D2 Ammos

Anyway, I got myself up, shook it off, and looked over at the big fella who did it....and he was in pain and struggling to breathe.......so, NO, it wasn't quite textbook....seeing as:-
a) It was a cheap shot behind the play
b) I was half the guy's size
and
c) He ended up worse than me
quote]

I remember the BUMP which is what it was, ball was in play, just because tiny is huge doesnt mean he cant go after smaller players. Everyone who enters the playing arena is fair game regardless of size.
He is one of the most placid people going around so i doubt he would go cheap shots. So to say its cheap becuase of the points you mentions b and c is stupid.

Funny you say that harps... I know which incident you're talking about as well...
but do you remember what he said after he did it???

"You bastards did it as well....You set the standard"

Which was 100% true, because just moments earlier I was absolutely crunched by that massive #28....elbow to the head, after I'd tapped the ball to a teammate....making it completely behind play...

While face down on the ground I heard someone from the South crowd yell out, "Yeah...That's how you clean someone up"
.....really swell people you have down there....

Anyway, I got myself up, shook it off, and looked over at the big fella who did it....and he was in pain and struggling to breathe.......so, NO, it wasn't quite textbook....seeing as:-
a) It was a cheap shot behind the play
b) I was half the guy's size
and
c) He ended up worse than me

Point is, your boys aren't all sweet and innocent (as everyone knows)...and if you're gonna go around giving out cheap shots like that, then you should expect some back, from any team you play.

Credit to #28 though, because despite some pushing, shoving and yapping between us after that incident....once the final siren went he came up to me and said,
"We'll leave it on the footy field mate???"

My thoughts exactly....

You're my hero BlackMamba. Does the Bentleigh canteen have some patches of you I can buy to put on my duffle coat!

Anyway its time to get away from complaining about goal umpires decisions and incidents that have may have been off or on the ball. I think its time for everyone to come up with a team of the year include the coach ! I am thinking Maaskant from Aquinas would have to be one of the first picked in most sides with Robbo at Bentleigh another certain starter. As mentioned in a previous post his hands are super :thumbsu:. The FF spot could cause some headaches with Sharp, Vamvakas and Gayfer all pointing their hands up ! Other players to impress the Sloth this year so far has been Baranello was very good on the weekend for the Animals. Taylor for Willi is a quality player and so are Lee brothers from Werribee. Also Callum Pattie was good for the Jocs when we played them. Mick Hazell at Salesian still has plenty of class when he has the footy. Cheevers has been good player all year for SMD. So boys (and girls :confused:) its time to put fingers to keyboards and construct your team !

Sloth out.

What about Omaid Kohnesheen? He would be in your best 22

Have to agree...

But I think the biggest plus for SMD has been the return of Jess and Washington in the last few weeks... just adds so much extra flexibility to their side, not to mention experience (very valuable come finals).

Can anyone from SMD say if those two were set to peak for finals, or did it just work out that way???

Black "I don't feel safe" mamba - you're unable to leave it on the field. Looking back on your posts it's clear that you love a winge.

Why not point out the SMD player that stopped to see if a Dees player was OK after he went down in a marking contest? Stop your sooking and enjoy the game. Next thing you'll be wanting big blokes to wear padding.

Bring on finals, good footy and good sportsmanship.

(and girls :confused:) its time to put fingers to keyboards and construct your team !

Sloth out.

Ok here goes

B Maascant Clements Selby
HBF Tsirogiannis Atherton Braddy
C Robertson P Baranello N Renoult
HF Cheevers Box Costello
F C Lee Sharp Beluszar
IC Gayfer Mahoney Hazell Pattie
R Ballard Toomey Den Braber

Not the easiest task

Ok here goes

HF Cheevers Box Costello
F C Lee Sharp Beluszar

Not the easiest task

Other names I couldnt fit yet - Whitehead, Tibb, Glassborrow, Bracchi, Banyule's ruckman, Patty Dunne, Morsello, Taylor

Thats a very good start Drifter - love your work. I would suggest you would be quite knowlegable on this, as well.

I remember the BUMP which is what it was
Head high mate....I can tell you that for sure...

ball was in play
If so, borderline 'in-play'.....I remember jumping up, tapping it, landing, and then getting hit....

just because tiny is huge doesnt mean he cant go after smaller players. Everyone who enters the playing arena is fair game regardless of size.
Never said he couldn't, but he should atleast do it fairly...

Why not point out the SMD player that stopped to see if a Dees player was OK after he went down in a marking contest?
Didn't notice it, but good on him....
I appreciated it went Aqua helped me out after flying over the fence....
Doesn't hurt to have people like that in football....

Stop your sooking and enjoy the game.
It was harps doing the sooking in the first place....I just pointed out that if you're gonna give a bit, expect to get a bit back....
It's not a one way street espresso....your guys did as many cheap shots as our guys....

It was harps doing the sooking in the first place....I just pointed out that if you're gonna give a bit, expect to get a bit back....
It's not a one way street espresso....your guys did as many cheap shots as our guys....

Maybe so, but all of our players can kick further than 35 metres....ha,ha,ha!

The cheap shot #2 threw did nothing but make the whole 3 quarter time huddle laugh. Gotta love the kids spirit even if it is misplaced.

Maybe so, but all of our players can kick further than 35 metres....ha,ha,ha!

The cheap shot #2 threw did nothing but make the whole 3 quarter time huddle laugh. Gotta love the kids spirit even if it is misplaced.

Fair enough harp's... however, being at the game, i must acknowledge the rest of it was a pretty fair tussel, even though the score doesnt account for much, i always saw both sides attacking the footy as hard as each other, however the real stand out you blokes had was your speed, strength over head and kicking at goal!

Good luck for finals fella's!

he got plenty of it on the weekend,shut down the fat bloke bloke at full forward and set up numerous goals as he does each week,not a bad player for an old bloke...

You are just lucky No.9 was there to help mop up your mess. Just like he was on Saturday night.

Ok here goes

HF Cheevers Box Costello
F C Lee Sharp Beluszar

Not the easiest task
Agree that it is a difficult task but here goes (Had to guess for FB):

B: Tsigoriannis (GE) Hynes (Will) O'Connor (JOCS)
HB: Maascant (Aq) Brown (Ban) Baranello (St Leos)
C: Mahoney (SMD) Toomey (Aq) Renault (Werr)
HF: Costelloe (SMD) Hannan (SMD) Robertson (Bent)
F: C Lee (Werr) Lee (Will) Sharp (Bent)
Foll: Bracchi (SMD) Cheevers (SMD) Den Braber (Aq)
Int: Beluszar (St Leos), Lawry (Bent), Pattie (JOCS), Singh (Sal), Palmington (Werr)

Can anyone from SMD say if those two were set to peak for finals, or did it just work out that way???

It was the way it worked out. We are so lucky to have these 2 peaking at finals time. Gerard Jess would have the best hands i have seen below his feet. It's biased but i think when fully fit best player in the comp. He has speed, strength, hardness, skill, endurance, footy smarts....look he has it all. Absolute freak.

FB: Massis (GE) An.Williams (AQ) Masskant (AQ)
HB: Tibb (AQU) A.Ray (SM) Glendenning (SM)
C: Taylor (WIL) Cheevers (SM) Palmington (WER)
HF: Pattie (STJ) Mallett (SAL) Costello (SM)
FF: T Lee (WER) Gayfer (BAN) C Lee (WER)
R: Bracchi (SM) Robertson (BEN) Baranello (STL)
I/C: Norton (WER) C Sharp (BEN) Vamvakas (GE) Dunne (SAL)

Tough task, but I have seen all teams this year and have chosen a couple who have not featured heavily in the stats (always the backmen) but who are clealy their team's 'shut down' players (Williams, Glendenning, Ray).

It was the way it worked out. We are so lucky to have these 2 peaking at finals time. Gerard Jess would have the best hands i have seen below his feet. It's biased but i think when fully fit best player in the comp. He has speed, strength, hardness, skill, endurance, footy smarts....look he has it all. Absolute freak.

Champion bloke too!

FB: Massis (GE) An.Williams (AQ) Masskant (AQ)
HB: Tibb (AQU) A.Ray (SM) Glendenning (SM)
C: Taylor (WIL) Cheevers (SM) Palmington (WER)
HF: Pattie (STJ) Mallett (SAL) Costello (SM)
FF: T Lee (WER) Gayfer (BAN) C Lee (WER)
R: Bracchi (SM) Robertson (BEN) Baranello (STL)
I/C: Norton (WER) C Sharp (BEN) Vamvakas (GE) Dunne (SAL)

Tough task, but I have seen all teams this year and have chosen a couple who have not featured heavily in the stats (always the backmen) but who are clealy their team's 'shut down' players (Williams, Glendenning, Ray).

Agree but would be hard to leave Tsirogiannis from GE out. Also the FF should be the one who wins the competition goalkicking

B: Tsigoriannis (GE) Hynes (Will) O'Connor (JOCS)
HB: Maascant (Aq) Brown (Ban) Baranello (St Leos)
C: Mahoney (SMD) Toomey (Aq) Renault (Werr)
HF: Costelloe (SMD) Hannan (SMD) Robertson (Bent)
F: C Lee (Werr) Lee (Will) Sharp (Bent)
Foll: Bracchi (SMD) Cheevers (SMD) Den Braber (Aq)
Int: Beluszar (St Leos), Lawry (Bent), Pattie (JOCS), Singh (Sal), Palmington (Werr)

B: Black (SMD) Brown (BAN) Baranello (St L)
HB: Tsigoriannis (GE) Maascant (AQ) Williams (AQ)
C: Toomey (AQ) Cheevers (SMD) Massis (GE)
HF: Costello (SMD) Hannan (SMD) Pattie (JOCS)
F: C Lee (WER) Vanvakas (GE) T Lee (WER)
R: Bracchi (SMD) Den Braber (AQ) Diamond (GE)
Int: Ray (SMD) Palmington (WERR) Hazzell (SAL) Kohneesheen (SMD)

B: Black (SMD) Brown (BAN) Baranello (St L)
HB: Tsigoriannis (GE) Maascant (AQ) Williams (AQ)
C: Toomey (AQ) Cheevers (SMD) Massis (GE)
HF: Costello (SMD) Hannan (SMD) Pattie (JOCS)
F: C Lee (WER) Vanvakas (GE) T Lee (WER)
R: Bracchi (SMD) Den Braber (AQ) Diamond (GE)
Int: Ray (SMD) Palmington (WERR) Hazzell (SAL) Kohneesheen (SMD)

I know everyone is entitled to their opinion but I cannot believe that you have not included Robertson in your side. He would walk into any side in D2 and wouldn't have much trouble in the higher divisions either.

I'm only judging on what i have seen. In the 2 games against Bentleigh he has not done alot at all. Im sure from what i have heard he's a gun but i didnt see it. The best player i saw from Bentleigh was Charlie McFadden on the w/e.

So hard to pick these sides because you can't watch more than one game a week and often it is the same side each week.

You could base it on who gets in the best most often, but even then it's hard to say what position suits each player.

Is that all you can offer us today Harps? Dont tell me your doing some work today, surely note. You know at the districts we pride ourselves on doing as little as possible.

Keeping an eye on BF between jobs saints, also busy formulating a game plan to turn around the 100 odd points Aquinas had on us last time.

Must admit I don't follow the opposition 1's players as closely as many but am enjoying everyones teams of the year.

Can anyone find room for Elliot Costello as a "run with" guy in their team of the year.