Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - season postponed. (Thread part 1 - cont in part 2, link in thread)

Has the coronavirus outbreak made you reconsider attending the footy

• Yes

Votes: 285 44.9%
  • No

Votes: 350 55.1%

and consider all those who havnt reported being crook and have recovered......figure drops
It's 2% of the people they know are infected. For every 50 people that have symptoms, 5 will end up in intensive care and one of those 5 will die.

If millions of people get sick, the hospitals will be overrun. Even if its 1% mortality rate (and I'm not sure why you think you know better than people working on the problem), and only one million people get the virus, you're still looking at 50,000 hospital admissions and 10,000 deaths. And once you're at the million mark of infected, you've lost the race anyway. It will spiral out of control then.

So, no need to stock up on canned soup yet, but if the government wants to limit spread and the think it might get out of control, then banning large gatherings, closing schools etc will happen. And AFL will be affected.

Does it cause organ failure? That's the nonsense I was replying to
It's not nonsense. What do you think pneumonia does to your lungs? Do you know what ARDS stands for? That is how pneumonia kills, which what this virus ends up causing.

Multiple organ failure is caused by the lungs not being able to send oxygen into the blood, when your organs don't get enough oxygen they start shutting down:

Yes mate it does. Multi-organ failure is widely reported.
Well, no, the virus itself doesn't cause organ failure. Organ failure is due to underlying, pre-existing illness and the body's inability to cope under the strain of this new virus.

Ebola is far more dangerous than this and also doesn't cause organs to fail. It does however cause fever, bleeding from the anus and everywhere else, diarrhoea, vomiting and severe fluid loss which then causes organs to fail (splitting hairs I guess). Overall Coronavirus isn't much of an issue. On a scale between the flu and SARS it is far closer to the flu.

First human-to-human transfer of coronavirus in Australia (paywalled)
The coronavirus has reportedly been transmitted from person-to-person for the first time in Australia.

A male doctor contracted the disease after treating a female patient who arrived on a flight from Iran last week, Nine News reports.

The doctor and patient are both being treated at Sydney’s Westmead Hospital.

It comes as Tasmania reported its first case of coronavirus after a man travelling from Iran to Melbourne, via Launceston, tested positive for the deadly virus.

People could be banned from shopping centres, schools and workplaces in areas with localised coronavirus outbreaks in Australia in a bid to contain the spread.

Well, yes.

Watch the video above instead of spreading misinformation.
I will listen to the Infectious Diseases specialist and oncology/palliative care doctor I spoke with yesterday on this, both of whom are far more qualified on the actual topic than that guy.

I will listen to the Infectious Diseases specialist and oncology/palliative care doctor I spoke with yesterday on this.
Oh yes, because "I spoke with a random doctor yesterday" is much better than an actual video with a qualified doctor explaining this stuff.

Ah, no random doctor. Your video source seems to help people prepare for exams. The INFECTIONS DISEASES SPECIALIST I spoke with yesterday used to run those exams and has since done many years further work and study in this specific discipline. I have known him for 16 years and can vouch for his character and qualifications.

What did he specifically say?

First person to person transmission just confirmed in Australia with a doctor being infected by a random member of the public. Expect cases to rise like crazy in next 14 days as asymptomatic phase ends and people begin showing symptoms.

I provided you actual proof from a medical professional who explains the science behind how this virus kills people, whereas you have second-hand anecdotal evidence that can't even be verified. I don't know why you're trying to downplay the video just because the channel happens to teach med students for various topics. For all I know you're making this doctor up in order to prop up the holes in your knowledge because you can't admit you're wrong.

And now this "specialist" coincidentally runs exams after I showed you this video. How convenient. Whoever this doctor of yours is, remind me never to make an appointment with him. This virus causes multiple organ failure because it inhibits the lungs capacity to transport oxygen into the blood. This is a medical fact. Might want to verify that with your "INFECTIONS DISEASES SPECIALIST".

What did he specifically say?
Basically that anyone who is in an already stressed state, specifically those who are elderly, are at a greater risk due to their underlying issues being exacerbated. His father is one such person, having heart disease and emphysema, so a dose of this will cause his system to shut down fully. Interestingly children seem to be asymptomatic for the most part, which is kinda shit because they get around and will spread this shit at school etc. To protect yourself, wash your hands as much as possible and try not to touch your face. Also that well prepared and resourced countries will be fine, with much lower mortality rates, but he fully expects this to spread.

Well, no, the virus itself doesn't cause organ failure. Organ failure is due to underlying, pre-existing illness and the body's inability to cope under the strain of this new virus.

You are wrong and should stop posting bullshit. The replicating virus and immune response can destroy lung tissue and cause inflammation that results in a lack of oxygen, which of course organs need to function; lack thereof is the cause of the organ failure. Pre-existing conditions and age affect the immune response, not cause the organ failure. It’s why patients are being hooked up to ECMO machines.

Sure - this is killing a lot of them though. That’s a fact. And your views about old people may not be shared. Those that think differently are entitled to panic a teeny bit.

This article is great:

Exactly. The article is
I provided you actual proof from a medical professional who explains the science behind how this virus kills people, whereas you have second-hand anecdotal evidence that can't even be verified. I don't know why you're trying to downplay the video just because the channel happens to teach med students for various topics. For all I know you're making this doctor up in order to prop up the holes in your knowledge because you can't admit you're wrong.

And now this "specialist" coincidentally runs exams after I showed you this video. How convenient. Whoever this doctor of yours is, remind me never to make an appointment with him. This virus causes multiple organ failure because it inhibits the lungs capacity to transport oxygen into the blood. This is a medical fact. Might want to verify that with your "INFECTIONS DISEASES SPECIALIST".

Thrawn, I like you. But you are misinterpreting primary and secondary causes. Yes they are relevant as secondary can have multiple factors. Not surprisingly, age is more a contributing factor. People of an elderly age are more prone in general to it. Once you get above 65 your body wants to shut down.

Here's more:

This is a much more detailed video on how ARDS actually affects the lungs. More to the point, this section:
1583130171236.png
Highlighted for your convenience. Might want to look up what "hypoxemia" means and what it does to the body's organs.

You are wrong and should stop posting bullshit. The replicating virus and immune response can destroy lung tissue and cause inflammation that results in a lack of oxygen, which of course organs need to function; lack thereof is the cause of the organ failure. Pre-existing conditions and age affect the immune response, not cause the organ failure. It’s why patients are being hooked up to ECMO machines.

This is not true mate. Older persons are, in general, more prone to it. Think about how much toxins your kidneys or liver filter out over a lifetime, how many times your heart beats. Our bodies are made up of organic tissue. It wears down.

Basically that anyone who is in an already stressed state, specifically those who are elderly, are at a greater risk due to their underlying issues being exacerbated. His father is one such person, having heart disease and emphysema, so a dose of this will cause his system to shut down fully. Interestingly children seem to be asymptomatic for the most part, which is kinda shit because they get around and will spread this shit at school etc. To protect yourself, wash your hands as much as possible and try not to touch your face. Also that well prepared and resourced countries will be fine, with much lower mortality rates, but he fully expects this to spread.
You dont think that is enough to be a major concern?
Are you all good with sacrificing the elderly and sick??

What you have been told is nothing new and is exactly the reason it is a huge worry.

Thrawn, I like you. But you are misinterpreting primary and secondary causes. Yes they are relevant as secondary can have multiple factors. Not surprisingly, age is more a contributing factor. People of an elderly age are more prone in general to it. Once you get above 65 your body wants to shut down.
While underlying conditions can exacerbate the issue (I'm not saying it's wrong that elderly are much more vulnerable), anyone who knows how the virus actually works will tell you that it can still give people pneumonia and ARDS. Even healthy, young people. Do you remember the doctor from China who first explained to the world about this virus? Yeah, mid-30s, took all the necessary precautions... but still died.

The reason why ARDS is lethal in the first place is the body's organs not getting enough oxygen. That's not a misinterpretation, it's a medical fact.

How does the virus affect the renal system? Answer: it doesn't. People with preexisting issues are not the same thing.

Yes it does.
Overwhelming infection causes a systemic inflammatory response and organ dysfunction.
People with viruses (eg. influenza) or severe infections (eg. pneumonia) get multi-organ failure all the time. Even with ICU support some of these patients die.

Is getting pneumonia and dying organ failure? Answer: No. Organ failure is when your organs, wait for it, shut down.

The lungs are an organ. Dying of respiratory failure from pneumonia is an organ failure. As above, in the end-stage, your other organs also shut down.

If anyone is interested this is a general video on the topic: https://www.khanacademy.org/science...tory-system-diseases/shock/v/sepsis-sirs-mods

Ebola is far more dangerous than this and also doesn't cause organs to fail. It does however cause fever, bleeding from the anus and everywhere else, diarrhoea, vomiting and severe fluid loss which then causes organs to fail (splitting hairs I guess). Overall Coronavirus isn't much of an issue. On a scale between the flu and SARS it is far closer to the flu.

Incorrect.

From the GP college:

While underlying conditions can exacerbate the issue (I'm not saying it's wrong that elderly are much more vulnerable), anyone who knows how the virus actually works will tell you that it can still give people pneumonia and ARDS. Even healthy, young people. Do you remember the doctor from China who first explained to the world about this virus? Yeah, mid-30s, took all the necessary precautions... but still died.

The reason why ARDS is lethal in the first place is the body's organs not getting enough oxygen. That's not a misinterpretation, it's a medical fact.

It is a misinterpretation as you are trying to correlate them linearly. A healthy 25-45 year old isn't going to suffer organ failure, not without a preexisting condition such as diabetes. The virus needs to be working in conjunction with other factors and even then it's not a given.