Certified Legendary Thread Covid, Life, UFOs, Food, & Wordle :(

Signed a 6 month contract for my current job in Jan, couple of weeks ago I signed a 2 year contract with a fancy new title (OTT).

Yesterday was my first appearance at a Senior Leadership Meeting. Went well, the CEO announced a new org structure, including a new role in my dept and announced that I had accepted the role. That went down well which I was happy with, then she made the comment that it increased the diversity of the SLT. I silently chuckled at that, as I was the only bloke in the room.

I had a sticky situation last night. Of course the family discussion was about Jordy. Remy came up as part of the discussion, and I mentioned her jump from 15k to 21k followers. Turns out this was pretty dumb. 20 and 18yo daughters pounced, "How do you know that?", "Do you follow her on Insta?"
"No"
They were already at my phone.
"Ewwww you creep. She is in your search history."
I then suffered a micro-pile-on similar to the one Jordy is experiencing.

And all I could think was, "thank god I unfollowed her a few hours earlier because I thought ppl might see that I followed her when they looked her up".
Tricky situation.

In the Irvine Welsh book, ‘Dead Man’s Trousers’ the sequel to ‘Trainspotting’
There is a chapter in which Sick Boy’s brother in law has the fortune / misfortune to go out on the tear with the great Sick Boy.

One things leads to another, and a big night ensues.

Cut to the next morning, which happens to be Christmas Day. The brother in law is on the couch with Sick Boy nursing a beer, whilst the women are busy preparing Christmas lunch.

A screen emanates from the son’s room. He’s holding his iPad in disbelief and shock. The wife is screening hysterically.

It’s only then that the brother in law realises that the anal sex he recorded last night with an Edinburgh lassie has been automatically uploaded to the family sharing cloud.

Technology is a bitch.

Today, I taught kids how to climb rope using a j-hook. Their parents stand around and film these achievements. I believe that the confidence the kids get from learning these skills ripples outside the walls of the gym and follows them into other aspects of their lives. It's fun teaching young ones how to ninja; when they nail their first climb, they look like they've just unlocked a superpower.

I've had to wake up at 4:45AM every morning this week but I get a sleep-in tomorrow.

Bet I fall asleep on the couch. Turning into my dad.

Hugs J

Today, I taught kids how to climb rope using a j-hook. Their parents stand around and film these achievements. I believe that the confidence the kids get from learning these skills ripples outside the walls of the gym and follows them into other aspects of their lives. It's fun teaching young ones how to ninja; when they nail their first climb, they look like they've just unlocked a superpower.

I've had to wake up at 4:45AM every morning this week but I get a sleep-in tomorrow.

Hugs J

the j-hook is like a real life cheat code!

Signed a 6 month contract for my current job in Jan, couple of weeks ago I signed a 2 year contract with a fancy new title (OTT).

Yesterday was my first appearance at a Senior Leadership Meeting. Went well, the CEO announced a new org structure, including a new role in my dept and announced that I had accepted the role. That went down well which I was happy with, then she made the comment that it increased the diversity of the SLT. I silently chuckled at that, as I was the only bloke in the room.

Good on you Stui - thanks for sharing a victory

Hugs J

I tried teaching my kids that at Bayside Rock in Carrum Downs, but do you think they listened? Bloody kids…

Hugs J

Hope you also took the time to explain the absolute importance of curls.

Apropos of absolutely nothing, I sat in on a planning hearing today when, in the closing minutes, the Chairman started talking about the Rocca brothers. At that point he had my attention. Then one of the barristers in attendance started talking about Anthony’s unpaid goal in the 2003 GF and I sat up really straight.

It was nice to hear some Melbourne footy talk, with Pies fans not known to me. Reaching out across time and space and no mention of JDG.
Was it 2003?

02 hurt more than 03.
I somehow managed to be on a plane to the US for work when both of these GF's were on. I remembered the pilot in 2003 gleefully telling us that Collingwood had lost by 50 as we taxied into LAX. After beating the Lions in the 2003 QF I really thought we were going to win.

I found 02 way more hurtful - arrived at the ground with no real expectations. But expectations rose as the game went on. I still remember some f-head on the train home telling me to cheer up. w***er.

03 - more confidence on the way in, which was quickly killed. I do recall being at that game with a few of Gone Critical kids. It was horrific seeing kids being blooded into the Way of the Losing Grand Final.

I found 02 way more hurtful - arrived at the ground with no real expectations. But expectations rose as the game went on. I still remember some f-head on the train home telling me to cheer up. w***er.

03 - more confidence on the way in, which was quickly killed. I do recall being at that game with a few of Gone Critical kids. It was horrific seeing kids being blooded into the Way of the Losing Grand Final.

I was at 02 with my daughter, who was wearing glasses at the time. She was young and very excited and did a lot of jumping around. A lions fan yelled at her ‘sit down and shut up four eyes’. Then a Pies fan yelled at him, and then lots of yelling and threats ensued. But fortunately no violence.

Another horrible GF.☹️

I was at 02 with my daughter, who was wearing glasses at the time. She was young and very excited and did a lot of jumping around. A lions fan yelled at her ‘sit down and shut up four eyes’. Then a Pies fan yelled at him, and then lots of yelling and threats ensued. But fortunately no violence.

Another horrible GF.☹️
That story would have been better with a summary justice ending.

I do recall a happier Grand Final crowd interaction story though. In 1990 as a callow 19 year old being told at the end of the game by a couple of departing Essendon supporters that "I hope your parents are proud of you".

That story would have been better with a summary justice ending.

I do recall a happier Grand Final crowd interaction story though. In 1990 as a callow 19 year old being told at the end of the game by a couple of departing Essendon supporters that "I hope your parents are proud of you".

No justice for us Swipey. Glad you gave ‘em hell in 1990.

The 03 GF was a special kind of torture for me. I got my ticket via Mr Park’s sister who was a Lions member. So I was the only Pies fan sitting in an entire section of Lions members. As it quickly became apparent that they were about to win their third consecutive flag, they started to make this strange ‘baying’ sound which I hope to never hear again. The sound you make when your team is so superior and unstoppable…

Correction: I wouldn’t mind hearing the ‘baying’ sound from Pies fans. I also heard a similar sound at the 2019 GF when Richmond was heading to its second flag in three years.

No justice for us Swipey. Glad you gave ‘em hell in 1990.

The 03 GF was a special kind of torture for me. I got my ticket via Mr Park’s sister who was a Lions member. So I was the only Pies fan sitting in an entire section of Lions members. As it quickly became apparent that they were about to win their third consecutive flag, they started to make this strange ‘baying’ sound which I hope to never hear again. The sound you make when your team is so superior and unstoppable…

Correction: I wouldn’t mind hearing the ‘baying’ sound from Pies fans. I also heard a similar sound at the 2019 GF when Richmond was heading to its second flag in three years.
Thanks. But to be honest it probably wasn't my finest moment. I believe it was sometime during the second quarter(the whole day was a bit blurry as we had to reserve our seats at 8:30am - where we left a mate's 14yo brother to guard our seats while we moved to the now-gone Mezzanine bar for 5 hours) when one of our players had just roughed up Peter Somerville and I suggested we give it to him like we gave it to his dad - who I recalled some Pie player had KO'd in the 60s.

My Bomber mate (some guy in say his 40s with his wife) told me to have some respect as the father had passed away. To which I responded something like, "Lucky he isn't here to see the shit you guys are dealing out today".

This didn't sit well with my mate who started making a big show of rolling up his sleeves. His wife tried to placate her warrior angel. As I am more an inciter than a fighter I thought it best to appraise him of the situation - that I was surrounded by many allies. So I started calling out, "Ooooh fellas, look at this. He's rolling up his sleeves. I think he wants to fight". Which then resulted in a dozen or so of my Pies pals (obnoxious pissed teenagers) catcalling, saying "ooooh, he wants a fight" which continued for the rest of the day.

Or at least until sometime during the last quarter when they were leaving early and the wife delivered the cutting comment about my parents' pride. Which set off another round of laughter. Reckon those bombers would still remember that day. They had a shocker.

Yeah, ‘02 hurt more. We should have won that game. Rocca’s goal and then Tarrant getting octopussed by White, only to have it go up the other end for a BS nothing free kick against Presti. We earned that one that day.

‘03 I think I’d already used up all my nervous energy stressing about Rocca and the tribunal. After Woey’s goal it was all downhill. We got smashed and the better team on the day won. C’est la vie.

They’ve gotta find something to do.☹️

this is always who they were. this is always what they were about. the major strands of the freedom movement are steeped in violent homophobia, especially Christian nationalists, QAnon, SovCit and out and out neo-fascist. Most of their leaders like Smit, Bossi, Yemini, and the best mate of some of our posters Craig Kelly are violently and unapologetically homophobic. This is always who they were and this was always where they were going to end up. It is not an accident and I have been saying it since the start.

A happier story for you good horse.

Every morning walk our big mut down the road, and this horse always races up to a fence to say g'day. Has absolutely no fear of the big grumpy mutt of ours.

he/she is a character and a bit of a tripper. This morning the horse in question with its winter coat on decided to run/wade through a dam to get to the fence to say g'day. In doing so caused many ripples in the dam. Now the tripper horse was amazed at the ripples and couldnt stop staring at them and hooving at them repeatedly... causing more ripples and continued amazement.

Anyways, a light hearted story, my take away lesson... donkes are more edumecated

I know GH. You don’t have to look that hard to find the underlying strains of hate and violence. It was horrible seeing people sucked into the so-called freedom movement.

FYI, I attended the funeral of a woman in summer who died of Covid in hospital. Not only not vaxxed, but believed the virus was a hoax and refused treatment because it was ‘poison’. Ya dead for a long time!