List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
We do need to generate more picks and we don't have a lot of currency, but Barrass has been excellent for us all year, lose him and we're an injury to Gov away from being torn apart each week and stunting the development of our youth. The only players with any currency that I'd be willing to part with are Petruccelle and maybe BWilliams (depending on how Flynn goes for the rest of the year) if someone was willing to offer a second rounder.

If we lose Yeo as a FA the best case scenario would be Band 2 (end of R1) compensation with the possibility it might only be Band 3 (R2 based on ladder position). So it’s either pick 19 or 23 if we stay in 16th

Furthermore, if we brought in a FA any compensation for losing Yeo would be diluted.

We aren’t getting Band 1 and a Ben McKay style gift

Is gambling on getting 2, maybe 3, years of consistent footy out of Yeo worth forgoing a pick that’ll end up in the low to mid 20’s?

Given the influence he’s having on Harley and what hopefully we see eventually with Hewett I think I’d rather keep Yeo at the club

I’m thinking that maybe the reason for the club seemingly dragging its feet is they want to see as much evidence as possible that he can stay on the park and contribute at a high level. It’s also possibly why Yeo’s manager is pushing for a deal as he’s aware any deal is one soft tissue injury away from evaporating

Murphy justified his selection in a stacked Metro midfield group with an excellent game in tricky conditions. He was clean at ground level and active around stoppage, and while his disposals didn't always hit their mark he was progressive and creative with his decision making.

Hey mate, as someone that is not an avid draft watcher, this is such a great way for me to see little glimpses of each prospect, really appreciate you posting these.

Pretty sure Yeo doesn't want to bend us over a barrel he just wants a bit of security on 3 years.
He is in the twilight of his career so just wants that extra year locked in.
I really hope they can work this out as a fit and firing Yeo over the next few years is going to be all important.
If he drops off a little in the 3rd year so what, guys like Reid (if we still have him), Ginbey, Hewett. Long etc will be hitting their prime years.

TB is in the prime of his career and one of the best defenders in the game and on a long contract, he has real significant value. Could be the missing piece of the puzzle for several flag contenders.

I'd be expecting two very good picks if he was to go or a very good pick and a very good player/prospect.

Eagles are doing the right thing with Yeo, I daresay he has an offer which is 500-600k a year on the table which is more than fair for a player who hasn't played all that much over the course of his previous/current contract.

Play it smart, nothing to suggest he has any actual interest in uprooting his whole life to move away from Perth, his manager is just doing his job.

Max I would go is 650k for 2 years with an option on a third for 500-600k.

Eagles are doing the right thing with Yeo, I daresay he has an offer which is 500-600k a year on the table which is more than fair for a player who hasn't played all that much over the course of his previous/current contract.

Play it smart, nothing to suggest he has any actual interest in uprooting his whole life to move away from Perth, his manager is just doing his job.

Max I would go is 650k for 2 years with an option on a third for 500-600k.
I think 750k is the new 600k.

I wonder if this is just the manager getting other clubs interested to get yeo a better deal.

Hey mate, as someone that is not an avid draft watcher, this is such a great way for me to see little glimpses of each prospect, really appreciate you posting these.
Thanks mate, that's exactly what I want the vids to be able to do. They're for people that want a good overview of the talent available, strengths and weaknesses, how they really play not just a highlights package, but they don't have hours and hours available each week to watch junior footy leagues around the country.

I’m thinking that maybe the reason for the club seemingly dragging its feet is they want to see as much evidence as possible that he can stay on the park and contribute at a high level. It’s also possibly why Yeo’s manager is pushing for a deal as he’s aware any deal is one soft tissue injury away from evaporating

You can hardly blame the club for being cautious, Yeo was available for less than 50% of our games from 2020-23. Or to put it another way in 4 completed seasons he managed less than 2 all while collecting big coin.

It seems like Pyke has had a look at how we've been burnt on contracts to injury prone players and wants to leave the Yeo decision as late as possible. Fair enough I reckon.

Losing TB for a mid-first rounder and Busslinger.
Seems like a lot of people are putting faith into a kid who hasn't even played yet.

Look forward to seeing how he goes.

Guess we have Edwards, Bazzo and Jamieson with a number of years of development pumped into them.

Which is not to suggest at all that any of them are of Barrass' quality. But they could probably do for a re-building team as the pieces of the puzzle shift into place.

TB is in the prime of his career and one of the best defenders in the game and on a long contract, he has real significant value. Could be the missing piece of the puzzle for several flag contenders.

I'd be expecting two very good picks if he was to go or a very good pick and a very good player/prospect.

Is he really in the prime of his career considering the back injury he'll carry throughout the rest of his life?

Some people here mentioned that he wouldn't have passed the medical in the off-season just gone.

Is he really in the prime of his career considering the back injury he'll carry throughout the rest of his life?

Some people here mentioned that he wouldn't have passed the medical in the off-season just gone.

Doesn't seem to be affecting him all that much.

I’m neither here, nor there, with trading TB, however, how do we know H.Edwards, Jamo or Bazzo (eventually) won’t have a breakout year like we’ve seen with Waterman this year?

We had people on here saying to cut Waterman loose at the end of last year, admittedly with some lingering health issues. There’s been some people saying he’s a good WAFL player at best. Now hindsight is a wonderful thing but it makes you wonder.

Sometimes players need to be given the opportunity to grab a position by the throat, which Waterman has done this year without Kennedy, Allen and Darling requiring all the attention which has been the case for majority of his time at the club.

JW’s performances have been assisted by his career best off/preseason. Hopefully this can be a catalyst for others to realise what they might be able to achieve with a career best summer.

Happy to back the club (Clarke and Pyke) in. We don’t know how well or poor things might be.

Id be more than happy if we traded TB for Buss + picks. A KPD group of Gov, Buss and HEdwards as our main 3 KPDs, with Jamo/Bazzo on the sidelines is good enough. Probably draft a KPD or have plans to move one of our KPFs down back too would be good.

If we see Harry Edwards get games consistently for the rest of the year, that might suggest the club is at least acknowledging a trade is possible.

HEdwards has shown enough for me to suggest there is a serviceable full back in him, even more so if hes got Gov floating around to help.
Put Buss on the 2nd tall when Gov is in the side(hes gotta be able to do it, cant just be a 3rd tall) and give him Govs role if Gov is out