List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

Yea, naaaa

Let’s say we let go Shuey, Hurn, Trew, West and Clark (likely).

Shuey and Hurn although don’t play every game bring at least calmness, experience and EFFORT. I think we’ll be a kangaroo in headlights again and s**t the bed.

I’m tipping wooden spoon again. And would not trade F1’st

I agree somewhat.

Which is why sheuy will go round again. He'll give up captaincy and with that weight off his shoulders he can focus entirely on his body and football. Don't underestimate the stress of being the captain of a sinking ship. The psychosomatic response on physiology, pain response and recovery is well documented in scientific literature.

I suspect sheuy will manage 15-18 games next year. Off half back into half forward and occasionally thru the midfield, a presence amongst the kids on field.

It's also partly a double edged sword trading TB.

Hurns done.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'm not saying they're not.

But it's not like Sydney have been out spruiking in the media for Barrass, so how do we know they're going hard at him?

The Swans are not allowd to spruik about it in the media, that was explained earlier.

The info comes from inside contacts and whispers from various people in the list management group, player managers and others who discuss trades before we know anything.

Interesting to ponder if Long would be getting a game if Cripps and Ryan were fit? Lady luck comes in strange forms.

Long played the first 3 games alongside those two so he was getting games when Cripps and Ryan were fit

PSD wise, id like to target Kane Farrell from Port

Think he would be ideal as a HFF/HB tweener that switches and swaps with Jarmaine Jones

Return of
Cole
JJ
Ryan
Cripps

More out of
Yeo
Gov

Young guys who should improve slowly each season:
Ginbey
Hewett
Long
Culley

Then we have Burgiel, Barnett and 2023 draftees.

It is clearly not a top 8 side, but also our transition from the backline will be completely different with the above and we will likely score more…

Can definitely be better than 3-4 other sides with our share of luck

To be better than 3 or 4 sides they would all need to cop the injury curse we've been dealing with.

To get infront of 3 or 4 teams they need to be worse than us in the list cyle and cop serious injuries.

Improbable.

Im hoping for more wins next seasn and less floggings but bottom 2 is likely where we finish.

2025 we may start creeping up to 14th. 2026 possibly 10th 11th.

As im doing nothing but waiting i'll post on a couple of things in regards to free agents and trades involving West Coast.

Tom Barrass - Has been asked about multiple times by multiple clubs. Sydney the biggest suitor (also the most likely to be willing to pay the trade requirements) and there have been discussions with his manager, family and the club. (not at WCE level) It's my understanding Tom and his family are still at the early stage of whether they would consider a move. I would suggest it's less likely than likely but I don't know.

Sam Taylor - Almost certain to never happen. Potentially GWS next captain.
The dogs have English and Naughton coming up as free agents. As I understand it the dogs are unlikely to be able to afford both. WCE are chasing both but likely can only afford 1. Dogs preference is to keep Naughton, WCE preference is to get Naughton. WCE 100% want English too. As a supporter I don't want English. I think he's highly overrated and won't bring much extra to WCE. Particularly not at the contract demands to get him over here and not have WB match.

If I were WCE I would be putting a good quality offer in front of Bailey Williams (dogs). I know the dogs want to keep him and he is unlikely to come this far west but there are multiple teams pushing his price up. If the dogs keep him there is a very slight chance that particularly through contract moves and just how much space WCE have coming available at the end of next year and the year after that the club could land both Naughton and English with Naughton signing a 1 year contract at WB. If Naughton signs a 1 year extension then expect a bidding war between the WA clubs. Freo very much want Naughton as well.

Robertson has been chased a couple of times. Almost certain to back himself at Brisbane. Very loyal and the club connection to WCE through his uncle soured a touch for reasons I won't comment on.

The club has two other significant trade targets this year, 1 much more likely to happen than the other and name has already been mentioned. Would be a cheap pick or a pick swap and both clubs have a history of doing the right thing by players.

Also from what I have seen this year the tall and the ruck that I wanted us to target as a club if Barnett wasn't available seem to be developing very well in Phoenix Foster and Max Knobel. Knobel is coming from a long way back and is a development project but has shown quite a lot from what I have seen (He is playing reserves mind you. Foster looking like an amazing later pick by Geelong....... Again.....

People may remember I was one of the biggest advocates for Barnett, he still has plenty of time, hasn't had a consistent run at things and is playing for a shit show but I had hoped for a few more signs of a future AFL player this year.

Sure in theory yes.

But thats only applicable if you have a willing trade partner, and there is no guarantee that will happen, plus the likelihood that we could do so without paying overs is slim.

We need to be very prudent with every bit of draft capital at our disposal in the next three years, trading overs to get back into the first round next year is, IMO, not a smart way to manage your draft capital.

We are a long way away from just needing "one missing piece", our list has holes everywhere so we need every draft pick we can muster to expedite our rise back into contention.

We need:

Inside Mids
Balanced Mids
KPF
KPD
Ruck

At best we have a 50% success rate ( and I would suggest thats optimistic and more like 1 in 3 ), then the more picks we get the better chance we have to find a good player.

We need to be patient, as frustrating as that is, it's also the best way to maximise your draft capital and not rashly spend multiple picks to try and accelerate the rebuild, as it rarely is a successful ploy.

Bring picks forward to use in the draft is something the Eagles havent done much. And the last time we did we killed it with the Suns

Other clubs have and do it often.

If we want to fast track our rebuild like others have we need to get over this fear of missing out and get proactive.

Trade our F1st with the Suns current 1st and their F1st, if it needs another pick or player do it. As long as we retain a likely top 10 pick nextseason do it.

2024 has a heap of FS and academy kids. So. Multiple clubs will be listening to offers to trade their 1sts for points upgrades. The quality and number of players that will attract bids is the indicator of pick trading volums. And 2024 this spacewill be an active one.

TBH Im getting somewhat frustrated watching other clubs use all the tools available to improve their draft hands using future pick swaps. And we dont.

The club has two other significant trade targets this year, 1 much more likely to happen than the other and name has already been mentioned. Would be a cheap pick or a pick swap and both clubs have a history of doing the right thing by players.
Gunston and Bock?

Robertson has been chased a couple of times. Almost certain to back himself at Brisbane. Very loyal and the club connection to WCE through his uncle soured a touch for reasons I won't comment on.

Always thought there was more to it than just money with Glassy but can understand why you wouldnt comment on that.

But surely you can just name the "two other significant trade targets"

Tyler Brockman and Angus Sheldrick?

Yeah I can’t believe some fans are still falling for the PR that we’re only bad because of injuries, I don’t expect us to be consistently competitive until the 2026 season unfortunately, maybe 2025 if we can lure a couple big free agents in the 2024 off season.
The injuries made us Harley Reid bad. Without injuries, we're probably only Daniel Curtin level bad.

Hit. Nail. On. Head.

And this is both a recruitment issue and high performance issue.

1. The likes of Ashcroft, sheezle, phillipoo etc demonstrate that any 18yo being drafted need be AFL fit ready, particularly midfielders. (You can exclude some of the big key position players). It is beholden on the recruitment team to select players that are fit. A classic example of a poor selection is the lions taking Raynor with pick one knowing he didn't have a tank. This is why gaff has been great for us for so long. This is why I was keen on Holland's last year.

2. It's then beholden on the high performance team to ensure fine tuning the athlete to the speed at AFL level. This means walking a fine line between managing load and preventing soft tissue injuries....eg. Burgiel!!

I believe that until the 2022 draft we didn't recruit AFL ready and once in the club were mismanaged.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

1. Did the Lions know Raynor didn't have a tank?
2. I'd rather Hewitt over Hollands. We need guys who can win the hard ball.
3. How do you draft "AFL ready" when you don't have a top 10 pick for a decade? Go have a look at how many kids from last draft are "AFL ready". Most of them are in the top 13.

We don't know anything. That was my point.

I'm actually not on either side of the should he stay or should he go discussion. Trading Barrass in isolation won't fast track your rebuild, as you probably need to add an extra three first round picks over the next two or three drafts to genuinely fast track your rebuild.

Mostly I've commented on what other posters here have said they believe Barrass is worth.

Only way to fast track the rebuild is to add an extra three 1st round picks over the next 2 or 3 drafts.

Well strike me down with a feather.

And trading a 28 year old with value does that.

Split a 1st again and there's your extra 1st round picks.

It would be possible to land 3 to 4 1st rounds trading Barrass in isolation and splitting pick 1 this year.

Lots of conatations do it this year, next year, whatever.

1. Did the Lions know Raynor didn't have a tank?
2. I'd rather Hewitt over Hollands. We need guys who can win the hard ball.
3. How do you draft "AFL ready" when you don't have a top 10 pick for a decade? Go have a look at how many kids from last draft are "AFL ready". Most of them are in the top 13.
Sheed was billed as afl ready. He was so timid it was embarrassing

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

If Mckercher can work on his right peg enough to start using it in games he's really the perfect addition to our mix. Feel like we could be a major player for Gold Coasts pick using our future first and whatever we get for TDK, Silvagni, Fisher, Dow etc. We've got 2 F/S kids next year shaping up well so I'd imagine we'd be looking to potentially trade out of that draft and back into this one. Be bloody magical if we could snag Mckercher at 4 and Watson at 7-8 if we could get it from GC.

Difficult draft to predict though depending on where teams finish, feel like there will be a lot more needs based selections than simply best available.

To me the clear top 3 is Reid, Walter, Curtin.

Then Mckercher, Caddy, Watson, Sanders, Duursma, O'Sullivan and Read all pretty close equal but all very very different players.

Somewhat sucks for you guys though as I think it's going to be very very difficult to get to Curtin if you hang onto pick 1 which I suspect you will and just take Harley.
No argument from me on Reid, Walter and Curtin the top 3, reckon just add McKercher and you have a top 4. Personally I think there is a drop off after those 4 before reaching that next group.
Watson every chance at being at 8, he hasn't been that good yet in champs and his height.

I don't necessarily think McKercher needs to improve his right, his left if pretty damn good. Just adding a speedy left footer to your muds, will help heaps.

Whilst you're here and the talk of Fisher to us, what do you think his worth is? Talk is more salary dump than anything.

On football output I wouldn't be drafting him. I've seen almost no development in 18 months. He's a bit more experienced and has played at a higher level than most other kids and that shows through but his game basically hasn't developed at all. Would take a lot between now and the end of the year for me to consider him with ports second rounder if I were West Coast.
I'd probably take him at Ports second.

I would also absolutely bid on and draft Walter at pick 1 if given the option. Still has a lot of work to do but has that aggression and will to impose that in my mind makes a huge difference particularly with key forwards.
And his speed for his height, very impressive.

No argument from me on Reid, Walter and Curtin the top 3, reckon just add McKercher and you have a top 4. Personally I think there is a drop off after those 4 before reaching that next group.
Watson every chance at being at 8, he hasn't been that good yet in champs and his height.

I don't necessarily think McKercher needs to improve his right, his left if pretty damn good. Just adding a speedy left footer to your muds, will help heaps.

Whilst you're here and the talk of Fisher to us, what do you think his worth is? Talk is more salary dump than anything.
Agree with that top 4. Then a bit of a gap to another pretty good group of about 6 or 7 players who are still pretty hard to rank between them and may depend on which club has what selections.

What do I think Fisher is worth? I'd say your pick 36 would be about right for Fisher if I was just judging him as a player. But as far as I can tell we want him off our books and don't like his lack of defensive intent or poor attitude at times, think theres a few on our list who will be going for similar reasons.

So realistically a late 40's or early 50s pick would probably get it done imo.