D2 Ammos

There is no bad blood between us and Glen Eira, quite the opposite, we have a number of guys that know a fair few of the Glen Eira boys. Will be played in good spirits, no reports will come out of the game.
Glen Eira are actually a CBC St Kilda old boys team and we have about 10 ex CBC guys playing for us.
ur lucky we have 32 injured players at the momoent,cos both ur 1's and 2's were shit,most of our 2's were in the 1's,and if it wasnt for dodgy decisions we would have won,look out for numb 59 next time u play GE,easily the toughest/madest player in this comp...

As reserves coach of SMD this season I have written to Jono to try to explain how damageing his comments could be in regards to the tribunal.
We know too well that our reputation isn't the greatest but Gez, Earl and I are doing our best to improve our standing with the VAFA and competitor clubs while maintaining the hardness South Melbourne sides are renowned for.

I look forward to a hard fought, fair contest with GE tomorrow and hope many of the GE boys stick around for a bevy or 4 after the game.

Good Luck to all clubs tomorrow, the weather will definately even things out, I may even be able to get a kick myself! Betting on rainy days is frought with danger so I'll leave the wallet at home this week.
it was a very average game to watch and im sure you know how many injuries we have,32 all up cant wait for the rematch..

Not sure who you are Stooge, but I thought it was a great game yesterday and South Melbourne deserved to win as they played better. I look forward to the return game at Packer when we hopefully have a close to full list. Congratulations to South Melbourne on a well derserved win and for their hospitality after the game.

so you would have roughly 75 players on your list ????? no wonder you cant wait for the rematch you can sit on the sidelines sipping cans all day !!!!!!!

It was actually 30 players out, of which 8 would definitely play in the ones, including our captain as well as our 2006 B&F Ruckman.

I think we have had 8 guys do hammys in the past 3 weeks.

i'm sure every club is suffering from injury worries at the moment GE Saint, although 30 players out sounds a bit extreme.

what i'd like to hear is what went down out in Doveton yesterday? supposed flag contenders Banyule going down to St Johns after a 6 goal to nil last quarter from the home side! a massive win for the Jocs who may not be the relegation fodder many are tipping them to be. anyone from either of the clubs able to offer an insight?

With Salesian and the Willy CYs registering big wins, D2 is looking like an incresingly open competition.

It was actually 30 players out, of which 8 would definitely play in the ones, including our captain as well as our 2006 B&F Ruckman.

I think we have had 8 guys do hammys in the past 3 weeks.
thats stiff mate no one wants to hear of that and if thats the case you guys have worse luck then st kilda

a good day for the jocs on saturday -- espically the second half. i believe we kicked 12 of the last 13 to really run all over the banuyle lads. we played pretty good footy in the second half, whilst to be fair to banuyle - they seemed to be struggling with injury. They had some quality forwards but after the main break we won the contested footy in the middle & ran away with it.

If i had one request it would be that some of you keep pumping up your own clubs & keep getting stuck into the jocs.

We have st leos this week & really have no idea what & who to look for. Any generally gossip / info would be great.

Cheers to a really even grade, it is good for the comp.

If i had one request it would be that some of you keep pumping up your own clubs & keep getting stuck into the jocs.

Only get stuck in cause not much really talked about jocs this year! Only things you do hear are negative such as playing/trining conditions out their and loss of a few players.

Wins like Saturdays will get people standing and looking up at you. Well done to both you and Willi for making D2 again one of the closest grades in the ammos.

It is unusually quiet on the forum today. Especially considering the results this weekend.

Congrats to st.johns, aquinas, willy and salesian. Some unexpected wins considering the banter around this place

Glen Eira were stiff. Probably the better team on the day, and considering the amount, i have now learned, they had out; south should consider themselves very lucky.

I have been hanging out for tiger -amos version of the weekends events but for some reason i dont think it will be forthcoming to soon. If anyone else there could let us know how the match went down, that would be super.

Looks like the tigers are licking their wounds. I bet if they had of got up we would of had a blow by blow description of the game by now.

Maybe they got stuck in traffic on the way home?? Alot of shit goes that way!!

Glen Eira were stiff. Probably the better team on the day, and considering the amount, i have now learned, they had out; south should consider themselves very lucky.
quote]

I dont think we should consider ourselves lucky at all. You can only play who the opposition fields, who cares who is out and all that, everyone has players out thats football. Yes Glen Eira looked like they would win even at 3 quarter time, but football is a 4 quarter game and to our credit we never gave in.
And i know for a fact that Glen Eira were not missing to many from there best side, as i was speaking to there captain before and after the game.
On another topic how fantastic is it to see a comp that is so even, try picking the final 4, good luck!!! wait the final 3 cause Werribee are monty's!!

It is unusually quiet on the forum today. Especially considering the results this weekend.

Congrats to st.johns, aquinas, willy and salesian. Some unexpected wins considering the banter around this place

From a werribee point of view were very dissapointed on saturdays effort. it was a Very scrappy game down at Aquinas, very windy and whoever said Aquinas ground was in good condition was wrong pot holes all over it. neway back to the game, very even contest all day untill a 15 minute period during the 3rd qaurter where Aquinas got out to a handy lead, werribee had there chances in the last but kicking 2 goals 8 isnt good enough, werribee also lost 2 key players throughout the game which were both midfielders so it was hard to rotate through the midfield. Aquinas flag favorites i wouldnt say that. i think any side could win the flag, it just gonna be who clicks on the day. as we saw on the weekend there were wins to some sides that we thought would struggle this year. I exspect werribee to bounce back at home this week against an inform south melbourne. cheers !

It was good to meet Sloth and the GE gang after the games on Saturday. Many of whom were still buying drinks and enjoying our balcony well into the evening. Cheers boys!:thumbsu:

As for the games, South's reserves showed some real fight to notch up a handy win with only 17 players from early in the 2nd quarter. (for those interested, our captain Jase Pohlner who was taken away in the back of the ambo is back at home and fine after his little sleep at CHF)

I only saw the last quarter and a half of the ones and saw a great comeback victory for the bloods.

It sets up a huge weekend down at Soldiers this week against the highly rated Tigers, I'm hoping to get some players back into the reserves line up so I can spend my day downing a few of the highly rated hot dogs!

SOUTH MELBOURNE DISTRICTS
Goal Kickers: P. Cheevers 3, D. McBrearty 2, S. Aquilina, S. Mahoney, M. Black, L. Niemi
Best Players: S. Atherton, M. Costello, L. Kealy, O. Kohnesheen, C. Batchelor, S. Mahoney

Is my boy back in town?

Goal Kickers: P. Cheevers 3, D. McBrearty 2, S. Aquilina, S. Mahoney, M. Black, L. Niemi
Best Players: S. Atherton, M. Costello, L. Kealy, O. Kohnesheen, C. Batchelor, S. Mahoney

Good stuff 'stricts! Little Tap was a bit of a handful :)mad: ) on saturday, otherwise I'd have been down there. Never fear- I'll be back.:D

Is my boy back in town?

Just ask him...the term single-handedly comes to mind.

In all seriousness he, along with 21 other south boys pulled their finger out and worked well to get a hard fought comeback victory.

Sammy Atherton is the man though. Third back up ruckman moving into a defensive role at the start of the year has stamped himself as the SMD ruckman early on in the season with some gritty performances. Deserved all 6 of the beers he got for BOG.

Looks like the tigers are licking their wounds. I bet if they had of got up we would of had a blow by blow description of the game by now.

Maybe they got stuck in traffic on the way home?? Alot of shit goes that way!!

Very amusing.

Now, if the drought keeps up, you'll be drinking that crap, albeit the purified version.

The districts just keep moving along nicely, good to see a promoted side start so well, Aquinas in my opinion still be the team to beat though, i think that tibba and a few young boys from the 19s will get better with more matches.

Good to see Salesian have a win, with young guns Keally and Morello play well. St John's will upset a few teams this year. Is wheeler coming back at all this year to play ?:thumbsu:

Great feeling to be on the score-sheet with a win. The Bentleigh oval is in superb nick, even after last week's rain.

hay buddy your the f**ken idiot fish is the weak c**t. the only spanner thats been used in the shed is the one that you and fishie use in bed. at least cunningham had the balls too accept the two weeks not like fishie lieing f**k. vafa should have a like at its self you watch the dirty c**ts like fish and black mamba

I didn't realise they let Primary School kids use this forum. I can only assume your still in Primary school with your pathetic excuse of a response!:thumbsdown:

Do your parents know what your doing?

mate ur a spanner.. get ur facts straight.. the bloke who kicked 4.4 will be playing this week.. but his brother who was only defending himself against the frustrated old man wont be playing.. i saw the incident and its a discrace fishlock got off.. his view was blocked of his man and he cracked it and elbow m.cunningham in the chops.. as any man would cunningham stuck up for himself.. he is the bigger man here knowing he did strike fishcock and took the 2.. fishcock goes to the tribunal and lies.. clearly lies.. if he told the truth he'd be running water this week..sounds like u had a few beers in you while enjoying ur banter and u have no idea what you are talking about..

Hey lets give Cunningham a big round of applause and a nobel prize for being so honourable. You peanut!

I have already had this conversation stating that I got the wrong Cunningham. Maybe you couldn't read it. Shall I write it in crayon for you next time?

Hey lets give Cunningham a big round of applause and a nobel prize for being so honourable. You peanut!

I have already had this conversation stating that I got the wrong Cunningham. Maybe you couldn't read it. Shall I write it in crayon for you next time?

Gee Cockroach, your really getting into this aren't you. If you can be bothered going over to your little bucket of crayons can you write it for me in electric blue please. Always been a favourite.

Harper I've already heard that the canteen maybe putting a few more hotdogs on this weekend for your upcoming visit.