he played every game in 2012, ACL in 2013 followed up by back to back premierships. Anyone that is glad to see the back of him need to take a look at themselves because you are making the rest of us look bad

Don't agree mate..yep admire he's resilience to make it after the hard yards but if you think he deserved to keep gettn a spot after a number of questionable efforts you need to take a LOOK at yourself.My opinion doesn't make us look bad..I respect the rights of other players to get a chance when someone isn't doing it and he definately should have been dropped after a number of games recently...I for 1 am glad he took the dogs offer..

May have missed something but didn't we withdraw our offer to him the moment Schoenmakers stepped up?

Can't blame him for leaving when we didn't try to keep him.

And sure there's the argument that he should've signed when the offer was there but the club is also pretty picky and choosey about when it offers contracts to players that aren't in a strong position. Can't have it both ways.

Just like with Cheney and Lowden, I wish him the best of luck, just not against Hawthorn.

G'day Cryptor..I didn't hear about us withdrawing our offer but if we did then that explains why he took the dogs contract as there was probably not heaps else on offer.. but I still don't believe the club was desperate to keep him..my reaction is more in line with peoples disappointment to see him leave as I don't believe he is a great loss and was lucky to keep getting a spot..my comments about loyalty was based on our perserverance with him and I too wish him well but on recent efforts..pleased to see him go..

He'll fit in well with the Bulldogs lack of defence
Its not so much the lack of their defence from a defender point of view. Their mids and forwards are the ones not putting enough pressure on further up the ground. Once they start getting that pressure on you will see a massive improvement in their scores against.

All the best Suckers! Will miss seeing you carve up the opposition with that laser of a left boot...
Probably not a strong enough 1:1 to hold down a defensive spot and was behind hill, smith and hartung on the wing.

Happy to see you at the Dogs!

I think he may struggle away from a playing group that would "bring him into the game".

For a start he can hardly find his own footy....someone has to get it to him.

He played his role in a champion team. I reckon he will put his feet up now and just bank some money.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Important player to lose no doubt, but he wont even be close to the same classy player he was at Hawthorn. Think he'll struggle like all other ex-Hawks who left (bar Kennedy)

News CONFIRMED: Suckling to Bulldogs on a 3 year deal