Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - season postponed. (Thread part 1 - cont in part 2, link in thread)

Has the coronavirus outbreak made you reconsider attending the footy

• Yes

Votes: 285 44.9%
  • No

Votes: 350 55.1%

If we concede everyone will get it why bother with the incubation period
Even if everyone does get it; a big if at this point, even Spanish flu wasn't caught by everyone; things that can slow the spread allow time and may allow for the build-up of cases to not swamp the health system as much.

Interesting conversation on 3AW now, Healy is very strong on it and the possibilities of it effecting AFL clubs and the season.

if anyone from within an AFL club contracts it, the whole club would be quarantined for 14 days so obviously couldn’t play.. Interesting perspective.
healey is a flog

The SARS virus was worse than this. Although it is good to take precautions and contain it, the media is blowing it out of proportion.
No it wasn't. This has killed more people in a couple of months than SARS has in total when it broke out in '02-'03.

We have ourselves to blame.85- 95% of product comes from China.Why would us dumbos leave ourselves reliant on one country for manufacturing.
It is a joke, we want everything on the cheap which shuts down Australian manufacturing and now we rush out to get dunny paper.
Mclachlan is trying to sell the AFL product to China? he has to go!
If you buy sh!t from China hang your head in shame, supporting a communistic regime and the fookers will takeover.
fook the corona virus and fook the media beat up about it. Neil Mitchell what a flog

The SARS virus was worse than this. Although it is good to take precautions and contain it, the media is blowing it out of proportion.
Yes and no.

The SARS mortality rate was higher, but the frequency of spread was far less than what we're seeing now because it was obvious to detect and there were very little or no asymptomatic cases.

This strain has a mortality rate of 3.4% as far as we understand it, but it spreads easily. Further, 80% of sufferers only have mild symptoms akin to a common cold or seasonal flu, but the other 20% have symptoms similar to the SARS virus that occurred in 2002/03 as the virus targets and damages the lungs.

The 20% is what concerns most people as it typically involves the elderly and those with pre-existing conditions and/or those with compromised immune systems.

I think everyone including perfectly healthy people should be doing everything they can to mitigate the spread of this disease.

This is not your ordinary seasonal flu.

The same study that produced the oft-cited age bracket mortality rates also found that for those admitted to an ICU with CV, the mortality rate jumps to 49%.

China has 6400+ listed as serious/critical; presumably they're in ICU.

Edit: Just clarifying the above after looking at the study result again. The report actually states 49% of "critical" patients died, and that all 1023 deaths in confirmed CV cases were patients in critical condition. Not necessarily 49% of ICU admissions.

The same study that produced the oft-cited age bracket mortality rates also found that for those admitted to an ICU with CV, the mortality rate jumps to 49%.

How much toilet paper did you buy?

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Edit: Just clarifying the above after looking at the study result again. The report actually states 49% of "critical" patients died, and that all 1023 deaths in confirmed CV cases were patients in critical condition. Not necessarily 49% of ICU admissions.

Mortality rate for boomers. Dont cherry pick and present it as something different

We have ourselves to blame.85- 95% of product comes from China.Why would us dumbos leave ourselves reliant on one country for manufacturing.
It is a joke, we want everything on the cheap which shuts down Australian manufacturing and now we rush out to get dunny paper.
Mclachlan is trying to sell the AFL product to China? he has to go!
If you buy sh!t from China hang your head in shame, supporting a communistic regime and the fookers will takeover.
fook the corona virus and fook the media beat up about it. Neil Mitchell what a flog

Efficient or robust, pick one.

healey is a flog
why? He raises an interesting point. Think of how many people are involved in running an AFL club, then multiply that by 18. If any of these people contract coronavirus then we could see games being forfeited. Its a big concern IMO.

exactly and the point he was making is that the AFL need to be on the front foot and change the rules so when this happens points are split rather than forfeited. Italy has cancelled all sport for the next month and closed down schools for next 3 weeks. AFL would be completely naive if they were not at least putting in a contingency plan.

So if the season is called off at some stage, which is a possibility once a single player gets infected, as it’s likely that whole club will then be quarantined for 2 weeks.

Do we lotto the draft order based on last years bottom 10 then lotto the top half order separately with last years top 8?

So if the season is called off at some stage, which is a possibility once a single player gets infected, as it’s likely that whole club will then be quarantined for 2 weeks.

Do we lotto the draft order based on last years bottom 10 then lotto the top half order separately with last years top 8?

Cant see it being called off, may end up shortened, delayed and running through spring/summer.. Ground availability and fixturing will become a nightmare with cricket but I suspect the government would step in and tell cricket vic to GGF and to keep the main grounds available for AFL, and state cricket can be played in cow paddocks with 300 supporters.

Umm.

India are touring this summer.

I know who the MCC will align with in your scenario and it’s not the AFL.