Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

As i said wasn't having a go and think they should get a team.
Just that there's a lot of comments on here saying it's a definate that they will get sellouts etc to every game.

Nothing is definate.

No one said every game. If gws is the away team? ........

If it’s set up properly from the start with the right people in place competitive on field they will retain players and Tassie have produced a couple half decent players over the years to you know look at your own club since they got the right people in retaining and attracting good players now . As for gaining support gws have a base of

absolute rubbish would struggle no more then your club!

Not true. There is a reason why interstate migration is greater to Brisbane than Hobart.

I got heaps of friends from Tassie and they all left as soon as they finished high school/uni. Highest youth unemployment of any Australian capital city. Great place to retire and awesome for people into hiking and nature but I imagine most young people would prefer the lifestyle of Melb/Sydney to Tasmania by far. No way I'd want to live in Hobart if I was earning 800k a year.

I live in Hobart and support the Dees. Why didn't I go? My team is pathetic and not worth the waste of time to watch. If you are a neutral supporter why would you want to watch two non finals playing teams play? I dare say the crowd size is more about team form and number of local supporters than it is an indication of support for AFL in Tasmania (a traditional football state that doesn't have their own team so the population support is divided to support 18 different teams).
True supporters will go and see there team even when doing poorly.

What is the issue with Bellerive?
It is surrounded by housing with very little parking and is hard to get to,it is also right next to the river meaning it's a very weather exposed ground.If they build a new stadium on Macquarie point it needs to have a roof for the crowd,it has been shown in a number cities around the world that get very cold weather that roofed stadiums increase crowds by a considerable amount.

Hawthorn do not sell out the stadium anymore,largest crowd this year was 15800,the stadium holds 21000.

Did I say the games have sold out? Nonetheless I’m sure you know that the difference between capacity and sell out crowds are widening year after year as clubs lock in large sections of the ground with reserve seating

Not sure about North but Hawthorn have roughly 9,500 Tasmanian based members and many of these have reserve seating packages at York Park

For Hawthorn, we seem to have a 12,000 rusted on supporter base that turns up to York park games regardless of opponents and timeslot.

If the bid can keep the ground small and maintain / grow that base (which should be easy enough) the economics of a small stadium strategy might stack up.

But an 18k / 20k attendance strategy would need a favourable stadium deal like Geelong and not a stadium deal like those in Adelaide and Perth where the SANFL (and I presume the WAFC?) takes a cut from the gate takings

I got heaps of friends from Tassie and they all left when as soon as they finished high school/uni. Highest youth unemployment of any Australian capital city. Great place to retire and awesome for people into hiking and nature but I imagine most young people would prefer the lifestyle of Melb/Sydney to Tasmania by far. No way I'd want to live in Hobart if I was earning 800k a year.
Funny, if you were earning 800k in Hobart you would be living like a king with multiple investment properties, shack, and living in a mansion in battery point 5 minutes from the CBD. You can fly to Melbourne any time you want in a hour, and not have worry about anything.

Funny, if you were earning 800k in Hobart you would be living like a king with multiple investment properties, shack, and living in a mansion in battery point 5 minutes from the CBD.
Yeah but there's nothing in the CBD.

If you're a famous athlete surely you'd want to enjoy that wealth and privilege... Hobart's hardly the most vibrant city in the world.

Just my opinion but I reckon you'd struggle retaining players.

Fitzroy were a foundation club of the competition without 100 years history in the league yet the AFL got rid of them due to their financial woes. I know things were different in the 90s but North Melbourne seem to cop it a lot more than St Kilda do when relocation is discussed these days and I don't understand why.

Difference is when st.kilda start winning their crowds increase. Saints are very similar to Melbourne when losing they look very small but when they start winning they start drawing 30-35,000 of their fans to home games like the dees last year!!

North have hardly any supporters and struggle to draw 20,000 when they are playing well.

Surely one of the Melbourne clubs (North) does it and does a rebrand.

If they do it right people will take em on as a second team and go and watch if they get subsidised membership and ticket prices for the first 5 years like GC and GWS did.

As long as Hobart has a venue in the right place,otherwise it may struggle then as well.

A Tassie team will be full of players leaving after their rookie contract and older players past their prime topping up their retirement fund.

They’ll never be a success.
I have heard a lot of current tas players indicate if they had a Tas AFL team to play for they would definitely be back and a lot have said it would be a dream come true to play for a Tassie team.

Funny, if you were earning 800k in Hobart you would be living like a king with multiple investment properties, shack, and living in a mansion in battery point 5 minutes from the CBD. You can fly to Melbourne any time you want in a hour, and not have worry about anything.
Yeah, don't you love how people make it sound like anyone living in Melbourne is living some incredible high life, just because it's Melbourne and you're supposed to buy into the "most incredible city in the world" crap? Look at an AFL player - barely allowed to do anything due to the effect it will have on his fitness and preparation. When you hear player interviews, with questions about their lives, or having a look where they live, it's the same boring crap we're all doing. Jaidyn Stephenson is at home placing bets on his phone, for god's sake. There is a casino in Hobart, there's cafe's and restaurants, there's shops, nightclubs, pubs, a waterfront. What exactly do people need to live their life? People who need to point out how exciting their city is are the same people doing very little with their lives. You can live in any decent sized city without any constraint on your lifestyle.

I have heard a lot of current tas players indicate if they had a Tas AFL team to play for they would definitely be back and a lot have said it would be a dream come true to play for a Tassie team.

It’s easy to say.

I’d love a team in Tas to work as majority of my family are from Tas. I Just can’t see it being any different than GC from a list management perspective.

It’s easy to say.

I’d love a team in Tas to work as majority of my family are from Tas. I Just can’t see it being any different than GC from a list management perspective.
I believe it will be a challenge,but Nick rewoilt has said that he believes and plans on making Tassie a destination club,so hopefully he is successful in his endeavours.

Surely a merger between 2 Melbourne teams and new tassie team would be preferable for all concerned. Obviously I’ll draw a lot of flack for saying this, but I reckon a dogs/Roos merger would be quite successful.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

What new money is there for the AFL in Tasmania compared to Gold Coast or Sydney?
A Tassie team will be full of players leaving after their rookie contract and older players past their prime topping up their retirement fund.

They’ll never be a success.
read nick Riewoldts book said if a Tasmanian team came in when the suns did fair chance he would have signed but said he had no interest whatsoever in going back to the Gold Coast over the last decade our cricket teams have been extremely successful and have had no trouble attracting recruits!

Surely a merger between 2 Melbourne teams and new tassie team would be preferable for all concerned. Obviously I’ll draw a lot of flack for saying this, but I reckon a dogs/Roos merger would be quite successful.

The AFL will not want to get rid of two of the Melbourne teams,very unlikely to happen I would say,the taskforce pushing for a Tassie team have indicated they are pushing for a brand new team.

The AFL won’t actively campaign for it - they learned their lesson with Fitzroy. But if it looked like happening think they’d support it.

Don’t think there’s enough talent in Australia to fill 19 clubs and will Hawthorn and North be happy to lose $millions in selling games. Plus the whole infrastructure, population, where do you base a new club and player retention, if an 18 year old kid doesnt want to live on the Gold Coast - why would they want to live in Tasmania? Last thing there’s more Queenslanders playing in the AFL at the moment than Tasmanian’s

For Hawthorn, according to that article, it’s line ball that they make more money by playing more games in Melbourne anyway