Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - season postponed. (Thread part 1 - cont in part 2, link in thread)

Has the coronavirus outbreak made you reconsider attending the footy

• Yes

Votes: 285 44.9%
  • No

Votes: 350 55.1%

Yes it does.
Overwhelming infection causes a systemic inflammatory response and organ dysfunction.
People with viruses (eg. influenza) or severe infections (eg. pneumonia) get multi-organ failure all the time. Even with ICU support some of these patients die.

The lungs are an organ. Dying of respiratory failure from pneumonia is an organ failure. As above, in the end-stage, your other organs also shut down.

If anyone is interested this is a general video on the topic: https://www.khanacademy.org/science...tory-system-diseases/shock/v/sepsis-sirs-mods

Any study you look at involving sepsis will list age as a main factor

It is a misinterpretation as you are trying to correlate them linearly. A healthy 25-45 year old isn't going to suffer organ failure, not without a preexisting condition such as diabetes. The virus needs to be working in conjunction with other factors and even then it's not a given.

Doctors and nurses in their 20's and 30's have keeled over in China. Yeah the odds are on your side if you're young, but there are no guarantees. It isn't something most will want to roll the dice on.

It is a misinterpretation as you are trying to correlate them linearly. A healthy 25-45 year old isn't going to suffer organ failure, not without a preexisting condition such as diabetes. The virus needs to be working in conjunction with other factors and even then it's not a given.
That isn't true. You don't need an underlying condition to get ARDS and organ failure from this thing. Healthy and young people still die from viruses. While the chances do increase if you have a pre-existing heart and lung condition for example, the point I'm making here is that the virus kills by organ failure. Whether the victim has a pre-existing condition or not is irrelevant... that's how the virus can end up killing you. Given samFFC has provided another source, there's not much wriggle-room here.

This is not true mate. Older persons are, in general, more prone to it. Think about how much toxins your kidneys or liver filter out over a lifetime, how many times your heart beats. Our bodies are made up of organic tissue. It wears down.

Everything I wrote is true. If you don’t get it, well and good for you, but please stop spreading misinformation. Age and pre-existing conditions affect the immune response involved in the mechanism I described, their organs don’t fail because they are old and “worn out”.

Well, no, the virus itself doesn't cause organ failure. Organ failure is due to underlying, pre-existing illness and the body's inability to cope under the strain of this new virus.

Ebola is far more dangerous than this and also doesn't cause organs to fail. It does however cause fever, bleeding from the anus and everywhere else, diarrhoea, vomiting and severe fluid loss which then causes organs to fail (splitting hairs I guess). Overall Coronavirus isn't much of an issue. On a scale between the flu and SARS it is far closer to the flu.

Stop being a tool.

No virus with pre-existing issues no organ failure.

Get virus with pre-existing issues and organ failure results.

What caused the organ failure?

The virus pushed the body into organ failure.

Why you are arguing like you are is quite baffling.

This isn't the end of the world but if you are older and have pre-existing health issues then you don't want to catch this thing. It's worse than the flu because there is no vaccine atm and is spreading far and wide.

Thankfully we live in a 1st world country with a decent medical system.

Yep, time to close down the world and stay indoors and never interact with any other person, everyone quick panic there is an old illness that has been given a new fancy name, 2019-nCoV, pretty sure this use to be called good old fashioned pneumonia which lo and behold can and does kill elderly people, oh look 2019-nCov which is a new form of pneumonia is killing elderly people.

On December 31 last year, China alerted WHO to several cases of unusual pneumonia in Wuhan

Well i'll be god damned, the common cold is part of the coronavirus family, looks like i had coronavirus last year and i'm still here.

On January 7, officials announced they had identified a new virus, according to the WHO. The novel virus was named 2019-nCoV and was identified as belonging to the coronavirus family, which includes SARS and the common cold.

Wow. This is a really dumb post. Can’t be arsed correcting you on all of your simplifications and lack of facts. You’re grown up enough to work it out if you can be bothered ...

You are wrong and should stop posting bullshit. The replicating virus and immune response can destroy lung tissue and cause inflammation that results in a lack of oxygen, which of course organs need to function; lack thereof is the cause of the organ failure. Pre-existing conditions and age affect the immune response, not cause the organ failure. It’s why patients are being hooked up to ECMO machines.
Love it, people who read a few articles arguing with people who read a few different articles and both acting like experts. Hilarious.

I'm hoping the virus can be quite selective in who it hits hardest

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

It's 2% of the people they know are infected. For every 50 people that have symptoms, 5 will end up in intensive care and one of those 5 will die.

If millions of people get sick, the hospitals will be overrun. Even if its 1% mortality rate (and I'm not sure why you think you know better than people working on the problem), and only one million people get the virus, you're still looking at 50,000 hospital admissions and 10,000 deaths. And once you're at the million mark of infected, you've lost the race anyway. It will spiral out of control then.

So, no need to stock up on canned soup yet, but if the government wants to limit spread and the think it might get out of control, then banning large gatherings, closing schools etc will happen. And AFL will be affected.
Yep exactly, your figures don't include anyone that has had it and recovered, would be plenty of those that ruin your 'shocking' statistics.

But, please, continue

Oh no, everyone run for your lives!!!;

I wouldn't call it a laughing matter but sure act like a fool. You won't be laughing in a few weeks time

so you turn up to the work with the flu, so you can use your sick leave for taking occasional days off whenever you cant be bothered going in? You must be popular amongst your colleagues...
You must be clinically ******ed to infer anything from my response to pulling sickies.

Flu = 5-7 day period of being contagious
Cold = 2 week period of being contagious

I have not seen one reasonable person take more than 2 days off work for the flu. Most people do no take any days off for the cold and the workplace functions fine. Just imagine people taking a week off every time they get the flu and 2 weeks for a common cold.

Not everyone can be on centrelink and virtue signal unrealistic containment practices. Leave this kind of talk for people that actually have a job.

You must be clinically ******ed to infer anything from my response to pulling sickies.

I have not seen one reasonable person take more than 2 days off work for the flu. Most people do no take any days off for the cold and the workplace functions fine. Just imagine people taking a week off every time they get the flu and 2 weeks for a common cold.

Not everyone can be on centrelink and virtue signal unrealistic containment practices. Leave this kind of talk for people that actually have a job.
I had a dose of the flu last year. Until then I would have used the term interchangeably with having a cold.

it floored me like nothing before. Was off work for a week.

200.gif

giphy.gif

I hate idiots who come to work and make me sick

It literally makes me sick

This shit is embarrassing and shouldn't be on the main board.

Quick, whip down to Coles or Woollies to stock up on tampons and toilet paper.