D2 Ammos

Re: Griffens!

Gday lads,

I used to play for Salesian Old Collegians in the D2s a couple of years ago, mostly reserves but bobbed up for a couple of A grade games! I moved for work, so had to leave the club and have lost touch with most of the boys out there...... does Johnny Nannes, Oldy, Simon Sutherland, Azza, Razza and Col still play out there and are they getting a kick? Anyone on this board from the Griffens that can fill me in on the whats been happening?

Cheers! :thumbsu:

Coach don't think you can leave out DenBraber and perhaps Jess of Aquinas either in your odds tally, maybe I'm biast but they both have had a very consistent year... Taylor certain fav though

Updated D2 B&F?

C.Taylor (Wil) $3.00
C.Hunter (Iva) $3.80
S.Dyason (GE) $4.00
S.Pruscino (LaT) $5.00
S.Payze (Pen) $5.00
D.Den Braber (Aqu) $6.50
P.Holden (Oak) $7.00
I.Bobetic (Sal) $9.00

Any one else we feel could be a chance & are we happy with the odds?

Coach Hollywood said:
Updated D2 B&F?

C.Taylor (Wil) $3.00
C.Hunter (Iva) $3.80
S.Dyason (GE) $4.00
S.Pruscino (LaT) $5.00
S.Payze (Pen) $5.00
D.Den Braber (Aqu) $6.50
P.Holden (Oak) $7.00
I.Bobetic (Sal) $9.00

Any one else we feel could be a chance & are we happy with the odds?

yeah pretty happy coach :thumbsu: , maybe murphy from peninsula ? i doubt he will win it but would probably poll a few votes ? tails for me though to win.

What do you make of the weekends games boys ? favourites, key's to side and a tip would be good ? Pest say something :thumbsu:

Oakleigh to beat Peninsula by 4 points but Payze with 5 goals and will miss the winning kick!!!
Aquinas to beat Salesian, Bobby Moran to also miss the goal but to win!!!

Best on in both games will be a roughy but Leigh for Aquinas in their game and Holden for Oakleigh.

I guess Dyason can't win seeing he isn't even highest vote getter at his club?

Aquinas - DenBraber
Ivanhoe - Hunter
Williamstown - Taylor
Werribee - Taylor
Salesian - Oldfield
St Johns - Arnold
Peninsula - Payze
LaTrobe - McMullan
Oakleigh - Bromley
Glen Eira - Tsirogiannis

No real suprises, except for McMullan but maybe 6-7 votes from the bottom side could highest?

Taylor still favourite, Bromley roughie!

Coach Hollywood said:
I guess Dyason can't win seeing he isn't even highest vote getter at his club?

Aquinas - DenBraber
Ivanhoe - Hunter
Williamstown - Taylor
Werribee - Taylor
Salesian - Oldfield
St Johns - Arnold
Peninsula - Payze
LaTrobe - McMullan
Oakleigh - Bromley
Glen Eira - Tsirogiannis

No real suprises, except for McMullan but maybe 6-7 votes from the bottom side could highest?

Taylor still favourite, Bromley roughie!

I will stick with taylor from willi to win from Payze, a roughie could be oldfield.

streetball said:
I will stick with taylor from willi to win from Payze, a roughie could be oldfield.

Werribee's B&F winners were
1. Nathan Addamo
2. Luke Carson
3. Aaron Taylor

The third place getter is the one you have mentioned Coach. Probably would have taken the most marks in the comp this year.

GaryBaldi said:
Werribee's B&F winners were
1. Nathan Addamo
2. Luke Carson
3. Aaron Taylor

The third place getter is the one you have mentioned Coach. Probably would have taken the most marks in the comp this year.

What happened to Werribee this year Gary? After playing them last year I thought they were clearly the best team we (Old Westbourne) played and were going to take D2 by storm. Have you guys lost players? passion? a bit of both?

Also, any truth to the rumour that you might be fielding two U/19 teams next year?

Is it true also that whoever coaches next year will merely be a caretaker till 2008 when Kirk Norton takes over?

Coach Hollywood said:
He had longish wavey hair, played CHB and took a heap of marks. He played on our CHF who was number 19. Obviously he wasn't number 27 then?

Thanks Baldi, Yeah the above comment in June was in regards to Taylor, he polled most comp votes for you guys also, so a pretty good year for him. He played well both times against us!

Sloth I expect your B&F results tomorrow as your count is rumoured to be on tonight? Dyason, Tsirogiannis, Clements top 3?

Coach Hollywood said:
Sloth I expect your B&F results tomorrow as your count is rumoured to be on tonight? Dyason, Tsirogiannis, Clements top 3?

Massis perhaps ? would be interesting though to see the end result @ the Glen Eira b&f.

Tips/Previews for the 2 finals ?

Oakleigh by 6 points. if shaun payze kicks a few along with Coglan they could change that result, although they can't be to payze conscience as Oakleigh will try and get numbers back. Tim Madder is young and could be suited to central over Harry McDonald, his run and carry will be important. If Oakleigh's onballers get on top will decide much. Browley is a finals performer who thrives on games such as this week, will be influential.

Salesian by 1 point, although if Aquinas can intimidate some of Salesian's younger players and win clearences along with the contested footy it could see Salesian's season over, however the run and dash of those kids could run over Aquinas. The two regular season games resulted in them being split so it could go either way.

Tibb hasn't played for a while but hopefully he will get up, he is a key along with the likes of denbraber, whitehead and Glassborror.For Salesians i think they will rely a lot on the playing coach michael hazell who would be the standout player in the comp and veterans such as oldfield, nannes and bobetic.

Thoughts ? cheers :thumbsu:

Coach Hollywood said:

Hey CH

Yeah pretty close to that mate. It was a tie between Scott Diamond and Steve Dyason followed by Alex Tsirogiannis in third place. The voting went right down to the wire with the last vote cast ensuring the tie.

Are you going to see some D3 finals to start your prep for next year ? (This isn't a sledge just wondering :) )

Cheers,
RFS

Old Warrior said:
What happened to Werribee this year Gary? After playing them last year I thought they were clearly the best team we (Old Westbourne) played and were going to take D2 by storm. Have you guys lost players? passion? a bit of both?

Also, any truth to the rumour that you might be fielding two U/19 teams next year?

Is it true also that whoever coaches next year will merely be a caretaker till 2008 when Kirk Norton takes over?

We had a lot of injuries this year. Seniors ended up with 18 fit players in the last game. Bit of passion has left but things have been put in place to try and bring that around next season. There are already a few players from other Amateur teams that might be coming to the area next year that could bolster the line up and help the younger guys. Also first year under a new coach. Different playing styles, takes time.

Under 19's will try and make a comeback next year seeing we have 65 players on the list in under 18's this year. We need that stepping stone.

I've known Kirk for years and there is nothing coming out that he will coach seniors in a couple of years time. He is a good bloke and relates well to the juniors.

Coach Hollywood said:
Thanks Baldi, Yeah the above comment in June was in regards to Taylor, he polled most comp votes for you guys also, so a pretty good year for him. He played well both times against us!

He is first year out of 18's and looking at doing pre-season in the VFL along with Cam Lee. Both represented VIC U19's in QLD. Could be a future captain at the club if he hangs around.

Sean Payze paying $1.90 for most goals in tomorrow's second semi according to the guy in the record.

I would like to get some money on that

Krusty said:
Sean Payze paying $1.90 for most goals in tomorrow's second semi according to the guy in the record.

I would like to get some money on that

How much is he paying to be knocked out?
I'd expect Oakleigh to be going after him?

My tips for tomorrow are:

Oakleigh 13-24 points
Aquinas 1-12 points

Coach Hollywood said:
How much is he paying to be knocked out?
I'd expect Oakleigh to be going after him?

My tips for tomorrow are:

Oakleigh 13-24 points
Aquinas 1-12 points

You are not Sportsbet Coach, no margin betting here. Have a stab.
POBS by 6 goals
Not Aquinas, the other mob by 16point

HotShoeShuffle said:
You are not Sportsbet Coach, no margin betting here. Have a stab.
POBS by 6 goals
Not Aquinas, the other mob by 16point

What are the line margins then Krusty?

How's Oakleigh 22, Aquinas 10?

Well Done to Peninsula finally making it to D1, but how will they go this weekend? For some reason they played on Sunday and will only have 6 day rest compared to Oakleigh's 14 days, so therefore I'll be sticking with Oakleigh.
Any other tips guys? T.O.T.Y should be out this week also.

Coach Hollywood said:
Well Done to Peninsula finally making it to D1, but how will they go this weekend? For some reason they played on Sunday and will only have 6 day rest compared to Oakleigh's 14 days, so therefore I'll be sticking with Oakleigh.
Any other tips guys? T.O.T.Y should be out this week also.

coach who is TOTY ??

Rumour has it that Paul Beddoe has not been reappointed for Werribee for next year, can anyone confirm this, were the committee not happy with his coaching after winning 8 games in their first year in D2.

Any other Coaching movements to be announced I have noticed St Leos, Glen Eira and Banyule all have ads in.