D GRADE: Give me something...

ok ok.... you got me!! I'm an Umpire.

Note to Therry gits: I know one of you is number 4, and one of you is a sauce head.... not sure which ones which.... but the sauce head's Alias is still safe..... as half the Therry team are blood nuts.

And the Ruckman for the Rupy was ordinary this week..... ;)

Emmaus St Leo’s vs Yarra Valley: After building up their confidence with a number of great results over the past two months, ESL came into an Old Carey side that was red hot and hasn’t lost a game since round eight. Old Carey laid the smack down, in no uncertain terms. Yarra Valley put up a decent performance against Banyule, but they still have the job ahead of them to make the finals. St. Leo’s play their ground particularly well and they will have a tough week on the track in their attempt to spoil Yarra Valley’s finals chances. Yarra Valley have more to play for and will win.

Prahran vs Banyule: Big game, mainly for the implications that will be drawn from the result of this game. These two sides look to be moving in opposite directions. Prahran have obviously set a goal to avoid relegation and they have to win all their remaining games to do it. Banyule seem resigned to their fate, having not won a game since round six, interestingly the last time these teams met. This is also probably Banyule’s last hope to avoid relegation and they will come out hard, but I don’t think it will make a difference against this new and improved Two Blues unit. Prahran will win and win well.

Old Carey vs Rupertswood: Old Carey are in pretty ominous form, having won six straight and locking up the double chance in the process. They haven’t just been winning, they’ve been destroying teams. Something tells me those boys from Dunshea will have long memories about what happened last time they took on Rupertswood, too. Rupertswood are coming off a home loss against Therry and have been uninspiring for the past two months. I just don’t think they will have any answers for a pumped up Panther machine and Old Carey will win easily.

Therry Penola vs Old Geelong: Match of the Round. There are two schools of thought on this one. One school says that Therry won their grand final last week, virtually assured themselves of a spot in D1 next year and they will be jumped by Old Geelong. The other school thinks Geelong had a massive win last week against a side that is clearly struggling and this win isn't conclusive proof that Geelong are back just yet. The fact that Therry Penola are at home is a decided advantage. However, I think the former school of thought is the correct one. OG just had a tough few games and they have bounced back in a big way. And while Therry hung on last week, surely a zero goal second half is cause for concern. Old Geelong to win.

Old Mentonians vs Bulleen-Templestowe: No doubt Old Mentonians are looking to salvage some pride. In the middle stages of the year, they looked to be a smoky for a finals spot, but their two matches against top four sides recently have resulted in embarrassing losses to the OMs. Bulleen-Templestowe have come off a tough game against Prahran, which may not have been as flawless as some of their other performances, but it will benefit them in the long run. Bulleen-Temp, like Old Carey, will be looking to reverse the result from last time these teams met. Bulleen-Templestowe will have a percentage booster here, full side or not.

Love the thread, great work everybody. Would like too see the Therry boys spruiking even more this week. Have really enjoyed your banter in spite of the rough start, when you absolutely expressed your hatred of Rupo, hope thats changed into a very healthy rivalry.

A great discussion on the difference between seniors, reserves and U19's. At Rupo we have had a few players come from U19 and play reserves, these players have not been our cream U19 players, just middle of the road. These players are consistently in our best when playing reserves. The cream players from our section 1 side play seniors and acquit themselves very well probably middle of the road in the best, but sometimes in the best. Our U19 sect 1 side have players of equal ability to our seniors, but lack bodies even more so than our seniors. I have yet to see a reserves player get promoted and dominate, they contribute but certainly fall short of dominating. We have had quite a few u19 promoted who come close to dominating just falling short.
Did that make any sense?

Too Old Too Slow (TOTS) said:
Toohas,

Love your post, but what government department do you work for? The time on your hands is extraordinary.

Thanks TOTS, I whipped that up in about ten minutes. It's not that hard to do, even if the Qwill makes it seem that way.

Gents,
DG is temporarily out of action o/s. Will be back at work and home next week. So the tipping ladder will not be up until around this time next week. Just having a small break, away from the game, in preparation for the finals. Looking forward to reading all the posts and scores when i am back.
Cheers,
DG

Sandra I thought Rupos ruckman was very good on Saturday, probably brought us back into the game.
Big week this week, I am hoping Therry do us a favour by beating OG after we gave them a chop out from relegation territory last week. ;)
OM I don't think YV will get done this week, but gee it'd be good for the Rupi if they did. OC is going to be one tough clash but I still think we can get over the line. Especially if Clarke, Monzell and big Dutchy fire up and get it going in the middle.
Cheers all, best of luck to all those playing this week.

First time poster.... Have spent the last 2 hours reading the posts from the beginning of the season. What a time waster! A terrific thread I have to say. The stats show it is the best ammo thread going around - great job by you uglie dermie getting it off the ground. Some really insightful footy people going around -like your posts DG Man.

Anyway, keep up the good work and look forward to being involved.

Chip & Gravy said:
I'm also a D1 footy lover, with some friends in the outer circle at Old Mentone. As for the umpire my suspicions do not lie with DG-Man, he is trying too hard not to give away which club he supports, and reports to...

I have just had yet another look and it seems he is not participating in the footy tips so I will name him: BomberCam. I overheard the exact same comment he posted on the weekend by the umpire.

Fancy a career in espionage?

I plead the 5th....but to avoid any controversy, have edited the original post, and reiterate that I do not have the inside running on any information whatsoever...

I also agree with some of the posters that this debate over the best player in the comp is not very helpful. From what I have seen, there are a lot of very good players in the comp, all for different reasons.

As a rupo supporter, I saw the youngest Bannister on the weekend (#5) for Therry. Probably the most dominant performance that I have seen this year from a player from the various games that i have watched. Standing behind the goals watching him was awesome - couldn't be stopped.

I am also a little worried about the feeling around this thread that rupo are quick and skillful, but lack a bit of toughness etc. Although rupo are small, they are, IMO, tough also. I know for a fact that several players (as happens in all clubs) have played with pretty significant injuries when they really should not have played (e.g., Monzell, West, Phillips, Webb). This is a culture thing, and has been there always. The captain Collins played the last 3/4 of last years grand final with a punctured lung and wound up in hospital.

Just my thoughts

kingbrown said:
A great discussion on the difference between seniors, reserves and U19's. At Rupo we have had a few players come from U19 and play reserves, these players have not been our cream U19 players, just middle of the road. These players are consistently in our best when playing reserves. The cream players from our section 1 side play seniors and acquit themselves very well probably middle of the road in the best, but sometimes in the best. Our U19 sect 1 side have players of equal ability to our seniors, but lack bodies even more so than our seniors. I have yet to see a reserves player get promoted and dominate, they contribute but certainly fall short of dominating. We have had quite a few u19 promoted who come close to dominating just falling short.
Did that make any sense?

Good to hear from someone who has watched this discussion take place.
Just a question or 2 open to all but would like to know the king's call.

Does the game style of the seniors effect how well the 19's and res. players go well they get the call up?

By starting a lets say a 19 on the ground don't you think this helps the nerves but not having to come into a moving game but starting and adds belonging confidence issues?

Others on the bench would not be feeling down about not starting if they were told why the kid was on, he would be off after 10 anyway for some feedback from the coah if we are talking development of young players?
Just thoughts...
P.S. Agree the thread is a cracker

Very quietish week this week guys - a little disappointing really.

Agree with comments re Bannister, young jet who will poll well in the B&F.

Thought I'd ask hopefully a couple of thought provoking questions on each team, just to see if their or opposition supporters/players can give a little feedback with just four rounds to go and some critical games coming back on these observations.

Old Carey

Just how much has the impact of Parton, Collins, Howgate, No 4 (James?) and Zander in the OC's hardness around the pill contributed to its improved form?
Are they the real deal now, a relatively complete outfit.
What are their other options up forward, or are they a little two dimensional with White and Parton as avenues to goal.

BT

Very experienced, how will they manage availability of younger guns with established players. Will this impact on the unity they seem to portray.
Also, will some of their older players be exposed on the bigger grounds (eg HAre, Matthews, Tulloch?
Could they be over confident against an Old Carey unit that appears to have a different hardness about it given their recent record

Old Geelong

A very talented, deep outfit, but can they be exposed due to their predictable game plan of squirting the ball backwards before delivering long?
Also wonder whether their defence perhaps doesn't have the manpower to shut down good quality forwards.
However, is its forward line with multiple avenues to goal - among the best if not the most dangerous in the comp perhaps?

I'll finish this off, work calls, had me thinking way too much!!!!

Love your feedback

Midas,

Love your work. Good post again. I think your comments are spot on in a lot of ways. Although Old Geelong can be made to look ordinary if enough pressure is applied around the ball, I think it will be difficult to apply sufficient pressure on a ground as big as that at Box Hill. Their options up forward will also worry any side, especially on a big ground.

Old Carey would have to be the team to beat. Agree that they have probably been found out for lacking hardness around the ball in the past, but that seems to have been sorted out with the inclusion of Parton, Collins and co. Basell in the ruck has seemingly made a huge difference for them, and I think he might be a bit of a Clarke Keating come finals time.

I think BT might struggle come finals, although they'll probably do what they did in D2 and make me look like a goose! I just don't think they have the depth of talent that Old Carey and Old Geelong have. Their talented players are either very young or getting a bit long in the tooth. I predict that the younger players might struggle to get in to it once the added intensity of finals arrives, and I can't imagine that the older stars will find it easy to run out a game come finals. Box Hill is a big ground!

Just my thoughts. Like I said, I'll probably be shown to be completely mistaken come finals time!

Midas said:
BT

Very experienced, how will they manage availability of younger guns with established players. Will this impact on the unity they seem to portray.
Also, will some of their older players be exposed on the bigger grounds (eg HAre, Matthews, Tulloch?
Could they be over confident against an Old Carey unit that appears to have a different hardness about it given their recent record

Love your feedback

These players are injury free and very fit. The will no doubt be looking forward to the rest of the season. Unbeaten this year when travelling away is probably evidence that the team is adaptable to different grounds/conditions.

BT are looking forward to playing any team, including the OC. They are not getting ahead of themselves because the best part of the season is still to unfold.

The OC might have a 'different hardness' but don't forget that not so long ago most critics agreed BT were the 'hardest'.

After watching Old Geelongs clinical display in the second half on the weekend, I would have to agree with Midas that they have many avenues to goal, and this is without playing the Hyphen out of the square. they will be a massive threat come finals, and will push for promotion

OC have played good footy all year apart from one or two hiccups. They are a very good side when they stick to there game plan, and will be hard to knock off. However they are 1 dimensional when going fwd so may get found out if they are to Parton focussed, and come finals time there will be a couple of players that can go with parton, so he'll be tightened up.

BT have come into there own, I haven't seen many of there games but have seen enough to suggest that they are playing more of a free flowing game than in the past, and with experience they will settle early in big matches.
:D

Also just quietly, I recall a post a while back from some Leos fans stating that they are the only team that can knock of BT! Leos are lucky if they stay in D1.

Midas said:
Very quietish week this week guys - a little disappointing really.

Agree with comments re Bannister, young jet who will poll well in the B&F.

Thought I'd ask hopefully a couple of thought provoking questions on each team, just to see if their or opposition supporters/players can give a little feedback with just four rounds to go and some critical games coming back on these observations.

Old Carey

Just how much has the impact of Parton, Collins, Howgate, No 4 (James?) and Zander in the OC's hardness around the pill contributed to its improved form?
Are they the real deal now, a relatively complete outfit.
What are their other options up forward, or are they a little two dimensional with White and Parton as avenues to goal.

BT

Old Geelong

A very talented, deep outfit, but can they be exposed due to their predictable game plan of squirting the ball backwards before delivering long?
Also wonder whether their defence perhaps doesn't have the manpower to shut down good quality forwards.
However, is its forward line with multiple avenues to goal - among the best if not the most dangerous in the comp perhaps?

I'll finish this off, work calls, had me thinking way too much!!!!

Love your feedback

Saw OC for the first time in a while on the weekend, and there were no doubts about their hardness. Always thought Parton was hard, however that with a few exceptions(Battle,Kent) they lacked this around the park. The side i saw on the weekend was very different.Ratcliffe, Zander, Barton, Howgate, Parker were all physically intimidating, and that is with T Bull missing.
Their main avenue to goal was neither white nor Parton, rather T Angus who has been playing 2's recently , but played very well on the weekend. White, Parton, Collins,Watts, Maslin, were all very dangerous, and provided multiple options for goal.
I think OC are beatable, however sides will have to do far more than shut down Parton, White and Collins. I think a big unit like BT or Yarra could beat them, however think most others will struggle.
Unkles was dominant in the ruck and Basell who looks very awkward was very effective in his hitouts, very rarely losing a tap, and often creating center taps. I would think sides will need to rotate rucks directly against this combination. They will need a high leaping athletic ruckman to counter Unkles, and a phsical body ruckman to counter Basell. Not easy, but BT may have that combo.

Team selection night for most i would gather. Any interesting inclusions or exclusions for the teams this week? I'll check back after dark. Heard whispers that after the 19's and res. talk early in the week some teams are testing some players before finals come round?

Chip & Gravy said:
After watching Old Geelongs clinical display in the second half on the weekend, I would have to agree with Midas that they have many avenues to goal, and this is without playing the Hyphen out of the square. they will be a massive threat come finals, and will push for promotion

OC have played good footy all year apart from one or two hiccups. They are a very good side when they stick to there game plan, and will be hard to knock off. However they are 1 dimensional when going fwd so may get found out if they are to Parton focussed, and come finals time there will be a couple of players that can go with parton, so he'll be tightened up.

BT have come into there own, I haven't seen many of there games but have seen enough to suggest that they are playing more of a free flowing game than in the past, and with experience they will settle early in big matches.
:D

Also just quietly, I recall a post a while back from some Leos fans stating that they are the only team that can knock of BT! Leos are lucky if they stay in D1.

Have been on this thread all year, and have been the only leos supporter chips and gravy. The only prediction - stuid as it was proven - is that we would beat OC. Nothing to do with BT.

Leo's won't be lucky to stay in D1, they will be in D1 next year - don't worry about that. While the year hasn't been what we would have hoped - we will avoid relegation. I would also add that there have been more dissapointing teams than us around.

As i head down to the Rupi for a few quiet ones, i'll put my tips in

Rumour has it Mischa Barton is heading down to the OC on Saturday. This will definitely favour the Rupi boys as there testosterone levels go through the roof. Rupi by 13pts
I'd love to tip Therry, however agree with Toohas, they did panic last week. Oh stuff it Therry by 6
I'd love to tip the animals, however a game after the OC is always hard to lift the following week, (just ask Rupo), oh stuff it the animals by 1/4 pt
Prahran have been very similar in their resurgence to the animals mid season improvement. Prahran by 22pts
BT v OM. BT too good, OM probably making sure good reserves player are finals eligible. Stuff it i'm that far behind i'll chase ILSS, OM by 3pts.

0/5 odds 2-1 1/5 odds evens 2/5 odds 3-1 3/5 odds 25-1 4/5 odds 330-1 5/5 odds 1000-1
Good luck on the weekend.

Around the ground: Rupo's Seniors reserves and Unders train together every night. The basic game plan is set through all sides, variations depend on structure and player changes. All coaches have a strong cohesive relationship and are all on the same wavelength. When appointing coaches this is an expectation. Under 19 players promoted almost always start on the ground and have plenty of game time, reserves players promoted do not seem to get that same treatment, they tend to struggle for game time and generally start on the bench. No player enjoys starting on the bench unfortunately it is the nature of our game. Our team is still learning that players are rotated on/off bench and generally do not like coming off.

The "King" i love it!!!

Half Back's Tips

St Leos V YV Leos by 36 points
OC V Rupo OC by 60+
Therry V OG Therry by 36points
Om's V BT BT by 60+
Prahran V Banyule Prahran by 10 points.

Cheers Half BACK

G'day all!!

Tips for this week:
St Leos 24 points
OC 28 points
Therry by 30 points
BT easily
Prahran 30 points.

Good Luck to all on the weekend...get a kick!!

Cheers