Cousins on the Gold Coast

James23

Aug 29, 2005
West Lakes
sorry if theres a thread already but i couldnt see one anywhere.. did anyone else see it on the 9 exclusive?

ben cousins on the gold coast, partying with mates and hot chicks. Seen holding his nostril and bending down to a table - video footage and all.

Is it right to be following Ben around?

Cousins filmed at Schoolies week

November 26, 2007 09:29pm

BEN Cousins has been filmed sniffing something from a table at a "party" apartment on the Gold Coast, says Channel Nine's A Current Affair.

The fallen football star has been on the Gold Coast for several days, reportedly partying until dawn.

A Nine film crew has been following Cousins for three days and A Current Affair is tonight running a story on the fallen star's noctural ways.

After eating at an exclusive restaurant, Cousins was filmed socialising with men and young women until early hours of Saturday morning on a veranda in the heart of the Gold Coast’s main eating and drinking strip.

It was during this time that the cameras apparently picked up Cousins leaning over to sniff something off the table.
But the reporter stopped short of revealing what the substance was.

Cousins then returned to his apartment in the light of morning.

Critics are baffled as to why the fallen AFL star, who has asked the media to leave him alone while he deals with his drug addiction, has chosen the Gold Coast during Schoolies week to hang out.

Isn't this just a bit ridiculous? Following him around and pretty much stalking him. I never liked the whole idea of the paparazzi, now the shit current affairs programs have become them too. Also, to those that complained about 7's behaviour (paying for stolen medical records), this is a good example of why it seems to be 9 that is the lowest channel (seemingly obsessed with Ben, getting the 911 tapes, the hospital records, Hutchy following him to the states, etc).

Re: Is it right to be following Ben around?

I agree that it's getting a bit out of hand, but by the same token, if you're going to put yourself in the firing line like Benny has then you're asking for trouble.

What's even more rediculous is that Ben happens to be on the Gold Coast at a time when all the young girls want to let their hair down (and whatever else). He wouldn't know dignity if he lined it up and snorted it:eek:

hes no longer an afl player. just a citizen so who cares what he does now. everything important to him has been removed so its up to him to decide what he would like to do whatever it is. the current affair program though, what ****ed up people. no ****en life chasing after people for the sake of a story to get them ratings. ffs grow some balls and look at more important issues than an ex afl player who just likes to have a bit of "fun".

Current affairs reporters (and paparazzi) are the lowest form of humans on the planet.

(Closely followed by eagles supporters. ;))

What's even more rediculous is that Ben happens to be on the Gold Coast at a time when all the young girls want to let their hair down (and whatever else). He wouldn't know dignity if he lined it up and snorted it:eek:
Or he could just have friends on the Gold Coast he is staying with. I don't think Ben is particularly interested in 17 year old girls. You wouldn't know how to be unbiased if it rammed you up the arse. :eek:

Noice spelling of ridiculous.

Or he could just have friends on the Gold Coast he is staying with. I don't think Ben is particularly interested in 17 year old girls. You wouldn't know how to be unbiased if it rammed you up the arse. :eek:

Noice spelling of ridiculous.

Nice spelling of nice, your bogan mentality shines through:thumbsu: and it has nothing to do with bias, mate, i couldn't care less who he plays for, he's just a tosser all round. Your continued support of him does show what type of person you are, all class i'm sure lol.

Current affairs reporters (and paparazzi) are the lowest form of humans on the planet.

(Closely followed by eagles supporters. ;))
I always wondered what was in between Freo supporters and Eagle supporters, now I know it is paparazzi and current affairs reporters!

I don't think Ben is particularly interested in 17 year old girls.

Maybe not particularly, but I'm guessing he wouldn't say no if some quirk of fate threw him together with a bunch of them on a mission to go wild.*

*Especially when they suddenly have the chance to go wild with the number 1 bad boy in Australia. (Through that mysterious quirk of fate, of course.)

I dont think its right to document Ben Cousins' every move. As someone has already pointed out, he is no longer an AFL player. Do the public have a right to know what Ben Cousins is getting up to on the Gold Coast? I dont think so.

The story's guaranteed to get high ratings though. I know I'll be tuning in... :eek:

Nice spelling of nice, your bogan mentality shines through:thumbsu: and it has nothing to do with bias, mate, i couldn't care less who he plays for, he's just a tosser all round. Your continued support of him does show what type of person you are, all class i'm sure lol.
I never said it had anything to do with bias against WC. If I was implying that I would have said something about you being bitter. I just said bias. In this case against Ben. You hate him. Anything on him you jump all over him.

I can't see why someone that goes to the gold coast during schoolies automatically has no dignity. I have friends that were down south at the same time as our leavers celebrations last weekend. They kept to themselves and did their own thing. Nothing wrong with that, it is not like the kids get the whole place to themselves. There was nothing in the report saying he was hanging out with schoolies. He was hanging out with mates, who just happened to be on the gold coast.

DA, on my noice spelling meaning I am a bogan, don't be rediculous, you know nothing about me so can hardly call me a bogan. The spelling of nice was a joke, I thought you would see the humour in me spelling nice wrong when making light hearted fun of your spelling. It appears I overestimated you.

Maybe not particularly, but I'm guessing he wouldn't say no if some quirk of fate threw him together with a bunch of them on a mission to go wild.*

*Especially when they suddenly have the chance to go wild with the number 1 bad boy in Australia. (Through that mysterious quirk of fate, of course.)
Who would turn down a bunch of hot, young, nubile, legal 17 year-old girls? And I do emphasise the plurality of that statement.

I never said it had anything to do with bias against WC. If I was implying that I would have said something about you being bitter. I just said bias. In this case against Ben. You hate him. Anything on him you jump all over him.

Well, yes you got that right, because the man has shown time and time again, that he has no respect for his family, his teammates, his coach, or anyone else who has tried to help him. He was once one of my favourite players to watch, but will now be remembered as the man who disgraced our main code with no remorse.

As for your humourous spelling glitch, i would have found it funny had you not picked at my spelling as if it were relevant to my argument.

Benny is a lost cause. He has wasted his life and I doubt he'll be alive much longer. I don't know why he's brought up in this forum or the media. Let him be.

Such is life. Can we please forget about him?

(I'm saying this for his own good.)

As for your humourous spelling glitch, i would have found it funny had you not picked at my spelling as if it were relevant to my argument.
I did not attempt to make it relevant to your argument. I split it out from where I was responding to your "argument" and it was a mere 4 word byline.

Come on, it is funny. Rediculously funny.

I did not attempt to make it relevant to your argument. I split it out from where I was responding to your "argument" and it was a mere 4 word byline.

Come on, it is funny. Rediculously funny.

It's becoming less funny, and a little sad, that you keep going on about it.

Reminds me of the intro line in the streets song "when you wasn't famous"

Ahhh see
Right see the thing that's got it all ****ed up now is camera-phones.
How the hell am I supposed to be able to do a line in front of complete strangers
When I know they've all got cameras?

I know it wasn't a camera phone but a sign of the times.

Here's an idea.....if ya going to do that, go inside to the bathroom. ****, just go inside. His sloppiness is stupidity. Most people are more discrete than that and they know they don't have a hungry swarm of media following there every move.

I've said since the beginning that I doubt that Ben is a full on "drug addict" in the sense that most people think. I still think he is closer to someone who just loves his gear a bit to much when he is partying and socialising than he is to someone who has a full on addiction.

It's like he is addicted to partying on drugs. I'm sure he would have no trouble going a couple of weeks without if he didn't go out or was training and playing. It's when he socialises that this "addiction in certain circumstances" kicks in.

It's more a "mind not willing" than an actual addiction where he must have it all the time. This is a real scenario. I know heaps of people who if you only saw on weekends or out that you would think had a drug problem but if they lay low for a few weeks and don't head out they wouldn't have any gear and wouldn't feel they had to either.

It's also hard for a regular weekend warrior to go out for a big night on the town without having a pep up. They get tired earlier and faster, they get drunk quickly and it takes a while before they can go out for a night to 5 am unassisted.

Of course, Ben couldn’t tell the afl etc that as they would be even less understanding if they thought his addiction was “partying and having a good time”

Having a drug addiction that he is addressing on an ongoing basis is a lot better and easier situation for him since he knows everyone thinks he is an addict anyway. Might as well admit it and use it to your advantage to return to footy. It also allows for “slip ups” along the way as relapses are common with addicts. Clearly he would prefer that he didn’t need to play this card but LA and the GC on the weekend show he aint smart enough for that so the drug addict in treatment line actually has its advantages.

You wait and see, if he decides he is fair dinkum about playing afl in 09, when the time comes to prove he is fit to resume he will fly through all the test and the hoops they put in front of him and he will pull his head in for a period of time to achieve what he wants (to play footy).

He has plenty of time to do all that, doesn’t need to start yet (although it would be bloody advantageous if he could avoid slip ups like being caught on camera allegedly snorting a rail) when there isn’t anything really on the line, yet. Do it later on when it starts to head towards crunch time. I’d be very confident though that had he been drafted Saturday that he wouldn’t have been partying on the GC and his biggest issue would be that it sucks that he isn’t going to be able to get off tap for at least a year as he is going to be pissing in a cup as often as he is a toilet. It’s more than luck that he has never tested positive to a drug test. It’s because there is a level of control there that wouldn’t be present in a full blown addict. I’m not saying he doesn’t have an issue but it is a different mindset than to someone who must have drugs on a regular basis or they will lose it. I’m sure people will shoot me down and I may be wrong with what I am saying but everything I’m saying is from experience of seeing it first hand on numerous occasions and understanding the mindset that causes it to occur when to most normal folk it can only be explained away as a person who is very sick and has a serious addiction.

Here's an idea.....if ya going to do that, go inside to the bathroom. ****, just go inside. His sloppiness is stupidity. Most people are more discrete than that and they know they don't have a hungry swarm of media following there every move.

I've said since the beginning that I doubt that Ben is a full on "drug addict" in the sense that most people think. I still think he is closer to someone who just loves his gear a bit to much when he is partying and socialising than he is to someone who has a full on addiction.

You wait and see, if he decides he is fair dinkum about playing afl in 09, when the time comes to prove he is fit to resume he will fly through all the test and the hoops they put in front of him and he will pull his head in for a period of time to achieve what he wants (to play footy).

I am far more critical of him, but apart from that you're spot on. Benny's never been a drug addict. If he needs treatment he needs a personality transplant, because he's got a massively overblown head and is addicted to the celebrity lifestyle which is the only thing he's known, since he was a 16 year old rookie.

When the money starts to run out and he needs daddy to bail him out financially (rather than legally and in public, as has been the case up to now) maybe the boy will grow up and realise just how much he has let down himself, his family, his team and his supporters.

...I’m sure people will shoot me down and I may be wrong with what I am saying but everything I’m saying is from experience of seeing it first hand on numerous occasions and understanding the mindset that causes it to occur when to most normal folk it can only be explained away as a person who is very sick and has a serious addiction.

I think you're spot on and I think you're one of the few people who genuinely have a realistic handle on this whole affair. Or at least one of the few who are able to articulate their position clearly. (You sure you're a Pies supporter?)

Of course the real problem will be when Benny has nothing to aim for anymore. That's when it gets hard to snap out of the party lifestyle. Particularly when you've got the money to keep going for a long time.

Cousins on the Gold Coast