D GRADE: Give me something...

Great result for Bt Ugly. You know i dont think i've tipped them yet, so perhaps i should next week!!! Today Old Geelong were awesome. Our best is better than it was today, however you cannot for one minute take anything away from the performance of OG. Most impressive display we have encountered this year. The Therry boys and others may slightly feel vindicated by there comments about where Rupo is at, but i feel we will bounce back, it is a great test of our character and belief. This group is used to winning and know how to win. Smacka(coach) mentioned top sides dont lose two in a row, we have, so we have to get back on the track and work harder. Interesting Therry meets Yarra Valley next week which possibly promises to be a season defining match for both teams. Seen them both and to me would be a toss of the coin. The beers were only tasting OK tonight in spite of the OG after match fashion show!!!

Yarra Valley led Old Mentonians all day and despite some ordinary kicking for goal, managed to hang on for another close victory. Simon Yeo got best on for Yarra and Justin Costello was easily best for Old Mentonians in my opinion. Keem didn't kick a goal, but I'm sure we'll hear about him in the record again next week as apparently he is the only Yarra player that 'The Qwill' has heard of! The usual Beal/Basile matchup didn't eventuate with both players out and Old Mentonians had alot of familiar faces running around in their scooby doos. The win gives Yarra three on the trot now and it is definitely a massive game away to Therry the winner will move within a game of the top four, with Rupertswood playing Bulleen-Templestowe next week.

Rupertswood posters have been seen on other threads bagging other local clubs, trying to make themselves look good, now the other club is winning and beating good sides rupo have now lost 2 in a row. they should start worrying about themselves and obviously start concentrating on their football they are a good successful football club.
How do other clubs rate rupo are they arrogant, cocky, etc

They didn't seem too bad when we played against them. I wasn't playing on the day, but it was a game we felt we were in a strong position to win at 1/2 time and 3/4 time and we were very disappointed to lose (we've had a few very disappointing losses come to think of it!). Rupertswood looked very young and quick, they are good at capitalising on oppositon mistakes and efficient in front of goals. I think they've had a pretty good run with home games (their road trips have been against the lower teams on the ladder and the shorter trips for them like Therry and Banyule), so it will be interesting to see how they travel in the second half.

It's easy to fall into the trap of judging an entire club on the basis of one or two guys who post on the forum, but I thought Rupertswood were good hosts and the game was played in great spirit.

Toohas said:
It's easy to fall into the trap of judging an entire club on the basis of one or two guys who post on the forum, but I thought Rupertswood were good hosts and the game was played in great spirit.

right you are, it only takes a small minority to ruin something for a majority. Rumours are always started by 1 person, then they spread. Any other thoughts on rupo? What is the crowd behavior like when they are down?

The OM man made the journey down to como park to watch what i had hoped to be a close, competitive encounter. Sadly, what i was to see would be in contrast to my entire prediction.
The OG's were simply too good on the day. They ran hard, hit hard, ran through lines and kept up the yap all day. The 1% contribution was outstanding by the entire side. Rupo on the other hand looked flat and a bit shell shocked. After copping a decent spray off their coach at half time the boys from sunbury came out and fought hard in the 2nd half but to no avail. Old Geelong had the momentum and confidence was sky high, late goals by the OG's increased the scoreline out to a big loss.

On another note Old Geelong seem to play como park down to a T. They just know where to run and how to use the space efficiently. Have they been beaten there in the last 2 years?

Nice post old melburnian, if you were there you would have noticed the og's glamourous south yarra girls who come down for the game. Shocking game for Rupertswood down at Como, eyes were on the females i think. Geelong had them towelled up all day. Brilliant contest between Vickers willis and brennan all day. Rupertswood lacked pace all day, but did show glimpses of what they are capable of and should come good on the run home. Any news on the new recruits down at the bullants this week?

blues12 said:
right you are, it only takes a small minority to ruin something for a majority. Rumours are always started by 1 person, then they spread. Any other thoughts on rupo? What is the crowd behavior like when they are down?
We have fun down at rupo and a bit of banter between 2 sides is healthy (even if they arent in the same comp), something to write about instead of being serious all the time about football, who really cares about all the talk? All players and supporters are welcoming to other clubs.

blues12 said:
Rupertswood posters have been seen on other threads bagging other local clubs, trying to make themselves look good, now the other club is winning and beating good sides rupo have now lost 2 in a row. they should start worrying about themselves and obviously start concentrating on their football they are a good successful football club.
How do other clubs rate rupo are they arrogant, cocky, etc
No need for me to start on Rupo, but I must say I always do enjoy reading Sundays paper a little more when I see Rupo being given a flogging. Was at Therry -V- Banyule game yesterday and was a great hard tassle. Banyule play there ground perfectly, Therry were just to big and strong towards the end. They still have a few players to come back in. They were always going to be hard to beat on the day with Castaldi playing his 300th Senior Game............great effort, I am hoping to notch up double figures myself soon...........

Galloping:thumbsu:

Breaking News - DG scores 5/5 and races to the the lead in the tipping comp. If form continues, he will not have to take wallet on GF day as post game beers will be shouted for him. (This is assuming all D-Grade Forum boys wear name-tags revealing there true self) Or perhaps ILSS can come dressed in a blond wig and high heels and hook me a couple of brewskies!

Ladder:

DG-Man - 11

Is It So -10
MJS2 - 10
Moss Rocket - 10
St.Kevs Cowboy - 10

Henry - 9
UglyDermie - 9
Hansie - 9

Bullant - 8
Sideshowbob - 8
Bede Me Up - 8

OC37 - 7

Midas - 6
Kingbrown - 6
Mystery Dog - 6
Half Back - 6

OM28 -5
I Love SS - 5

John Cena - 4

Very Interesting weeks matches. DG went to Como and saw the OGS at full throttle. They will not lose at home this year. They are a very good side. They play the ground beautifully. Very disappointed with Rupo. They will have to face up to the rampaging bullants next week in a MUST WIN GAME. 3 losses in a row may just be enough to kill off there season.
D Grade pulls out so many weird results. Rupo whip OC, OC beat OGS, OGS whip Rupo and BT touch up the OC. All in 3 weeks!!!!

Next weeks games also look to be rippers. Rupo vs BT is the pick of the bunch. Can Rupo stop the slide back on home turf. Both losses have been away, and good teams don't lose on their home ground.

A win by the Bullants in Sunbury next week would be huge for the Ants. It would not only kill off a rival, but it may just place them in the top 2, and from there they would be very hard to move. Reports suggest that the BT have some handy new players and may be very strong come September.

Keep the posts coming!

BT pretty much out played OC for most of the game. Interesting to see Carey have a lot of new faces - Seemed to have turned over a heap of players from 2 years ago where BT still wheel out the old heads. Phil Hare continued his great form at Full Back and held Parton to 1 goal (which was from a down field) and Williams did the job again for BT at CHF.

Corrected Ladder:

DG-Man - 11

Is It So -10
MJS2 - 10
Moss Rocket - 10
St.Kevs Cowboy - 10

Henry - 9
UglyDermie - 9
Hansie - 9

Bullant - 8
Sideshowbob - 8
Bede Me Up - 8
Midas - 8

OC37 - 7

Kingbrown - 6
Mystery Dog - 6
Half Back - 6

OM28 -5
I Love SS - 5

John Cena - 4

Sorry Midas, you were 4/5 this week. And are on 8. I had you down for 2/5 as i stuck down SSBobs 2/5 agsainst you. Well spotted. DG-Man needs to concentrate harder and watch less soccer. A little snoozy this morning.

BT v OC
BT were too hard at it for carey! Every contested ball went the way of the ants and that is what will help them get over the line against rupo this week. BT travel extremely well and have not lost an away game yet. Very tight knit bunch of blokes who play for each other. Carey are to reliant on to few, parton, collins (doesn't man up), angus, tirris. They do have a couple out which im sure will help. They will still finish in the top 2-3 because the players they do rely on are classy and match winners. The top four wont change, only the order in which they finish.
Not much being said about prahran! Relegation for sure, terrible result for a team that finished third last year.
Premiership is up for the taking!

No. 65 (I think) for OC does not like the push and shove from opposition. Saw him kick chivers after a bit of a tussel, very lucky both umpires missed it.

Good win by the Ants, we certainly played well below our best, however take nothing away from a fired Bulleen-Temp. Thouroughly deserved their win. Definitely their guns - Wise, Matthews, Chivers all fired, and while Dolly worked his ring off it wasn't enough to get us over the line.

IMHO the 4 won't change - maybe just positions. OGS, Rupo and BT the best I've seen this year so far other than us.

Ugly/Bullant10 - I trust it is safe to assume by your sensible comments here that neither of you blokes were the 2 guys Kanga felt a need to have words to after the match? Guys like that clubs do not need!

Was there a major reaction from Chivers / BT to this kick?? Never good to see this type of activity on the footy field.
Any news from the OC camp re the game? Moss, OC, Hansie??? On paper it looks a little disappointing!!
An insider has told me that the OC will be welcoming back between 8-10 of their better players in coming weeks. Are these guys match fit? Have they been playing ressies, or are they coming back from injury / OS etc.?

hansie said:
Ugly/Bullant10 - I trust it is safe to assume by your sensible comments here that neither of you blokes were the 2 guys Kanga felt a need to have words to after the match? Guys like that clubs do not need!

Definately not, first i have heard of it actually. I spoke to kanga after the game and he didn't metion it. Was it a player or spectator??
Disappointing to hear that kind of stuff though.

Approaching the half way mark any early ideas for team of the year. This should get some heads thinking.
Parton, chivers, are a must!:thumbsu:

I find it hard to believe the OC can bring back 8-10 of their better players. But if so, would this boost them upto flag favourites again?
OG's, surely these guys have to be recognised as the potential powerhouse of D1. Reports from the weekend's game has informed me that it was their best footy for the year. (And no i dont think they have been beaten at como in a long time).
Bullants, we were told they were only going to improve and maybe OC's should've listened.
Rupo, well i just dont know what to say. 6-0 looking very comfortable, then dropping 2 games both by big margins.

Huge game this week up in sunbury, tempted to watch as other matches appear to have a 1 sided outcome.

Ugly/Bullant10 - I trust it is safe to assume by your sensible comments here that neither of you blokes were the 2 guys Kanga felt a need to have words to after the match? Guys like that clubs do not need![/quote]

Yeah, every game has a few ordinary people supporting it. A one off like this should never be taken as a norm for what happens at a certain club. From earlier postings, it seems that BT and the OC have a fierce, but respectful rivalry. They jumped a grade together, and now are fighting it out to go up another grade. I was at Rupo earlier in the year and there were 3-4 blokes standing 10 metres LHS of the scoreboard in the pocket who thought it was funny to spend 120 minutes hurling out disgusting abuse. They even had kids, and i looked up at them and shook my head in dismay. I was tempted to say something about their language in front of their own kids, but thought i better not risk it. Certainly didn't make me think less of Rupo as a club, as i am sure they cringe every 2nd week at these fools.

OG will either end up the fittest in the competition or run out of legs by the end of the year if they keep the same timekeeper. The game finished at 4:56, the second quarter went for 40mins, the whole game duration was around 140mins with the shortest quarter 32mins. We had a timekeeper, one of our injured guns, however i think the OG guy controlled the deal. OG kicked 6 goals in the last 10 minutes to make it a real drubbing. DG, we were disappointing however you have seen both sides of Rupo, can be very good and not so good. We certainly dont have the bodies of many of the clubs, and it will be interesting to see how there young bodies hold up. Og had the whole package, no doubt, but last year we became more and more competitive as the year rolled on against them. It's very disappointing to hear the crowd behaviour as DG described at Rupo against OC, definitely would be considered unacceptable.

BlueBoys88 said:
I find it hard to believe the OC can bring back 8-10 of their better players. But if so, would this boost them upto flag favourites again?
OG's, surely these guys have to be recognised as the potential powerhouse of D1. Reports from the weekend's game has informed me that it was their best footy for the year. (And no i dont think they have been beaten at como in a long time).
Bullants, we were told they were only going to improve and maybe OC's should've listened.
Rupo, well i just dont know what to say. 6-0 looking very comfortable, then dropping 2 games both by big margins.

Huge game this week up in sunbury, tempted to watch as other matches appear to have a 1 sided outcome.

Solid post!

I tend to agree with you a little on OC outs. I have only heard 2nd hand this info, and believe that if players come back in second half of the season, who's to say they will have the touch and fitness to make the senior side. I don't really know many names, have just heard that there are a heap coming in. We will wait and see.
OGS are on fire. As i said earlier, they will not lose at home, and i think with their amazing depth (Ressies are undefeated with a cricket score %) they have the side and the back up to go all the way. They have beaten Rupo easily, comfortably beat BT (but it was rd 1, and BT have improved) and only just lost to the OC away. They have every right to be claimed favouries with 1's and 2's on top of the ladder! Go OGS!
BT are looking great. I don't think the OC didn't listen. They have been beaten by BT on a few important occasions recently and could not possibly have gone in against them AWAY, giving them anything but total respect.
Rupo, this week is crunch time. We will know more about them after the big game with BT.

I might put in my tips early. As leader, it may help you chasing guys out a little:cool:

Leos at home against the OGS. Looking for 3 in a row. Trying to build momentum and avoid relegation. OGS would not want to take this lightly. Certaqinly not as 1 sided as ladder positions would have you think!!
OGS by 16 points

OC welcome the Bears to Bulleen. Banyule not without a chance. I think if the conditions are wet and heavy, this may be closer than some think. But on the Main at Bulleen, which the OC play well, OC by 30pts.

Therry vs YV. One of these early strugglers will be 5-4 at ttghe half way mark and ready to pounce on any faltering leaders. Am yet to see anything from YV away from there own patch for the better sides to worry about. Until they can perform away, i won't be tipping them. Therry by 50pts

OM's vs Prahran. This could get ugly at Keysborough. OM's by 75pts.

And in the big one, the desperate Rupo angainst the impressive Ants. While BT's form away has been outstanding, so too are Rupo undefeated on there patch. Someone will have to lose there 100% strike rate this week. In what should be a ripper, i just can't see ILSS being pantsed 3 weeks in a row!!! Rupo by 18 points

Looking forward to another 5/5!

bullant10 said:
Definately not, first i have heard of it actually. I spoke to kanga after the game and he didn't metion it. Was it a player or spectator??
Disappointing to hear that kind of stuff though.

Approaching the half way mark any early ideas for team of the year. This should get some heads thinking.
Parton, chivers, are a must!:thumbsu:

Ant, it was 2 spectators standing right near the players' gates. One guy was fairly large with a beanie and a big Liverpool anorak on, and his mate in a Lonsdale tracky. I played in the 2's and didn't recognise them as having played in the early game. Kanga wasn't threatening or anything, I think he might have just been making a few polite points.

As for fallout from the game, I notice that we hadn't posted any best players on the VAFA site earlier today, that could say something! Will be an interesting night on the track tomorrow to say the least - may have more then.

As for players to come back, we do have a few. Tommy Howgate, Jogga White, Pete Busse the mainstays plus a few others that I'd rather keep to myself ATM...you guys will find out about 'em soon enough!

Team of the year? Dolly for sure, and I'd put up Steve Collo and maybe Laurence Basell as possible Carey inclusions. Busse has been handy down back when fit, and Tommy Howgate was a solid contributor before he got suspended...

Cheers lads,

Parton, chivers, are a must!:thumbsu:[/quote]

I'll throw a few names in:

Chivers, Williams, Burridge - BT
O'Brien, Casboult, Bayles, McCarthy - OGS
Parton, Zander, S.Collins - OC
Tsingaris, Demetriou - Bears
A. Palmer, Twentymen - OM's
Drew, Britt - YV

Who have been Rupo's best. Leos and Prahran had any good players in disappointing seasons?
Any Therry names spring to mind??