Cyril Rioli or Lewis Jetta

Jetta is turning into a better version of Stephen Hill still a long way behind Cyril...

Nup, Hawthorn need Rioli to become an electrifying midfielder. He adds spark, pace and an x-factor to a midfield that has a sameness to it...big slow bodies that try to grind out results.

Unfort Rioli couldn't produce consistently in the middle, whilst still impacting on the scoreboard...and Rioli has now been moved into a more permanent forward role.

Jetta in 2012 is the exact player Hawthorn wanted Rioli to become in 2010 and 2011.....a bloke who can get 15-20 quality touches in the middle, spark a slow tough midfield and yet also kick multiple goals.......difference being Jetta is delivering - avg 16 disposals and 2.4 goal per game.

Gotta love the Bigfooty bandwagon, and it's moving full speed ahead once again. One has played in a Premiership and dazzled us with his skill and tenacity for five years. The other has bobbed up and played a few good games and kicked a few good goals in 2012. So of course half of Bigfooty jumps on the latter....

Nup, Hawthorn need Rioli to become an electrifying midfielder. He adds spark, pace and an x-factor to a midfield that has a sameness to it...big slow bodies that try to grind out results.

Unfort Rioli couldn't produce consistently in the middle, whilst still impacting on the scoreboard...and Rioli has now been moved into a more permanent forward role.

Jetta in 2012 is the exact player Hawthorn wanted Rioli to become in 2010 and 2011.....a bloke who can get 15-20 quality touches in the middle, spark a slow tough midfield and yet also kick multiple goals.......difference being Jetta is delivering - avg 16 disposals and 2.4 goal per game.

Please don't use averages over 9 games, Yes Jetta has had a great start to 2012 however you don't think that Sydney smalls goal averages have been inflated by the fact that they have hardly had a key forward all year other than a few cameo's from Goodes.. lets just wait and see if Jetta starts attracting tags to see how he goes, everyone thought Stephen Hill was the next big thing until those mean nasty taggers got hold of him.

Please don't use averages over 9 games
In 2012 Jetta is up to 24 goals.......Rioli's best return in a season is just 29.

lets just wait and see if Jetta starts attracting tags to see how he goes, everyone thought Stephen Hill was the next big thing until those mean nasty taggers got hold of him.
Picken not a decent enough tagger?

Jetta looks like he is on his way to become a Peter Matera style player, whilst it seems the Hawks have given that up with Rioli, and he will instead be like Phil.

"a few good goals"?

He has kicked more goals and had more possessions than Cyril. Is there something that you are missing?

Clearly Sydney have had to find a way to kick goals with Goodes injured and Sam Reid having no impact... Props to Jetta for having a great season thus far however he clearly gets opportunity forward that Cyril doesn't enjoy with Franklin having taken 74 shots at goal (Plus those that failed to trouble the scorers) in 9 weeks.

In 2012 Jetta is up to 24 goals.......Rioli's best return in a season is just 29.

Picken not a decent enough tagger?

Jetta looks like he is on his way to become a Peter Matera style player, whilst it seems the Hawks have given that up with Rioli, and he will instead be like Phil.

Rioli 2 goals behind in a forward line with a bloke who has had 74+ shots in 9 weeks. Do you think Jetta gets more opportunity? Particularly with Goodes out.

Picken in a 90 point drubbing...

Rioli's a lot better than Jetta. Had a better year as well for mine.

I don't care about stats, people on big footy will call Cyril overrated until he averages 6 goals and 30 disposals a game.

Jetta might be a tad faster than Rioli but that's it. And I'm not even sure he is.

We played Sydney a couple weeks ago in Tassie and I don't recall Jetta doing anything. Everyone knows when Cyril's on the ground.

Rioli is a genuine star of the competition. Lewis Jetta is not.

It's a good point you make BnG and one that BF simpletons who can only quote averages as their case seem unable to grasp.

Sydney obtain a lot of their goals thru their MF while we look for the big freak up forward. A Franklin or Riewoldt in the Sydney fwd line would see a decreased reliance on their MF to kick their goals. v/v without Franklin in our fwd line Rioli would naturally see more ball kicked thru him = >goals.

It's a good point you make BnG and one that BF simpletons who can only quote averages as their case seem unable to grasp.

Sydney obtain a lot of their goals thru their MF while we look for the big freak up forward. A Franklin or Riewoldt in the Sydney fwd line would see a decreased reliance on their MF to kick their goals. v/v without Franklin in our fwd line Rioli would naturally see more ball kicked thru him = >goals.

I think Dope'''' is a little upset that Cyril has exposed Harry O as the worst AA selection of all time...

Yeah, this sudden love for a guy that looked utterly marginal at the end of last season is a bit ridiculous. I'll wait until he can keep this up for a couple of seasons before I start labelling the guy a legend.

On Cyril Rioli, though, there are a couple of Hawthorn fans that need to be a bit more realistic about the guy. "genuine star of the competition"? He's a mercurial player whose best is wonderful, but too rarely seen at the moment.

Clearly Sydney have had to find a way to kick goals with Goodes injured and Sam Reid having no impact... Props to Jetta for having a great season thus far however he clearly gets opportunity forward that Cyril doesn't enjoy with Franklin having taken 74 shots at goal (Plus those that failed to trouble the scorers) in 9 weeks.
You're talking as though Jetta is playing in the forward pocket like Rioli, but isn't Jetta playing mainly on the wing? If so and he's already kicked 24 goals in less than half a season and 29 is the most Cyril has ever kicked in a whole season of footy, despite playing mainly forward in his career, then that is a huge feather in Jetta's bow.

As for those saying "wait till other teams start putting time into Jetta" and so on, we tagged him last week (Clint Jones, who has done jobs on most of the best in the comp, from memory) and apparently he had Picken on him this week, so I would suggest that has well and truly already begun.

Was super impressed with one of Jetta's goals on the run against us last week. A 60m bomb from the centre square. Would dearly love to have him in our team and was hoping we'd get him the year he was drafted.

To have him on the wing, Milera on the flank and Saad and Milne in the pockets would be mighty enjoyable to watch. Cyril is a bloody ripper at times too, though and ripped us a new one a few weeks back when he had a purple patch.

Oh and no doubts overrated... Rioli that is..

Hawthorn supporters love Cyril cos we watch and rewatch every Hawks game and we notice the game changing stuff he does. There is no one else in our team that does the stuff he does nor can I remember ever seeing any Hawk from the past with the skill set he has. This gives us (and it would seem a lot of commentators) a big thrill so we carry on about him a lot.

This man-love obviously gets the goat of opposition supporters who don't focus on these things and instead focus on the fact that he doesn't do them game in game out. They subsequently conclude that he's over rated. In the end it's really just a matter of what you choose to focus on. I could focus on the fact that Steve Johnson is cocky and erratic but in the end that would just be me looking for faults in a guy that is a serious weapon and must be a joy to have your squad.

As for the question .... I would re-pick Rioli 50 times over. I love the guy. Inconsistency and all.

I think Dope'''' is a little upset that Cyril has exposed Harry O as the worst AA selection of all time...

To be honest he's a member of a pretty big club in that regard :D

2012 Overrating Key indicators....Jetta..........Rioli

Special....................................:thumbsu:.............:thumbsu:
Delicious..................................:thumbsdown:.............:thumbsu:
Mercurial..................................:thumbsdown:.............:thumbsu:

Both kicking goals which kind of helps.
Both consistent in 2012.
Jetta been a 2012 match winner from the start, Rioli burdened by 2012 wee and poo expectations.

I'd say Rioli has him by a whisker right now, only due to past deliciousness and the traditional commentator gusset soiling before even touching the ball.

Jetta needs more famous uncle factor.

Is Lewis jetta the guy we all used to laugh at last year? Well Whatever he has done to turn things around well done, however if there can be that big of a gulf in his performance and that dramatic of an improvement then we all know it can go the other way just as quick. Like the Carlton fc this year. We want sustained output over seasons. At this stage of their careers jetta is not fit to carry cyrils bags into the ground. We are very reactive on bigfooty and I recall similar threads comparing mark mcgough to Robert Harvey.

He's only entering his third year in the league, which is about when you expect most players to start to step up. His first year was okay, memorable mostly for the 19 behinds in a row. Last year his form was erratic, I think it was a combo of the second year blues factor, and being a new father.

A big pre-season and improved fitness base, along with the confidence that comes with a bit of experience (Sunday was his 50th game), has made all the difference. The turnaround in his confidence and decision-making has been amazing. Poise and disposal was his achilles heel last year and most Swans fans wondered if he would ever become reliable. This year he seems to have done so.

I think possibly the most positive sign is he no longer gets super-excited at his own performance. He'll sink an on the run goal from the boundary and basically be a bit satisfied, like "this is just what I do".

Cyril Rioli or Lewis Jetta

Write your reply...