Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - season postponed. (Thread part 1 - cont in part 2, link in thread)

Has the coronavirus outbreak made you reconsider attending the footy

• Yes

Votes: 285 44.9%
  • No

Votes: 350 55.1%

Well according to the World Health Organisation information released yes it does. Kidney failure.

Is getting neumonia and dying organ failure?

How does the virus affect the renal system? Answer: it doesn't. People with preexisting issues are not the same thing.

Is getting pneumonia and dying organ failure? Answer: No. Organ failure is when your organs, wait for it, shut down.

How does the virus affect the renal system? Answer: it doesn't. People with preexisting issues are not the same thing.

Is getting pneumonia and dying organ failure? Answer: No. Organ failure is when your organs, wait for it, shut down.

If all their organs kept going wouldn't they still be alive?

The world health organizations fact finding mission to China has found that of the 20% of infected persons who require hospital care 15% require oxygen canisters and 5 percent require artifical breathing via machines.This puts a massive strain on resources.

Do you even statistic? So of the 20% (let's say 20 people) who require hospitalization, 15% require oxygen canisters (3 people) and 5% require machine assistance (1 person).

People panicking are causing more damage than the actual virus

Ok. You Obviously know better than the World Health Organisation.

And the Chinese govt who just shut down the world's biggest economy.

Any chance you are a Trump supporter?

If it was the sniffles they wouldn’t have cancelled the Italian soccer matches or locked down a Chinese city of 10 million people. This has the potential to seriously affect our ageing population and overwhelm our hospitals even if it only gives you ‘the sniffles’.

The people that are claiming this is nothing should educate themselves or share where they are getting there information from because EVERYTHING I am reading in global news has gotten a lot more alarming in the past 7 days and experts aren’t as flippantly ignorant of the risk as the average punter in the street seems to be.

To say the AFL won’t postpone games when this is clearly the global trend is just ignorance of the highest order.
So what your saying is, i should go to Bunnings and buy myself a shovel so i can dig myself an underground bunker in my backyard for which i can lock myself away for 10 years or so until this over reaction blows over, but when i do re-emerge will the world still be here, will the entire world population have been wiped out, will the dinosaurs have re-taken over the planet, :think:

Yes i'm being sarcastic because i don't give a shit.

Switzerland has apparently cancelled all events attracting more than a thousand people, including the Basel carnival (Moomba equivalent), Geneva Motor Show and Basel Watch Fair, with soccer and hockey to be played in empty stadiums.

And they have only 24 cases.
Only positive to come form this could be that Moomba is also cancelled (is what I’m hearing)

Ok. You Obviously know better than the World Health Organisation.

And the Chinese govt who just shut down the world's biggest economy.

Any chance you are a Trump supporter?

No, I just understand the information being presented.

China are self serving and the market operates on the perception of reality and not reality itself. This is more political than anything else.

How can I be a Trump supporter when I have no ties to America? I do follow the election and prefer Bernie. Though the DNC appears more likely to implode than give him the nod. But it's their country so that's their problem

Have they closed down shopping centres or are those allowed to continue operating, no AFL game will get postponed because some people get the sniffles.
Regardless whether you may feel it’s all been overblown, fact is one of the major soccer leagues in the world postpones half their matches two weeks in row, they may also postpone World Cup qualifiers, the Swiss will play on with no crowds, the Louvre is now shut and the Olympics may be called off...but no chance an AFL game will be postponed? Hopefully it doesn’t happen but there’s a decent chance it might.

This is a truly bizarre thread; people seem to either take the position of impending doomsday prepping, or complete denial.

Surely even if you believe there's nothing to see here, the basics of slightly obsessive handwashing hygiene is worthwhile, if only to reduce the risk of grandparents or elderly parents catching anything.

Par for the course in every discussion. Most people see the world in black and white. They can't understand that, actually, things are almost always grey.

Hence we see "bookmark it" or people dying on a hill for their beliefs on basically EVERYTHING. And it ends up consuming every thread. Those of us who understand that the reality is somewhere in between just give up as it's a waste of time. Ever wonder how it's the same posters crapping on and on all the time? They're very attached to their opinion being the right one. :p

Wait and see.

IMHO they will try really hard to stop it when it's small. Once it reaches a certain number of people then it's unstoppable and you should just give up. You'll cause more damage shutting the country down once it's fully into the community - say 100K people (I have no idea. And the number would depend on whether they are concentrated or spread out)

It sounds largely like the horse has already bolted though. China, South Korea, Italy, and Iran are close to out of control and as soon as most people are back on a normal life it'll just spread. You cannot shut down the economy - you'll kill many more people and destroy their lives. So if it's not stopped early it's too late.

Anyway cutting down the number of us over 50 is a worthwhile thing to do anyway.

Is showing concern panicking is it?

Who is panicking?

People preparing for doomsday by hyperinflating local markets. It's counterproductive. Just relax and go about your day as normal.

On the plus side, if a significant amount of boomers cark it we should see property prices drop. The great Australian dream will be alive again!

Regardless whether you may feel it’s all been overblown, fact is one of the major soccer leagues in the world postpones half their matches two weeks in row, they may also postpone World Cup qualifiers, the Swiss will play on with no crowds, the Louvre is now shut and the Olympics may be called off...but no chance an AFL game will be postponed? Hopefully it doesn’t happen but there’s a decent chance it might.

Good chance to get down to local footy

This is a truly bizarre thread; people seem to either take the position of impending doomsday prepping, or complete denial.

Surely even if you believe there's nothing to see here, the basics of slightly obsessive handwashing hygiene is worthwhile, if only to reduce the risk of grandparents or elderly parents catching anything.
I don’t agree with that characterisation. At worst people are saying a **** load of oldies will die. That’s hardly doomsday

People preparing for doomsday by hyperinflating local markets. It's counterproductive. Just relax and go about your day as normal.

On the plus side, if a significant amount of boomers cark it we should see property prices drop. The great Australian dream will be alive again!
Some worry about their boomer relatives. This worry probably distinguishes them from you.

PS: I’m not that far away from you on it just quietly but that doesn’t mean we should minimise the risk to the oldies

Some worry about their boomer relatives. This worry probably distinguishes them from you.

PS: I’m not that far away from you on it just quietly but that doesn’t mean we should minimise the risk to the oldies

Old people die. It's the circle of life. Anything above 65 and you've had a good first of it. 70 or 80? Just being greedy at that point

Do you even statistic? So of the 20% (let's say 20 people) who require hospitalization, 15% require oxygen canisters (3 people) and 5% require machine assistance (1 person).

People panicking are causing more damage than the actual virus
Thats stats from Wuhan with its 70,000 reported cases and its extreme quarantine measures .You know I'm not talking about Australia today.People are not panicking they are being realistic there's reasons for concern and efforts to keep coronavirus as far away as possible.

Old people die. It's the circle of life. Anything above 65 and you've had a good first of it. 70 or 80? Just being greedy at that point
Sure - this is killing a lot of them though. That’s a fact. And your views about old people may not be shared. Those that think differently are entitled to panic a teeny bit.

This article is great: