Mega Thread COVID-19 Carlton & the AFL - NO POLITICS/NO RELIGION/NO CONSPIRACIES ETC

Do we stop the season when the annual influenza strain hits as well?
We know multiple hundreds will die from that as well.
Very different scenario.

Read some medical reports about the difference and why these measures are important.

Yes, but I don't care about the NRL, ergo they don't matter.

In all seriousness, government should be the ones who bear the brunt of costs in this situation. I can see why they would reject such a thing early on in proceedings - after all, we're what, 3-4 months into this thing, with an expected duration of about 18 - but over time, the implosion of sport would wreak havoc on this countries culture and sense of self, belonging.

Not to mention the degree to which hospitality will tank, the economic consequences for government if the AFL and the NRL go bankrupt.

I think I saw something yesterday where the local music industry are keeping tabs on lost income and they've already hit $25M. Pretty scary, especially when you think how many people's income is derived entirely from social events of some nature and without the security net of sick/annual leave to draw on. Events, all forms of hospitality, a lot of the gig economy (although food delivery drivers might be ok, provided they don't get sick). It's gonna be tough.

the framing wasn't the issue...
Umm, what?
To describe my statement raising what players might do to expose themselves to C-19 in a counterfactual to continuing to train and play footy as an indication that I was inferring that footy players might go on a rampage is definitely a framing issue. If that is the totality of the risk you think I was inferring you do simples by taking an extreme interpretation and bravely responding to that bullshit.

With suspension of the season imminent, and COVID-19 cases expected to be at their worst from May-August, it's looking increasingly likely the season will be cancelled altogether.

For a change of subject (and this is not to disregard anything else that is happening right now), what are the positives and negatives for Carlton if the 2020 season is a write off?

Positives (if you're a glass half full operator): Kemp becomes even more of a bargain, Charlie gets his knee right, Mckay gets his groins 100%, and players like Dow, Stocker, O'Brien etc can spend months running and in the gym to get to AFL standard.

Negatives: Obvious delay in match/game development for younger players, and a year lost for older players and players in their prime.

Thoughts?

The positives far outweigh the negatives for us, I reckon.
Another year of running and strength training into the young players, long-term injury recoveries.

Also another year that Richmond won't win a premiership.

Do we stop the season when the annual influenza strain hits as well?
We know multiple hundreds will die from that as well.

Exactly. They are using the same flu to psychologically test us and laugh at us.
The new 5G 60 GHz roll out is doing more damage to respiratory systems than this common cold.
Milan- Europe test roll out city.hmmm🧐
When they switch it on here more people are going to get sick from cell oxygen intake levels from the microwaves.
Do some research.
Biosecurity laws being passed as we speak.
I don’t believe this is the pandemic crash one world order digital ID and currency just yet but definitely a test run to see how we cope and if we wake up.

I reckon the majority of players will want to compete, at least until the situation worsens. Curios about whether or not Blues supporters will refuse to watch the telecast as a form of protest? (assuming that it does go ahead)

I think the complete opposite. Players have families and they won't want to put themselves in any more danger than they have to.

Exactly. They are using the same flu to psychologically test us and laugh at us.
The new 5G 60 GHz roll out is doing more damage to respiratory systems than this common cold.
When they switch it on here more people are going to get sick from cell oxygen intake levels from the microwaves.
Do some research.
I don’t believe this is the pandemic crash one world order digital ID and currency just yet but definitely a test run to see how we cope and if we wake up.

Nope

Umm, what?
To describe my statement raising what players might do to expose themselves to C-19 in a counterfactual to continuing to train and play footy as an indication that I was inferring that footy players might go on a rampage is definitely a framing issue. If that is the totality of the risk you think I was inferring you do simples by taking an extreme interpretation and bravely responding to that bullshit.

"Tell all the players to come back in October for footy training for next year and who knows what unregulated behaviour active young men with a degree of a sense of invincibility might be able to achieve."

They're not going to be engaging in any more "unregulated behaviour" than anyone else could/would, given the restrictions in place.

It reads like you're suggesting footy players are incapable of following the same instructions as the rest of the population, and should therefore continue to play football so their clubs can babysit them. Is that not it?

Do some research.

what's the advantage to roll out 5G?
is Telstra really just run by the Penguin trying to kill everyone?

It’s not the Black Death, but it’s more serious than anything we’ve seen in a long time.

And whilst I’m not an alarmist by any stretch, being flippant about it is dangerous.

Taking measures to slow the spread are critical, which is why there are no crowds.

And why we’re being encouraged to keep our distance from others.

And why we’re being encouraged to wash our hands frequently and not touch our face.

And why more and more businesses are encouraging people to work from home, where possible.

And why we’re quarantining people for 2 weeks.

And why we’re banning large gatherings.

Etc etc etc.

More and more non-essential activities are being closed, postponed or limited, but essential services must remain.

And if you think footy is an essential service, then sorry, but you are very sorely mistaken.

There’s a reason why the season looks increasingly unlikely to start on Thursday, and it’s not because there won’t be a crowd there.

Money is important. Health and safety is even more so.

Bingo. This especially applies to fans who have young kiddies to take care of, or in my instance an elderly mother, who is in one of the major at risk categories of people in peril of this outbreak.

I could not live with myself if I went to the footy or another major/crowded event (hypothetically), caught CV19 and passed it on to my mother who would most likely pass away from it.

Honestly if we have to miss an entire season of footy, so be it..

We cannot afford to be caviliar about this, even people in my age demographic (40) whom probably are safe from being fatally infected with it, it's being a potential carrier to this disease which you can easily get from someone else that is the problem. And the scary part is that there people out there infected who are not showing symptoms yet..

Do some research.

Mate. Put down the pipe.

I was lucky enough to grab the last 3 bags of Chien Wah dim sims at my local supermarket.

Self isolation... Come and get me.
Means nothing if you run out of sweet chilli sauce, just sayin'

The players do have families. Children, spouses, parents. If one player gets infected and it spreads then all their families are at risk, for our entertainment.
We all agree with that sentiment.

But if the players don't play, they still have lives to live. They would be out and about more in general society, and I would argue, put themselves more at risk of being exposed to the virus. They are not going to sit in their houses and do nothing if they don't play football. They would also lose access to better testing and isolation protocols.

Probably were out in air temperature for hours before packed and re-frozen. Good luck!

Nothing a good soy and sriracha sauce mix won't fix..

Mega Thread COVID-19 Carlton & the AFL - NO POLITICS/NO RELIGION/NO CONSPIRACIES ETC