D GRADE: Give me something...

Collins is a highly talented player, and an A grade B&F at old scotch only backs my claim. He has now been likened for the D1 B&F which now poses the question, how can such a gun only be mentioned in the best once for Old Carey all year?

Stephen Collins (OLD CAREY GRAMMARIANS)
13 29/07/2006 17 1.31 4 - 1

http://www.vafa.asn.au/default.aspx?s=results

These inconsistencies week in week out make it very hard for a coach to monitor opposing sides. As well as giving the sides who have posted correct information a huge disadvantage.

BlueBoys88 said:
These inconsistencies week in week out make it very hard for a coach to monitor opposing sides. As well as giving the sides who have posted correct information a huge disadvantage.

Hi Blue Boys,

Disagree with this. We are talking D1 footy here. Clubs should firstly concentrate on their own team and gameplan, and then secondly if it is advantagous - check out opposition teams during the year. Not rely on who clubs nominate as best players. Easy for a club to send someone to check out the opposition play, if that is something they think will be advantagous. If someone like Chivers takes 7 marks and has 12 touches in the first quarter, i would hope an opposition coach would react on what he see's, not look up the amatuer record or website to see if he has been playing well recently. Most clubs know the better players from oppostion teams. No coach wouldn't know Chivers, Dean Matthews, Bannisters, Harmes, Vickers-W, me (only joking), ILSSully, Keem, Basile, Parton etc.

Blueboy you are spot on the money IMO. Incorrect info given to the VAFA only hurts us as fans really. As DG said, how good would it be for us to see possible line ups on the Friday, there would certainly be some more intrigued supporters of a Saturday arvo.
It wouldn't hurt either side becuase the players know who is dangerous in the opposition from previous games anyway.
I like Monzell for the league medal DG and I'll also take BT over OC by under 39 points.
Looking forward to having another viewing of Old Carey as Rupo ventures over there this weekend. Should be an entertaining contest. Carn the Rupi!

I think every side should divulge their stats on
beep test
vertical jump
20mtr sprint
3km time trial
bench press

Stats should be presented weekly on
contested possessions
uncontested possessions
inside 50's
centre clearances
marks inside 50
contested marks
vb's consumed over week
vb's consumed on Saturday night
vb's consumed on Friday night

Some good points there DG man, but remember rupo is out in the sticks and sending somebody to go watch a game in Mentone is unlikely. Added to this we have come up from D2 so with no prior knowledge it is hard for a coach to prepare at training in the week leading up to a game.

In closing, yes we are talking D1 footy here, not AFL, so is it necessary to conceal this information?

On another note, just a hypothetical for you DG man, if everyone posted incorrect information to the VAFA about best players, how wrong could "The Qwill" possibly get his D1 of the year lol.

BT will beat Old Mentonians by 30 points
OC and Rupo will be interesting. The sharks won fairly comfortably last time, it won't be so comfortable this time, but I'll go the upset to make or break my tipping charge. Rupo by 18 points.
Prahran will beat the increasingly undisciplined Banyule. Expect some "I don't want to play D2 next year fireworks"
Leos in a bit of an upset over Yarra. If they leave Ballard in the ruck instead of chasing forwards around.
Finally getting back on the winners list, Therry will stay there with a 2 point win over OG.
Cowboy over and out.
P.S: Sandra, please return my great philly ASAP, hitchhiking to round up my cattle is not an easy task.

I've been around the inside of B, C and D1 grade footy this year. OGS must have put something in the cordial at half time at Como....kicked 13 goals to one in the 3rd, and slowed down a tad in the last to only boot through 9 from memory. Awesome stuff.

I think that if teams are giving incorrect info it can be annoying for fans and supporters, but i think that as far as teams and coaches go with preparing for games you need to focus on your own club and make sure that your own team is fit, mentally switched on and willing to go those extra yards come saturday. When you come up against players like Parton, Collins, Chivers, etc. who can turn games, if your group is fit enough and committed enough you can overcome one great player. So if teams don't put their best in to mislead the opposition, who cares? The only people who miss out are the fans and supporters which can be disappointing.

With league B & F, i think that the spread of good players in OC and BT will count against Parton, Collins and Chivers. Less likely to poll 3 votes that regularly. Will be up there, but IMO players like Drew for YV, Bayles for OG and one or two for Rupi might be getting a better deal of the votes. Still, Parton and Chivers are great players and the umpires don't forget what number they wear!

Quite simple really on Sat, OC far, far, far too good. I definitely got ahead of myself with how our boys were travelling. While our form has been good, we still haven't beaten anyone fighting for a finals spot - with the exception of Rupo. While it is an even year, there is a big difference between the top 2 and the rest.

Kingbrown, Collins was terrific, but so were a dozen other OC players - while the 5 or 6 we rely on, with the exception of Barranello, were ordinary. Bucksy didn't get near it, Macca was only avergae etc. Agreed - Ballard up forward was stupid, as was the time they persevered with this. He is fit, there is nothing wrong with him (that I know of!).

In the battle b/w OC and BT, OC definitely have more star power, but BT a better "team". Having seen both recently against us, OC have the ability to blow anyone out of the water, but BT just keep fighting, and going, even when not playing well. Will be a ripper of a game that.

Definitely disspapointing. It was Bucksy's 200th, and to put out a performance like that wasn't good enough - but that sums up our year.

DG-Man said:
[. Injuries and availabilities will be important for this clash. As both teams will be playing each other in a second semi final a few weeks later, any opportunity to gain some advantage must be taken. It will be a tough, rugged affair.
DG-Man said:
If the OC win and win well, they will be flag favourites.
If the OC win in a close one (under 2-3 goals) or BT win, BT will go in as favourites IMO (Assuming both teams are full strength at finals time)

Cheers,
DG

Interesting perspective DG-Man...heres another one:

Noticed that P Robertson kicked 6 goals in the twos for BT on the weekend; that former senior captain S Driver has been flying under the radar in the twos in the last few weeks (not 'named' on Saturday's teamsheet?); and that somehow Chris Darby played v YV (again, not 'named' on last weekend's teamsheet - playing under another name? - remember you only have to be recorded with 1 game to qualify for finals!!) without so much as a mention anywhere...

Could it be that BT are quietly returning some physical strength and finals experience very quietly via the reserves?? Perhaps playing guys into fitness and form hoping no-one will notice (unless of course you kick 6 goals and actually get mentioned in the match report and named on the teamsheet ....oops, someone might get their butt kicked for that one!!).:cool: :cool:

BT over OM's by 24pts
OC over Rupo by 42pts
Prahran over Banyule by 19pts
YV over St Leo's by 13pts
Therry over OG's by 11 pts

BT and OC to continue there winning ways, Prahran will be too good for Banyule, YV to jump into the four and Therry to make 3rd and 4th spot alot more interesting by keeping OG's with Rupo and YV!

Conduct Unbecoming said:
Noticed that P Robertson kicked 6 goals in the twos for BT on the weekend; that former senior captain S Driver has been flying under the radar in the twos in the last few weeks (not 'named' on Saturday's teamsheet?); and that somehow Chris Darby played v YV (again, not 'named' on last weekend's teamsheet - playing under another name? - remember you only have to be recorded with 1 game to qualify for finals!!) without so much as a mention anywhere...

Could it be that BT are quietly returning some physical strength and finals experience very quietly via the reserves?? Perhaps playing guys into fitness and form hoping no-one will notice (unless of course you kick 6 goals and actually get mentioned in the match report and named on the teamsheet ....oops, someone might get their butt kicked for that one!!).:cool: :cool:

Those dastardly, deceptive and deceitful ANTS!
That is sneakier than getting caught sneaking into a sneaker show.
Good luck to them. Am not familiar with all players (CU you are a man who knows quite a bit about ammos!) but it sounds good for BT and ominous for the rest.
Down at Como, i have heard a whisper around the traps that the solid list of 50/60 players is being carefully moulded for a successful finals fling. With the depth of talent (undefeated in 2's) the OGS are still expecting to have a big say come finals time. They will be assured of having at least 1 team play on GF day, but have not given up on having both teams there. The hyphen is ready to peak. He loves September action.
Any Bullants out there, Ugly, Silky, Snider, Bullant10, MJS2, AJPAJP (Something like that) any comments to make re the conducts recent conduct??

Magic Micky said:
Prahran over Banyule by 19pts

BT and OC to continue there winning ways, Prahran will be too good for Banyule, YV to jump into the four and Therry to make 3rd and 4th spot alot more interesting by keeping OG's with Rupo and YV!

From previous posts re Banyule and Prahran's effort on Saturday, I would suspect Banyule should take 19 point loss and run. Beautifully re-developed club rooms or not - they will get flogged by the 2Blues. F-L-O-G-G-E-D.

On another topic, interesting to take a look at the possible relgations from C Grade for 2007. On face value, the following four are the only chances to come down to D1.

Fitzroy Reds - 5 wins
NOBS - 5 wins
Hapton Rovers - 4 wins
Old Parade - 4 wins

All four have been pretty competetive this year and all could lay claim to being unfortunate to be relegated in what is a very even year in C Grade. Would suspect both relegated teams will cause some havoc for the ramaining D1 sides next year (fortunately BT & OC need not concern themselves with this). Almost impossible to believe that Fitzroy Reds could be in danger....

Nice little C-Grade relegation post there Dee-Snider. It would be a surprise to see a team like Reds drop back to D-Grade. From all reports, they were untouchable in D1 last year. Does this make anyone from the BT, or OC camps think that C-Grade may be a pretty difficult jump?

DG Tips:

BT easily
OC easily
YV easily
Prahran easily
OGS just, in a thriller.

DG-Man said:
Good luck to them. Am not familiar with all players (CU you are a man who knows quite a bit about ammos!) but it sounds good for BT and ominous for the rest.
Down at Como, i have heard a whisper around the traps that the solid list of 50/60 players is being carefully moulded for a successful finals fling. With the depth of talent (undefeated in 2's) the OGS are still expecting to have a big say come finals time. They will be assured of having at least 1 team play on GF day, but have not given up on having both teams there. The hyphen is ready to peak. He loves September action.
Any Bullants out there, Ugly, Silky, Snider, Bullant10, MJS2, AJPAJP (Something like that) any comments to make re the conducts recent conduct??

Great work DG-Man - The Old Geelong are primed and ready to purrrrrr!!!

DG-Man said:

I think Conduct Unbecoming is having a joke. Not really that silky at all.

DG-Man said:
Nice little C-Grade relegation post there Dee-Snider. It would be a surprise to see a team like Reds drop back to D-Grade. From all reports, they were untouchable in D1 last year. Does this make anyone from the BT, or OC camps think that C-Grade may be a pretty difficult jump?quote]

'Untouchable' is probably a little gratuitous, but I think its safe to say most teams were glad to see the back of them at the conclusion of last year's season. Used to live across from their ground in Nth Fitzroy - over the past 6-8 years there has been a massive increase in juniors through the club (think they enter junior teams from u10s through to u17s nowdays). Go past Brunswick Street on a Sunday and the ground is chockers full of kids.

I think they have a big future...but all we really care about on this thread right now is D1.:thumbsu:

....and Conduct, you just love to get in amongst it don't you??? Go back to eating hot-dogs on the hill with your A Grade team-mates (who are soon to become B Grade team-mates)..:D - BT are playing those guys but they are not hiding anything. You are a suspicious little man who needs a shave and a bath.

I know we don't want to go off on a red herring, but Fitzroy Reds were not untouchable last year. I believe BT went down by 1 point to them and Prahran beat them during home and away season. They were very good though.

DG Man, are you really the Qwill?

DG Man, are you really the Qwill?[/quote]

No. Of course not. As i have S.Collins equal favourite with The "Chiv" for player of the year status, how could i be the Qwill? He couldn't even find a spot in the best 22.

Or maybe that was just a little ruse.....hang on, did i just think that out loud or type it........

Got to go!

DG-Man said:
DG Man, are you really the Qwill?

No. Of course not. As i have S.Collins equal favourite with The "Chiv" for player of the year status, how could i be the Qwill? He couldn't even find a spot in the best 22.

Or maybe that was just a little ruse.....hang on, did i just think that out loud or type it........

Got to go![/quote]

There is only one person that articulate.... the qwill!

Qwill here, hope you guys have been enjoying the reads every week in the VAFA book. Has been a great year thus far, although i have copped a bit of abuse for apparently not attending any D1 games. Really looking forward to this weekend, i have a feeling that richmond may just outplay the bulldogs...oooops i mean ahh old carey should win (The qwill joins ILSS in the bunker.