Corona virus, Port and the AFL.

Only way would be if you have some computer program written to pick out reserved seat holders to attend one game of the seven or eight home games left and you would chose maybe 1,500 spectators a game and those seats are far enough away from each other. But that would still mean plenty of fans with reserved seats would miss out. How complicated a program is to write? how fair is it? What about visiting fans. How many police and security people do you employ to police it, you would have to have a long slow entry and exit process to make sure people stay a long way away from each other etc etc etc.

In other words. Too bloody hard.

One possibility is to give each player up to 50 tickets to give away to friends and family.
50 x 22 x 2 = 2200

Explain to them its a privilege and that anyone flouting the rules will mean that player X loses his ticket allocation for the rest of the season.

Allow these people to use SD themselves.
Noone under the age of 18.

2200 = 8800 m2 - maybe that is only relevant for an inside stadium but it helps generally calculate for SD.

Assuming a bay is 20 metres deep it would need to be a minimum of 440 metres long.
Pretty sure ground circumferences are longer than that.

Could even be possible to throw tickets to the club1870 with the 4m2 rule but thats another topic.

It could be doable *shrugs*

Any crowds militates against hubs as it gives a home crowd advantage. Hubs will only work, therefore, if there are no crowds.

The AFL discovered a new phrase called “competition integrity” when it decided on a 17 game season. This phrase and the AFL had never previously been used in the same sentence. Having Port host a hub and able to have home crowds would no doubt offend competition integrity. It won’t happen.

We will have no AFL in 2020 without quarantine hubs. We will have no quarantine hubs with crowds. Simples.

Taiwan 393 cases - 6 deaths, 114 recovered = 273 active cases.

There is a lot of BS about Taiwan and the WHO - but it has gone overdrive since this interview On Friday 27th March Hong Kong’s RTHK interviewed Dr Bruce Aylward, a Canadian physician and epidemiologist, and former assistant director-general at the WHO, who is now a senior advisor there.

I first saw this on Planet America a couple of weeks ago, and thought something will have to come of this. It was quiet for about 10 days then things have hit the fan.

A senior advisor at the World Health Organization (WHO) appeared to hang up on a journalist who asked about Taiwan’s response to the coronavirus pandemic, and then did not answer further questions because they had “already talked about China”.

It comes amid continued criticism of the WHO’s approach towards both Taiwan and China. Taiwan has been excluded from participating in the World Health Assembly after heavy lobbying from China, which considers Taiwan part of its territory.

And now you are getting this shit fight as explained by this Indian news service. Out of the blue, Dr T accuses Taiwan of racism

President of Taiwan - or Republic of China as her twitter account says - hits back.

And now the Africans pile in to support their man.

Another tweet re time lines

Where is that pop corn eating gif?

Gee, a heap of African states sticking up for a Chinese political position, it’s almost like they’re tied together with a Belt and Road.

Edit: political “accomodation” is a necessary evil for an entity like WHO that does more “policy coordination” than running programs. This time around, early mistakes (probably) or no they’re on a hiding to nothing anyway if for nothing else than as a useful scapegoat for Trump. Now that probably aligns with both Xi’s and Putin’s preferred November outcome *pre*-virus. *Mid*-virus you’d hope at least one of those two has enough humanity to prefer a functional US rather than a dysfunctional, violent, anarchic Petri dish for a (eventually) mutated COVID that then becomes a perennial pestilence. I’m not optimistic at all :( Ironically Mexico may end up paying for that bloody wall after all, because the tables have unexpectedly turned and now *they* want it, to protect themselves ;)

On iPhone using recycled electrons, via BigFooty.com mobile app

Compared "Confirmed Cases per Day" vs "Recovered per Day"
Plot below.
The data for "Recovered per Day" is quite noisy so I have run a moving average through both plots.
Rather than guess when we should start to lift our restrictions I wanted to see for myself what a reasonable assessment of timing for relaxing restrictions might be.
To me there is a critical point on or about the 6 April when the "confirmed cases per day" dropped behind the "recoveries per day".
It certainly marks a point for me when consideration and planning for a letup might be.
But only a fool would have suggested a letup on the 6 April.
A safety factor needs to be built in signalling a time to act. To me that safety factor should not be measured in "days" or "weeks" but rather units of "incubation time". An article appeared in The Conversation website indicating that the usual incubation period of 4-6 days with a maximum of 14 days.
I reckon we should start to lift some restrictions - partially - 2 incubation periods after (2 x 14 days = 28) the 6 April. That makes it around 4 May.
If anything goes pear shaped between now and then this line of thought falls apart.
The big problem for me is whether the reported data has bias. After all, these are people who have either been pulled into care or who have shown onset symptoms dangerous anough to report to hospital or test site. Or those who have fallen off a ship.
I have also read reports that data on recovery can be a bit suspect.
Be interesting to see what the gurus are going to present this week.
Confirmed vs Recovered 130420.jpg

Conversation pictorial:
the conversation progress of covid19.png

It's funny that the global economy can throw squillions at coronavirus at the drop of a hat(which is good), but when confronted with an equally deadly existential threat (climate change) that is beyond a four year election cycle, they just pretend it doesn't exist
Likewise it's funny that the general population can do the things necessary to stop the virus but when it comes to doing their bit for climate change it's all the governments fault.

Pollution is dropping over the world and the government hasn't done a damn thing to cause that directly, just asking people to stop backpacking all over the place.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Sweden continues to be a model of how not to do it. Now up to 11,445 positives with 1033 deaths. Multiply that by 2.5 and you have the Australian population comparison. On a population basis if we followed Sweden's example we could have 28,613 positives and 2,583 deaths by now with around 1250 positives tests a day.

The only thing that has stopped Sweden from becoming another Spain, Italy or New York is population density. The relatively small population of 10.4 million means the infection numbers and death rate is not that high.

Crazy stuff and probably too late for the Swedes to change tack.

Sweden continues to be a model of how not to do it. Now up to 11,445 positives with 1033 deaths. Multiply that by 2.5 and you have the Australian population comparison. On a population basis if we followed Sweden's example we could have 28,613 positives and 2,583 deaths by now with around 1250 positives tests a day.

The only thing that has stopped Sweden from becoming another Spain, Italy or New York is population density. The relatively small population of 10.4 million means the infection numbers and death rate is not that high.

Crazy stuff and probably too late for the Swedes to change tack.
Idiots. how could they not learn from the failure of Italy especially given Italy had the same attitude.

Compared "Confirmed Cases per Day" vs "Recovered per Day"
Plot below.
The data for "Recovered per Day" is quite noisy so I have run a moving average through both plots.
Rather than guess when we should start to lift our restrictions I wanted to see for myself what a reasonable assessment of timing for relaxing restrictions might be.
To me there is a critical point on or about the 6 April when the "confirmed cases per day" dropped behind the "recoveries per day".
It certainly marks a point for me when consideration and planning for a letup might be.
But only a fool would have suggested a letup on the 6 April.
A safety factor needs to be built in signalling a time to act. To me that safety factor should not be measured in "days" or "weeks" but rather units of "incubation time". An article appeared in The Conversation website indicating that the usual incubation period of 4-6 days with a maximum of 14 days.
I reckon we should start to lift some restrictions - partially - 2 incubation periods after (2 x 14 days = 28) the 6 April. That makes it around 4 May.
If anything goes pear shaped between now and then this line of thought falls apart.
The big problem for me is whether the reported data has bias. After all, these are people who have either been pulled into care or who have shown onset symptoms dangerous anough to report to hospital or test site. Or those who have fallen off a ship.
I have also read reports that data on recovery can be a bit suspect.
Be interesting to see what the gurus are going to present this week.
View attachment 857930

Conversation pictorial:
View attachment 857934
I've been thinking that in SA at least we recently had 10 cases. That could easily instantly be worth 30 cases before notification given the 8-12 day possible lag. I would like to see numbers consistently between 1 and 2 at most per day for 14 days. Then wait another 14 days before easing restrictions.

Well done to John-Paul Drake. :thumbsu:

Apparently last week some dickhead who had stockpiled 5000 rolls of toilet paper rang Drakes looking for a refund. All he got was a spray from Mr Drake. This low life was apparently advertising the rolls on E Bay until his account was shut down so he tried Drakes for a refund.

Some where in Adelaide there is a low life hoarder sitting on a shed load of shit paper.

Anyone ever heard of Gerald Celente?
Makes for some interesting thinking.

I've heard him on David Bevan's show on ABC 891 radio from time to time. Has controversial but compelling views; well worth listening to.

Well done to John-Paul Drake. :thumbsu:

Apparently last week some dickhead who had stockpiled 5000 rolls of toilet paper rang Drakes looking for a refund. All he got was a spray from Mr Drake. This low life was apparently advertising the rolls on E Bay until his account was shut down so he tried Drakes for a refund.

Some where in Adelaide there is a low life hoarder sitting on a shed load of shit paper.

5400 rolls.

He has approached just about every store in SA and head offices of chains not in SA. He has received the same message from all of them.

Eat shit.

Guess he can at least wipe his chin with shit paper when he’s finished.

Likewise it's funny that the general population can do the things necessary to stop the virus but when it comes to doing their bit for climate change it's all the governments fault.

Pollution is dropping over the world and the government hasn't done a damn thing to cause that directly, just asking people to stop backpacking all over the place.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Carn edge
Does the population get a choice about whether a new coal mine goes ahead?
33% of our CO2 emissions relate to the generation of electricity. Is it the population's fault multiple governments are still dragging the chain on renewables?

Lots of people have made the choice to ditch a personal vehicle, minimise air travel etc but they get labelled as crazy inner city types who don't live in the real world for their trouble.

People can do their bit but unless the global economy joins in then it's not enough

5400 rolls.

He has approached just about every store in SA and head offices of chains not in SA. He has received the same message from all of them.

Eat shit.

Guess he can at least wipe his chin with shit paper when he’s finished.

At 2 rolls per week that’s a 51 year supply.

I hope his roof springs a leak and it’s all destroyed and insurance doesn’t cover it.

What a fair dinkum campaigner act.

Carn edge
33% of our CO2 emissions relate to the generation of electricity. Is it the population's fault multiple governments are still dragging the chain on renewables?

Lots of people have made the choice to ditch a personal vehicle, minimise air travel etc but they get labelled as crazy inner city types who don't live in the real world for their trouble.

People can do their bit but unless the global economy joins in then it's not enough

Renewables have reached their physical limits and do not provide a reliable source of electricity. There’s only 1 technology available today that produces no carbon emissions and is a reliable source of electricity.

Carn edge

Lead by example I say, if we had nothing to dig up then we would be far more progressive, that’s the bit that bothers me with the whole renewable economy, it’s staring us in the face that we can actually make a difference.

Why do people hold hope on men in white coats regarding Corvid vaccine but discount them climate change - money, power, greed, profits....

i agree it needs a global approach but there is nothing wrong with setting an example.

Lead by example I say, if we had nothing to dig up then we would be far more progressive, that’s the bit that bothers me with the whole renewable economy, it’s staring us in the face that we can actually make a difference.

Why do people hold hope on men in white coats regarding Corvid vaccine but discount them climate change - money, power, greed, profits....

i agree it needs a global approach but there is nothing wrong with setting an example.

Right I'll just get on telling the boomers to stop towing their 3 tonne Caravans around Australia with massive American utes.

Also why are we acting like millennials, the generation that everyone loves to shit on, haven't made these choices in their thousands? But because they have a mobile phone they've been caught out! You can't want climate change addressed unless you live on an eco friendly farm commune that is 100% self sufficient. Spare me